Friday, November 26, 2010

No to YES?

I see a lot of my techy blogger friends twitting and blogging good things about YTL's YES, so I thought everything was fine. Now The Malaysian Insider has picked up a story from the Straits Times of Singapore about some unhappy quarters within the industry. 

Incidentally, this involves Rais Yatim's ministry so while I'm not surprised, I better not say too much. Go read TMI's story, h e r e.

31 comments:

1. Charles F Moreira12:56 pm

I've read the story and I think it is misinformed.

Did the MCMC allocate all of that 710 to 790MHz (80MHz) to YTL when DVB-T channels are only 6, 7 or 8MHz wide and each channel can carry multiple programmes?

Analogue broadcasts in Malaysia are schedule to be turned off in 2015, so RTM, TV3, NTV7, etc will need to use the 700MHz band too, so it does not make sense for MCMC to allocate all of that band to YTL.

I cannot reach the right people in the MCMC for clarification but allocating 80MHz to YTL does not make sense.

2. Anonymous2:06 pm

Charles F Moreira said..."Analogue broadcasts in Malaysia are schedule to be turned off in 2015, so RTM, TV3, NTV7, etc will need to use the 700MHz band too, so it does not make sense for MCMC to allocate all of that band to YTL.

I cannot reach the right people in the MCMC for clarification but allocating 80MHz to YTL does not make sense.".....

thats what worrying the big 3 telcos...

3. Anonymous2:25 pm

But according to ABU KASSIM he asked 30 people in a room at Legend Hotel, if it was okay, and they all said SURE why not. Therefore what is the FUSS all about.

ABU is an IDIOT.

4. Anonymous3:30 pm

"We are not as corrupt as we are perceived to be"

so whats de problem?

5. Skilgannon10663:47 pm

I read the full report in the Spore Straits Times today.

There is a lot of confusion between Long Term Evolution (LTE) networks and true 4G networks.

For example, the Infocomm Development Authority (IDA) in Singapore has released a consultation paper on the spectrum framework for 4G. The IDA has reserved the 2.3GHz and 2.5GHz bands for 4G.

I don't know why YTL Comms, which has been awarded rights to the 700MHz spectrum (as per the ST Times report), can position it's service as a "4G" offering. I would think it more of a Wimax mobile offering.

More to the point, why didn't the Malaysian govt conduct an open auction for the 700MHz spectrum and award it to the highest technically-qualified and adequately-capitalised bidder,be it local or foreign?

The incumbent Malaysian telcos - Celcom Axiata, Maxis and Digi - have, on their part, been not exactly aggressive in upgrading their mobile broadband offerings.

In Singapore, for instance, the 3 incumbent telcos (Singtel, StarHub and M1) have all announced plans to upgrade their 3G networks to support mobile broadband speeds of up to 42Mbps. Those speeds are not available, as far as I know, on the Malaysian telcos' 3G networks.

So, why should they complain when they have been complacently milking the cow that is the Malaysian mobile broadband subscriber population?

6. Anonymous3:49 pm

ini cerita lama berulang kembali boss. dulu ytl diberi lesen ipp membekal tenaga lektrik pada tnb-- sampai nak lingkup tnb dibuatnya..towkey ytl gah mahu negara amalkan dasar ekonomik liberal, tapi mereka dah kebas harta nagara dan wang rakyat siang2 lagi. kini, mangkuk hayun mana punya kementerian bagi hak ekslusif pada syarikat yang sama oleh mcmc. membelakangkan kepentingan syarikat lain yang dah lama terlibat terutama sekali rtm.. apa dah jadi ni boss..? betul cakap boss, cakap/tulis nanti kena panggil dari mcmc... hehe he...

7. Skilgannon10664:09 pm

I note that the YTL Comms honchos have been noticeably discreet as to exactly what speeds will be offered by their new network?

Why so coy, I wonder?

If you have got it, flaunt it, I say. If what you have is way better than the incumbent telcos'3G offerings, be brave enough to say so, and provide the supporting facts, figures and test results.

And while you are about it, Pak Rocky, why not run an in-depth expose on the broadband situation in Malaysia and how it measures up against our competitors?

