Tuesday, August 19, 2014

What Najib can and should do to regain Dr Mahathir's backing

In the first place, some may ask, does the Prime Minister need Dr Mahathir's backing?

The answer is yes, Najib Razak does. The PM needs everyone's support. These are trying times for his party, for his race and religion, and for the entire country. He needs the people to rally behind him and if those standing behind him include Dr Mahathir, the better for him. Therefore, Dr M's decision to publicly declare he was withdrawing support for the Umno president - his party president - is not a minor setback. It's something Najib can do without. 

But since Dr M has done so, what can and should the Prime Minister do to regain the Stateman's backing? 

1. Treat Dr M's criticisms seriously, but positively
Mahathir's criticisms are constructive, mostly. The worst thing Najib could do is to try and defend himself publicly and vehemently. He should use pen and paper, start writing to his ex-Boss and tell him what he's doing that the Old Man may not be aware of.

2. Hold back the barking dogs
If they are going to be kurang ajar, tell them to shut up unless they are willing to take on the Old Man until the end. Often, these dogs would bark and irritate and then run. Bark and run. They only serve to irritate Dr M, who will intensify his attacks on Najib. When Pak Lah was PM, these barking dogs used the mainstream media to try and demonize Dr M and in the end their master paid dearly and they are happily advising Lim Guan Eng and other Opposition leaders today.

3. Stick to his policies, change the executors
I have to agree with Pasquale of Barking Magpie: Najib has done well, especially given the circumstances.
The economy is proof of his policies' effectiveness, for example 6.5 percent growth in second quarter is beyond expectations, yes beyond what even Mahathir expected. Inflation is very low, a lot of people still are making ends meet in there words unemployment is also very low. Selangor under Pakatan is in shambles in comparison (and) Tun should have continued whacking Anwar for failing the Selangor people (including Mahathir himself since he is resident of The Mines in Sri Kembangan).
Read PM Najib Razak is Nobody's Clone

Some of the people that Najib has appointed to implement his policies are suspect, though, and the Prime Minister must replace them. And for heaven's sake, stop rewarding them with cushy posts that pay so well it makes people in his camp actually wish they were mediocre.

4. Improve Umno/BN image
It's been deteriorating badly. Granted, Najib inherited damaged goods from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi but he should be bolder in his efforts to improve the image and perception. Dr Mahathir isn't the only one worried about the fact that Malaysia lacks capable leaders to take over (if Muhyiddin Yasin decides  to call it a day, that is). I am not an Umno member and I am concerned with the lack of credible leaders in the party. Pakatan Rakyat is not an alternative anymore, now that their leaders have unravelled themselves in Selangor and earlier in Kedah and Perak, and with the nonsense that's been going on in Penang with regards to Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng's mega, mega projects.

5. Engage his ex-Boss
Najib must never let his media advisers try to "sort things out" on his behalf.  Abdullah Badawi's mistake was he allowed himself to be lulled into believing that his media head honcho then, a millionaire journalist with great Singapore connections, had the gumption and the touch to take on anybody and everybody, including Dr Mahathir. That was a fatal mistake. The PM must tell his editors and his social media hanlders to not try to be clever. Engage the Old Man. Go and see him. Sort things out.

For the next few days, the pro-Umno and pro-government blogs will remain quiet and non-committal as they await some signs form above, a directive from their handlers, a hint from those closer to Dr Mahathir and Najib or to the people close to the two men. 

Those who have been training their guns at Najib will rejoice. Syed Akbar Ali, in Dr M: Najib is destroying the country, claims:
This time around the entire country is becoming increasingly aware that Najib is becoming much worse than Badawi. The country is surely going down and at a faster pace. Najib could have saved himself if he had listened to free advise and changed the Cabinet, dropped the controversial, the corrupted, the millionaires, billionaires and other crooks from his Cabinet. He could have saved himself if he had overhauled the entire constipated gomen leadership, the boorish GLC leadership, the leadership in academia, the corrupted party leaders etc. All this he did not do. 

