Monday, May 10, 2010

Recoloring May 13

United People. It was multiracial Malaysia's bloodiest day. On 13 May 1969, riots in Kuala Lumpur and elsewhere around the country broke out, showing us how fragile race relations had been and, perhaps, would be. Against the odds, though, Malaysians have survived till today without another major skirmish. In fact, the nation has thrived economically and we pride ourselves as a very peaceful and stable nation. 

Under the surface, however, racial unity has continued to come under pressure. With the total freedom of expression that we enjoy on Internet, we test each other. Some quarters won't stop until we are at loggerheads once more. Fortunately there are many among us who genuinely want us to be 1. Anas Zubedy is one of us. His latest project, in conjunction with the 41st anniversary of the bloody 13 May, is to launch the Let's Recolor May 13, "to breathe new spirit into the date, to dilute and eventually erase the negative thoughts and replace them with positive meanings and values".   

I'm all for that.
Are you?
Learn how you can recolor May 13 here.

37 comments:

1. Anonymous1:09 am

Stop this blatant hypocrisy. Its the folk like Parpukari whom you greatly adore who is causing all this tension. He is openly calling for non-Malays to be booted out as he does not want to be answerable to the future Malay generation.

if there is nothing more than I hate is a bloody hypocrite and you sir are one.

2. Anonymous1:31 am

Try telling this to Ibrahim Ali

hahaha

3. Firstly let's dispense with the notion that May 13th 1969 was a national event!!

Most of the clashes, deaths, destruction of property and injuries took place in KL which was then still under Selangor State.

Outside of it, there were minor disturbances in Ipoh, Malacca, and Penang. Nothing happened elsewhere or in Sarawak and Sabah!!

That's not to trivialise the memories of those who died, were seriously injured, and lost homes and properties. It was indeed a horrible and tragic event in our history!

But kudos to you AND Anas Zubedy "to breathe new spirit into the date, to dilute and eventually erase the negative thoughts and replace them with positive meanings and values!!"

Yes, I'm all for recolouring May 13 and have placed the logo on my blog!!

dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

4. Anonymous2:48 am

Hei Rocky what are you trying to do, if there is one thing I hate it is one of those subliminal messages where you are not saying it but you are saying it! I have forgotten May 13th many have forgotten May 13th, in fact I have forgotten how Bintang Tiga put my uncle in a gunny sack and about to skewered him with a sharp bamboo pole I have forgotten stories of how Bintang Tiga massacred kampong folks, I have forgotten many things and what is this re-colouring May 13th crap is all about!
    I hate subliminal messages! The other night I saw a program on Astro Awani in which a chap from Ranhill Utilities was interviewed by Mano Maniam if I am not mistaken, and the topic was water wastage and how much Malaysian waste water, and the program was good but until it starts showing Muslim washing before prayer that goes with the topic of wasting water! I thought that was the worse and crude subliminal messages I have ever witness ! Now wasting water will be equated with Muslim cleaning themselves with water before prayer! Why cant the picture be about factories wasting water then show picture of factories stealing waters then wasting them, so I can go on!
    But re-colouring May 13th what the hell is that man!

Fed up

5. Anonymous3:43 am

that's right.

may 13 can be cool. let's not avoid mentioning it. we should be proud of it. all the time, even.

without may13, malaysia would be different today.

put it into schoolbooks. make it a compulsary study in all schools.

let's not bury may13. it's may13, 1969. it's history. we've since moved on. but we learn from it.

do not let anyone talk about may13 in their own myopic way. or to serve some sinister agenda. or to threaten you.

may13 is like a flower. a national icon. own it. it belongs to all of us malaysians.

let's CELEBRATE may13.

heck, thank god for may13.

13mei.
    may13.
    cool.....

4RAKYAT

6. PukTillDrop7:14 am

One person who should support this is donplaypuk but I bet that pariah is skeptic.

Typical talk too much and ever critical ane.

7. Fuckatan Riot7:20 am

Rocky

What are you spinning here? This is sure an attempt to ridicule Pakatan Rakyat.

I can't feel you are up to something ... Bet Najib, ALtantunya, Rosmah and Submarine are behind this.

Bet you are covering up for the police. Who did you shoot down Rocky?

Any thing to do with Teoh Beng Hock death inquiry?

