Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Mahathir and Obama

Dr Mahathir Mohamad is in HUKM recovering from a minor surgery, and I wonder if he won't be in stitches if he'd read about Obama's very un-American, a little Mahathirish, statement against speculators. Read Obama proposes new action on oil speculation.
"We can't afford a situation where speculators artificially manipulate markets by buying up oil, creating the perception of a shortage and driving prices higher, only to flip the oil for a quick profit," Obama said. "We can't afford a situation where some speculators can reap millions, while millions of American families get the short end of the stick." 
Calling for "more cops on the beat to monitor activity in energy markets," Obama also proposed an increase in civil and criminal penalties for illegal energy market manipulation and other activities. As a means of discouraging speculation, he proposed having Congress require that Wall Street traders put more money aside to pay off the bets made on oil contracts. And he called for toughening financial penalties tenfold and imposing penalties for every day a violation occurs.

Read more here: http://www.miamiherald.com/2012/04/17/2754308/obama-proposes-new-action-on-oil.html#storylink=cpy

We still remember the currency crisis of 1998, when Malaysia and its Prime Minister raised eyebrows with incessant attacks on Bersih's George Soros and the currency speculators. The Americans had a description for this blame-the-speculators behavior then: Denial Syndrome.

The US has also been bailing out big businesses that had gone bad, something Dr Mahathir was lynched for doing. They bailed out their financial institutions a couple of years back. 

When even the Americans are doing what our Statesman did years ago, that tells us something about the man. Only here we have Malaysians who are too shy to admit that Dr Mahathir has done a great many things so that millions of Malaysian families don't get the short end of the stick, as Obama would put it.

Here's wishing the Tun a full recovery fast. 

31 comments:

1. Anonymous12:46 pm

Maybe you need to get Tuition in your Elementary Arithmatic.

Mahathir is like "Ancient"...

Don't compare the Ancient and Senile with Normal People!!

2. Anonymous1:01 pm

#weknew10yearsago @obama

3. Anonymous1:02 pm

Yes, May Allah bless him with good health and good life.

The world should listen to Tun M, no matter how unbelievable his words may seem coz he's the wisest man on earth.

4. Anonymous1:37 pm

Ohhh.. anda salah Rocky.
    sebenarnya Anuwar la yg bertanggung jawab menangani krisis matawang dulu.
    malah, obama dan democrats mendapat ilham serta tunjuk ajar anuwar.
    jgn lupa nik aziz yg pergi jumpa allah dan maki dia, lalu krisis matawang di malaysia di lindungiNYA.

oooohh..salah anda rocky.

5. Anwar adam1:44 pm

Rocky,Mahathir and Obana like King kenut who want to fight the wave.

Dont show this piece of news to Tun,he will die of heart attack faster.

6. Anonymous1:57 pm

Ladies and gentlemen... this is your Sanity speaking... brace yourselves for the expected barrage of Mahathir and Rocky bashing from the usual suspects of the unusual persuasion.

7. Anonymous2:10 pm

Not too shy. Too stupid and ungrateful. We will not get a leader like Mahathir in next 20 years.

8. Anonymous3:48 pm

Tun remains Malaysia's one and only statesman of international repute and national adoration. Somehow, the term 'Tun' seems to be quintessentially made for Tun. No wonder it seems pddly out of place when associated with worthless low-lifes like Dollah!

Tun was a colossus whose vision and intellectual capacity dwarfed those around him and reduced them to blithering idiots beneath his imposing self.

No leader in South East Asia have ever scaled his heights nor will ever will. This is a man who genuinely cared for his country and his people, who sincerely strove to make a difference and who never wavered in his pursuit for a better Malaysia.

He is a giant in a political landscape of hideous dwarfs and silly hobbits, immoral slimepoops. Tun, in mine and many eyes, remains the ultimate antithesis to the endlessly bitter midget, Dollah, the completely clueless pygmy, Najib and the utterly useless arseworm, Anwar Ibrahim. Tun will always be in our hearts and prayers for what he did for the country.

Semoga Tun di panjangkan umur dan senatiasa dicucuri rahmatNya dunia dan akhirat. Insyaallah, you get well soon, Tun and be hale and hearty always.

9. Anonymous3:52 pm

Obama also got cronies and children companies being bailed out also ah?

Both also keling type , not much difference except that one readilly admitted his roots while the other try to hide his roots because overnight his race change when the DNA roots remains the same.

Guess anyone will do that when it benefits themselves, don't you think so? Quite normal?

10. Anonymous4:16 pm

Ayahanda Tun please get well ASAP..

You are the greatest!!!

11. Anonymous6:58 pm

Oh Ayahanda, I've been praying very hard for your health. I've been praying you can live to see your victims of 22 years march into Putrajaya as representatives of the people. If possible, live even longer to see your cronies and henchmen in jails all over the country. Please Ayahanda, please God.

12. Anonymous7:39 pm

I had been misled by him until I experience the real world from outside of Malaysia.