Now it is too late. The PM has to go. Dr Mahathir is not a person to say things lightly. 
But not everyone will agree with Tuan Syed. Seasoned pro-Umno blogger Jalil Backer, one of the thousands who blogged to bring down Najib's predecessor not too long ago, made the following appeal in one political chat room earlier today:
"We should all exercise restraint. We must not openly lash out at either Tun Mahathir or DS Najib. Let both men meet and sort out their differences. If they have done that and still can't or don't want to resolve their differences, then by all means take your sides if you have to. But just don't forget that when we are weak because we allow ourselves to fight one another, we will not solve the problems. We will be the problem."

Touche.

58 comments:

1. Anonymous2:55 pm

The problem with Najib & his Great Wall of Advisors is when too much dust accumulates under the carpet, someone might fall on the carpet & blow all the dust away.

It just needs a single turning point for a total meltdown will happen. When that time comes, no one will save us.

2. damansaraman3:11 pm

Fully agree with your view.

A lot of the point raised by TunM is valid; but he was not in any way asking PM Najib to step down.

For me, it is a mere wake up call, a BIG ONE though!

And we also have to face the fact that our last election's performance was our worst.

A lot of UMNO people are saying that the 47.38% popular votes is count to nothing. But do take note, that is worst than 50.9% garnered in 1969.

If Najib continue to avoid radical changes toward his Cabinet lineup, UMNO Leadership, GLCs and his Officers, do not be surprised that the 47.38% could grow smaller next GE.

My simple example is this; if you can't even defend 'A Class' Policies such as PTPTN, then what good is the Government's Team?

TEPUK DADA TANYA SELERA

3. Anonymous3:37 pm

dah hantar lah. najib hantar lulusan srp dan penjual kereta pujuk Tun. apa lah lu rocky. itu azzeeez rahim

lu tak lak tau ke

najib itu kasi level srp saja jumpa tun

4. Anonymous3:43 pm

If you think Dr M's criticism is bad, remember that the pro opposition people that Najib is coddling wants Najib and the entire BN gone.

5. charleskiwi3:47 pm

And I thought that only the opposition is fighting among themselves so is the ruling party. It is indeed a sight to behold, the gloves is off !

6. The issue of Dr Mahathir Criticism must be seen as the advise that has been given to the present leadership to improve or as the jargon " pull up your sock"
    Najib should not try to be elegant silence or even "syndrome bisu" as Musa hitam used to say.
    In the era of globalisation and information explosion, those comment should be carefully studied and learned on the basis of merit.
    If it is a good suggestion, whats wrong you adopt or even do some fine tuning. That called it "peka" not "pekak". Nobody has monopoly over virtue and wisdom. The smart among us will definitely know how to utilise it and enhance your performance.
    As Dato' Najib used to say the day the government knows everything is over.
    We need the feed back that make a Malaysia as progressive nation.
    What concerned Mahathir is the facts that Najib seemed to dismantle the column and the beams that enable Malaysia to be build politically correct.
    If you remove it will collapsed.This is what Dr.Mahathir is greatly concerned.
    I find nothing wrong with that, and najib is duty bound to correct that perception.
    I thought UMNO has establised a counsel of elders comprising the veteran UMNO politicians and ex-minister, why dont Najib use this forum to connect with the elder statemen to explain what ever reservation and concern thay have about certain policy.

7. Anonymous5:08 pm

It is time for PM to show his mettle.

Purge the party, GLCs, Govt, NGOs, civil associations of all the Mahathirists and right wimgers.

Use the Sedition Act to save yourself and your Agama, bangsa dan Negara. Lock them out, kick them out and stop their gravy train.

The country practically belonged to the Mamak King for 23 years undeer his iron fisted rule and Melayu tulen masih tak berubah. Mana pi harta negara Petronas, cukai etc?

Sekarang BR1M untuk tolong sadikit orang Melayu pon nak diberhentikan.

Habis, tolong kroni berbillion dahulu, ok ka?

1. Anonymous10:09 pm

Now, don't lets raise Tun M's 22 year-old tenure as prime minister. I believe Lim Kit Siang and others of the same ilk have overstayed their welcome too. It is time for them to fade away.