8. Anonymous4:31 pm

I don't trust the Yeoh family. Put simply...this is the same Tan Sri guy that said when he is doing business overseas, it is his capabilities that counts, not who he knows (taking a jab at Malaysia). So clever, then take all your fucking business overseas la.

The family is filthy rich as it is. I don't see why we Malays need to make him richer.

Then after that we blame the ordinary not so rich Chinese, saying they take away our pie la, this la, that la.

Look, who are the guys are the culprit for making this shitty piece of so called Christ loving moron so rich. If you are a contractor with the YTL group you know what I am talking about. They are scum paymaster.

I want to ask, how much is he paying to keep those Malays quite? Tu la. Korup sangat.

Mahmood

9. Anonymous4:59 pm

Another pot of shit from MCMC and that dinosaur.

10. Anonymous6:03 pm

Bro

Pm kita ni penyabar orang dia. Rais buat apa pun tak ada hal.rais ni kebal.tengok sajalah. Nothing will happen to him. Pm akan kekal dia dalam kabinet. Pm kita penyayang. Rais dia punya favourite minister.

11. Anonymous7:34 pm

Dato Rock,
    Cakap salah, tak cakap salah, habis semua serba salah.
    Rakyat.. He3..

12. Salam Dato'

Obviously Malaysiakini already enjoy the huge ad slot rented by YES. Thanks to Rais anak Yatim

13. I repeat,

Can Bloggers please stand as independent candidates in the next General Elections?

Remain independent upon winning entry into parliament.

Speak up for the Rakyat. Fight for us.

I am neither voting for BN nor PR.

Both Coalitions (provided PR is finally registered as a coalition la) are made up of many corrupt politicians and only a few good men remain in each.

This latest expose shows nothing has changed in BN.

PKR politicians, wipe that smile off your faces, the bulk of you guys are from UMNO / MCA / MIC.

Tak dapat contract, mengamuk, masuk PKR la.

Pakatan Rakyat Politicians:

- Nik Aziz's CEO son-in-law
    - Nik Aziz's RM60K Haj sponsorship
    - Nik Aziz allowing DAP to manipulate the Quran
    - Perak DAP's timber concession manipulation
    - Karpal's sack Anwar and then defend Anwar and now sleeping with Anwar nonsense
    - Karpal's and Lim Guan Eng's hatred for Malays and Muslims
    - Lim Guan Eng's lies
    - Ronnie Liu @ Chan Ho Nam's Hung Hing underworld links and his corrupt practices
    - Azmin calling N Gobalakrishan a pariah
    - Azmin's obvious manipulation of the PKR elections
    - N Gobalakrishnan boxing a policeman
    - Anwar's constant drama, seeking refuge at the Turkish Embassy, Sept 16 nonsense, bad mouthing own country
    - Anwar's refusal to swear on the Quran on accusations of his Bontotcapades etc

Both BN and PR are rotten to the core!

I will vote for Bloggers who stand as independent candidates or any independent candidate.

To all corrupt politicians;

The Lord Of The Universe Knows Your Innermost Intentions.

Ayam Human

14. Anonymous10:27 pm

Dato,

MCMC needs to answer why this spectrum was not auction like any other spectrums? That is a must.

I think the real losers by awarding this license to YTL is TM with its IPTV program through HSBB plus Malaysian government which provided huge capital to initiate the program. RM5 billion if not mistaken.

The way the story unfold that Malaysia Government and MCMC failed to protect even its own stakeholders i.e the public fund; for the sake of another private entity.

Interesting to see whether MACC would initiate investigation regarding this to ensure fair play and no hanky panky,

15. The confusion is because of the completely lack of transparency regarding the license and allocation of spectrum.
    MCMC and Rais Yatim have compeletely failed in its role as regulator and facilitator.
    Why their Chairman and Minister still have a job is beyond my comprehension.

16. Anonymous2:23 am

YTL has confirmed to Insider that it indeed has received the spectrum. I have some Q. 1) How much did YTL pay 4 the spectrum to the government. 2) When YTL received the spectrum rights? 3) Why didnt YTL make an annc to Bursa when it won the spectrum and what is Bursa and SC going 2 do abt it?