Bl

13. bourne identity8:23 pm

Anwar who? There can only be one anwar....the rear admiral Anwar, the drama king Anwar and also the same anwar who looks like a pious muslim leader but talks like an old bitch.
    Nonetheless, I am still amazed that this very same anwar has an army of senseless, zombie-like and shall I say...tarak otak punya supporters?

14. Good write up, Rocky.

Some people are too dumb to realize what the great statesman has done to the country.

15. Anonymous2:39 am

Warrior 321. You write pretty well for someone who has his head up someone's arse.

16. Anonymous4:33 am

Long live Tun Mahathir!

The best PM in Malaysia and a world class leader.

Anwar Ibrahim?? Nowhere near. Anwar is only loud and a good story teller. Ultimately, a lousy leader.

The real Godfather

17. Olek Skilgannon8:45 am

Warrior

Then why did his administration approach the Singapore government for a loan at the height of the Asian financial crisis? Isn't this a matter of public record?

And didn't he blink when Lee Kuan Yew threatened consequences if Malaysia cut off water supplies to Singapore?

Didn't he send Daim Zainuddin to negotiate and conclude the Points of Agreement (POA) with Singapore over the KTM land in Singapore, only to subsequently suspend the said POA?

And in spite of all his condemnations of currency trading and derivatives, both of the latter are multi, multi-billion dollar markets, with Malaysian banks being involved too.

What about his handpicked nominees to run Malaysia Airlines, given where the airline is now?

Or his countenance of an overarching web of price controls, subsidies and protectionist measures?

Sure, you may trumpet his use of capital controls and the forced devaluation of the ringgit against the US Dollar during the Asian financial crisis.

But other countries went through the same crisis and emerged stronger, without having to resort to such measures.

So, who's kidding whom?

18. Anonymous10:57 am

You must be sick, dont compare a satan with normal people.

19. Anonymous10:58 am

a satan is always a satan

20. Lee Kuan Yew promised when he died his ghost will come out of his grave to terorise Singapore should anything he dislike done by the goverment of the day. But Mahathir doesn't wait till his death, he terorised the goverment of the day when he is still alive. If you do not agree with me go and check with Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. So Najib, you better watch out your steps.

21. Anonymous12:14 pm

racist anon 3:52 PM should be identified and deported back to land of grandpa who has rejected his peoples

on condition they be rendered as lifelong slaves

22. Anonymous12:38 pm

Olek Skilgannon,

All what you said are untrue. I challenge you to provide the links of the story (veritable ones - not from Malaysiakini or Raja Petra) which you alluded.

Come on Olek, just a simple www link of each line for each accusation that you just made.

Or you can eat your own shit.

CALL ME BORAT

23. Anonymous12:39 pm

"Long live Tun Mahathir!

The best PM in Malaysia and a world class leader."

May Allah keep him alive to see the mess he created in Bolehland, and to see his victims march trimphantly into Putrajaya in the coming months.

24. Anonymous1:02 pm

Waah, so many Mahathir haters hear. You are attacked by the Opposition cybertroopers probably. They never give up. Working for their paymasters.

Some people are just in denial... they cant accept the fact who Tun was before this. Just because the DAP and Pakatan Rakyat are not taking control, any other Dick is no good... lol.

Keep up Rocky. You rock!!

Ramesh

25. Anonymous3:14 pm

Dear Anon 2.39am

Dear Trannie,
    Re: Response to Your Imbecilic Rant

And you left your tongue in someone's unwashed butt.

Your sincerely

26. Anonymous11:11 pm

Some people are truly despicable ...

for admiring and supporting an ex-convict for corruption and power abuse, a sodomite, a cheat, a liar, an absent father and husband, a rabble rouser, an instigator, a traitor

in short unfit to be a Malaysian

27. Anonymous11:13 pm

Dearest Tun Dr Mahathir, our prayers for a speedy recovery and May Allah bless you with happiness and good health.

28. Anonymous8:21 am

Anwar wasn't the only victim of Mamakthir. All the rakyat were. We all got screwed while his children and cronies got super rich.

29. Anonymous4:41 am

we the bumiputra of this country (the Majority TAX PAYER of this country) wish Dr.M bless with good health and good life.

unlike the pendatang of this country which love to find way how to cheat and manipulate the income tax.

long live Dr.M!!!Viva Dr.M!!!

30. Malay Spring3:14 pm

Mahathir was purportedly the ulta leader of the Malays. After 22 years the Malays are still queuing for 500 ringgit handout while maybank give his son Mokhzani 11 billion!

That says much for so called Mahathir leadership.

is it morally right for the son of UMNO President or the brother of another UMNO President to be billionairs while we the Malays who form UMNO kais bulan makan bulan like you Rocky?

Thats right..bloody obscene. So glad HUKM keep this old man alive.
    He may need to attend trials like Egypt leaders..

31. Anonymous4:59 pm

I pray that Tun will live long enough to see the healing that comes to this country after the hurt he had caused.