Sunday, March 18, 2012

Of cut columns and a Minister who treats the Press like a PR firm

"There are those who treat newspapers as if they were public relations handouts, meant to tell the public how wonderful they are. These handouts do not tell you anything about the downside of the item being promoted. But the public knows a promotional flyer when they see one, and they know that one should always read the fine print."  

Poor Marina Mahathir. Read her latest posting "Cut Again"

If they censor you again, M, I suggest that you and your fellow suffering columnists stop writing for that particular newspaper. Write for publications that will not edit your pieces or demand that you "tone down". When I was the boss of Business Times and later The Malay Mail, I ensured that my columnists had a free hand so long as they didn't defame others (some still did, nonetheless!). 

Columnists must not forget, though, that it is the editor's right to edit or butcher your column as he/she sees fit. That's why he/she is the editor; he/she needs to protect the interest of the newspaper and its stakeholders. Courtesy begs that the columnist is at least informed beforehand, because the article carries the columnist's name. On the other hand, a columnist who insists that his/her column should not be touched at all should consider publishing his/her own newspaper.

p.s. The para about PR handouts at the start of this posting is taken from Marina's severed column. It made me wonder if she had known, when she wrote it, about a senior Cabinet Minister who has gotten his Ministry to pay selected mainstream newspapers to publish articles and pictures of him, his wife and his ministry (not necessarily in that order). This kind of practice will turn the best of newspaper companies into PR agencies.

42 comments:

1. Antik thrower1:01 pm

sounds like rais and maznah hehehe ... bangang situa ketinggalan zaman.

kalau najib masih terpaksa simpan dia, jadikan dia muzium piece mp mcm ku li yang tak sedar diri nak kekal lagi.

tayah jadi menteri lagi la ...

2. Anonymous1:59 pm

Aik! Since when only realise mainstream newspapers and TV are not PR firm for BN?

Where have you been? Same goes for MM.

3. Anonymous5:25 pm

Hmmm....Are you saying the minister is our PM and his first lady? I always see him or her in the Star newspaper.Anyway we all know all this mainstream papers are just rubbish for the govenrment.They keep on churning waste from our government.I think the still readable paper now is the Sun. Just wonder how long it will be though.

Cheers..

LMAOROTF

4. Anonymous5:25 pm

Welcome to the Propoganda Machinery of Bolehland of which you were also part of.....

You only grouse when you are not given the post you wanted! What they did was give you a dead chicken of a paper known as the Malay Mail and expected you to breathe life into it!!

Well you should have done so....
    Now you are labbelled as a non performer..Heh Heh

5. Antik Thrower,

I won't confirm it's Rais who paid the newspapers money to make sure they publish articles on him, his wife Maznah and the Information Ministry.

The newspapers are not innocent here, and I don't believe the editors are naive. Agreeing to accept money from politicians - especially Cabinet Ministers - with the promise to promote them via editorial space and covering their events is, maaf cakap, akin to corruption.

If the Ministry wants to buy advertising space, go ahead. I see Pemandu doing that, the Health Ministry with its community service bulletins, etc.

But it is wrong to publish an article about a Minister that is not news-worthy because the Minister had paid for the space.

6. LMAOROTF,

Mainstream newspapers churn out government rubbish? Tell that to Marina, Azmi Sharom, Art Haron, and Ambiga ... They all write for these mainstream papers :-)

7. Anonymous9:51 pm

'Marina mahathir aka publicity hungry bitch aka rebel without a cause" is a sheer waste of time and pixels. No one takes this whining whinger seriously except for the recently converted and brain dead PR crowd and street tramps like Ambiga. Enuff said.

Off topic

Now I want all those Lynas haters to make a beeline to Batu Kawan and start a carnival there, pronto. After all lives are at stake there. Or is it Penang Malay lives are at bargain basement prices by the dozen since its a DAP controlled hell?

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/OIPP/docs/SafetyConcernsPVPanels012510.pdf?ga=t

http://articles.latimes.com/2011/sep/20/world/la-fg-china-solar-20110920

Remember, this is just an appetizer of things to come. Stay tuned.

8. Anonymous10:13 pm

Marina Mahathir bila nak pakai tudung ?

9. Anonymous10:35 pm

About time these Ministers or officials from the Ministries sedar sikit diri sendiri dan tau malu..

Ordinary citizens just are not interested in their faces or their family affairs laaa..

What we look for is the efficiency of performances from their Ministries.

Ooooii org2 kampung pun dah cerdik sekarang bukan macam dulu2 asyik terhegih2 bila tengok Minister!

