Friday, January 31, 2014

Gong Xi Fa Cai

Here's wishing you, my Dear Readers, a Happy Chinese New Year!

May the year of the Horse bring you and your family good health, happiness and prosperity!

亲爱的朋友们,祝你新年快乐!

4 comments:

1. Like many people these days, you too have used the contemporary greeting "Gong Xi Fa Cai". Years ago it was "Kong Hee Fatt Choi". It seems to me that its more fashionable for Malaysian Chinese today to use Mandarin (even if many of the older folks cannot). Similarly their children's names have also transformed. Names such as Chow Chee Keong, Wong Choon Wah are no longer in vogue. I can respect the need to preserve ones culture / mother tongue and to continue speaking in Hokien, Cantonese or whatever that was spoken by ones forefathers when they landed on our shores. Indeed our constitution protect these rights. But the right to school in Mandarin, now that is something else.

2. Anonymous12:13 am

Bro .
    Dont be pretentious !!!
    What do you expect to get from this greeting ?
    You want them to prosper but at whose expense ?
    We are seeing their true colour lately and obviously these Ultra Kiasu chauvinistic DAPig are stoping at nothing in creating an environment for local folks to live a very happy and poorly ever after life .
    This festival is just a reminder to me that someone is just waiting to grab whatever that i have .
    PN

3. Anonymous10:20 am

Thank You Dato !!!!

4. Anonymous8:47 am

Anon 1213. Don't be dumb. For every person that you hate because of political reasons there's another ah chong who is your neighbour or colleague or a close friend. Unless you have been living in a coconut shell.

Don't link everything with your stupid politics.