Hehehehehe ... thats what those Pakatan idiots would say!

8. Best to let it rest. Only very few younger generation know about it. In my view, the good intention of Anas is misplaced in this matter.

9. Anonymous11:35 am

i strongly support unity.

maya

10. Anonymous11:38 am

513, May 13 or whatever...

always those useless bn & ngo screwed-up arseholes in their 50s/60s ( and one miserable mamak in his 80s ) that keep harping on it.

think our teenagers know or give the fuck about this 513.

to all those old buggers who still insist on bringing up 513 to threaten the people... they should go eat shit & die in hell !

and then maybe this country will be a better place for everyone.

so fcuk any talks on may 13, lets talk about whacking indo & china... in the thomas cup.

11. May 13 witness12:12 pm

donplaypuks, dispense with yourself!

remember, it was sarajevo and NOT the entire bosnia that came under siege and serbian snipers, but the whole country and the whole balkan region was impacted. had may 13 lasted months instead of just a day, do imagine the effect on malaysia, if you have the brains to imagine.

your beloved americans dropped the atom bombs in hiroshima and nagasaki, NOT the whole of japan. but it scarred a whole nation and scared the entire world!

again, your beloved americans attacked saddam's iraq. did they wage war against the whole of iraq or just baghdad and the major towns?

the reds demo in thailand took place in bangkok, but the demonstrators and thaksin supporters came from ALL over thailand to be in the capital.

my point to you and your kind, May 13 was a national event. people from batu pahat, penang and elsewhere came up mainly to kl (and some went to singapore even) to kill one another based on color and skin. kl was the capital of malaysia and kl was where it started.

don't you dare dispense with the notion.

12. Anonymous12:59 pm

what May 13 ??? Rocky, are you implying to reminding or threatening the non-Malay ??

13. May 13, 1969 is a continuation of 1946 Melayu-Cina war. The build up by the Chinese is on again nowadays.

14. Anonymous1:45 pm

Zaid Ibrahim and PR Goons,

On this auspicious May the 13th, please stop pump priming the malayphobia.

Salleh Telegu

15. "One person who should support this is donplaypuk but I bet that pariah is skeptic. Typical talk too much and ever critical ane." Puktilldrop. 7:14 AM.

Yennadai??!! This will teach you to open your eyes fully first before shooting your mouth off!! Guess who's proven himself to be the real pariah (to quote you)?? That's what happens to ever critical racist fools like you who shoot from the hip!!

dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

16. Anonymous2:06 pm

why still want to talks about may13?

why don't we talk about the shooting of two secondary school children?

but then again...

"The Home Minister also said that instead of constantly attacking the police, the public must support the force as it was one of the institutional pillars that formed the spine of the country".

guess this idiot must be having a jolly good times & mabuking in london.

17. Anas's intention is good but instead of Recolouring May 13, I think the Government should set up a special interactive Museum and memorial to remind all Malaysians now and the future, of the BLACK DAY, when, if unchecked...

extreme bigotry;
    extreme hypocrisy;
    excessive racism;
    unfettered feeling of one race superiority over the other;
    self enforced segregation;
    & extreme shit stirring and provocation and belittling of each other

..could bring this Blessed nation teetering on the brink of total anarchy and Civil War.

"He who does not learn from history is doomed to repeat it. - George Santayana"

18. stop discriminate,where is black?

19. ppl should be reminded of this date.

ppl should have urgency to enforce understanding between races (more discussion, talks, justifications, dialogs) and reject any calls for supermacy of certain race.

ppl should toe what re defines in the constitution.

it would be a complete rubbish to 'window dress' this date and stop any attempts for enforcing understanding between races.

20. CommonerNinetyNine5:44 pm

there do have many people genuinely want to unite, but there are also many masquerader using all sorts of slogan to hide their evil agendas.

being patriotic does not need to forget one's own race, but one's own selfish agendas.

if one cannot even accept his/her own race, how could he/she expects people to accept him/her?

if we don't know what race people come from, how are we going to avoid conflicts by not knowing their customs?

it is nothing wrong having different races, but it is very wrong to discriminate other races.

having different races in one country is not a problem when everyone pledge allegiance to the country, problems only start when everyone want something for themselves.

one similarity that all advance countries have is that they all have patriotic citizen and willing to sacrifice for their country.

people can think of endless slogan, but slogan will remain as slogan when people don't actually practice in reality what is said on the slogan.

