Friday, August 29, 2014

More than a decade after his first "restructuring" of MAS, what makes Azman Mokhtar so sure he can do it now?

Amok: MAS continues to elude his Midas touch
From Bina Fikir to Khazanah Nasional.  I've known of Tan Sri Azman Mokhtar since I was a reporter at Business Times and he a haversack-ed young analyst with Solomon. His rise, guided by Nor Mohamed Yakcop who then had the ears of the Prime Minister, was meteoric. In him the Government first placed the trust of restructuring a post-Tajudin Ramli MAS. 
On his way up, Azman was made Khazanah Nasional boss overseeing the government's strategic investments and GLCs, strategic and otherwise. 
Today, many years after Bina Fikir's failed restructuring of MAS, Azman Mokhtar announced drastic measures that WILL save the national carrier, including replacing AJ the CEO and cutting some 6,000 jobs.
 "The combination of measures announced today will enable our national airline to be revived." Azman Mokhtar in MAS to trim staff, routes in reform plan, AFP Friday 29/8/2014
You will excuse me if I have my reservations about Azman and Khazanah's latest plans. Don't get me wrong. I wish he would succeed because I want MAS to fly high again and make us all proud but I believe the time has come to take the airline away from the wizards at Khazanah and let a proven entrepreneur or a group of them save it.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

The video Anwar Ibrahim doesn't want you to watch

Updated: After my posting below, the blogger Apanama posted another video clipping he wants you to watch. Click h e r e.  Alang alang seluk pekasam biar sampai ke pangkal lengan. 
Read also, Name the 40, Anwar by Bujai. 
Exceprts:

"Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim told the High Court today that he will not name the 40 Barisan Nasional MPs who were willing to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat in 2008, saying it would be unfair to reveal them now.
Under cross-examination by counsel Tan Sri Muhammad Shafee Abdullah, Anwar also denied the suggestion that he did not have the numbers he claimed he had to move a motion of no-confidence against former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in the September 16 move six years ago ..."

Original posting:
Apanama posted this video h e r e on Monday 27/9 under the heading Anwar Ibrahim a Bloody Liar.
The blogger is either extremely foolish or so very sure of his facts.
I'm sure he is aware that these days, bloggers get sued for RM100 million for less.
I'm not going to reproduce the video clipping. No point getting two bloggers sued for RM200 million.
So you, my Dear Readers, please hop over to Firdaus Abdullah's blog www.apanama.my and watch the video and decide for yourself if Anwar is a bloody liar. 
Last I check, they haven't started suing people for visiting and reading blogs so hurry up... 
p.s. I heard this video was produced in court during the Anwar Ibrahim vs Anifah Aman trial.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

The passenger who cried rape

Nice Doggie. These pictures are believed to be Laura Bushy's ...

Ms Bushy is the passenger who cried rape earlier this month against a 52-year old cabin crew of our beleaguered Malaysia Airlines.

You can view (read) the rest of her (story) in Profiteering from Misconduct by this blogger and Highly unlikely she was "raped" ... by that blogger.

What was believed to be Ms Bushy's Instagram account, where the above screenshots had been taken from, has been deleted after Big Dog caught her online with her pants down over the weekend. Let's say that has raised more than a doggie's eyebrows, here and Down Under.

The investigation into Ms Bushy's allegation is on-going.

Blackout Malaysia - An alarming prospect

One which can be averted ... Had dinner with two senior ministers in a quiet(er) corner of Bangsar, KL last night where we discussed a wide range of topics from including the 11th Malaysia Plan, the future of Malaysia Airlines (yes, there is hope), the state of Proton, Dr Mahathir Mohamad's relationship with the Prime Minister, hanky panky in the award of some mega projects, a certain RM100 million lawsuit against a certain blogger (who may or may not have been at the dinner table last night), GST, CIQ, and why fuel subsidies and property speculators gotta really go ... 
A good blogger engagement must necessarily be founded on some basic hostility with/against the host (be it the PM or the CEO of a PLC). Last night's session was loud and sometimes harsh but the 12 bloggers came away from the dinner with more useful insights - and respect - for those two men from Najib Razak's Cabinet. 
For me, I can now confirm the rumours that some of us have been hearing: that our nation had had to import energy recently.  
Alarming. Malaysia's current energy reserves are coming down fast and they could be decimated by as early as 2017. 
Alarming. Read the Bernama report Urgent need to replace ageing plans citing none other than CIMB Reseach, owned by Nazir Razak's CIMB Bank.