Ahli Bahalol

10. Anonymous11:08 pm

Marina Mahathir akan pakai tudung bila Anwar Ibrahim bertaubat , bila Ambabiga kahwin dengan Azalina Osman dan buat majlis di markas PAS Taman Malawati,

Marina akan bertudung bila Wan Azizah tinggalkan Anwar dan berhenti bercakap bohong untuk melindungi suamni-nya

11. Anonymous11:10 pm

That must be the minister who has mustered enough guts to attack the Prime Minister"s Office and the PM's officers using hired cybertroopers. Using Govt money to prop up his image appears like a lesser crime though

12. Warrior 231,stop insulting a lady with rude words!Did your mum not teach you any better? MM has a right to her opinion.Don't insult her.

13. Anonymous8:59 am

Hello Mat Rempit Warrior 231,

Tak payah cakap banyak...Ambik duit Najib bagi engkau untuk lompat macam monyet dan buat kacau!!

14. Anonymous9:56 am

stop insulting not only a lady with rude words! be wise....use a M60 or C4 thats better.

2.5 Points

15. Macam-macam tau sapa dia orang besar dan orang kanan tu. Rais dan Maznah kot? Tak lupa juga anak mereka Dino.
    Betul kot. Sapa lagi yang berkuasa control media.
    It does not need rocket science to figure this out.
    Patutlah balik-balik muka basi mereka di TV dan akhbar.

16. Why-LA11:56 am

Marina should stop pretending to be one of the mere mortals. She's been a privileged person all of her protected life. She could write or say anything secure in the knowledge that no action will be taken against her. And now with people like Ambiga and all those other personalities rooting for PKR and DAP cheering her on, she's in her element. The Negori folks call it Pak Omoh. Stop being a Pak Omoh please, Marina. If you have issues with your dad, take it up with him privately. There's no need to show your contempt and disrespect for him publicly.He at least have done so much for this country while you're just playing to the gallery.

17. Jasper Bloodstone5:35 pm

Heh, heh - the warrior rides again....

This time targetting Marina M.

So much for chivalry...I wonder how her Dad and siblings will respond to this attack.

Btw, if the Malays in Penang are going through "hell", do spare a thought for their compatriots in Johor who have to cari makan south of the Causeway.

It appears that maruah takes a lower priority than keeping their rice bowls filled, courtesy of the "filthy lucre" earned down south.

C'mon, dude - man up and tell those Johoreans to be mindful of their dignity and earn their living, be it so humble, back in Tanah Air....

Heck, maybe he could even do a one-man blockade at the JB end of the Causeway to make his point. That is, if he has the balls to do so.

But the apocryphal "ghosts" in Johor may not be amused by such grandstanding!

Bwa-ha-ha.

18. Jasper Bloodstone5:40 pm

Why-LA

Your command of English leaves much to be desired...

Score one for Marina M!

And did Dr M's dirigiste economy do better than the Berkeley-trained economists in Indonesia?

19. Anonymous5:51 pm

Aw shit...I wake up from a Liverpool induced hangover and what greets mine eyes, a chipmunk spewing crap and dragging my arwah mother into the equation. WhT afucking bastard scum! And all ' cos I rightly called his 'lady', a tramp!

Well the problem with the bitch in question is that her moniker carries another M which in mine eye is a class act, the only statesman we had and will ever have.what with his vaunted intellect, sharp insight and keen vision.

Guess daughter must be baulking at Fate for having her consigned her pipsqueak self to forever live in shadows, a second rate pygmy intellect cowering in embarrassment and insecurities beneath towering ones - (read her rants a couple times long ago when i used to read the rag she was writing for and oftentimes came away feeling, here is a whining loser with a globe on her shoulder even as ME ME ME was crying out aloud underneath all that selfindulgent drivel)

Why, she cant even come anywhere near her mother's delectably classy sexy intellectualism. And it must have galled poor lil spoilt gal no end to know that her brains were only equipped to be forever wearing pink ribbons and succoring arsefuckers at deaths door . And once she fell in with that failed lawless tramps ,Ambiga, haris et al.,, the rest was a foregone conclusion. One"s pals reflect one' s own constitution can never be any truer than in this instance!

The way I see it, dad was always a dignified class act, intellectuality and vision in motion while poor lil girl was nothing but a crass act, imbecility and emotion yoked to public derision. Or to put it mildly and simply, from the perspective of a bohemian aesthete like me, Dr M, a refined work of art, Marina M, an unadulterated piece of shit, and I am entitled to my opinions as much she is entitled to hers, ain't that so, Alvin the chipmunk?

Now get into ur yellow t even as Ambiga and MM stuff their saggy tits and morris Minor bums into those yellow sackcloths and yodel your way down the streets of KL about changing the world as life passes you by. Gosh, wonder when the cockless grass addicts and clitless flower girls of the sixties are gonna grow up, if ever!

P/s: (hic) better get something soporific for the damn headache and remind myself to go easy on the Ballantine next time(hic). Sorry, bru, someone had to lose last night, good game though. Now if only Spurs gets fucked off, that will make my day.

