Tuesday, March 09, 2010

Why is BSA Tahir still here?

BSA and RPK have a couple of things in common: both were detained under the ISA and both seem to enjoy some kind of protection in their adopted countries.

Unlike RPK, though, BSA Tahir is a wanted man globally but a free man in Malaysia where he holds a PR. Not only is he a free man, BSA Tahir recently made the news in Singapore [which was republished by RPK's Malaysia Today].

I know RPK will not bring any harm to the UK, where he lives happily with wife and family since his great escape from from the law in Malaysia. Will BSA Tahir love Malaysia as he is loved by Malaysia? I don't have any adopted country and I don't wish to have any, so I must hope and I must pray that this BSA Tahir does not one day bring harm to my beloved birthplace.

If you have forgotten, BSA Tahir was the man the US wanted to extradite and face terror-related charges in America. Remember those CIA or FBI agents who came here to interview him while he was under detention? He was released with conditions in June 2008 and soon after (some said on the very last day that Syed Hamid Albar was Home Minister) he became a free man.

Soon after that, according to an article in the Straits Times of Singapore last week, he filed a suit in the High Court of Malaysia against former business partners Abdullah Badawi Jr and Shah Hakim.

I have nothing against this guy (or, rather, his Malaysian wife) taking his ex's to the cleaners but I really hope it wasn't BSA Tahir who is dragging Malaysia's name in the mud across the Causeway and into the columns and inches of the Straits Times of Singapore. Because it it was him, then I'll wonder what else he'd do to get his way.

Read Leslie Lopez's piece in Straits Times here.
Also RPK's The BSA Tahir and PI Bala saga.

44 comments:

1. Bro, I couldn't help laughing when you referred to RPK's "great escape from from the law in Malaysia"! ...err..."law"?? What law are we talking about here?

You make the typical journalistic assumption that your reader will assume everything that that word implies in its usual application is how we will interpret it when applied to Malaysia!

But you see, like me, the typical reader would, I presume, pause, do a double take and move on, giving very little notice to everything else you might have to say.

Tell you what. The image I had when you said "law in Malaysia" was some Texan cheaply made cowboy movie.

2. Anonymous2:16 pm

Anyway rocky isnt Malaysia your adopted country as u were born in singapore or that also u forgot.

anti pandatang

3. Anonymous2:33 pm

Bro, it is high time we looked into this matter in more detail.

If there is a hell, Abdullah Badawi, his son kamaluddin and Shah Hakim Zain will rot in hell for what they have done to BSA Tahir.

Tahir is no angel. He wants to stay here because he has no home country. Originally from Sri Lanka Tahir worked for his uncle who was a gun runner in the Emirates (Dubai).

His uncle made money by running guns to Arabs and even Sri Lankans. That is how Pakistani nuclear weapons dealer Qadir Khan made contact with Tahir's uncle (and ultimately Tahir).

But they are now bad names in Sri Lanka where the Tamils have been defeated. They are also bad names in Dubai and Middle East since 9-11 and the Libyan nuclear parts scandal. If t Tahir returns to Dubai or Sri Lanka he may get arrested or worse.

So Tahir really needs a home. That is why he needs to stay here. Also his wife is here. I think he will make quite the loyal PR bro.

Tahir is suing Kamal and Shah Hakim for balance of the money due to him from the sale of Kaspadu shares (the holding company of Scomi).

Its like this. When the shit hit the fan about the nuclear parts caper in 2004, and to cover Badawi's backside, Kamal and Shah 'persuaded' Tahir to sell his stake in Kaspadu to them in 2004.

Obviously after putting Tahir under ISA, it was easier to 'negotiate' with Tahir to agree to sell the shares at fire sale prices. Tahir was actually under ISA detention at the time of the 'share price negotiation'.

Kamal's father was the Home Minister. How convenient. This also explains RPK's point that Tahir was never detained in Kamunting for long. In exchange for the share sale, Tahir was promised house arrest, under the care of his wife. How nice of Badawi.

The luxury condo he was staying in was gazetted a detention centre. (Bro try to get the Gazette on the condo lah).

Of course with this promise of ISA detention at home, eating home cooked chicken curry and beriyani, Tahir quickly signed over the shares to Kamal and Shah Hakim.

The unexpected twist was Kamal and Shah Hakim never expected Badawi to be kicked out as PM. So many lose ends bro.

Now Tahir is suing Kamal and Shah Hakim for RM75 million. Apa pasal Malay Mail never carry the story bro? Put on the front page lah.

