Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Unemployment Insurance, anyone?

20/1 Second stimulus package to be launched soon to look into assisting companies and retrenched workers: DPM Najib/STAR
A former minister told me the other day that the Government should look also into the Human Resources Development Fund to help out retrenched workers. Not for retraining but to help put food on their table if it comes to that. SatD, a Malaysian blogger abroad, agrees on that bit about retraining when arguing his case for a unemployment insurance. "Retraining assistance when someone is struggling to pay his bills, installments, children food does not mean much......".

Experience tells us we'll need to act swiftly. We are not just dealing with the possibility of 1 million Malaysians (including 500,000 who are working in Singapore) losing jobs; we have millions of foreign workers here and many of them will most probably be losing jobs, too. The socio-economic impact will be colossal.

Read SatD's Unemployment Insurance, the Missing Social Safety Net
Let's discuss how we can help the authorities deal with the coming economic storm.

43 comments:

1. Anonymous4:04 pm

We need income tax cuts...we are been heavily compared to Singapore..perhaps a tax expert can explain more..definitely tax cuts can stimulate the economy better than the silly EPF reduciton which many employyes are reluctant to take since its their own money after all....

cordoba1

2. Anonymous4:32 pm

(fury9) : the big mamak said ; " quit your jobs in US companies !!"

why worry, jobs are abundant in non-US shops lah !

3. Anonymous4:52 pm

i hate to belabour the point, but the spore govt seems to be biting the bullet and admitting upfront in its latest forecast that spore's 2009 gdp growth has been revised downwards to between -5.0 to -2.0 per cent. this is lower than the previous estimates of -2.0 to +1.0 per cent.

the spore govt also forecast the republic's 2009 trade to contract between 17 and 19 per cent.

it cited a decline in demand from most of spore's major trading partners and a faster and steeper decline in global economic activity and a worsening global trade environment.

at least, the spore govt has the guts to tell it like it is. no false hopes. no sugar-coating a bitter pill.

and in malaysia, najib is talking of a second stimulus plan to "make sure that our economy will not fall into a deep recession, or even into a technical recession" (as per bloomberg and bernama reports).

whereas all of all malaysia's major trading partners (us, europe, japan, singapore, china and india) are in trouble. note how the govt has not as yet released the country's 2008 trade figures and the trade forecast for 2009.

guess who's living in fairyland?

4. How about...
    Belilah Barangan Buatan Malaysia.

I know some foreign products are better like Camry compare to Perdana. But Toyoya does not employ much local workers and generate the industry in Malaysia. How about giving a helping hand to our products which will then help their workers, their suppliers, vendors and etc.

Plus you can boycott evil american products because of Gaza at the same time.

Buy Pensonic, Boh, drink Kopi Aik Cheong, High five, Beras Bernas, Petronas, fly MAS and Air Asia, drive a Perodua if you think Proton is bad in fact if you want save money then buy a kelisa don't put off our local industry, use Power shoes, Asadi Slippers, Acson air cond, Mimos Computers, KDK fans, CSL Handphones, use Johnson Suisse toilet bowl, and many more.

If you want to drink fancy coffee how about having some at hometown kopitiam or Memory lane at melati, it's not as fancy ar as shining as the star_ and hey you save money too.

Or how about buy products that have factories or production in Malaysia like AMD, Intel, Western Digital and etc... They may rethink in closing off their Malaysian office if the local support is strong.

Yes we are all small potatoes,
    but hey being a little patriotic wont be detrimental for your health nor would it make you an UMNO man.

So Don't worry, let's help our local industry.

5. How about...

I know some foreign products are better like Camry compare to Perdana. But Toyota does not employ much local workers and generate the industry in Malaysia. How about giving a helping hand to our products which will then help their workers, their suppliers, vendors and etc.

Buy Pensonic, Boh, drink Kopi Aik Cheong, High five, Beras Bernas, Petronas, fly MAS and Air Asia, drive a Perodua if you think Proton is bad in fact if you want save money then buy a kelisa don't put off our local industry, use Power shoes, Asadi Slippers, Acson air cond, Mimos Computers, KDK fans, CSL Handphones, use Johnson Suisse toilet bowl, and many more.

If you want to drink fancy coffee how about having some at hometown kopitiam or Memory lane at melati, it's not as fancy or as shining as the star_ and hey you save money too.

