Monday, October 03, 2011

Bajet Desa

One for the rural? Rural Malaysia, of course, isn't what it used to be. With the exception of the true "pedalamans" of Sabah and Sarawak, most desa in Malaysia are accessible and even wi-fied. Still, the urban-rural gap continues to widen and this is one of the areas the PM has been trying to address. It will help narrow the income gap, a major focus under the New Economic Model that Najib introduced not long after becoming PM.

The Bajet he will table this Friday - the last before PRU13, or so Bernama speculates - is expected to be friendly to the rural folks and the lower-income groups. And we are not talking about the usual annual handouts, such as pay increase for civil servants or more subsidies, but measures to help them deal with inflation and other consequences of a growing economy. More importantly, we could see new and radical initiatives aimed at improving the economy and living standards of the desa folks, including even better access to legal services (since even the rural folks are becoming quite litigious, eg the suits by the Felda folks).

Talk about Felda, this hugely successful social engineering economic project that's been instrumental in elevating the status of generations of desa folks throughout the country, there are whispers of something special for them in this Bajet, part of the effort to bring them into the mainstream of Malaysia's economic development.

Could this be an election budget?

It could well be. Especially if you consider that the current Parliament session that starts today will also deal with the death of a couple of archaic and draconian laws, a prelude to the repeal of the Internal Security Act in March next year. Personally, however, I would like to see Najib serve his full term and set the precedent for every future government to complete its five-year term before calling for a general election. The "snap" election business is as archaic as the ISA; we elect a government to work for five years and they should not be allowed to "resign" and seek re-election before their term is up!

22 comments:

1. Anonymous12:13 pm

"Talk about Felda, this hugely successful social engineering economic project that's been instrumental in elevating the status of generations of desa folks throughout the country, there are whispers of something special for them in this Bajet, part of the effort to bring them into the mainstream of Malaysia's economic development."

Latuk Locky: Talking about Felda, what did they do with the RM6 billion loan that they took from EPF ?

Talking about Felda, what do you say about a convicted money politician being made Chairman of Felda ?

Melayu shiok sendiri....and then the sh!t hits the fan later.

2. Rocky,

I would agree with you on elections. We should have fixed term parliaments - although I would prefer 4 year terms. I think endless speculations on 'will he won't he' just distracts from actually a govt working for a living.
    The only time an election should be called beyond the fix term if the goverment loses a confidence vote.
    This way we can end speculations and the government AND the Opposition has a fixed target in mind to meet the expectations of the electorate. At same time the electorate has a target date to be ready to make their judgement instead of relying on a snap decision.

3. Anonymous12:47 pm

Latuk:

Lu paham itu "ZERO SUM GAME" tak ? Boss kamu tak tau economics walau pon dia graduate dari University of Nottingham. Dia tu selalu pikir satu campur satu jadi tiga.

4. this is what i want from the budget:-

1) Lowering of corporate tax rate
    2) Lowering of the personal tax rate
    3) A balance budget
    4) Government revenue to come from consumtion tax. A pre-gst kind of tax to acclimatise malaysians of the imminent gst implementation
    5) Increase in sin tax
    6) Increase in foreign labour levy
    7) cut down on unnecessary spending to reduce deficit
    8) increase spending in education and human capital development but don't give me the skill re-trainning thingy as it is just not effective.
    9) increase in luxury tax
    10) incentify local travel - cuti cuti malaysia. Never ask Yen Yen's advise on this.
    11) incentify reading by reducing book prices
    12) incentify science and mathematics meritocracy in schools
    13) scrap national service. its a waste of money and it is a super corrupted scheme.
    14) reduce cabinet size
    15) reduce civil service size

5. Yes it is..election budget and goodies and all good news.
    One for the money...
    Two for the show...
    Three get ready....Najib die die will defend with his life against traitors....taking over PutraJaya.
    Winner take all.

6. Anonymous2:50 pm

Ini budget tipu, kaborkan mata rakyat. Smua tao Felda akan diseneraikan kat Bursa Msia awal 2012. Sebahagian dari TNB dijual kat Malakoff, CELCOM kat wira dani.

Naseb Melayu

7. "I would like to see Najib serve his full term"

Bro, is it coz your hero Dr M said if Najib calls an election now , UMNO is doomed, or you are worried about your gravy train cutting short.

8. Anonymous4:17 pm

another lie coming...flip flop!!

9. arif m7:50 pm

Isn't every budget an election budget of some sort?
    What irritates me is that there is never a real independent analysis of any of our budgets. The msm will go wild and giddy saying it is a 'peoples' budget on front pages and in the business pages will claim its a business friendly one and so on.
    Then a week later we figure out its made no difference to anyone but a select few.
    I hope one day msm will finally get to write proper analysis...if they have anyone capable of doing so.

10. Anonymous8:29 pm

Ini yang best dengar, 'Bajet Desa?' or is it Badut Desa?

The last noise was about giving the notebooks to kanak2 Desa.. our Kampung school is considered Sekolah Luar Bandar (Desa la tu) yet not a word any kids from here recieved "THE" Notebook!

ps: Jgan ambil hati ya Din... ada banyak sorok bawah katil macam muda2 dulu ke?