8. Anonymous5:49 pm

What is wrong with you guys. You sound like it is personal feud between Tun and him. I don't think you have a clue. You have mistaken the forest from the trees. Mahathir's criticism is nothing personal. It is about the country. It is about us, Malaysians. The people who have been affected with his actions, inactions, programmes, policies, which affecting us.
    Please don't repeat the so called 'pertemuan dari hati ke hati' the way you guys did before to Pak Lah. The whole exercise is just ridiculous. It does not really address the problem.
    And one more thing. Stop being way too friendly to the superpowers. As if we are so eager to be friends with them. We have become their boot kissers. Your over the top gestures really make us feel uncomfortable. It made us come across as weak and wimpy. We have overreached actually. And we should stop what we are doing. We have become pawn to their cold war games. Please step back before it is too late.

9. I think Tun Dr.M chose the right moment to voice his grievances. At time when PR is also having problem of their own doing from that Kajang move, to topple their Selangor MB. If not, things would be blown out of proportion, even more.

10. Well 2 dogs already barking~

11. JalanTebrau7:34 pm

I am sure that Tun Dr M has a selective memory.

Why is he so reticent on the issue of why MAS was privatised to Tajudin Ramli, only for the government to buy him out later?

Why is he being positively Sphinx-like with regard to the subject of IPPs and power purchase contracts?

Why is he not commenting on his failed "water politics" with regard to Singapore? He tried to play poker with Lee Kuan Yew and failed dismally. He couldn't bully Singapore. Full stop.

So, he goes after softer targets. Badawi. Now Najib.

But in the international arena, he's a mouse. Like what happened to his vaunted hearings with regard to Israel's "war crimes".

No wonder he's feeling mighty frustrated.

1. Anonymous10:21 pm

You, Jalan Teberau, acted as though you are a psychiatrist but unfortunately, all your accusations fall flat.
      Tun M is a better man and way above your class.
      Stop being bitter, man.

12. Anonymous7:41 pm

Apa yang paling dikesalkan, bagaimana menteri2 umno boleh buat kenyataan membodek?.. Macam Zahid Hamidi. Sepatutnya sebagai pemimpin pelapis, dia perlu berfikiran kritikal, forward looking,idealistic demi masa depan Negara. Bukannya mengampu dan membodek semata2 tanpa melihat kebenarannya.
    Inilah tahap rata2 pemimpin UMNO yang buat rakyat jelata menyampah dan meluat. Bodho tahap dewa.

13. Anonymous7:48 pm

the country will fall apart because of its leaders not because of its rakyat. but then its the rakyat who voted those leaders. in the end, rakyat pays dearly for their wrong choice.
    so if najib and tun m fights, its the rakyat should make the decision who is right who is wrong. but in the "control"led media world rakyat will often make the wrong choice.
    let's us all drink to the wee morning!

14. Anonymous8:41 pm

Agaknya tun m marah sangat sebab proton tak dapat grant ke?

15. Anonymous9:17 pm

Dato Hisham-" Obama dan Putin pun tak sehebat Najib"
    Akhirnya Barisan Nasional dah jumpa pengganti Samy Vellu.

16. Anonymous9:33 pm

Its better for Najib to resign now than waiting for the worst to come.

17. Zipposta9:46 pm

Touche ma nigre

18. Well ii dont agree if najib step down in 1-2yr, but i do really really agree if he can listen and change what mahathir advise. Nothing wrong with it.

now, najib must go meet mahathir and not go into hiding like always.

19. tebing tinggi10:14 pm

What Tun Mahathir was saying are was very much in knowledge of the general Malay public ,who support UMNO and Barisan.

May be it was new information to UMNO members .

Najib must be aware of this.

20. Anonymous11:25 pm

What should Najib do to regain the confidence of Dr. M?

He should polish his intellect, build up his sense of chivalry, and stop being dependent upon others to do the thinking for him, and to stop inventing slogans to run a country. We need a sterling PM.

21. oppus3:38 am

Dato.

Menjadi PM untuk sebuah negara bukan kerja main2.