20. Anonymous5:51 pm

Aw shit...I wake up from a Liverpool induced hangover and what greets mine eyes, a chipmunk spewing crap and dragging my arwah mother into the equation. WhT afucking bastard scum! And all ' cos I rightly called his 'lady', a tramp!

Well the problem with the bitch in question is that her moniker carries another M which in mine eye is a class act, the only statesman we had and will ever have.what with his vaunted intellect, sharp insight and keen vision.

Guess daughter must be baulking at Fate for having her consigned her pipsqueak self to forever live in shadows, a second rate pygmy intellect cowering in embarrassment and insecurities beneath towering ones - (read her rants a couple times long ago when i used to read the rag she was writing for and oftentimes came away feeling, here is a whining loser with a globe on her shoulder even as ME ME ME was crying out aloud underneath all that selfindulgent drivel)

Why, she cant even come anywhere near her mother's delectably classy sexy intellectualism. And it must have galled poor lil spoilt gal no end to know that her brains were only equipped to be forever wearing pink ribbons and succoring arsefuckers at deaths door . And once she fell in with that failed lawless tramps ,Ambiga, haris et al.,, the rest was a foregone conclusion. One"s pals reflect one' s own constitution can never be any truer than in this instance!

The way I see it, dad was always a dignified class act, intellectuality and vision in motion while poor lil girl was nothing but a crass act, imbecility and emotion yoked to public derision. Or to put it mildly and simply, from the perspective of a bohemian aesthete like me, Dr M, a refined work of art, Marina M, an unadulterated piece of shit, and I am entitled to my opinions as much she is entitled to hers, ain't that so, Alvin the chipmunk?

Now get into ur yellow t even as Ambiga and MM stuff their saggy tits and morris Minor bums into those yellow sackcloths and yodel your way down the streets of KL about changing the world as life passes you by. Gosh, wonder when the cockless grass addicts and clitless flower girls of the sixties are gonna grow up, if ever!

P/s: (hic) better get something soporific for the damn headache and remind myself to go easy on the Ballantine next time(hic). Sorry, bru, someone had to lose last night, good game though. Now if only Spurs gets fucked off, that will make my day.

21. Anonymous9:13 pm

borink........... personal atk on rais!!!!

22. mustaqim abdul rahman12:36 am

haha...macam cerita harry porter....name not to be mentioned....you know who...hahah...nehow....i heard from my friends long ago about he "u know who" wife behaviour....hmmmm.....aiyyyoo...poor n9....after him get kj as replacement..er..will i get my censorship now....huhuhuh

23. Anonymous9:07 am

ROCKY- of late writers and bloggers have taken to whining , wingeing, bitching- that's Marina included. Hell, can we have more integrity, forget the class la. When you dont like the way you are treated you bitch to high heavens and want the whole world to take notice. This pettiness and elitist discomfort at small pinches is so space wasting.

You have no complaints when the bouquets are thrown at you , have any of you ever said 'no no ..its the newspaper, praise the newspaper la for printing my article or praise the blog master'. Of course no la.. Of course you wouldnt. What for right? SO why complain when theres cuts and censorship, even though its not even a biggie of an article la.
    Be like some of writers, when you dont like how they treat your work or so called writing skills then quit it man, or woman. Walk away la why bitch when people exercise their right. Its not public property. You walk into it with eyes wide open knowing who your writing for. There's no big brother.

There are people who walk away, suffer like hell, but live to write another day la. You cant have everything , your tiramisu cake , your pie, your goreng pisang , your nasi lemak and yong taw foo and eat all that la. Leave some for the dogs. Just eat your cheese cake.

You can have your own newspaper. If you cant have your own print media then have a blog paper. But please la stop bitching and whining . Oh yea while i am on a roll , same goes for that one who considers himself the more intelligent brother of that hypocrite big man in Price Waterhouse. That K Raslan la. That paper should axe him long time ago. They want their comfort zone, cling to their pedigree upbringing and pretend they have discarded it. Bunch of hypocrites. Please la dont mock the people by pretending you have their welfare at heart.

Noo you will hang on to the newspaper column because you know the paper not only is somewhat afraid of you but also in awe of you because of the pretentious elitist background you twinkle toe about infront of them.Why are you still writing for them? Its all about ego.

SO i say it again if writers are not happy, walk away, like some warrior journalists do, that feller called errr uumm that feller called Rocky..thats what he did la..and live to write another day.Just stop bitching over every damn small thing because at the of the day its not important enough because people are still starving, lives are lost, the world still is still at war, The climate change is coming after us , the people of acheh and fukushima are still traumatised , GAza children are still being bombed, many children still cant afford decent breakfast and dental care in kelantan, Anwar Ibrahim is still lying thru his butt, oops, please censor that. DUH...