17. Anonymous12:23 pm

I dislike the glorification of the English word YES in their ads but I must assume it's an acronym for something. I mean, "YA" would make much more sense in an ad where they use lots of other Malay words and coming up with sentences like "YES, saya akan pulang hujung minggu ini". wth?

-Naj

18. dannalli12:41 pm

Just to digress ...
    What happened to Bernama News @ 12:30pm ... after 8 mins only back on air.

19. Anonymous4:31 pm

salam 1Malaysia Dato Rock,

ada info baru utk dato Rock,

KPKK akan launch digital Jempol pd disember ini yg mana duit akan dikeluarkan olh MCMC sbyk rm1 ke 2 juta. dulu digital pekan lepas tu digital pagoh (dua dua pun failure) contractor je kenyang. dua dua projek yg fail tu belanja dlm 3 juta kot, MCMC pulak macam takde telor je...ikut je arahan menteri, ke org MCMC pun ada untung disebalik event...please look into it dato Rock..

20. You can kiss TM HSBB good bye with YTL Dvbt...

21. Anonymous1:42 am

YES, this fellow is the real RENT SEEKER and made it in businesses through the GOVERNMENT CRUTCHES provided to him. First the IPP, now the spectrum, next what?, malaysians are being screwed !

ONE fooking bastard - this is their brand of meritrocracy.

- no2ytl.

22. Anonymous1:21 pm

This whole deal stinks.
    1. Was there an open tender/auction for the spectrum? No
    2. How much did YTL pay for the license and spectrum? Not disclosed by the MCMC
    3. What are the details or conditions of the license? Also undisclosed

The Rakyat is being screwed by another crony
    When will this end?

23. Charles F Moreira5:30 am

"allocating 80MHz to YTL does not make sense."

By that I meant that I do not believe that the MCMC would allocate all of that 80MHz to just one service provider.

Anyway, I finally got through to the MCMC.

Anyway, their press release confirms my belief.

24. Charles F Moreira6:04 am

Skilganon1006 wrote:-

"I don't know why YTL Comms, which has been awarded rights to the 700MHz spectrum (as per the ST Times report), can position it's service as a "4G" offering. I would think it more of a Wimax mobile offering."

Not only YTL but other WiMAX operators and IZZI have described their services as "4G" Real 4G as defined by the International Telecommunication Union are LTE-Advanced and WiMAX 802.16m. The current WiMAX is 802.16e.

BTW. The 700MHz spectrum is not for WiMAX or Internet Protocol TV but for digital broadcast TV based on the DVB-T2 standard. You Tube, TM's HyppTV and current mobile TV offerings are all IP-TV based and they are delivered through the operator's netywork infrastructure, while both analogue and digital broadcast TV, including satellite TV like Astro bypass the network infrastructure.

"In Singapore, for instance, the 3 incumbent telcos (Singtel, StarHub and M1) have all announced plans to upgrade their 3G networks to support mobile broadband speeds of up to 42Mbps. Those speeds are not available, as far as I know, on the Malaysian telcos' 3G networks."

42Mbps is called HSPA+ and U Mobile launched it some weeks back, though currently only available at their office but to be deployed in Sunway, etc soon.

"The incumbent Malaysian telcos - Celcom Axiata, Maxis and Digi - have, on their part, been not exactly aggressive in upgrading their mobile broadband offerings."

The incumbent Malaysian telcos have been incrementally increasing their peak speeds starting from 1.8Mbps to 3.6Mbps, then 7.2Mbps, then 14.4Mbps and so on, while after the SIngapore investment, U Mobile made a quantum leap from 3.6Mbps HSDPA to 42Mbps HSPA+

However, there are valid complaints about the actual performance of their networks and some have got terribly slow after they have gained many subscribers and the same can be said of the WiMAX networks.

Now let's watch the performance of Yes over the long term, say a year from now - i.e, once it gains lots of subscribers

25. Skilgannon10666:24 pm

Mahmood

Obviously you are not aware that YTL bought Power Seraya (one of the 3 electricity gencos in Singapore) from Temasek Holdings in 2008 for S$3.8 billion.

In an open tender, no less.

So, YTL has the wherewithal to compete and win in an open tender exercise in Singapore, with absolutely no hints of hankypanky or insider influence.