Or how about buy products that have factories or production in Malaysia like AMD, Intel, Western Digital and etc... They may rethink in closing off their Malaysian office if the local support is strong.

Yes we are all small potatoes,
    but hey being a little patriotic wont be detrimental for your health nor would it make you an UMNO man.

So Don't worry, let's help our local industry.

6. Anonymous5:01 pm

Offtopic Bro
    I have just got this little query. u see i went to this blog where you got skewered yesterday about some meeting at La Bodega and found this:

splim Says:
    January 20, 2009 at 2:07 pm
    Haris,

The petition against Najib doesn’t seem to be working. Perhaps we should start a petition to keep Pak Lah as the PM until the next GE.

So, I skulked over to the petition thingy not to read its rubbish content but to observe its reception. A grand total of 1528 as of yesterday, i guess almost 2 weeks or more the day it was posted (i am not sure about the exact date). but anyway 1528/3,000,000 hits works out roughly to :0.0509333333333%. i fell off my chair laughing for a good 10 minutes and when i came to this Q popped up in my head: can blog hit be "manufactured"?

No wonder why someone is sooooo desperate that his itchy arse cant even stifle his envious fart when people wine and dine at the Bodegas of the world!! and to come up with his asinine conjectures is a sure indication that the guy is on the verge of a mental breakdown now that his and his gangs much touted and much hyped jamboree into kg cina in the Bandar state seat in KT did not pay dividends. nutgraph's debbie loh stated the obvious. no wonder, there is no celebratory whoops on the blog knowing that the mission was na abject failure in terms of coralling the chingkie vote. Oh! What a waste of sperm and egg!!

7. Bro Rocky,

A wee but too late for that, aren't we?

We could go a three pronged way:

1. cash handout,
    2. retraining, and
    3. tax incentives

Of course, cash handouts are for retrenched workers from the government.

Retraining would help provide some contract based jobs to many SMEs and MNC.

It should not be the same old shebang about paying RM500 just so that you get a bit, and the other side gets their bit, but a concerted effort into uplifting value and quality.

A step up if you may.

Tax incentive: We could go the way of the Obama guy: reduce for the lower and tax the higher income.

That way we get some money floating into the middle income earners who do their darndest to stimulate the domestic consumer spending by buying local unlike the rich who goes for imports.

Defer tax to trouble companies, too.

Its a huge sacrifice by the govt, but hey, everyone would love it that you care.

And, yep: start the retrenchment fund/insurance thingy going.

PS: Our company is following the Spore way of having a "cut away when in hard times" portion of the gaji. So you are left with a good basic even if the company has to undergo some cost cutting.

PS, lagi: Stimulus pckages should go to jobs creation for the masses and not for BN cahoots and hangers-on only.

8. Usually, if it's not the Unions, its the law or the government that provides workers with the mechanics of a safety net.

Malaysia has years pursued a policy of union busting and colluding with the bosses to render many unions simply inoperable. There goes collective bargaining. Workers pay just got stagnated as compared to the inflation rate. That leaves the Human Resources Ministry as their last resort. Yeah right. They have been pro-business to the extent of sacrificing the rights of the workers.

Remember the NUBE debacle just when the banks were about to consolidate and were retrenching workers? Note the role of the Human Resources Mnistry then.... do you have any confidence in them now?

So you're on your own basically. The sky is about to fall in, most of the unions in cahoots with the ministry or management.

That has always been my view of the labour situation in Malaysia. I bet whatever actions taken will sideline the MTUC or reduce its role. It is probably a whitewash of the labour situation. This would be in sync with their denial mode about the state of the economy; and plucking numbers out of their asses to shore up the government position.

That has been the case for the last 20 years or so. Don't expect it to change. The hold of these towkays over the government is strong. Even in these trying times, the government does not have the will to right the wrongs that enabled these towkays to profit so much on the backs of the people.

Unemployment insurance, if it is to take off, will need huge amounts of input as we are starting from scratch. The mechanics are still up in the air, but I hold very little hope for a government that has been pro-business and anti-labour for so long.

I hope I am wrong though.

9. Anonymous6:56 pm

Malaysian are too soft and expect everything from the Govt. Everyone has to earn his/her own living. Malaysia is a paradise and many outsiders are coming over to earn their living here,,,,,why ?.
    If we cannot see this, we are blind.
    Just say ; YES we can !,,,,follow Obama ?.

Capt

10. 2009 Budget targets 50% of the population to use public transport.