Hati2, ramai yg tinggal diBandar, asal usul orang Desa.... takut Budget ni pergi kat orang2 "DESA" macam tu saja nanti.

he hehe hehehe

11. Anonymous8:42 pm

Felda, Felda, Felda! We are fed up with the attention Najib is givimg them! Open your eyes la PM,ada orang lain yang susah jugak la.. You are practising favouritism huh? Menyampah!

12. anon Mak Enon8:53 pm

Some ministers gloated about the blue-coat wiremen who earned RM 600 a month a long time ago now earning RM 6, 000 flat a month.

Rubber tappers gloated that they are earning more than teachers!

I say scrap all the universities and send all our brains to ILPs, IKMs, IKBNs and vocational institutions. Send the dumb and trouble makers to Universities, paying for high cost education with debts for years to come only to end up being unemployed for not having the 'right' attitude and skills.

What the hell are those GBs and teachers thinking of striving for straight As and not letting those poor students from their UPSR??

It's the straight Ds and Es that end up being contractors and built shitty buildings. The straight As students end up being their coolies...

Congrats, Malaysia. Who needs the intellectuals anyway.

Malaysia boleh...blah!

13. Anonymous11:01 pm

money and title has really blinded u my friend

14. Nampak nya Godfather ni hebat orang nya....pakar ekonomi mungkin...

America and Europe in shit. So, Godfather, help them with your 'big' brain, will u? They are your boss ! Not Najib, nor any selected malay, I guess.

Malaysia had been in shape for the last 54 years.Jika Melayu tak bijak dan tamak (dalam ertikata menjaga perpaduan dan harta / hak melayu), everything will be monopolised by u. I'm not talking about chinese only here. It applies to others with 'ur similar brainwaves'. Sorry to say that.

Kalau mereka (lain pemimpin) atau Najib buat onar, in Islam, they are in hell ! Exact and simple answer.

Be thankful.

15. My commentary on chi8's points of budget proposal:
    1) Lowering of corporate tax rate
    Good, keeps businesses in high spirits for the coming economic fallout.
    2) Lowering of the personal tax rate
    4) Government revenue to come from consumtion tax.

Problem with this is that, consumption tax hits everyone, and low-income groups will feel pain the most.
    3) A balance budget
    7) cut down on unnecessary spending to reduce deficit

Overspending is bad, everyone knows that, but how do we exactly identify what is unnecessary?
    5) Increase in sin tax
    Expect black market to grow. It may incur enforcement costs. But in the long run, if it succeeds, there will be less people who smoke/drink and therefore less demand, so black market will shrink again.
    6) Increase in foreign labour levy
    8) increase spending in education and human capital development but don't give me the skill re-trainning thingy as it is just not effective.

Will force industry to adopt higher technology. I think aid should be given to the SMEs which have depending on foreign labours.
    9) increase in luxury tax
    Decreases happiness for middle class.
    10) incentify local travel
    Can't see much economic benefit from here. People are not keen to take holidays abroad in recessions after all, they will try local spots, so no need for incentives.
    11) incentify reading by reducing book prices
    Agree wholeheartedly. That book tax exemption was not helping low-income people who were already exempted.
    12) incentify science and mathematics meritocracy in schools
    Needs elaboration.
    13) scrap national service.
    Needs sociological analysis to see its effects.
    15) reduce civil service size
    In theory, reduces bureaucracy and frees up labour for use in other sector. But do we have job openings for the people retrenched?

16. Anonymous7:46 am

bajet desa? they want to fish vote from the desa folks? what about urban people like me??nothing at all? no wonder urban areas went for oppositions!!

17. Anonymous8:42 am

You mean to Say the Malaysian Budget should be renamed Budget FELDA?

Hmmm what will happen next!

18. I like to TEACH smart idiots....how one become a PM.
    First the PM elected by the people...resigned and UMNO b have an Emergency meeting...appoint one.
    Thus the appointed one becomes the head of his party.
    He calls for a snap election as UMNO b leader and becomes the ELECTED PM by the voters....the people.
    Najib created history as the longest appointed PM....never elected under his leadership.
    Then the twist goes on saying Lim Guan Eng was appointed...by PR....with blind eyes ignoring LGE was appointed by PR...because he lead the election at Penang and won...thus he was actually elected ......by the people...due to his leadership in Penang...seen by PR parties and the wishes of Penang voters was recognized and respected.

19. Anonymous1:34 pm

Najib will fall after tabling the budget...wait and see!!

20. Anonymous11:51 pm

http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3819&Itemid=178

What say you, Latuk ?

21. Any important date in our life is already fixed. Our birthday, UPSR, PMR, SPM, O Level, A Leval, semester exam or final exam in collage they are all already fixed for us to prepare for.

In America the election is going on every two years on first Tuesday in November. Such as every 2years for local municipalities election, every 4 years for congress and presidential elections and every 6 years for the senate election. So pretty much in America democratic process they are voting every two years.

So as for Malaysia it is about time for us to amend all the related laws so that we could also fix our election every 5 years. It is even save more of the tax payers money.

By having a fixed election also would change our political landscape to a performance based politic for our politicians.

22. Anonymous10:19 am

Another flip flob talk cock budget session from the LIPS.