Whereas the other wannabes in Malaysia did not have the b***s or the financial muscle (though Khazanah had) to bid in this exercise.

26. Anonymous7:28 pm

YTL sucks from the RM15b gas subsidy pool in Malaysia into their highly profitable IPP, easy money..thanx to some morons policy...

.. and they are not subjected under Audit Negara too, coz they're not a GLC..nothing to publicized..but not for the case of Khazanah or any GLC thought all churning their fuel from same tax money..

That's why YTL should have no problem bidding for whatever business in Singapore or do any hankypanky whatever..

But not all can be bought in Singapore..see what happens to the smartass Ananda when he try to move Maxis to S'pore and expecting the "satellite subsidy" like he inherited here in Malaysia..akhirnya balik menjilat negara sendiri juga.. YTL- YES to lancau..

:D muhahahaha
    -anti hindraf & ultra chingkies-

27. Skilgannon10664:53 pm

Anti whatever 7:28 PM

So, finally you have surfaced! I was kinda wondering if you had retired from combat with the weakening flow of your creative juices!

To address the points in your post:

- who made the IPP policy that resulted in Tenaga Nasional being saddled with having to purchase the electricity generated by the IPPs?
    - who, exactly, is this "moron" that you are referring to?
    - and when did Ananda Krishnan announce a plan to "move Maxis to Singapore"? Can you direct me to the relevant news reports?

You must be confused with the fact that Maxis pulled out of the Indonesian telecom market due to disagreements with it's Indonesiana partner and that the same Indonesian party bought out Maxis's stake in their joint-venture property investment company in Singapore.

And since there is no satellite-based telecom infrastructure in Singapore's domestic market, the question of a "satellite subsidy" does not arise.

You also have neglected to mention that Telekom Malaysia has a substantial stake in Singapore's smallest telco - M1. Unfortunately, Telekom does not seem to have derived any synergies from this investment!

But, of course, you didn't know all of the above, did you?

No wonder they say that ignorance is bliss!

28. Anonymous7:58 pm

Obviously an idiot here talk alot about Malaysia talent flowing but forgetting the fact that the flow from his fetish-worshiped country if far more critical..

But, of course, he didn't know all of the above when doing his pigwashing verbs, did he? The only thing i remembered, the pig quietly runaway after someone tossed down the fact to save his 'perasan cantik' pigface..

:D muhahahaha
    -anti hindraf & ultra chingkies-

29. urghhh....2:55 pm

The Chinese business community must stop depending on their corruption crutches techniques.

Everytime they want to make money they used their crutches to get monopoly from UMNO.

It is time that crutch mentality from the Chinese be wiped out or else malaysia will never improved.

Even the Chinese hero Chow Yun Fart said chinese need strict communism to control their irreligious lifestyles.

If not you will continuously see tht ugly fat Chinese face of fat chinamen like Yeoh Tiong Lay or Vincent Tan smiling from the STAR urgggghh..

Fat chubby from eating too much pork..ugrrh..

30. Incompetent UMNO3:05 pm

"But not all can be bought in Singapore..see what happens to the smartass Ananda when he try to move Maxis to S'pore and expecting the "satellite subsidy" like he inherited here in Malaysia..akhirnya balik menjilat negara sendiri juga.. YTL- YES to lancau.."

Ananda the Indian smart ass can only make money in Malaysia UMNO leaders generosity like Mahathir who give the satellite monopoly. Mahathir father according to the STAR is from Kerala India! Hah that explains everything.

Ananda got big headed Indian styled but was making losses in India. To cover his losses he increase Astro fees in Malaysia and the UMNO minister just smiled stupidly.

In Indonesia, they were angry with him for buying out their shares only to sell to Saudi Arabia investors. So they terminate his license.

In Malaysia he cheated EPF, Khazanah and the Malays like Abdullah the Bodoh said it shows the Arabs have faith in Indian company. Compare the reactions of the Indonesians, they considered Ananda as a cheater as he went behind their back to sell Arab investors and acted accordingly!

Stupid bodowi is another incompetent UMNO leader best forgotten.

31. Anonymous12:12 pm

This is the same family who has staff in the local authorities in their payroll just to ensure they can bulldoze their way!