Tahir cannot sue Kamal and Shah Hakim for unlawful and false imprisonment because Kamal was not the Home Minister. Only his father.

This is a cheap story of how Badawi, Kamal and Shah Hakim abused their power, jailed a man to steal money from him. If there is justice bro, these devils must go to jail.

As for BSA Tahir, batal dia punya PR bro and ask them to get lost. We dont need these types of ungrateful, unpatriotic, traitorous mamaks in this country. There are too many of them around already.

Hoegarten.

4. Anonymous2:43 pm

Old Fart, you have that asssumption because you are a fart, something that comes out of an asshole.

So lets widen our discussion a little. RPk's son was a brutal hitman for hire. Before his arrest he was known to be available for hire to attack and even kill people.

He was arrested numerous times but we never knew about it until he was arrested the last time for beating up his victim, then breaking and entering the victim's house, then stealing and again beating up the victim.

He is now facing trial. By your farting, is that according to the law or no? If you agree that the law should apply to RPk's son, how then is your logic that the same law, the same police, the same court, the same prosecutors do not apply to RPK?

RPK is also an undischarged bankrupt. Is that not lawful too? Why dont you ask the people he still owes money to?

Change your nick name. It is too real.

5. Anti Pendatang wrote:

Anyway rocky isnt Malaysia your adopted country as u were born in singapore or that also u forgot.

xxxxxxx ----- xxxxxx

Anti Pendatang,

I was born in Melaka. Kek Moncino (Ramuan Cina in Lubok Cina) in 1961. My dad was working in Singapura, which was part of Malaya then. My two brothers and two sisters and I grew up in Singapore, we went to school there, dated there, etc etc.

My dad sent back all 3 sons as soon as we'd completed our O levels. My eldest sister lives in Ramuan Cina.

One of my brothers married a Singaporean who became a Malaysian a few years ago.

My sister is the only one who became a Singaporean. She married a Sporean Javanese in 1975. My nephew and niece are Singaporeans and given that Singapore was part of this Land once upon a time and my own history there, I have many relatives and friends there.

6. Anonymous3:13 pm

Must apologise as have read many times u saying that u were in singapore anyway thanks for explaination.

anti pendatang

7. Anonymous4:10 pm

Rocky, bagilah chance kat Pak Lah !!

takkan 'tiada maaf' bagimu dari Rocky kepada Pak Lah !!

PP

8. skilgannon10664:29 pm

So, is it true that the US govt has sanctions against Shah Hakim? What are these sanctions? Is he, for instance, "blacklisted" from getting a US visa to travel to the US? Is he on a US govt watch list?

Who else in this sorry mess has been sanctioned by the US govt?

Or could it be that Mr Tahir knows exactly who was holding the cards then, and who was playing the game? Because, Pak, that is one heck of a big ace card!

And, btw, Pak Rocky - it must be exasperating to constantly having to compare Malaysia against Singapore everytime you travel to the little red dot. Your relatives and friends there must have plenty of questions about recent developments in Malaysia. Anyone amongst them tempted to make the leap from the republic to the "greener" pastures of Malaysia?

9. Hoegarten. cheers no wonder the name sound familiar ....

10. Anonymous6:59 pm

bsa tahir screwing the country?

no la!

its the amno malays who are doing a damn good job fucking the country upside down, inside out...

11. Anonymous6:59 pm

Anti-Pendatang,
    Ah Beng, sorry to burst your bubble but Singapura was a part of Malaysia lor. There were kampongs there once and we use to criss-cross that bridge visiting kins and relatives. They lived a delightful, tranquil and comfy life till some greedy,sly and crude slit-eyed tongkang people reached our shores and wiped the kampungs of the face of that land. But what do you know about history yeah. Even the name you cannot pronounce/spell correctly. Singapore- What the fuck is that? Must be the stiff tongued anglo lickass that you guys are.

Singlish- if buttholes could talk it'll sound like this!

12. 1. Dato', its nice to read about where you and your family come from, putting paid the perception that you were born in Singapore. Many sons of pendatangs who are now anti pendatangs themselves must surely be dissapointed he,he..

2. Bro Hoegarten(2:31pm) that is one hell of a revelation..just show what crude and heartless people with the necessary connections can do for money. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

13. Anonymous8:10 pm

first it was the indons
    than it was missing indians
    now we have a sri lankan ...

malaysia must be so good that many wants to harbor it as home ...

RPK? do we still remember that name? come and go, come and go ..

so how is it that w have m'sians running away and foreigners coming in?

fools as we were and still fools as we are ....

today we dont only allow rape form a distance but also welcome them in our house ...

