Tuesday, December 04, 2012

Confessions of a Pakatan Speaker

Power crazy Pakatan Rakyat politicians? Let's hear it from them ...!

Pakatan states 'have failed in legislative reform'

Almost five years after forming the state government in four states, Pakatan Rakyat has failed to reform the institution of the legislature, according to Selangor speaker Teng Chang Khim.

Teng attributed this to the refusal of politicians, who exert control over the Executive, to give up their powers.

NONEHe also said there was lack of political will for reform to make the legislative assemblies independent of state governments.

“If I were to set up a KPI (key performance index), it would show that Pakatan has failed in this respect,” Teng (left) told a forum on parliamentary reform at the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall last night.

Teng, who is Sungai Pinang assemblyperson, noted that only the Selangor state assembly has been pro-active.

It has formed three select committees, as well as the Special Select Committee on Competency, Accountability and Transparency, to scrutinise the state government’s performance. It has also set up ‘live’ online streaming of sittings.

“We have been talking about this (select committees) for many years, but when we became the government, how many states have implemented this? Only Selangor has done so,” he said.

Teng pointed out that society, too, lacked understanding of the doctrine of separation of powers and failed to pressure politicians holding executive posts to reform the legislature.

“What is the speaker? Nobody pays attention to the speaker, no matter how great he or she is,” he said cynically.

Selangor gov’t found wanting

Teng also said the Selangor government had yet to agree to table the Assembly Service Commission Enactment Bill 2009 - which he had drafted - for passage through the state assembly.

NONEThe enactment would have made the state assembly fully independent of the Executive in terms of resources and funds, as is the practice in other Commonwealth countries that have a “remarkable” legislature.

“The separation of powers is about sharing of power, but it is not happening here. Before we came into power, we had said it loud and clear that we would do so,” he added.

“But afterwards, we are not willing to let go of power... When you change your position, you change your mindset as well.”

14 comments:

1. the toothless fella9:01 am

As a paid Umno spinmaster what more can I say.What is going to happen to you,once Umno is on the opposition bench.Makan sendiri,eh?

2. Anonymous9:04 am

Rocky Bru,are you and Tunku Aziz each trying to outdo the other.Keep it up bro,while the music is still playing at full blast.

3. dino.yp@gmail.com9:59 am

As a conclusion PR government failed the rakyat!

4. Anonymous10:22 am

Wahhh Now Its Rocky the Philisopher!!!

Chameleon Rocky may one day be so confused that he may not know whether he is Jantan or Betina..So Confused he dont know what those balls are for!

5. Anonymous11:07 am

Lu olang malah sama Locky apa pasat? Yang cakap itu PR talak guna Speaker dali PR jugak! Lu olang malah sama lia laaaa...

Lain kali janji mau kasi tepati lor!!

6. Anonymous12:51 pm

Typical PR Goons.Did Rocky say anything,he just highlighted what the Speaker said.I would like to suggest you go back and ask your bosses to concentrate on how to defend the seats that won in 2008 esp in Sgor.The confidence of majorities that voted for CHANGE in 2008 is fast eroding as the situation is different now and mark my word it may swing around.Less talk and spin go down and see us the rakyat and most important thing quit lying and fullfil the if not all some of the promises made.Thank You.

7. Anonymous1:38 pm

Did Rocky do any wrong,he just published what the Sgor Speaker statements.I would like to suggest PR bosses to concentrate on strategies of how to defend the seats in Sgor that they won in 2008.The level of confidence of those who voted for CHANGE in 2008 is fast eroding,pse go to the ground and meet us or least fulfil the promises that had been made if not all half is okay.Avoid passing remarks that creates controversies that are difficult for the rakyat to accept totally and fully prepared with the defence of these remarks when faced with queries with solid facts.Say what you like the situation now is much different from 2008,the swing may go the other side this time if things are not rectify and taken for granted.Thank You.

8. Anonymous2:43 pm

Its becoming a trend that the PR goon were the first to comment in issues highlighted by bro rockys. It means that this blog is realy powerfull in term of giving the actual info to the rakyat.

Thanks Bro.

Zizou

9. Anonymous6:48 pm

This is how pr goons "market" their name or in other words product. By hantaming others so that the attention wont be to their inaction and janji tak ditepati problem.

If only they had focused on the rakyat's betterment instead of for third parties, internal syok sendiri, or just low rung hate actions bent on retaining power no matter what the cost

10. Anonymous7:01 pm

When PR is in the government they don't even need BN to be in the opposition... hahaha!

11. Anonymous10:56 am

Yahooooo Pakatan ship has so many holes, it is sinking, together with the pakatan lembuuuuuuss

12. Thats nothing compared to BN's record wouldn;t you say? After 55 years, when as a nation we acquired our merdeka, we find today there is no semblance of a nation and the basis of BN's rule is that this is a country made up of different Tribes.

13. Born -again malaysian6:39 pm

Old fart,
    What is so wrong about Malaysia? After living elsewhere for some time, I am still thankful to be able to call this country my home. It is a lot better than a lot of other countries in the world today. Others even envy us. There really is nowhere else I'd rather live in.

14. Anonymous11:20 pm

stinky moron old fart....go piss somewhere jauh jauh lor!!!

what.. scare to say teng kena bayar oleh umno to say those things eh??