Alarming. Malaysians don't want blackouts and we certainly don't want to be thrown back to the dark ages. Politics aside, Malaysians want to live in peace and security. But if we have had to import energy for the first time in our history (I heard it happened three times so far this year), we should be really concerned. 
Maximus Ongkili, minister concerned
Has our energy security may been compromised? What does our national energy policy say? Do we have one? 
The Energy Minister must address this national security issue immediately.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Using us like that is sneaky and cowardly, Khalid

Who says he can speak on behalf of Netizens?
Ah, come on Khalid Samad! Read Netizans want Sultan not to be given absolute right to decide on MB position: Khalid Samad [the Malaysian Insider, 21/8/2014). According to the PAS Member of Parliament, "Netizens" were beginning to feel that the Sultan of Selangor should not have absolute power to decide who should or should not be the Menteri Besar of Selangor. 

I am of the view that nobody, including members of our Royalty, should have absolute power over anything. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. BUT come on, why does Khalid Samad have to hide behind the skirts and boxers Netizens, using us as a means to achieve his political ends? 

I consider such conduct sneaky and cowardly. Didn't help that when he had the opportunity to state his own views on the matter, Khalid continued to play it safe:: "It's netizens' view not necessarily mine."

No wonder Pakatan Rakyat's Selangor is in such a mess!

Pas sec-gen: It's Khalid's
personal view, NOT ours
It's a matter of time before someone lodges a police report against Khalid Samad and we'll have another circus in Selangor and maybe Khalid will blame us for it! Already, Netizens have expressed their displeasure and disgust with the MP for using their name in vain or because they feel that Khalid was being provocative and inciting: Netizen Mana? by Negara Kita. 

Why, even PAS, his own party, has distanced itself from the views of the MP: Pandangan Khalid Samad bukan pandangan kami.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

What Najib can and should do to regain Dr Mahathir's backing

In the first place, some may ask, does the Prime Minister need Dr Mahathir's backing?

The answer is yes, Najib Razak does. The PM needs everyone's support. These are trying times for his party, for his race and religion, and for the entire country. He needs the people to rally behind him and if those standing behind him include Dr Mahathir, the better for him. Therefore, Dr M's decision to publicly declare he was withdrawing support for the Umno president - his party president - is not a minor setback. It's something Najib can do without. 

But since Dr M has done so, what can and should the Prime Minister do to regain the Stateman's backing? 

1. Treat Dr M's criticisms seriously, but positively
Mahathir's criticisms are constructive, mostly. The worst thing Najib could do is to try and defend himself publicly and vehemently. He should use pen and paper, start writing to his ex-Boss and tell him what he's doing that the Old Man may not be aware of.

2. Hold back the barking dogs
If they are going to be kurang ajar, tell them to shut up unless they are willing to take on the Old Man until the end. Often, these dogs would bark and irritate and then run. Bark and run. They only serve to irritate Dr M, who will intensify his attacks on Najib. When Pak Lah was PM, these barking dogs used the mainstream media to try and demonize Dr M and in the end their master paid dearly and they are happily advising Lim Guan Eng and other Opposition leaders today.

3. Stick to his policies, change the executors
I have to agree with Pasquale of Barking Magpie: Najib has done well, especially given the circumstances.
The economy is proof of his policies' effectiveness, for example 6.5 percent growth in second quarter is beyond expectations, yes beyond what even Mahathir expected. Inflation is very low, a lot of people still are making ends meet in there words unemployment is also very low. Selangor under Pakatan is in shambles in comparison (and) Tun should have continued whacking Anwar for failing the Selangor people (including Mahathir himself since he is resident of The Mines in Sri Kembangan).
Read PM Najib Razak is Nobody's Clone

Some of the people that Najib has appointed to implement his policies are suspect, though, and the Prime Minister must replace them. And for heaven's sake, stop rewarding them with cushy posts that pay so well it makes people in his camp actually wish they were mediocre.

4. Improve Umno/BN image
It's been deteriorating badly. Granted, Najib inherited damaged goods from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi but he should be bolder in his efforts to improve the image and perception. Dr Mahathir isn't the only one worried about the fact that Malaysia lacks capable leaders to take over (if Muhyiddin Yasin decides  to call it a day, that is). I am not an Umno member and I am concerned with the lack of credible leaders in the party. Pakatan Rakyat is not an alternative anymore, now that their leaders have unravelled themselves in Selangor and earlier in Kedah and Perak, and with the nonsense that's been going on in Penang with regards to Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng's mega, mega projects.