NAGAMAN

24. Anonymous1:32 pm

a. And did Dr M's dirigiste economy do better than the Berkeley-trained economists in Indonesia?

response: C'mon, dude - man up and tell those Indonesians to be mindful of their dignity and earn their living, be it so humble, back in Tanah Air where the Berkeley run corrupt economy has trumped Mahathir's "dirigiste" one so much so their own kind are running the gauntlet here and elsewhere to feed a hungry stomach.

Folks, enuff said of a stupid, lying, cheating,whorepiss swilling son of a bitch who is now an aspiring Marina clitsucker

25. Anonymous2:14 pm

Mahathir's dirigism vs Indonesian capitalism.

Result: Below Palestine(114) in UNDP stats (124 of 187) + 30 million poor + crumbling infrastructure + 6.5 gowth is consdered a record!

http://www.eastasiaforum.org/2012/01/04/the-indonesian-economy-in-2011-a-precarious-balance/

http://www.npr.org/2012/01/04/144641849/indonesian-economy-booms-its-infrastructure-groans

OIC, some people don't like to read. Better be an bragging ignoramus know-it-all than invite unwanted threats that information and knowledge bring into comfort zones. Perfectly understandable. For a small world needs small minds.

26. Anonymous1:34 pm

The countries identified as primary concern are jurisdictions “whose financial institutions engage in currency transactions involving significant amounts of proceeds from international narcotics trafficking.”. Countries regarded as being a concern were judged on “…the extent to which the jurisdiction is or remains vulnerable to money laundering.The countries identified as being of primary concern were:

Afghanistan, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, People’s Republic of, Colombia, Costa Rica, Curacao, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macau, Mexico, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Somalia, Spain, St. Maarten, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zimbabwe.
    Read more: http://www.taxationinfonews.com/2012/03/us-compiles-list-of-countries-with-money-laundering-risk/#ixzz1pj3GU6WP”

Bru, can you help me with the above? I have lost my glasses and try as I might, I cannot find Malaysia in the list. Am I right, Bru or are my eyes seeing strange things? Oh woe me, if the latter is so!. Oh how come my beloved Malaysia, famed for Mahathir's so-called "dirigisteam" er...drjisim err..dirigible or dammnit of whatever is NOT in the list when ALL founding members of ASEAN (why even squeaky clean Singapore of Lil Red Dot fame) are in there. Not even in the other reports in the link above (sob, sob blows nose...sob, sob)

Pray help me Bru...please..am I going blind? or is Najib doing something so unspecial?"Halt Najib..how dare Najib besmirch the bashful face of Malaysia in the eyes of the world"What bile flows in thy veins that boil your blood to smudge the cheeks of thy beloved country.....LMAO

27. Jasper Bloodstone6:17 pm

Hey, warrior

Strange, you forgot to mention the OECD "white list".

Another deliberate omission?

Or the number of double-tax treaties and tax information exchange agreements entered into by Singapore, Malaysia etc etc.

Put up the stats, dude.

28. Anonymous4:57 pm

Woi MADMAN

what do I care about some dated damned OECD list. The one up here is the latest update compiled by the US TD no less, MADMAN!

Now puny cock, you can EITHER take it up with them by leveraging on your deluded intellect and earn their derision and our laughs OR wake up from your DELUSION and accept reality instead of waving some dated documents here like you wave your limp pecker about in Raffles Quay, fucking pervert of a flashing COWARD!

And since you are deluded enough to throw asinine challenges and downright shameless and mindless allegations, why don't you own up first and explain this:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-refuses-renegotiate-extradition-treaty-indonesia-053002761.

by focusing on the last three paragraphs of the report. You either got the cockmuscles to explain away that or ain't have the cojones to do so, period. And quit demanding stats, data etc when nothing will cure you of your DELUDED state of mind, SCHIZOID. Remember, a lot of the readers are fed up of your childish tantrums.

Now take ur deluded self outta here for I am pretty sure the readers are fed up of your MADMAN antics,which even trumps those of the crazy Monsterball or Godfather,DELUSIONAL IDIOT.

Ptui! what a deluded piece of Chingkui shit!

29. Anonymous8:54 pm

Hoi JubohButoh aka MADMAN

Here are further leads to keep your perverted twisted mind occupied.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Asia/Story/A1Story20120313-333107.html

Now I dare you to:

a. Write missives to SBY and Foreign Minister Marty to inform them that they are crackpot LIARS.

b. call out Prof Hikmahanto Juwana as a blithering idiot and fraud and request his university to throw out the garbage

C. Send a legal notice to Merill Lynch and Carpegemini demanding they retract their report that Indonesians have sequestered up to US$87BILLION (roughly 270 billion Malaysian) in SINGAPORE failing which you are gonna fuck them outta your city state.

D. dash off a legal notice to Singapore Press Holdings that run this portal demanding they retract this news report or else you will run AMUCK in your birthday suit with machete in hand, chopping all and sundry for defaming your SHITHOLE.

