Thursday, May 17, 2018

The Tunami: 7 days later

"It wasn't a Malay or Chinese tsunami, it was the Tunami ... if BN ever want to know what hit them." - A former NST sports editor

It's already a week after Pakatan Harapan won the 14th general election but, as pointed out by the blogger Big Dog while the cops were raiding ex-PM Najib Razak's family home in Kuala Lumpur yesterday until the wee hours of Ramadan (hence, Nurul Izzah's tweet), Malaysia was practically still under a one-man Government. After that posting, Dr Mahathir Mohamad made himself Education Minister and gave his deputy a portfolio but it won't be until next Monday, at the earliest, that we'd have a Cabinet. 

The move to zero-rate the GST, effective June 1, has appeased many. People aren't celebrating just as yet, though. Because they don't know if the new SST will actually reduce their cost of living, a major theme in the general election. Plus, it may take longer than 100 days to instal a new tax regime, said former Bank Negara government Zeti, who is one of the members of the Council of Elders helping out Mahathir's government. But it is a good start, nonetheless.

In the meantime, Mahathir said he was Not aware raid on Najib's house done at night. Deja vu?

Selamat berbuka puasa to all my Muslim readers.

7 comments:

1. Mathir..
    Selective sindrom..
    Sy tak tahu..

2. xnakdedak10:19 pm

Latuk,

I'll go a step further:

Najib should have been allowed to leave the country.

Unless charged or certified as an imminent flight risk, Malaysians should have the right to travel (so I don't agree with the FC in Tony Puaka's case, either.)

It looks like they are collecting evidence only now, not at the time the travel ban was imposed.

Now of course Malaysians would have howled loudly when Najib could not be extradited, but too bad lah.

Democracy has a price. Due process has a price. If Najib escapes, that's the price.

That's why (on another point), people should not be arrested for insulting Tun, otherwise we are not changing at all.

"Meet the new boss, same as the old boss"...The Who

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZEXEItKND0

We must be wary.

3. Anonymous6:20 am

72 bags of cash and jewelry confiscated from one location by the police. Amount too much to count. It sounding more like the Marcos family. Rocky you defended this najib. Shame on you for promoting najib. Shows lack of judgment on your side.

4. Anonymous3:56 am

Keep this up latuk. Keep hammering on Mahathir. You can become hero filem Tamil. Your paymaster in jail soon. So I guess you wanna become a hero la. Or expecting to be given a deal to be back in current PH media unit. Sheesh what a moron!!!!

5. Apa Dah Jadi8:05 pm

Your good friend, Arul Kandak is next, bro.

He's been checkmated. 30 May approaching. What will the so-called 'hardest working non-politician' do now?

Oh dear.

Latest, latest, read all about it: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/426260

So much for your support of this Arul Kandak. Now the fun begins, bro. Let's watch whether he can do his roadshows again now to explain.

Bro Rocky, your team is going down. Fast. Hang on tight for the ride.

6. Anonymous4:50 am

You made your money, Rocky. That's all that matters. You can laugh all the way to the bank with all these comments. Tapi, akhirat tu, lain cerita la bang..

7. Anonymous2:18 pm

Police SOP on raids.
    It is called a raid.
    It needs the element of surprise.
    As long it has secured the warrants,
    It shall be done that way. Else, the suspect will get away with the evidence.
    WAllah hu Waalam.