Ini perkara asas 'basic'.....Najib mesti faham.

Sy setuju bila Dato berkata...."Najib mesti bijaksana dlm menangani kritikan Tun M..."

Dia (Tun M) tahu apa dia cakap..

Dia pernah menjadi PM.....bukan 6 tahun...tetapi 22 tahun.

Najib jangan lupa tentang ini.

Dia menegur bersebab.
    Dia melihat dari 2 kaca mata....dari kaca mata PM dan dari kaca mata rakyat....terutama majoriti Melayu.

Semua org tahu semasa dia menjadi PM...3 timbalan dia tewas.....ada yg masuk jel...dan separa sewel...mabuk.

Selepas dia berhenti....1 PM pula tewas.

Adakah Tun ini seorg yg kaki gaduh dan masih berperangai begitu?

Bagi sy...dia seorg yg bertanggung jawab dgn amanah yg diberikan...sebagai pekerja dan sebagai pemimpin terutama pd bangsa ugama dan negara.

Sy percaya...seperti Dato juga...jIka Najib bijaksana ;
    ....TERIMA KRITIKAN INI SECARA SERIOUS DAN POSITIF.

Kalau tidak....seperti kata P.Ramlee..."alamat nak mampuslah".

Dato...secara jujur sy minta/harap Najib berundur....kerana selama lebih 6 tahun memerintah...

Keupayaan?

Bukan setakat memuaskan..
    malah......Hambar.

Dari sekala 1 hingga 10....sy kira Najib diparas 4 sahaja.

Ini penting diketahui oleh Najib...kerana keupayaan dia memberi impak pd rakyat....bukan sekadar kedudukan diri sahaja.

Sy tidak gemar melihat Najib menentang atau menjadi 'defensive'...kerana akhir nya akan bersekudahan sama saja seperti Pak Lah.

Ini merugikan negara sahaja.

Terima kasih.

22. Anonymous8:05 am

To: Jalan Tebrau the commentator:

"I am sure Dr.M has a selective memory"

Are you so damn sure about your own faculties?

"So, he goes after softer targets. Badawi. Now Najib."

From stirring up administrative issues about Dr. Mahathir you descend into character assasination.

"But in the international arena, he's a mouse."

Many men of integrity worldwide would disagree with you, you rat.

"No wonder he's feeling mighty frustrated."

You're not doing him justice nor Najib you little slanderer!

23. Anonymous10:50 am

The problem with Najib and UMNO is that they are ignoring their core supporters.

It is time they realise their efforts to win back Chinese support through their policies is doomed to failure. The Chinese WILL NOT return.They have decided to cast their lot with the DAP to achieve their aims of political supremacy.Fact.Period.Noktah.

If more attention is given to the Malay, Pribumi and to a lesser extent the Indians, the vote bank will be secure. In a fractional polity where one ethnic is stubborn, it is pointless trying to be idealistic and statesmanlike. It is better to be tactical and strategic. Thats what Obama does in the US, the conservatives in UK,the liberal- conservatives in Australia,the LDP in Japan etc, the BJP in India, in fact all 'thinking' political parties the world over .

Look after your support FIRST- that's political 101 which any novice or expert will adhere to.

If you hop on your bike and ride through the heartland and actually speak to the grassroots, this is what they want.Fact.Period.Noktah.

Why would someone like Kiki join Perkasa? Because they paid her fine?Least likely reason. Because as a Malay she feels 'aniaya', victimised,persecuted...a guy like DAP's Kuppusamy can get away with May 13 provocations, an idiot like Alvin Tan can run away from the law over Bah kut Teh and Ramadhan.....but a girl like Kiki who just wielded a steering lock and uttered a few words is thrown the book!! Where's the fairness?,the Malays ask

The Malays are not as ulu as the advisers like to think, they are every bit as savvy about things as the Chinese or the Indian next door.

It is not just the law, there are a whole lot of other things socio-economic as well. Then there is the issue of inept Trojans in the cabinet who makan on both sides, and nutlicking imbeciles who cannot even say or do something right but only put the PM in many spots of endless bother.