Now gather your balls for this important mission. You gonna need them if you DO HAVE ANY that is, MADMAN.

P/s : that 270 billion partially answers your delusional AAA rant, scumbag. Bet Moody , S&P and Fitche either know nothing as they couldnt care or affecting a dignified elegant silence about the real poo as they did during the sub-prime shitparty.

30. Anonymous2:09 pm

Part 1

Since the original thread will drop outta sight,
    http://www.rockybru.com.my/2012/03/nambikei-factor-behind-najibs-latest.html
    I will put up this here to prevent you from running away from ridicule. This comment is designed to shame you as a shittalking dumbcock, JubohButoh and you deserve all the attention it brings, DELUSIONAL LIAR,here goes:

Finally ur 8.42pm diatribe is indicative of your IDIOCY. U HAVE NO INKLING ABOUT INTERNATIONAL TRADE , FINANCIAL REGULATORY FRAMEWORKS ETC, period.

FTAs have nothing to do with financial proprietary or otherwise. It is an agreement to facilitate the free flow of goods and services through the removal of quotas, unfair tariff structures, subsidies etc,

A guy who sells drugs and launders his earnings in a different no questions asked jurisdiction is a criminal. His activities do not fall under no FTA anywhere whatsoever, excepting those hawking your unwashed filthy arse, dumpkopf. A tax evader who transfers undeclared earnings via shell companies set up in a secretive tax haven is a criminal. In both instances, the recipient jurisdiction is complicit in the transaction and thus an accessory to the crime despite it citing banking secrecy. So to is a case involving a corrupt scumbag like Harry or a pimp like Guano for the same principles apply. All of them fall under either AMLA, FATCA or similar regulatory frames NOT FTA, MAD DUMBARSE!

In short, Money Laundering is a criminal activity under the purview of national financial regulatory watchdogs and regulated by such frameworks like AMLA etc under the purview of inter-governmental bodies like the FATF and national government regulators like the US TREASURY DEPARTMENT, THE US STATE DEPARTMENT etc.

31. Anonymous2:30 pm

Now why must Indonesia continue to egg Spore just to put AFTA in jeopardy. Why is there a Merill Lynch document to the effect that US$87b of illicit Indon funds are in Spore banks?? Why must the Indian CBI want to damage diplomatic and trade relations with such allegations? Why must Andy Xie talk like a drunk?And more importantly, care to explain from where does Singapore's prosperity come from seeing that it does not have a single world class company ala SONY, APPLE, SAMSUNG or even ACER! ...hahaha? Isn't it strange that Spore decided to open a couple of seedy casinos just as the heat was becoming unbearable for casinos offer another gateway for money laundering?

Those questions are for you to figure out but being stupid I doubt you will bother and throw some other garbage in response. That is the reason why I will quit engaging you in future as you are both STUPID and DELUSIONAL. Your garbage is just the shield to protect your cherished illusion as to Spore's "success" and use that ILLUSION TO BELITTLE US , MELAYU BERMARUAH. WELL REALITY IS DAWNING AND YOU BETTER GET A REALITY CHECKUP BEFORE THE HEAT BURNS YOUR ARSE OFF, DUMBCOCK OF A SHITHOLE LICKING, ARSEFUCKING, PROSCLITSUCKING CHINGKIE PIECE OF UNEDUCATED SHIT!

32. Jasper Bloodstone4:45 pm

Warrior

Go read the text of the press conference by SBY and Lee Hsien Loong after their recent bilateral meeting in Bogor earlier this month.

Not reported in the Malaysian media? You can always check it out on the Singapore Straits Times website.

More on this in subsequent posts.

It's typical of your delusional thinking that you have summarily dismissed the OECD "white list" as a damned dated piece of paper. I would have thought that it's still very much current, unless the OECD itself has consigned it to irrelevant oblivion. Has it?

And since you have raised the issue of the US Treasury Department's views on Singapore, let me put up a statement made recently by Louis Mazel, deputy chief of mission at the US Embassy in Singapore, where he said that there are over 1,500 American companies operating in Singapore, and that in 2011, bilateral US-Singapore trade was over US$50 billion.

Seems to me that the US State and Commerce Departments are not exactly in sync with the US Treasury Department on Singapore, are they?

Which is why, perhaps, the US Treasury Department didn't oppose the US entering into a Free Trade Agreement with Singapore. It didn't, did it?

Let me repeat that so that it sinks into what remains of your cool maruah intellect - it didn't, did it?

And with the US Customs, Treasury and Homeland Security departments having personnel stationed in the region, one would have thought that warning bells would have rung and red lights flashed during the US-Singapore FTA negotiations, or that this issue would have been raised in the US Congress when they ratified the said FTA.

But no such thing happened, did it?

See, aneh - you can maybe fool some people some of the time with what passes for cool maruah brainpower.