5. Engage his ex-Boss
Najib must never let his media advisers try to "sort things out" on his behalf.  Abdullah Badawi's mistake was he allowed himself to be lulled into believing that his media head honcho then, a millionaire journalist with great Singapore connections, had the gumption and the touch to take on anybody and everybody, including Dr Mahathir. That was a fatal mistake. The PM must tell his editors and his social media hanlders to not try to be clever. Engage the Old Man. Go and see him. Sort things out.

For the next few days, the pro-Umno and pro-government blogs will remain quiet and non-committal as they await some signs form above, a directive from their handlers, a hint from those closer to Dr Mahathir and Najib or to the people close to the two men. 

Those who have been training their guns at Najib will rejoice. Syed Akbar Ali, in Dr M: Najib is destroying the country, claims:
This time around the entire country is becoming increasingly aware that Najib is becoming much worse than Badawi. The country is surely going down and at a faster pace. Najib could have saved himself if he had listened to free advise and changed the Cabinet, dropped the controversial, the corrupted, the millionaires, billionaires and other crooks from his Cabinet. He could have saved himself if he had overhauled the entire constipated gomen leadership, the boorish GLC leadership, the leadership in academia, the corrupted party leaders etc. All this he did not do. 

Now it is too late. The PM has to go. Dr Mahathir is not a person to say things lightly. 
But not everyone will agree with Tuan Syed. Seasoned pro-Umno blogger Jalil Backer, one of the thousands who blogged to bring down Najib's predecessor not too long ago, made the following appeal in one political chat room earlier today:
"We should all exercise restraint. We must not openly lash out at either Tun Mahathir or DS Najib. Let both men meet and sort out their differences. If they have done that and still can't or don't want to resolve their differences, then by all means take your sides if you have to. But just don't forget that when we are weak because we allow ourselves to fight one another, we will not solve the problems. We will be the problem."

Touche.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Sultan wants Khalid, Anwar wants 1Azizah, PAS wants Azmin but who do the Selangor people want?

The Mole and other reports:

In the final analysis, everybody says he has the rakyat's interest in mind but nobody cares to ask them who they want as their Menteri Besar. So by now Selangorians know where they stand in terms of this government's list of priorities - right down there! If the people's interest had been so paramount, Rafizi Ramli, PKR's poor excuse of a "strategist", would have been more circumspect and less drama-queen about gambling with their future via the disastrous Kajang-whatever to try and remove Khalid. What did he say? 

"We are trying to introduce a new politic in Malaysia ...".  [Lest we forget by Jebat Must Die]

Watch the clipping and sob along:

By now most Selangorians would know that bringing Khalid Ibrahim down and squeezing Wan Azizah or Azmin in has nothing to do with them. 
It's all about three things: 
1. power
2. more power
3. super power.

Big Dog, a Johorean keeping a close watch on Selangor because of similar people-last issues back home, thinks PAS members should do an "Arab Spring" on their own party for their flip-flop stance on Khalid and the Selangor debacle. Quite a lot of pro-Pakatan folks are no longer averse to a fresh state elections so that they can teach the politicians a lesson. 
Well, you know the truth about Selangor but may not want to admit it. The truth is, the people deserve the government they chose. There!

Friday, August 15, 2014

So, what, the PM can't go on holiday?

The Mole, that news site that seemingly doesn't care, has run an editorial on the whereabouts of PM Najib Razak. Or, rather, on the state of mind of people who equate his going on leave with not doing his job as Prime Minister! One news portal based abroad even whined about how its queries on the Malaysian PM's holidays abroad were not entertained! Lol! 

The Mole says:
Can't go on leave ... indispensable?

KUALA LUMPUR: The Prime Minister, as we understand, is on holiday. So, yes - happy holiday, Sir.  Then again, he may not be. But he is out of the country, for sure.Some people may know where he is. Some people may not. Some do not know and perhaps do not care.Most are not bothered as long as he is still running the country and not abdicating his duties. ... (read the entire editorial So, what, the PM can't go on holiday?)

By the way, you have probably heard that The Mole has a new editorial head honcho in Datuk Nuraina Samad, 57, the former managing editor of the New Straits Times. She replaces Shamsul Akmar, 51, who was Mole editor since its memorable inception on Sept 16, 2011, from Aug 1, 2014. Shamsul (ex-Star, ex-NST) has gone over to The Malaysian Reserve, the business daily, as its Group Editor and Executive Director. 
Under Nuraina, I am told that The Mole is about to care even less ... for what or whom, we shall see :-) 
I remain as Advisor to the Mole until the end of this month.  