21. Recoloring May 13 --

I remember May 13.

Some people have been trying to rewrite May 13. Like they have been trying to rewrite a lot of Malaysian history.

I'm with Anas. But I need to figure out how this stands in the reality of things..

But well done Anas.I have no doubt that his intentions are noble!.

22. Anonymous10:34 pm

"History is a set of lies agreed upon." - Napoleon Bonaparte

Rhan

23. may 13 is approaching ...

24. Anonymous12:43 pm

i am all for this! very original thinking. a great mind.

-i am a malaysian-

25. Anonymous12:45 pm

Specially for Rhan @ 10:34 PM

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

—George Santayana

26. tebing tinggi12:50 pm

MAY 13 IS A GOOD REMINDER OF US BEING TOGETHER.

1sekolah >1bahasa 1Malavsia.

27. Anonymous12:54 pm

PAS has slammed the involvement of a government agency in a mammoth gathering of right-wing Malay groups in Kuala Terengganu on May 13 the 41st anniversary of the country�s deadliest race riots The Terengganu Integrity Institute has been listed as �cooperating� with a group calling itself Gerakan Kebangkitan Rakyat Gertak to organise the.

28. Sdr Rocky's Bru,

The following passage from your posting is referred:

"It was multiracial Malaysia's bloodiest day. On 13 May 1969, riots in Kuala Lumpur and elsewhere around the country broke out, showing us how fragile race relations had been and, perhaps, would be."

1. It may be so. But May 13 might not be the bloodiest racial confrontation in our recent history.

2. The Post-World War II, the clashes between the Malays and the MCP's jubilant Bintang Tiga cadres, who were mainly Chinese, killed as many as 400 people and, in Johor alone, displaced 14,000 people. (Cheah Boon Kheng, The Masked Comrades).

3. Official reports put the May 13 deaths at 178 ( Gordon P Means, Malaysian Politics).

4. We must do something to "remind" the people, especially the younger generations, of these bloody incidents. If they don't know or forget history, we are bound to repeat past mistakes.

29. Anonymous10:02 pm

“We must do something to "remind" the people, especially the younger generations, of these bloody incidents. If they don't know or forget history, we are bound to repeat past
    mistakes.”

Agree. A correct way should be taught through education in school, perhaps we shall make it a compulsory chapter in our history subject. Otherwise the constant “remind” via some wick politician and substandard journalism could only cause more confusion to our younger generation. And of course the non-stop babbling of Santayana quotes that sound more like a broken record doesn’t help at all.

Rhan

30. Anonymous6:23 pm

Rhan,

My kid did research on this incidence 2009, while preparing for SPM.. got valuable sources from JMD blog,(TQ JMD), nice write-up on these in his May2009 articles...

And my kid was lucky, 2uncles retired Armed Forces Officers once served under the late Gen TS Sri Hamid - loads of information from them for said project paper..

Yap... young generations can analyse things very rationally as they take pains to read and research..

BTW my kid is starting the new term in College soon, and 2 other housemates are going to be Chinese.. They are not the PURE APEK bukit mali kid types though.. straight Thn1 to Ting.5 Sekolah Kebangsaan students..

31. skilgannon10661:14 pm

perwira 6:23 PM

"pure apek"???? The mind boggles!

Never mind that some of these "pure apek" kids are good enough to gain entry to prestigeous foreign universities on their strength of their academic results alone, without any need for wires, cables or handouts.

Gee - it must be something in the air that these kids breathe or the water that they drink. Or parents who sacrifice to make sure that their kids get a chance for a better life somewhere.

So, are these "pure apek" kids the exemplification of all that's good about meritocracy? Because, if without rich or influential parents, they can make the grade on academic prowess alone, they must be praised, right? Even by the likes of Perkasa.

Oh, just to let u know - I have seen some of these "pure apek" kids from Malaysia in the top schools and junior colleges in Singapore (where else?) where they get in on full scholarships, and where they do well in terms of exam results and university admissions.

Which only goes to show that true talent knows no boundaries (how about drumming that into the minds of the Perkasa and Gertak luminaries, eh?).