6 years ago after 2008, I wrote in this blog, the way to go is 1Pribumi. It remains so...only that,now time is drifting away..keep up the current policies and 4 years down the road, UMNO/BN rides into the sunset.Sayonara, adios,bye bye, good riddance guaranteed.

But in a way that would be good. You only know what you miss after you lost it as the lyric in that popular song of recent vintage goes.

And a lot of educated,worldly wise Malays would also be gone by then.

I am only writing the truth, no malice intended.

1. Anonymous4:16 pm

Well, after 50-something years, and counting, after Merdeka, maybe it's time to say "sayonara, adios, bye bye, good riddance" to Umno, affirmative action, special rights etc.

Anyone halfway competent doesn't need 50-something years to deliver the goods.

All this talk of pribumis and strongmen economics are merely diverting attention away from the unpleasant truth that the goods have not been delivered in Malaysia post-Merdeka.

So, it's time to look for scapegoats because the sovereign can't be seen not to be wearing clothes.

Cue in the usual scapegoats and sacrificial lambs.....

24. Anonymous11:43 am

Anon 5.08pm
    Look like a familiar HBT from Komtar's crosshair

25. Anonymous11:44 am

Najib as the PM has very strong ego. His Advisors and Consultants would advise Najib to take TM 'by the horns'.His rating too has gone up because the way he handled the MH17 issue.

So Dato' Najib would just ignore TM. The old man can scream and shout for all he (Najib) cares. Najib would be still be around to lead BN in PRU 14 IN 2018.

In PRU 14 BN would predictably score worst results. TM's die hards would not support Najib to continue as PM.

Agreed that Malaysia lacks credible leader after TM to lead the countr. Think of Zahid Hamidi or Hishamuddin ?

26. Anonymous12:04 pm

To Warrior 231.. you didn't sound malicious.BN should take heed of your opinions and advice. They are very realistic and sincere.

However, Najib and gang would not listen to views outside their inner ring. They have set the their 'political ship 'on an irreversible course. If BN loses in PRU14 in 2018, no worries to them. Their future and well being has been secured and is not going to be affected. They live happily ever after. Only rakyat like us will continue to struggle to eke out a decent living.

27. JalanTebrau1:02 pm

Anon 8:05 am

Why are you ducking the hard questions by labelling them as "administrative issues" and "character assassination"?

Do you mean to say that Tun Dr M can freely and merrily dish it out, but that he himself is somehow sacrosanct and not to be criticised?

That would be the height of chutzpah, a commodity that the Tun is not exactly lacking in.

As for his issues with Lee Kuan Yew, the record speaks for itself.

As does the continued existence of a prosperous Singapore and the failure of "water politics"

Let's not even talk about MAS and Singapore Airlines...

28. charleskiwi1:29 pm

If Najib is planning to remain in parliament he should have the repugnant Mahathir indicted for the atrocities he has committed and is still does in his 'retirement'. And if Najib does that he will surely be retained as PM just like AB in his first GE as the leader of Umno/BN. with a record margin of over 90% of the voted , never seen before in the history of Malaysia.

The voters came out in record numbers to rejoice that the repugnant Mahathir had finally 'retired' and so they thought,
    As soon as this repugnant Mahathir revealed to the world when he couldn't get AB to do and act as his puppet. He also then began to openly showing to the world when the real truth that he has not 'retired'. On the opposite he is more pro-active now in politics than when he was the PM. Was that because he now hasn't the need to spend time to come up with the many mega projects that were built during his time.
    If indeed he has 'retired' he would be spending time playing with his grand children and tending to his garden which is what all the retirees do. Right ?
    Instead what he is now trying to advocate is just trying to divert the attention of the people from diverting their attention from trying to trace the source of his ill gotten wealth. And also to create as many problems as possible for the people especially those in politics to deal with. Above all he just wanted a man of his choice as PM so that whoever becomes the PM of his choice. But from his past records his choices in the past have never ever been right and what there is nothing to show that this time is going to be right ? In fact it is only to show every thing he came up with or implemented has been proven very wrong .
    Therefore Najib just pull up enough courage and have him indicted and I would, I am sure millions in this Malaysia also will and Najib will be guaranteed regardless which party he will be representing in the election !