BSA ... get out!

14. Anonymous8:13 pm

Something wrong with you, Rocky.

BL

15. This is a clear case of how ISA was abused because of personal interest. Period.

16. BSA Tahir was the man behind the charge to the Sapura daughter company (which was registered as Prisma Wibawa in its early days).

I do remember this Prisma Wibawa which later known as SCOPE. And still remember too that Prisma Wibawa in its early days got its precision cutting machines (mostly a Cincinatti brand from USA) from a project funder and not from their own expenses. If this were correct, if not please do accept my apologise.

Cincinatti or Cincinnati Milacron it is not a common cutting machines used neither by most of tool makers or precision parts fabricator in Malaysia nor ASEAN. If BSA Tahir was man the behind the case, this is not simply a charge to him but it is also had to be linked to the US intellogence on how the American brand mahcines can be imported and tranfer to Malaysia by him? Or this is where is the basis of investigation the US intelligence where they were investigating what are the machine user did with their machine....

BTW..BSA brand for the alloy carwheel are not part of BSA Tahir business link...it is solely a different company

17. Anonymous11:18 pm

Datuk,
    I have many mamak friends. They are very industrious and law abiding citizens. Very rare do you see a mamak being charged in court for corruption, etc, etc. They are so industrious that they opened up kedai mamaks that stay open round the clock, even before McD did that, and contributed to our economy. But many also have moved on to become senior corporate figures, technocrats and Minister. So Rocky stop stereotyping and making racist comments about minorities. Cermin diri dulu lah!

Anti-racism

18. Anonymous12:17 am

Old Fart coming from an Arse-Hole?
    This is an undeniable truth that no man can deny.

Toing!

19. Tony Baloney9:22 am

Like we've been saying all this while to the Pakatan Ruckus, is Nik Aziz going cuckoo or wat?? New infighting and misunderstanding brewing? Check it out bro....

20. the reader9:48 am

Finally...a quote from not UMNO friendly site...well..only when it comes to attacking Badawi..

21. Anonymous10:01 am

Hoegarten, Wow! It's amazing. If you had not written that, many people would not know all those sordid details!

Osma

22. Parpukari1:20 pm

“On certain days, up to 600 messages are received a day and these would be attended to by the Prime Minister personally.”

I find this most remarkable, as Najib will have no time for affairs of state as Prime Minister if he spends 10 hours a day on Facebook – given one minute for a Facebook message, which will consume 600 minutes (or 10 hours) for 600 messages.

kah...kah... kah.....

Najib = KoYaK!

23. Anonymous1:20 pm

Shah Hakim's good friend in SCOREME, Hilmi Zaini, now the president of Scomi Engineering or something like that.

Guess who is Hilmi's best friend?

When Scomi went for listing few years back, Hilmi's best friend wrote a damn long report promoting the stock to the max, during his time as an analyst at this Japanese outfit in KL. I'm sure seasoned fund managers in KL still remember this chap. They (Himi and this guy) studied in Australia together. And now this guy is one of Najib's "level 4" boy in PM's office!

It seems that Shah Hakim/KJ has planted his man everywhere, even, in Najib's office.

Jangan Pandang Belakang.

24. hello skillgannon
    snactions on shah hakim is not punitive. no travel ban, no watch list(he travels freely all over) no freezing of assets and scomi operates in USA freely with no restrictions. yang saya dengar is he cannot use US govt assets or borrow from US EXIM BANK. they have several contracts with US companies and renewed yearly as as well.just for your info , only facts no opinion

25. Anonymous2:04 pm

Seven times a year on a holiday called 'Pon', Indonesians make a pilgrimage to a sacred mountain on Java to get down and dirty with a person other than their spouse - if they sleep with that same person seven times, they believe their wishes and blessings will come true

26. Anonymous4:00 pm

Datok Rocky,

Tony "the Butcher of Baghdad" Blair is coming to town on the 23rd to 25th April 2010 to speak at one of the convention at the Sunway Convention Centre. Lets blow the horns of peace and demo infront of Sunway Convention Centre on that days.

Nik Rahmah

27. sebenarnya Ayatollah PAS ni takut terlepas kerusi kesayangannya iaitu MB Kelate.Dah 18 tahun dok kat kerusi tu TAPI Kelate dok macam tu juga... Awat nak pecah rekod Tun DrM ke?

28. Anonymous5:22 pm

So Old Fart, which law do you subscribe to? Mother-in-law kah?

You think if your hero Raja Putar Kamaruddin breaks the law in Britain, he will not be punished?