32. Anonymous2:36 pm

PERWIRA,

Glad to know that your kid did a nice write-up on the incident.

Knowing that history is fluid and ever-changing, as the interpreters change in background, circumstance and understanding, perhaps you should encourage your kid to read Kua Kia Soong and many memoirs of the leftist to expand their knowledge from a different perspective. I believe our young/future generation could excel better and capable to draw a more objective conclusion of their own if the environment are with less influence of the rigid aged group like you and me that are with mind already cast in stone.

As I was never the Kebangsaan type, and base on your fallacy hmmm…I mean fantastic logic, our thought should be poles apart which I presume is quite true. By looking at your affection toward Kebangsaan liberalist like LGE, Teresa, Tony, Hannah, Eli and fancy interaction with Kebangsaan commenter like dpp, sg, and monsterboy, I have to say I am damn envy, ironic indeed!?

The blog title is recoloring yet I notice you only see black and white, well, I better not comment much on individual preference. Have a nice day and xie xie.

Rhan

33. Anonymous8:59 pm

Skilgannon+13, Rhan,

PURE APEK, Apek Bukit yes..... too many of them sleep walking around aimlessly on this LAND in their "make belief world" that they are floating citizens of Beijing (definitely not from the South), Hongkong, Taiwan and Singapore". I really pity them!

Haiyoyo.. help get them to snap out of their dreams la.. THIS IS MALAYSIA...

34. Anonymous9:28 pm

Skillyanon+13,

BM/BI dapat "F"... Habis macam mana? Sum more sit for easier papers also cannot get Credit for both!!

An entry requirement for most Public Colleges and Universities here and BI a must for most Professional courses!

We invite all to join SSS...what to do..don wan one.. Don't blame our system..

And the PURE APEK so shy to even attempt to visit local institutions to make enquiries, you tak tau ker?

Haiyoyo... don't tembak.. when it comes to SPM results, my neighbours ZIP their mouths la... so shy one..

35. PERUTUSAN IKHLAS SEMPENA HAPPY "BELATED" RACIST DAY YANG KE 41...

... PADA 2000, GENAP 10 TAHUN WA LANDING DENGAN MAS (2ND TIME NAIK FLIGHT) SEPANG DARI CHARLES DE GAULLE.

SECARA JUJUR AKU SUKA PELBAGAI BANGSA WUJUD DI BUMI MALAYA INI... CONTOH KETARA + TERKINI, LAYANAN RASAMAS (BUFET RM10/PAX 6-9 PM RABU) MIDVALLEY BETTER THAN PUTRAJAYA SEBAB ADA BUKAN meLAYU YANG BOLEH KONDEM SERVIS MEREKA JIKA HAPRAK. DI MRSM ERA (1992) PATEK PULOK, BILA ADA CINA, PERSAINGAN TERLAHIR LANTAS BUMIPUTRA MAU BERSAING SECARA SIHAT BERBANDING DENGKI NGOK NON STOP.

SO PROGRAM meLAYU BANGKIT ANJURAN Dr M BUKAN APA, HANYA UNTUK MEMBUNUH SIKAP PERKAUMAN YANG MASIH ADA PADA SESETENGAH RAKYAT KITA TERUTAMA NON MALAYS...

... SEBAGAI KESIMPULAN, HAMBA SARANKAN AGAR GOMEN MAMPU BAGI ALAUN & KEISTIMEWAAN KHAS KEPADA SESIAPA SAHAJA YANG MENGAMALKAN KAHWIN CAMPUR YANG BUKAN HANYA MERAMAIKAN LAGI ANAK KACUKAN YANG COMEL2/BIJAK/SIHAT MALAHAN JUGA DAPAT MENGERATKAN SEMANGAT MUHIBAH SESAMA INSAN.

SEKIAN, HARAP MAKLUM.

YANG BENAR,

MAL +60128624623
    KACUKAN YAHUDI MUKHSININ
    HTTP://TAGTAG.COM/CONSPIRACY2012

*P.S. SHARE TO ALL ESP. NAMEWEE, CHE DET, ROCKY BRU WITH THE GENG

36. Anonymous9:59 am

While the rest moving forward, some could only piaffe and repeat the same over and over, and for that, my sympathies.

Rhan