29. Anonymous2:14 pm

1. “If Najib did not take the brave stand of facing the separatists, I may not be standing here today to organise the arrival of the corpses (of Malaysians),” Hishammuddin

Is this comment relevant to TM teguran? What a sad day, indeed!

2. “Give Najib a chance to make changes to bring the country forward. It takes time to make those changes,” Tengku Adnan

Well, if more times given without acknowledging the "Teguran" by TM then history will not be kind to Malaysia.

Folks, the trouble with most of us is that we would rather be ruined by praise than saved by criticism! How?

30. Anonymous2:33 pm

Where would the "educated, worldly wise Malays" go to?

To Singapore? Or to other cosmopolitan, liberal and secular destinations?

Hahaha....

31. Anonymous4:53 pm

Just unleash the Sedition Act on all the Mahathirists and right wingers and Najib will be PM for another term after GE 14.

For in politics, it is not always the one wielding a sword who always win over the fence sitters and new converts.

It is just plain simple getting rid of hate makers and bakers who keep on dreaming about tales of Arabian nights and shadow enemies in every corner.

It just won't work anymore like before when the rakyat are getting smarter and more political wise in what they want for a country.

Isn't that what a developed and democratic country is about?

32. Anonymous6:20 pm

Maybe everyone, naive ones included, need to be alert and aware as to who and what they are so trusting of:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2729619/Chinese-hackers-stole-classified-data-Malaysias-MH370-investigation-virus-disguised-fake-news-report-day-plane-went-missing.html

33. Anonymous6:25 pm

Problem with najib is he has got too many got for nothing and cross eyed idiots working for him.

34. Very good one bru. First acid test for Najib is the coming MAS overhaul. Put the wrong person means bigger chaos ahead.

35. Anonymous10:24 pm

Looks like Mahathir still thinks his generation are the major vote banks.

He totally forgot about the East Malaysians now exercising their Ketuanan over UMNO.

His time and way is over. Roll over.

36. Anonymous6:12 am

Anonymous 10:50

Your comment is 100% justifiable and spot on.

Najib & co should read this.

37. Mustapha Ong9:11 am

I opined that the criticism by former PM Tun Dr Mahathir against Najib's administration is rather hash. Yes, we all agreed that anyone of of us has the right to criticise the performance of our prime minister whom we have elected, but criticism from our former PM will have a negative opinion and effect on our hardworking PM. Every PM has his own way of administration during their term of office, but the challenges and expectations are different. We are not comparing apple to apple, and thus Tun's open criticism against Najib is uncalled for and unethical. PM Najib has his own national agenda that will benefit the people in the long term and he should be left alone to carry on his good job. Tun Dr Mahathir should not cast any doubts on the intelligence of the people to evaluate the performance of PM Najib!

1. oppus9:12 pm

Sdra Mustapha Ong.

Sorry but i beg to differ.

Its a fact that...under Najib's administration...1001 issues have surfaced and many were left unchecked let alone attended to. .though some were inherited but most are within his control.

The call for the day by his 'Yes Men' team were just rhetoric and more of lips service.

The issue is not abt Tun M...but abt Najib.

Najib seen to subscribe to the concept of 'nature will take its course' and that explains why issues are not resolved.

There is nothing wring at all with Tun M making comments and vent his frustrations as it has come to more than 6 years under Najib admin... but things are getting worst day by day ..esp on major issues like the economic disparity or gap bet the Malays and Chinese....is ever wide.....the race relationship too appear to be very tense...the social issue are at its worst still....or the like.

Blame it on the Rakyat is it? Or Tun M for talking abt them.....but save Najib...is that how you want it to be?

Najib should be honest not to himself any more but to the rakyat...as he is plain weak but yet self centered for wanting to hold to position.

38. Anonymous10:51 am

Mahathir's tirade is all about dollars and cents, specifically about RM (not the currency, ok?). Najib does not have the trickle down effect on Mahathir's supporters, so much of money is parked overseas, and the real estate growth fueling the economy is mainly Chinese driven. Of course Mahathir's supporters are angry and anxious over their perceived entitlements.