33. Anonymous6:26 pm

This is the arrangement of my response. Two parts were misdirected to the earlier thread on “Nambikei” below
    Part 1

Since the original thread will drop outta sight,
    http://www.rockybru.com.my/2012/03/nambikei-factor-behind-najibs-latest.html
    I will put up this here to prevent you from running away from ridicule. This comment is designed to shame you as a shittalking dumbcock, JubohButoh and you deserve all the attention it brings, DELUSIONAL LIAR,here goes:

Finally ur 8.42pm diatribe is indicative of your IDIOCY. U HAVE NO INKLING ABOUT INTERNATIONAL TRADE , FINANCIAL REGULATORY FRAMEWORKS ETC, period.

FTAs have nothing to do with financial proprietary or otherwise. It is an agreement to facilitate the free flow of goods and services through the removal of quotas, unfair tariff structures, subsidies etc,

A guy who sells drugs and launders his earnings in a different no questions asked jurisdiction is a criminal. His activities do not fall under no FTA anywhere whatsoever, excepting those hawking your unwashed filthy arse, dumpkopf. A tax evader who transfers undeclared earnings via shell companies set up in a secretive tax haven is a criminal. In both instances, the recipient jurisdiction is complicit in the transaction and thus an accessory to the crime despite it citing banking secrecy. So to is a case involving a corrupt scumbag like Harry or a pimp like Guano for the same principles apply. All of them fall under either AMLA, FATCA or similar regulatory frames NOT FTA, MAD DUMBARSE!

In short, Money Laundering is a criminal activity under the purview of national financial regulatory watchdogs and regulated by such frameworks like AMLA etc under the purview of inter-governmental bodies like the FATF and national government regulators like the US TREASURY DEPARTMENT, THE US STATE DEPARTMENT etc.

34. Anonymous6:27 pm

Part 2
    The OECD white list is just a list of countries that have complied with internationally agreed tax standards as compiled by the OECD's Global Forum. It's regulatory credibility and efficacy has come under question and it is largely dismissed as a laughable parchment by neutral experts:

http://www.financialtaskforce.org/2011/04/05/time-to-black-list-the-tax-haven-whitewash/

Thus, many jurisdictions have armed their investigative authorities with tools to plug the OECD's deficiencies. For example, the US has FATCA which has higher benchmarks and controls:

http://taxjustice.blogspot.com/2010/05/fatca-new-automatic-info-exchange-tool.html

And which's application led to this news report picked up here:
    http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2012/02/us-warns-singapore-over-money.html

to which the Spore CHINGKUIS responded in fright which was deemed inadequate by the US TD and SD and thus armed with FACTA and related benchmarks they deemed Spore a black money laundering pariah jurisdiction.

2:15 PM

35. Anonymous6:28 pm

Part 3
    Now that it is confirmed you are STUPID, let me rub it in. It is international knowledge that SINGAPORE is an international pariah when it comes to global finance movements as its financial infrastructure regulations pertaining to incoming funds with regard to sources, methods of procurement of those funds etc are opaque . Now Singapore stands accused of knowingly allowing the illicit inflow of such funds by the US TD, INDIA's CBI as well as by other investigative authorities in Indonesia, the Philippines etc. It pleads BANKING SECRECY, the same argument used by SWITZERLAND, THE CAYMANS ETC but that's a hollow claim to use as defense for the world has changed. 6 years ago, the prosperity of the global economy caused many jurisdictions to close one eye, partly due to the pipsqueakness of Spore and partly due to its strategic location, the cocksuckling of its leaders etc. Now that pump priming, bailouts and QUANTITATIVE EASING I & 2 have devastated many national balance sheets, there is pressure to scrounge for funds wherever they may be hiding. Add to this the upsurge in the black money movement to finance terror, drug cartels, illegal arms purchases + the anger of many polities to national kleptocrats funneling monetary resources to tax havens. Here are some primers if you can READ & UNDERSTAND that is:

http://www.gfintegrity.org/content/view/277/72/

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-opinion/article2992615.ece

that has resulted in Singapore coming under the microscope as did Switzerland last year:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/23/business/global/23swiss.html?pagewanted=all

2:20 PM

36. Anonymous6:30 pm

Part 4

Now why must Indonesia continue to egg Spore just to put AFTA in jeopardy. Why is there a Merill Lynch document to the effect that US$87b of illicit Indon funds are in Spore banks?? Why must the Indian CBI want to damage diplomatic and trade relations with such allegations? Why must Andy Xie talk like a drunk?And more importantly, care to explain from where does Singapore's prosperity come from seeing that it does not have a single world class company ala SONY, APPLE, SAMSUNG or even ACER! ...hahaha? Isn't it strange that Spore decided to open a couple of seedy casinos just as the heat was becoming unbearable for casinos offer another gateway for money laundering?

