Wednesday, January 04, 2012

What's the big deal?

Aspan, Kit Siang and Sakmongkol
If Ariff Sabri aka blogger Sakmongkol, a former BN Adun from a sleepy era, and Aspan Alias, a known Ku Li loyalist from Negri Sembilan, were to leave UMNO and join the DAP, a predominantly Chinese political party and UMNO's main rival, who stands to gain and who will lose? I don't know the answer and I still don't see what's the fuss about. Maybe that's because I'm not a member of UMNO and neither am I a DAP cadre (not that I've not been invited to join). But if UMNO thinks the two were indispensable, then UMNO would have done everything in its power to make them stay. Like give them multimillion ringgit projects, maybe? If the two really can't stand UMNO anymore, it would be cowardly of them to stay and enjoy whatever benefits they get for being associated with the party.

I know both Aspan and Sakmongkol personally, and virtually. When I read the tweets about Sak joining DAP from Jakarta yesterday, I wrote: "Why would DAP want to (accept)?". What I meant was: Look, we know Sak's writings, he is very critical of UMNO and Najib. Sometimes he's right, sometimes he's wrong but most times, he is more critical - and makes more sense - than even Kit Siang. Can DAP tolerate someone like him?

In any case, whatever they choose to do, it's their right as citizens of this great democracy. I think we can respect that.

Postings I've read on this:
The Malays of DAP by Bujai, Jan 4
Hutan Umno pada budi Melayu & Malays should not fear the DAP by Sakmongkol, Jan 3 and Jan 1
Sakmongkol and Aspan Alias to join DAP by Uppercaise, Jan 2
DAP merekrut Melayu yang bangkrap politik oleh Big Dog, Dec 29 2011

34 comments:

1. Anonymous12:15 pm

Bang, saya saspek mereka berdua ini "kuda-kuda terjun". Dalam Inggeris, "Trojan horses".

Lojika?

2. Anonymous12:20 pm

bro , and how much DAP paid them to join ?

3. Anonymous12:24 pm

Dato', I agree fully with you on the freedom of choice. At least both of them have clearly stated their choice. Kalau lebih ramai Melayu join DAP maka ianya tidaklah mencerminkan ianya sebuah party yang Chinese dominated. After all UMNO has opened their doors to non Malays too and their members are not entirely Malays anymore. It's a dalcha party too. They have Indians (Azeez Rempit), Mamaks (Tun Mahathir), Chinese (Redhuan Tee), Bengali (DJ Dave) and all the many Sabah natives.

4. Anonymous1:16 pm

I read Sakmongkol's blog and I think he is a very learned and critical person.

People like him are in the vacuum of political divide in Malaysia. UMNO is not for people like him because they don't appreciate learned and critical person. PKR also not for him because people like him cannot be easily fooled by cult-figure oriented party. Neither does PAS as PAS band of politic has no place for people like him as he does not posses and Islamic image.

So where should he go? At the moment DAP seems to be the only option as DAP is secular, critical, issue oriented (not cult-figure oriented).

5. Kuantanese2:35 pm

Ask Sakmongkey to look after his family first. He has yet to fulfill his obligations to his ex-wife and children. Now her ex-wife already pecah lubang, that he's keeping a mistress and doing laundry for his mistress clothes, in his ex-wife's house.

Call me bluffing or me making personal remarks, Rocky, but check out his ex-wife's blog : http://mamasita-mamamia.blogspot.com

You expect this kind of people to become our leader? Tak malu lah!!

6. Anonymous2:45 pm

Sakmongkol and Aspan writes and analyses very well. Its a loss to UMNO to lose this type of members. Look at the cabinet members and MBs, CMs that we have from UMNO-they talk cock all the time. Totally unintelligent stuff coming out from their gaps. Such a disgrace to the Malays.

sri hartamas

7. Anonymous3:27 pm

Soon, Karpal will chase him out. Ask him to shut up!

DAP is only for party anak-beranak. And sedara-mara. And kroni-kroni.

U cannot argue on what has been said by the big boss. Or Godfather.

He he Sak......good luck!