The typical UMNO effect - how much can I get to support the next level ? Latuk Locky got his latukship already, what about meeeeeeeeee ?

39. Anonymous12:28 pm

Warrior 231,

If that's the case, just do like what the Israeli did to the Palestinian & purge our nation from all these ungrateful scum.

Grab all their assets & wealth and send them off to their motherland on boats.

Settle.

40. How did the problems of Umno/BN's image mentioned point 4 arise if the policies mentioned point 3 were right in the first place? The polices you are are asking him to stick to are the policies of the Opposition - abolishing ISA and giving away money - which were drummed up to secure votes, but not serve some higher cause.

41. Kena beli dah kot orang tua ni?3:17 pm

This is bullshit and you know it. Cant help but feel somehow u r in-debt ro najib or rosmah or who ever?
    Ur losing it. Ur suggestions are also stupid. How long should we stick with the imbecile from pahang? At this moment in time, the retard in hospital bahagia may well be a better option as the retard will never ever abolish the i.s.a. (If given the chance). Look at what this so called pm did? And look at the effects.

So be true rocky, who,is ur master? U have been pro najib from day one. No objectivity what so ever. Syed is cocky but at least he calls a spade a spade. Unlike u who seem to be taking the moral high ground. I would trust what mahathir says then what ur trying to do.

42. Anonymous11:52 pm

"but a girl like Kiki who just wielded a steering lock and uttered a few words is thrown the book!! Where's the fairness?,the Malays ask "

OMG, some one please give her medal!

43. Anonymous6:36 am

Rocky: can you ask Mahathir how much he wants, then you go tell your boss lah !

44. Anonymous10:17 am

What I remember MOST about Najib:

BR1M
    I Love PM
    Gangnam
    Red Samfoo
    Chinese Tsunami

Zebra shirt
    wife hippo outfit

45. Anonymous11:46 am

In conclusion may we say that we don't need al-Juburi and his sidekicks to critique the BN. Clearly, Dr. M's pointed observations demonstrate the BN's self-checking auto-correction mechanism. Anwar would have directed his MB wife to replace the PM by fiat, hehehehe! No laughing matter when you consider the ridiculously extended PKR internal election fiasco.

46. Saya nak meminta pertolongan dan jasa baik saudara Rockybru...memberi perhatian terhadap permohonan saya sebagai seorang pembaca Malay Mail.Setahu saya Saudara sebagai seorang bekas editor di Malaymail diharap dapat memberi perhatian dan membawa isu ini kepada pihak yang lebih tinggi mengenai akhbar ini yang sekarang ini sudah terlampau....setiap hari ada artikel yang memperkecil dan menghina orang Islam dan Melayu dan terhadap pemimpin UMNO...bukan kah akhbar ini dikuasai oleh NST..Artikel-artikel ini kebanyakan ditulis oleh bangsa asing dan Melayu liberal...APAKAH Malaymail sudah menjadi KAFIRMAIL...artikel seperti ditulis oleh wartawan Malaysiakini...SEKIAN TERIMA KASIH
    norazvz7@hotmail.com

47. Kepada Saudara Rockybru saya nak memohon maaf sekiranya saya telah tersalah sangka ....rupa-rupanya ada dua versi berlainan satunya themalaymailonline dan satu lagi malaymail.Dari akaun facebook saya saya telah tersilap like page malaymail...yang sering menghina dan memperkecilkan orang Islam dan Melayu...Saya berharap saudara dapat memberi pencerahan kepada mungkin ramai pembaca yang terkeliru seperti saya...yang mana satu Malay Mail yang asli dan mana yang palsu...sekian terima kasih
    norazvz7@hotmail.com

48. Anonymous9:25 am

Anon 12.04 that Najib will not listen to reality is a given. As you said, they have set their course and are sailing onto oblivion.That's immaterial.

It is the loss of Malay power that should be worrying. I dont see the common, decent Malay folk willing to eke out a loving under Chinese hegemony.