Those questions are for you to figure out but being stupid I doubt you will bother and throw some other garbage in response. That is the reason why I will quit engaging you in future as you are both STUPID and DELUSIONAL. Your garbage is just the shield to protect your cherished illusion as to Spore's "success" and use that ILLUSION TO BELITTLE US , MELAYU BERMARUAH. WELL REALITY IS DAWNING AND YOU BETTER GET A REALITY CHECKUP BEFORE THE HEAT BURNS YOUR ARSE OFF, DUMBCOCK OF A SHITHOLE LICKING, ARSEFUCKING, PROSCLITSUCKING CHINGKIE PIECE OF UNEDUCATED SHIT!

2:30 PM

37. Anonymous6:38 pm

Now to my response today:

First, the preamble from the SD website:

012 INCSR: Major Money Laundering Countries available here:

http://www.state.gov/j/inl/rls/nrcrpt/2012/vol2/184112.htm
    (note in which category Singapore and Malaysia fall respectively)

Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs
    2012 International Narcotics Control Strategy Report (INCSR)
    March 7, 2012

Every year, U.S. officials from agencies with anti-money laundering responsibilities meet to assess the money laundering situations in 200 jurisdictions. The review includes an assessment of the significance of financial transactions in the country’s financial institutions involving proceeds of serious crime, steps taken or not taken to address financial crime and money laundering, each jurisdiction’s vulnerability to money laundering, the conformance of its laws and policies to international standards, the effectiveness with which the government has acted, and the government’s political will to take needed actions.
    The 2012 INCSR identifies money laundering priority jurisdictions and countries using a classification system that consists of three different categories: Jurisdictions of Primary Concern, Jurisdictions of Concern, and Other Jurisdictions Monitored.
    “Jurisdictions of Primary Concern” are those that are identified, pursuant to INCSR reporting requirements, as “major money laundering countries.” A major money laundering country is defined by statute as one “whose financial institutions engage in currency transactions involving significant amounts of proceeds from international narcotics trafficking.” However, the complex nature of money laundering transactions today makes it difficult in many cases to distinguish the proceeds of narcotics trafficking from the proceeds of other serious crime. Moreover, financial institutions engaged in transactions that involve significant amounts of proceeds from other serious crimes are vulnerable to narcotics-related money laundering. The category “Jurisdiction of Primary Concern” recognizes this relationship by including all countries and other jurisdictions whose financial institutions engage in transactions involving significant amounts of proceeds from all serious crimes or are particularly vulnerable to such activity because of weak or nonexistent supervisory or enforcement regimes or weak political will. Thus, the focus in considering whether a country or jurisdiction should be included in this category is on the significance of the amount of proceeds laundered, not of the anti-money laundering measures taken. This is a different approach taken than that of the Financial Action Task Force’s International Cooperation Review Group (ICRG) exercise, which focuses on a jurisdiction’s compliance with stated criteria regarding its legal and regulatory framework, international cooperation, and resource allocations. A government (e.g., the United States or the United Kingdom) can have comprehensive anti-money laundering laws on its books and conduct aggressive anti-money laundering enforcement efforts but still be classified a “Primary Concern” jurisdiction. In some cases, this classification may simply or largely be a function of the size of the jurisdiction’s economy. In such jurisdictions, quick, continuous and effective anti-money laundering efforts by the government are critical.

38. Anonymous6:56 pm

Singapore a sanpshot of the evidence. Note the number of STRs and the prosecuted and conviction rate. Details available here:

http://www.state.gov/j/inl/rls/nrcrpt/2012/vol2/184117.htm

The DATA

Suspicious Transaction Reporting (STR) Requirements:

a. Number of STRs received and time frame: 11,934 in 2010

b. Number of CTRs received and time frame: Not applicable

STR covered entities: Banks, auditors, financial advisors, capital market service licensees and exempt persons, finance companies, lawyers, notaries, merchant banks, life insurers, trust companies, approved trustees, real estate agents and money changers and remitters

Money Laundering Criminal Prosecutions/Convictions:

a. Prosecutions: 14 in 2010

b. Convictions: 18 in 2010

MY OBSERVATIONS

Note this is important as it shows low rates f prosecution and conviction which could either be due to:

1. the high benchmarks for evidence to withstand trial procedures.

2. the need to maintain secrecy in order by default, ensuring continued inflow of illicit funds to be laundered via legal activities. In effect, an eye on GDP numbers.

3. Poor compliance and vigilance due to a demotivated, corrupt or inefficient, prosecuting & enforcement agencies

Given a prosecution rate per STRs received of an incredible 0.11% (14/11,934 x 100), readers you are at liberty to decide whether it is (1), (2) or (3)

39. Anonymous7:11 pm

The unredacted Country Report from the same website from US SD:

Singapore has a comprehensive suspicious transaction reporting regime and applies AML/CFT requirements to a broad range of financial institutions. Currently, there is no requirement for reporting large transactions, which limits the ability to track significant financial movements. Singapore should consider the adoption of such reporting.