8. Anonymous4:00 pm

elok lah tu. orang pandai pandai.

bangmin

9. Anonymous4:07 pm

That sak guy is not my type of guy. I pefer guy who cares about his children and honour his promises to his family. However that is his choice who said there is no freedom in Malaysia...it shows here you can join any parties and no one can said anything. To his ex and his children at least you can catch him in the media(knows where is heabout)

10. Anonymous4:14 pm

Correct, correct, correct......what's the big deal?!............so why so many people heboh aaaaaaaa?

11. Anonymous4:15 pm

It's all about money.

RD

12. Anonymous4:29 pm

Yes, what's the big deal. They have been belittled as politically bankrupt, have-been and 'barang reject.'

But DAP thinks otherwise.

ZMS

13. Anonymous4:32 pm

At least we know DAP don't pay money for people to jump ship, unlike your masters in UMNO.

14. Anonymous4:33 pm

These are not Trojan Horses. They are articulate, sensible people who would do well as representatives of the people. I don't care if they join PAS or PKR or DAP. I'll vote for them.

15. It dont matter that they join. For the new gens like me, we dont give a hoot about who has political mileage and so on. I dont think these two are heavyweights as i dont know them. I may have read some of aspans work and they make no sense. Is he the guy that wrote free education in europe? It wont make a different. What umno must realize is that they must field people who are honest and fair. And heavyweights like kak jat hahahahahah. How is she a heavyweight? What has she actually done in my eyes? Zilch. And i am 24. It dont matter who joins or leaves UMNO and DAP need to realize that.

16. Anonymous4:50 pm

I think: it would be a liability for DAP. Now it can be said: DAP is the dumping ground for people whose dirty laundry is washed in public for all to see.

And if you so happens to read THIS one, Sakmongkol Bai, just a quick question: tak bayaq2 lagi kaaa alimony nuuu? Habih anak-anak nak makan apa? Depa kene bayaq fees laaa brader! Dont ransom those kids just because they didn't support you against mama-S.

Unless of course, Uncle Lim mahu pitch in sikit-sikit wang nafkah?

UMNO's got crony
    DAP got Tony the Bugs Bunny
    Now Sakmongkol has got to pay alimony
    And together they make one big happy family
    And all's well that ends well in baloney

And I haven't even STARTED on Aspan yet ...

17. Let them join the majority of new gens like me who are not even registered to vote dont care.

The political struggle in malaysia is a funny one. The parties fighting are oblivious as to what the real majority who are not even registered to vote actually wants.

So sakmongkol and aspan joins dap. Who cares. Small time figures wanting the limelight. Is that a statement of some sort?

The politics struggle in malaysia stinks. Those that want the throne simply wants the cash reserve. Look at selangor. At least the bn hid what they did with a certain degree of success. All are corrupt. The real majority are fed up.

Take this into account. The current premier has got it all wrong wanting to look tech savvy and teen friendly. Who are his advisors? Najib if you get to read this, fire them and while you are at it, fire that lembu and condo minister too!

Malaysia, a land where currently, things are going coockoo and who cares about aspan and sakmongkol. Happy new year rocky you a cool

18. Bedul5:43 pm

Good riddance to bad rubbish. Macamlah UMNO kisah. Dia orang sendiri malu mengutuk UMNO bertahun-tahun. But UMNO buat deak je. Cool.
    They are nobodies who think hell of a lot about themselves. Each of them have personal issues with UMNO.
    Kita tunggu mereka tanding kat mana. Jangan bimbang Mamasita akan kempen menentang Sakmongkol, bekas laki dia.
    Nanti boleh tengok show sumpah seranah depa.
    UMNO tak perlu buat apa-apa. Don't waste time on him.

19. Bedul5:43 pm

Good riddance to bad rubbish. Macamlah UMNO kisah. Dia orang sendiri malu mengutuk UMNO bertahun-tahun. But UMNO buat deak je. Cool.
    They are nobodies who think hell of a lot about themselves. Each of them have personal issues with UMNO.
    Kita tunggu mereka tanding kat mana. Jangan bimbang Mamasita akan kempen menentang Sakmongkol, bekas laki dia.
    Nanti boleh tengok show sumpah seranah depa.
    UMNO tak perlu buat apa-apa. Don't waste time on him.