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Surendran to be called in over alleged seditious remarks

Outspoken (or, to some people, just loud) Anwar Ibrahim's lawyer N. Surendran should learn to use his head before opening his mouth. His remarks about judges being puppets for the BN government have not gone down well with a lot of people. 

Yesterday fellow lawyer Khairul Azam Aziz submitted a petition signed among others by two ex police chiefs demanding that the Attorney-General's Chamber charge Surendran for sedition.

And I know for a fact that AG Gani Patail does not suffer seditious fools easily.

A source tells me: "Surendran will have to answer for it."

Wallahualam.

The Mole posted a piece on the petition yesterday:

Investigate Surendran for contempt of courtWednesday, August 13, 2014
IGPs
Azam reads out the petition as Tun Hanif and Tan Sri Musa flank him

Two former Inspector Generals of Police have stepped forward to lead public demand for action against moves to and individuals who riducule and undermine the Judiciary. The immediate suggestion is for investigations against lawyer/politician N.Surendran for alleged contempt of court.

Surendran who is PKR vice-president is accused of having ridiculed the court ruling against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim during his second Sodomy trial at the Palace of Justice in Putrajaya on Aug 8, 2014.

Among others, it is learnt, Surendran was to have publicly insinuated that the courts and judges were puppets of the government. Surendran is one of Anwar's lawyer in his latest sodomy trial for allegedly having engaged in unnatural sexual acts with his 'coffee-boy'. 

In a notice (calling for investigations) handed over to the Attorney General's Chamber, lawyer Khairul Azam Aziz who represents the group also called on the Chief Justice to help protect the institution, one of the pillars of a nation.

The notice streesed on the need for a detailed investigation against Surendran and strict action if he was indeed guilty of the accusation and complaints. 

They demand a strong signal stressing that the Judiciary was over and above politics and was not under anyone or any party's thumb. 

Copies of the notice were also sent to the President of the Court of Appeal, Minister in the PM's department in charge of legal affairs Datuk Nancy Shukri, the Bar Council and Surendran.

Last week, the NST ran a piece to gauge public sentiment re seditious and hate postings on social media. I believe Malaysians are getting tired of those who take advantage of our high level of tolerance for their own vested interests. Generally, I think Malaysians are for freedom of expression but not when someone goes overboard or cross the line of that freedom by provoking ill feelings among peace-loving Malaysians and inciting anger against the national institutions and leaders. 

The petition, H E R E

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Khazanah can make this man CEO of the new Malaysia Airlines and get it really over with

Got his wish

Alias Aziz the MAS Employees Union chief, has gotten what he and his union wished for so I see no reason why he should be whining. In May, merely two months after MH370 vanished, Alias repeated the union's demand that the airline be restructured,  telling no less than PM Najib Razak himself that the national airline was losing money because the top management lacked the experience in running airlines (Union calls for PM to shake up airline).

Alias has gotten his wish granted (Khazanah to take over MAS) so he shouldn't be bitching, right? Wrong.

Yesterday, he claimed that he was NOT informed of a meeting called by the Mas management with the unions. Did he lie?

See the claim he made and an internal record that says otherwise:

Business News

MAS Employees Union in the dark

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

PETALING JAYA: MAS Employees Union (Maseu), the biggest union of the members of the airline, said that it had not been invited to attend the briefing by the chairman and management yesterday.
“They did not write to us to notify us about the meeting. I have not received anything,” said Maseu president Alias Aziz when contacted yesterday.
Maseu is the most vociferous union and in 2011 had successfully lobbied to unwind the share-swap agreement between MAS and AirAsia Bhd.
Of the eight MAS unions and associations, only Maseu representatives were not at the briefing yesterday. - Ends

Here's the record on the 2 min 24 sec phone conversation purportedly to inform one Alias Abd Aziz about the meeting between the managment and the union:

Monday, August 11, 2014

Khalid says sacking flawed, illegal, bias, done by people with vested interest, wild, spurious, etc

Cacat lagi haram. Lawyers of Khalid Ibrahim, the Selangor Menteri Besar who was sacked from Anwar Ibrahim's PKR on Friday in a reckless, shameless move to replace him with Anwar's wife Wan Azizah Ismail (who happens to be President of the PKR and poised to replace Khalid if/when he goes), have described his sacking as not only cacat (flawed) but haram (illegal) as well ...