Only in Malaysia the cops were lenient with him. Over there in Britain he's a mouse, such a good boy.

Pijak semut pun tak mati.

29. skilgannon10665:54 pm

This is Leslie Lopez's email address: ljlopez@sph.com.sg

He is the Senior Regional Correspondent for the Singapore Straits Times and is based in KL.

Read his latest commentary "KL delays unveiling of New Economic Model" in the Spore ST, March 10.

In his commentary, he refers to:
    - "powerful vested interest groups within Umno who are opposed to free competition"
    - opposition from "large sections of the bureaucracy which is also not pro-competition"
    - the fact that the Malaysian economy is "losing its competitive edge for foreign investments" and to the "rise of other emerging markets such as Indonesia and Vietnam"
    - the fact that Malaysia's FDI in 2009 totalled US$2.7 billion compared with US$8.1 billion in 2008

Now, who exactly are the "powerful vested interest groups within Umno" and the "large sections of the bureaucracy" that he referred to in his commentary?

Let's see if anyone within Umno or the bureaucracy will file a police report against Mr Lopez for making such blatantly false accusations.

Maybe Perkasa or MPM could do the honours and start the ball rolling?
    Surely, that shouldn't be too much to ask of these groups, seeing as how they are all fired up with righteous indignation, right?

30. Anonymous7:34 am

Tahir & RPK run the country ke?

We elected those bn/umno to take care of the country & look what happen...

They turn out to be rubbish & bastards!!!

31. Anonymous7:40 am

Another 'quality' person to leave PKR soon, says Zulkifli

QUALITY?

WAH! KAH! KAH!

PLEEZ, ZOOKIFLEE GO SUCK PIG DICK!!!

NOW SEE, NOT ONLY BN/UMNO GOT RUBBISH & BASTARDS

32. Patriotic Malaysian1:07 pm

IT IS SAD WE MALAYSIAN HAVE BECOME MORE RACIST LATELY WHEREAS OUR GOVERNMENT PROFESSES ONE MALAYSIA AND UNITY.

IT IS A PITY YOU ARE NOT WRITING ABOUT THE INJUSTICE DONE TO BSA TAHIR
    WHO WAS DETAINED WITHOUT TRIAL FOR FOUR YEARS BY BODOWI TO COVER THE ASSES OF HIS SON AND SON IN LAW OF TUN SALEH ABBAS .

WE MALAYSIANS HAVE SHORT MEMORY THAT BSA WAS CLEARED OF ANY WRONG DOING BY THE IGP , PM AND OTHER OFFICIALS IN FEB 2003.

ALL OF A SUDDEN HE BECAME A NATIONAL THREAT AND WAS DETAINED .

ROCKY, HAVE YOU EVER QUESTIONED BODOWI GOVERNMENT ABOUT THIS MISCARRIAGE OF JUSTICE. DID YOU ASK WHY HIS SON AND SON IN LAW OF TUN SALEH ABBAS WERE NOT DETAINED.

NOW YOU TELL ME WHETHER HIS DETENTION WAS FOR BODOWI’S PERSONAL INTEREST OR NATIONAL INTEREST.

YOU THINK IF HE WAS A WANTED PERSON THE AMERICAN WOLFS WOULD HAVE SPARED HIM. COME ON LAH ROCKY.

HUNDREDS AND THOUSANDS OF MALAYSIANS HAVE MIGRATED TO OTHER COUNTRIES WHERE THEY WERE WELCOMED. ROCKY, HALF OF YOUR SIBLINGS HAVE BECOME SINGAPOREAN.

WHAT IS THE FUSS ABOUT BSA TAKING MALAYSIA AS AN ADOPTED COUNTRY.

ROCKY STOP CHARACTER ASSASINATION OF A PERSON WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS CORRECTLY. IT SHOWS YOUR IGNORANCE AND HOW VENEMOUS TOWARDS BSA.
    MAY BE YOU ARE ALSO IN THE PAY ROLL OF KAMALUDDIN BODOWI AND SHAH HAKIM.

NO WONDER AN ORDINARY PONY TAILED BLOGGER DRIVES AROUND IN LUXURY BMW X6 CAR WHERE COMMON MAN IS USING PUBLIC TRANSPORT.