Singapore’s legal system generally provides for the investigation and prosecution of money laundering offenses. However, the implementation of these laws is uneven, particularly in prosecuting money laundering as a stand-alone offense, and investigating foreign-sourced cases. Singaporean police are fairly successful at identifying domestic predicate offenses, and include ancillary money laundering charges as appropriate. Singapore should more aggressively pursue domestic stand-alone money laundering offenses as well.

Singapore’s large, stable, and sophisticated financial center may be attractive as a conduit for laundering proceeds generated by foreign criminal activities, including official corruption. The Suspicious Transaction Reporting Office (STRO) and criminal investigators are encouraged to identify money laundering that originates from foreign predicate offenses, and use stand-alone money laundering charges to prosecute third-party offenders in Singapore.

My Comments : read carefully with particular notation of phtases like;
    "limits the ability"; "uneven implementation of the law" ; "more aggressively"; "may be attractive as a conduit for laundering proceeds generated by foreign criminal activities, including official corruption."

The last is pretty indicative and indictive isnt it given my other evidence fom the CBI, India report:

a.http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-12-07/india/30485367_1_indian-investments-investment-destinations-tax-havens

the Myanmar blacklisting somewhere in here:

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/NC20Ae01.html

and the wellknown Indonesian affairs all neatly encapsulated here:

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Asia/Story/A1Story20120313-333107.html

40. Anonymous7:35 pm

Now if one keys in 'Singapore" in the country profile, one generates this:

The United States and Singapore signed a bilateral free trade agreement on May 6, 2003; the agreement entered into force on January 1, 2004.

Obvious then FTAs have nothing to do with anti- Money laundering frameworks. In fact the US had FTAs with many of the jurisdictions cited as Countries of primary Concern.

2. Spooks stationed in Spore and the region to tip off the US . Thats a laughable thingy that had me rolling on the floorboards. Simply put; how can spooks breach opaque Banking Secrecy Laws in the first place!!!! Only an infantile brained IDIOT can conjecture up that observation. Enuff said.

In fact, banks are the ones begging the US for compliance exemption:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_765148.html

as reported by the the Singapore Press Holdings owned Straits Times itself and commented upon by a US Bar sanctioned lawyer here:

http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2012/02/us-warns-singapore-over-money.html

Final analysis:

1. My Indonesian challenge goes unanswered as did my Indian CBI assertion, the Myanmar blacklist reports, the Merill Lynch evidence, Andy Xie et al

2. there is a distinct delusional mindset at work here so removed from reality that it cannot understand the essential nomenclatures and frameworks involved and ending up confuting everything as in the FTA vs Money laundering thingy + the OECD white list is widely accepted to be nothing more than a worthless parchment.

3. The poor thing is under the delusion that the US operates in a caveman environment where the left hand does not know what the right hand is thinking. What a pathetically crackpot mindset to think so.

As they say, arguing with a MADMAN is a waste of time. I will not afford it the dignity of another respeonse (save on the one on Bogor). As Maghrib is well nigh, I will conclude by requesting you readers to make your own judgements as to who is the delusional liar here.

41. Jasper Bloodstone4:07 pm

Warrior

Sadly, it's you who are delusional and paranoid.

Where, explicitly, have the US and the EU charged Singapore being a haven for money laundering and illegal funds?

Links to websites don't cut it, nor do references to obscure studies and papers which, apparently have been ignored by the US Treasury (the same guys who are applying the financial screws on Iran and Switzerland) and the EU financial authorities.

Also, governments don't have good relations with tax havens, repositories of illegal funds and hot pots of money laundering. It's as simple as that.

Show me explicitly where the governments of the US, the EU members, India, Indonesia etc have designated Singapore as such.

As for Andy Xie, he is entitled to his views. Never mind the fact that other analysts and economists have opposing views.

So, too, for the alternative websites and commentaries that are critical of Singapore.

It's intriguing that you apparently hold them in high regard, while condemning their Malaysian equivalents. Double standards, izzit?

42. Jasper Bloodstone6:04 pm

You see, people - the warrior has a bete noire that he is desperate to demonise, as it is offensive to his inbuilt (and I dare say, unwarranted) assumptions of cool, intellectual maruah superiority.

Because, no matter how much he slices and dices, the pesky little "red dot" south of the Tebrau (or the Causeway, take your pick) just refuses to fade away into background obscurity.

All his frantic attempts at tarring that city-state have just elicited big yawns from the cognoscenti who continue to invest big bucks there.

So much for his pathetically puerile attempts at trying to justify what was, and is, a losing proposition.

Perhaps he should exercise his cool intellect to debate with the Deputy PM who has this strange notion that the Malaysian national education system is the bee's knees, and then some!