Excerpts from lawyer Edmund Bon's letter on behalf of his client the MB to MB-wannabe Wan Azizah yesterday:   

4. The disciplinary process against our client smacks of impunity, abuse, pre-judgement and bias for the following reason:

4.1 The PKR Disciplinary Board has: 
a. convened a disciplinary process on short notice
b. failed to specify with sufficient clarity the charge(s) levelled against our client 
c. subsequently called on our client to answer 5 new issues which were not in the show cause letter 
d. not replied to our client's request for postponement
e. failed to provide details as to the composition of the PKR Disciplinary Board 
f. convened a disciplinary hearing in absence of our client
g. been chaired by YB Dato Dr Tan Kee Kwong, who himself is under inquiry for alleged mismanagement of funds under the Skim Mesra Usia Emas 
h. proceed to recommend that the PKR MPP (Central Leadership Council) sack our client without hearing our client 
4.2 The PKR MPP has  
a. failed to take into account the flawed and illegal disciplinary process by the PKR Disciplinary Board 
b. taken into account matters not contained in the show cause letter such as the Selangor water restructuring, increase in the Menteri Bessr's allowance, increase in business license taxes, Kidex 
c.  Allowed members who have vested interest to sack out clients given that:
i.  YB Dato Seri Wan Aziz Wan Ismail has purportedly been selected to "replace" out client as the Menteri Besar of Selangor 
ii.  Members of the PKR MPP have entrenched their positions by making wild and spurious allegations against our client which would be difficult for them to retract now 
iii. Members of the PKR MPP have further endorsed the distribution of a defamatory "dossier" of our client in an attempt to compel his ouster

5. It is imperative to note that the total time taken from the date of the show cause letter of 5 August 2014 to the sacking of our client is less than 5 days

Get the entire 3-page letter from MB to MB wannabe h e r e. 

Clearly,  Khalid's lawyers are getting ready to file the Mother of all Lawsuits to defend the integrity of their client and the Menteri Besar of Selangor. As a resident of this once proud and rich state for the last 30 years, I am so tired of the antics of the Pakatan Rakyat politicians, from Anwar to his don't-mind-to-be-called-puppet wife, to Rafizi Ramli and their cybertroopers.  I think this is the last time I'd be writing about this kemelut Selangor. I would like to shift my focus on Penang and Johor, states run by damaged goods ... 

Friday, August 08, 2014

Lawsuits galore as Selangor descends into hell and Guan Eng reaches the zenith of suing power ...

Quotes for all time: "Could it be because he wants to bully the
Penang Chief Minister just because Lim is a Chinese?"

I have a feeling that the best lawyers in town are going to have a field day in the coming weeks filing suits for comrades and counter-suits against fellow comrades as the crisis in Pakatan Rakyat deepens ...

The big news yesterday about Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and his zenith:
Guan Eng to sue if Nasrudin does not clarify allegation
Read more: http://www.therakyatpost.com/news/2014/08/07/guan-eng-sue-nasrudin-clarify-allegation/#ixzz39kT8XbIC

Talk about zenith, PAS Youth Central Committee chairman Nasrudin Yusuff Tantawi might want to be very careful. (Nasrudin Tantawi, btw, got the lawsuit threat for implying that Penang Chief Minister Guan Eng lied to us about the controversial billion $$$ undersea tunnel project and the state's true economic wellbeing - read again, slowly, h e r e).

I say so not just because he's facing LGE son of Kit Siang but the PAS chap has drawn into this fight the big boss of Consortium Zenith, a Melayu called Zarul Ahmad Zulkifli (pic)

I'm underscoring Zarul's race only because of how he used the racial issue against fellow Melayu from PAS in trying to defend Guan Eng:

Meanwhile, Consortium Zenith BUCG Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk Zarul Ahmad Zulkifli, who was also present, said he was at a loss for words over Nasrudin’s statements and could not think of a reason why he would make such baseless claims. 
“I don’t know why he made such baseless claims despite us informing time and again that the project was awarded via open tender. 
“Could it be because he wants to bully the Penang Chief Minister just because Lim is a Chinese?”
Wow, right?! Please read the whole story h e r e.
For more on Zenith's Zarul, read my recent posting Old Men Rise Again Part 2

More later (got to consult my lawyer first ... if I can find him!).