33. Broken Rocky1:09 pm

I read with interest what Rocky Bru said on his website.
    Ha ha interesting. You are writing on whose behalf this time.
    I don’t know whether this Rocky Bru has his facts right.
    RPK had never been detained but only for a short period. Where is the common thing about the two?
    There is nothing in common between RPK and BSA Tahir. Tahir was held and put into isolation for 4 years and further restriction for 1 ½ years. What is the parallel between RPK and BSA. He was not categorized as JI
    If I am not mistaken Tahir detention was for his involvement with SCOMI but the odd thing is why he should alone be detained.
    Tahir is not the shareholder of Scomi whereas Kamal (Badawi’s son) and Shah Hakim was the legal shareholder. Tahir has to take the brunt of the punishment to save these two goons. This two Kamal (Badawi’s son) and Shah Hakim should be meted with the same punishment as BSA. Is it because of their connection?
    Why are they spared Mud Rock? You might have the answer.
    Talking about adopted country in Malaysia the great majority of the population has adopted Malaysia as their beloved country.
    As a responsible journalist who has been given a new lease on his career and his resent honor has Latuk get your facts right.
    What wrong with you Mad Rock or Mud rock

34. kadeer10:30 am

eddy said...
    1. Dato', its nice to read about where you and your family come from, putting paid the perception that you were born in Singapore. Many sons of pendatangs who are now anti pendatangs themselves must surely be dissapointed he,he..

2. Bro Hoegarten(2:31pm) that is one hell of a revelation..just show what crude and heartless people with the necessary connections can do for money. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

7:44 PM

Many people would think that all these are just the writer's bulls##ts, but those who have experienced first hand with the Badawi clan will know that the person running the country isn't the father.

35. Anonymous11:44 am

Huh...BSA cannto escape your eyes, but blatant things by the government now in Putrajaya - you abstain from commenting.

After all, you do not care for the ordinary rakyat in such matters, because your 'sponsors' have well fed you with a salaried job and even a title.

But why not you just read, for once, what has oozed out of a statesman of this country?

Check http://razaleigh.com/2010/03/11/federation/ for details.

Don't go chasing after imaginary ghosts. Address the real 'devil' that is spoiling the rights of the Malaysians who decide which group should rule for them.

36. Anonymous12:58 pm

eh? wats eating you? why tahir & rpk?

did they whacked the country coffer ke?

so, still got nothing on the bn & newly independence mp, huh?

they damn clean, rite?

37. skilgannon10663:41 pm

shapian 1:49 PM

Thanks for the clarifications.

If the US govt is strict on nuclear proliferation issues and "rogue" regimes, why would it let Mr Tahir off the hook with a mild set of sanctions?

Could there be a quid pro quo at work here? Or could US intelligence have sussed out who actually is to blame in this can of worms?

And I don't think that Scomi has done any significant business in the US.

38. Tahir's sanctions are grave, his asssts are to be frozen, he is on the no fly list , he cannot go to US , the whole 9 yards sir. If he leaves Malaysia , he will be arrested.His assets will be frozen and seized. I belive the US is trying to serve the freezing of asstes order on him. again no opinion sir

39. FYI, Scomi has significant operations in US based out of Houston, and has many US oil companies globally as vendors and as clients.that s a fact sir

40. Anonymous4:50 pm

agreed with shapian. US contributed significantly to Scomi's revenue & earnings, as well as other regions including europe n middle east - international contracts account for almost 80% of scomi revenue. U can check the annual reports available at scomi website or bursa malaysia website.

Allman, india

41. Anonymous12:00 am

The question is why is Tahir still in the country and is a free man ? For the record he confessed his involvement in the nuclear racket hence the detention. Scomi on the other and was cleared by CIA and PDRM.

His dispute with his former partners had nothing to do with his detention as alluded by some people here.

42. Anonymous1:16 pm

skilgannon 3:41 PM

you "don't think" scomi has significant business in US??? u "dont think"?????

cmon brother, i thought we're having serious discussions in here... i think we're all adults and matured and possibly all professionals, we shouldnt say something without checking the FACTS first. you "think"???? i think you just make a fool out of yrself.

i am not defending scomi or anything, i have no business or association with them. but people if you're stupid dont show it bcos its very humiliating to read, and i have very high regards with this website by rocky and his commentators, but now i think here is no different from any other blogs... full of dimwit fools who think they know somthing but actually dont, and ignorant about it.

scomi is a publicly-traded company my friend, just go to bursa malaysia and you'll get all information you need about their operations... do you even know what a publicly-traded company means????

willard, dubai

43. Anonymous7:25 am

what a great joke you are making. Which law did RPK is running away from? He's not running away because there's simply no law to serve this country yet. get it?
    jackass!

44. Anonymous7:25 am

what a great joke you are making. Which law did RPK is running away from? He's not running away because there's simply no law to serve this country yet. get it?
    jackass!