In many ways, Najib is our equivalent of Mubarak. Zeti Akhtar might have engineered a 6.5% for him but there is hardly a palpable feel good factor on the ground because:

'The economy is doing great in a wider sense," Schenker says. "There was no trickle-down. ... Your average Egyptian guy on the street did not see" the benefits.
    http://www.dailyfinance.com/2011/02/10/hosni-mubaraks-economic-achievements/

Little wonder then, the Malay community feels sullenly alienated. And the constant baiting of the Malay race and Islam is not helping matters.

Just like before the 1998 crash, the stock market is soaring but so is household debt and property prices. And the upper limits of the legislated debt limit is about to be breached. Inflation is slowly rearing its head and the way overdue (by 5 years at least) GST will throw in a dampener especially in discretionary consumption while fueling a one -off price adjustment upwards bringing added costs in its wake.And there are vague intimations of Indonesian style fuel subsidy rationalisation........

Then whatever faint feel good factor Malaysians may feel will well disappear once China tanks or the US pushes up its interest rates. We have been lucky thus far that has not happened but that possibility is increasing ever so slowly.

Najib's opposition is the equivalent of Egypt's Muslim-Brotherhood + secular-liberal combination.The only missing ingredient are the streets of Cairo. Malaysians are relatively pliant but who knows....

May Allah safeguard Malaysia.

49. oppus8:47 pm

Bro Rocky .

Anonymous 6.36...you must be chinese to ask that....if you are Singapore would wouldnt dare to even say....short of asking....i guess.
    Real chinese mentality.

50. Mustapha Ong10:40 am

I think Tun Dr Mahathir should be more specific in his remarks against Najib's administration, now that he had declared that he no longer support Najib. Tun even said that Najib is worst than Pak Lah but he has not proven to us all his hidden accusations...that's fitnah!!!!Maybe. Tun should wake up and admit that what he had said was only to provoke Najib so that he will perform better in the next 2 or 3 years before PRU14.

1. oppus8:17 pm

I think you are talking crap bro..or are you blind that you nd Tun M to show proof..
      Rakyat has suffered enough under Najib for the past 6 years..the rakyat feel it.

High cost of living....big gap in economics benefefs bet Malays and Chinese....too many racial remarks and slurrs being hurled in the open...numerous social issues that the rakyat are experiencing....
      But yet you want Tun M to show proof...otherwise its considered fitnah...

Fitnah...my foot..
      Stop acting like an innocent idiot by being defensive in trying to defend all the weaknesses of Najib.

Go to the ground...if you may and ask the rakyatlah...you moron.

51. Anonymous12:11 am

`He said if Malaysia were beholding to the United States, for example, it would never deal with (Alexander) Borodai (separatist forces leader) for the bodies of the MH17 victims to be taken out from the crash site in eastern Ukraine.'

say PM NAJIB & The STAR.

Do you think Borodai give a shit (in fact Borodai will say ; who the hell this Najib?) Without Putin influence and how gratefull he is to Mahathir (because he open up market for Russia defence product which open the door and followed by other country) added with Russia economy slowdown during that time, it is Russia that help Najib! please remember that in your stupid mind and your triple fork tounge,The STAR !

52. Anonymous12:15 am

Ahhh and oh yesss Mustapha Ong...

53. Anonymous4:39 pm

Anon 9:25 am made some valid comments, especially on the need for fiscal discipline on the part of the federal and state governments.

But I am curious why he thinks that "the Malay community feels sullenly alienated".

Is he referring to the rural Malays, the lower-income and middle-class Malays or the educated, cosmopolitan and "liberal" Malays?

Is there a rampant class divide in the Malay-Muslim community in Malaysia?

If there is, whose fault is it?

The federal government which has been in power since Merdeka in 1957?

The Malay-Muslims themselves for not realising that the world has changed from the time of feudal agro-based rural communities to knowledge-based economies that place a premium on skills, talent and entrepreneurship?

And since The Almighty certainly didn't stint in endowing the Malay-Muslims with the right genes, then what has caused/is causing the community's predicament?