20. Anonymous7:40 pm

Hahahahaha Godfather, what about Zaid and RPK? Aren't they articulate and sensible people too?

21. Agree good riddance to bad rubbish, they were very critical of UMNO so I would expect them to be critical of the DAP too, otherwise they would be hypocritical and practising double standards.

Would the Dictators of DAP, Lim and Lim accept critics in their family owned party, I doubt so. They have this wonderful thing called gagging order, it quiet down the Tiger of Jelutong, and Aspan and Sak are mouse compared to Karpal Singh.

Aspan and Sak will be just trophy Malays behind a smirking Kit Siang's desk of souvenirs and memorabilia like Tunku Abdul Aziz whose voice is disregarded and ignored by the Dictators of DAP Lim and Lim.

22. RM400 million a day of black money disappeared from Malaysia! Based on the reported RM150 billion of black money a year that disappeared. Reports: According to the Washington-based financial watchdog Global Financial Integrity (GFI), in 2009 alone RM 150 billion (US$47 billion) in illicit money was illegally siphoned out of Malaysia.
    The latest GFI report, ‘Illicit Financial Flows from Developing Countries Over the Decade Ending 2009', is penned by economists Sarah Freitas and Dev Kar, who is a former senior economist at the International Monetary Fund. They stressed that these illicit outflows are basically "unrecorded capital leakages through… illicit transfers of the proceeds of bribery, theft, kickbacks and tax evasion." In other words, it refers to corruption money or black money that is obtained illegally…… ENOUGH OF TAIB, ENOUGH OF UMNO, NOT ANOTHER DAY!

23. George Soros on Taib: “Look at the Sarawak Chief Minister selling billions worth of timber concessions under the table; selling every piece of state land to businessmen without tender; using his own companies to obtain lucrative government contracts; … 'you pay I approve'. He has 8 billion US stashed overseas.” “while thousands of poor people still live in cardboard makeshift homes; have no water and shit into the river.” “In China people have been shot for embezzling one thousand dollars. With 8 billion you have stolen, therefore you would be shot 80 thousand times.”

24. With Taib’s 31 yrs of abuse of power, mutli-billion $ plunder and over 10 years of the same by his Uncle before him, the Sarawak CM must be arrested now. His morality, integrity; legitimacy & right to lead are ZERO.
    UMNO is equally corrupt. Nothing will be done, unless Arab Spring type pressures are mounted beginning with:
    Blockade of all logging & oil palm accesses.
    Blockade of all CMS & related’s access & movements.
    Work stoppage. Sit-ins in offices, transport hubs & airports.
    If the police intimidates.....Good! That’s the beginning of the end of Sarawak’s great tragedy & BN’s stranglehold in Malaysia.

25. Anonymous9:12 pm

Bro Rocky,

So, they were not called FROGS? Why not? They jumped ship what? They jumped to the other side, didnt they?

Going by our Malaysian terminology in politics, these two fellas (Ariff Sabri was an Umno member but never know the membership status of Aspan) must be FROGS mah!

Or is it FROGS are only for those jumping or jumped out of the Opposition into Barisan Nasional, or at least prefered to be out and support Barisan like Hee, Osman and Kesminder etc??

If Ibrahim Ali is SuperFrog for jumping out of all the parties he had joined, then Aspan should also be called FROG because he jumped out of Umno into Semangat 46 and back into Umno (because at one time he contested for a G7 post but lost. Perhaps he voluntarily ceased to be a member after that)...and Ariff Sabri's only political platform so far in his short lifespan as an Adun was with Umno.

So good luck to these FROGS lah, perhaps Umno is better without them. This is a free country and one could not be admonished for jumping in and out of political parties these days, its cool, isnt it?

As far as i knew, Aspan is neither a lightweight nor a heavyweight in Umno, in fact if not for blogging he is not really known outside hsi house, perhaps maybe to his circle of friends but most probably to TRH...and as for Ariff perhaps he is a friend to a certain oxford-educated ketua pemuda and made his name as an Adun for Pulau Manis in Pahang for the 2004-2008 period.

Its not really a loss for Umno. Unless the opposition coul enticed a heavyweight like an MT member, a minister or a deputy, then its gonna be a loss lah...otherwise its ok for Umno not to have them. They are not gonna be candidates in Umno anyway.

Perhaps the opposition could position them in any hot seats to see whether they are worth the catch, otherwise they are just "muka melayu" in the opposition.

If i could suggest Ariff takes on Najib Tun Razak in Pekan, afterall he was so much against Najib and he had served briefly for Pekan Umno as the information chief, yes?

KedahMan in Kola Lumpur

26. It would be interesting to see how one could join a democratic party like DAP. The moment you open your mouth...... the GAG order follows.

Sak's gotta be saying and singing praises about the gag orders or be gagged!

Hey, wait a minute. There's probably a vacancy for Deputy Chief Minister in Penang. Sak or Aspan may be shortlisted..... but they have to say Yes Minister or remain silent in this democratic party that shuts people up with law suits and gag orders.

It sucks, Sak.

Anuar Bullshitting Us (ABU)

27. Anonymous9:30 pm

Kalu PAP Singapore bole ada Melayu,,,DAP pon BOLE!

PARTI UMNO parti RACIST,,

-BIOL-

28. Rocky,

Does it matter and do Bloggers make a huge change to voting patterns.
    Bloggers tend to preach to the converted whatever 'side' they are on.
    I think most of the public make their choice based on many factors - from their economic well being to their perception of what the political parties can offer them. Bloggers only provide a small picture from which they make a judgement.
    Thus the excitement over RPK, AK47, Rockys Bru and the like don't make a big difference to the final vote.

29. It sucks. Sak will be sucked in a democratic action by remaining silent. DAP is controlled by dictators with obselete thinking.

To speak up means gagged or be gagged.

But there is a recruitment excercise for Deputy Chief Minister and the criteria for shortlisting is to be silent, deaf and dumb.

Both Sak and Aspan must learn to use masking tape on their mouths if they want to be shortlisted for the post in this one sided and selective democracy.

ANUAR BULLSHITTING US (ABU)

30. Anonymous11:18 pm

Oh, but in the case of the two comedians who joined a Malay party, did you also not read the 'coincidence' news that Sports Toto 6/52 main prize of RM20million was also 'won'?

No connection, but sheer co-incidence?

Lets wait to see the timing when the 6/58 main prize of RM60 million is won.

Get ready for another coincidence.

31. Anonymous12:07 am

arif and sak,

ngko tak kritik & kutok ker. negeri pAHANG knapa?

ha ada apa2 ke ngan dato mb pahang?

aku tutop lubang ngko ko tutop lubang aku mcm tu ekkk?

kih kih kih kih....pramli,pramli...

tapi kalau kapal dah banyak sangat lubang macam mana nak tampal betul X ?

apa lagi, kapten terlebih dahulu terjun dari kapal(anak2 kapal pi mampos la....) lepaih ni join tongkang plak le ekkk...

kih kih kih kih....

lepas ni x dapat projek dari dato mb pahang next plan... ko bedal lah ekkk? macam hanjingsan nyalak sana nyalak sini ekkk?

32. Anonymous10:08 am

Rocky!
    Funny !the malays just cannot stand seeing malays accepting a multi-racial party ?
    Must a malay always join a malay party? Must the malays be always in reverse gear?

33. Anonymous6:05 pm

Salam Bro,

Personally I feel it is their right to join any party they wish. But I just wonder how to bad-mouthed UMNO, when I'm sure they have benefited from it. Not sure about Aspan but for a one term ADUN, what Sak agreed to part with his ex-wife (as referred to by Kuantanese )is quit a fortune. I spend more than 30 yrs with the govt until retirement, all I can managed to buy is a medium cost link house and a car, both still paying installments. Still struggling to finance last child's education. but anyway I must thank Allah especially for my good health.

Bro, was the photo above doctored / tempered with? If not, look at both flanking LKS, they have double-chin and prosperous tummy, must be well-fed.

Pencen Gomen

34. Anonymous9:24 pm

Dato' Sakmongkol is nothing more than a failed, frustrated and spiteful politician. Org kampung semua kenal benor awok Dato'!