On of the justification of Public Funding for Public Transportation is to put money into peoples' pocket so that they can afford the increased cost of living during these difficult times.

Many government stimulus did not put money in peoples pocket but increasing of bus fare, proposed sugar price increase . . .

If government spending on the people is termed 'BURDEN' then we have a wrong concept of government!

Above public funding of public transportation SHOULD not wait for some new monster to be born! Why the current cabinet act as ONE government to do this for the people.

Why we should have 'PESANAN KEMENTERIAN KESIHATAN'
    Why noy 'PESANAN KERAJAAN MALAYSIA'

11. Anonymous11:04 pm

ask the bloody govt to stop taxing the retrenchment benefits first!
    and ask your favourite PM, Najib to stop telling us "We are ok". Who is "We" in the first place. His cronies?

bangsa malaysia

12. Anonymous11:28 pm

Rocky cakap: “A former minister told me the other day…”

aisey… say-lah, “on monday, JJ told me…”
    dah terbongkar-lah meeting kau tu Rocky.....

Kah kah kah kah kahhhhhhh!

13. Anonymous3:40 am

BN needs to define what is unemployment insurance? Whose paying for it? How much... etc. Where are the economic experts in our prestigious universities to enlighten M'sians on this new scam concocted by the Govt.

BN needs to curb govt spending & cut the size of civil service. Badawi when he came into power he created 2 new Ministries. This has to go.

BN needs to tighten its belt.

14. Anonymous9:09 am

BREAKING NEWS! KHAIRY LOYALIST TO BE MADE NST GROUP EDITOR SOON

- PUTRAJAYA -

15. Hi Bro,
    Sorry to leave an unrelated comment on your blog. I am just so embarrassed that our National Football team has performed so dismally and pathetically yes again losing 5-0 to the UAE last night!!!! I am so lost for words I just really don't know what to say???!!!!! Millions upon millions have been spent on the national team (which does include tax payers money I'm sure!!!!!!) but what has become of it??? What can we show for it???? Instead of spending more money by sending teams and players overseas for so called preparation tournaments and training, I think the money will be better spent by taking care of the rakyat who are losing their jobs due to the current economic downturn. Why spend hard earned money on this anymore!!!! Until they the FAM get their act together or in the extreme case the whole board of directors resign or GET SACKED lets not allow any more money be pumped into this entity!!!!!!

16. Anonymous9:25 am

Blog Tukar Tiub (tukartiub.blogspot.com) memang gempak dan menyentuh isu-isu semasa dan mendapat perhatian ramai.

Boleh tak tambah link blog Tukar Tiub kat blog Rocky? Senang skit nak rujuk kalu saya masuk blog bang Rocky.

Terima kasey!

17. Anonymous9:42 am

Hi Rocky

The most effective way a responsive Government can help people in distress is to give them money directly IN RETURN for doing things that contribute to present and future welfare of the society e.g. give money to single mothers in return for getting their kids vaccinated and for keeping them in school, give money to artists in return for their creating murals on the facades of public buildings, introduce govt programmes to hire the unemployed to build houses for the ill-housed etc

The people who return to their kampungs because of mass layoffs can be encouraged to grow vegetables and fruits and raise lifestock for consumption or trade/barter. (I have been reading up on how people in the USA coped
    with the 25% unemployment during the Great Depression days)

Phua Kai Lit

18. Anonymous10:37 am

Intel said it would close two assembly test facilities in Penang, Malaysia, and one in Cavite, Philippines.

http://www.cnbc.com/id/28778106

We need to put politics aside and start a new era of responsiblity.

19. Simple Bro ...The fools Helming the Ship have no clue whatsoever ... Ask the "Old Man" for directions ... He will know what to do !

20. Salam Rocky,
    Sometimes when a politicians is thinking they too succesful too rapidly,he goes off all directions and doesn't know how to cope with it.They were spoiled by their own first succes.TDM is one of the spoiled politicians we ever had beside Pak lah.Sorry for saying some of our leaders in rnning economics offices are not even capable of running a Mamak's Nasi kandar Restourant in Penang.Wassalam.

21. Anonymous1:40 pm

Have anyone given thought of why so much is spent of "retraining" and especially "nation building" hoodwinks like national service?

Think about it, who are behind the companies which are contracted to give training, food catering, transport, uniforms .... etc. Have anyone seen any tenders for these in newspaper?

22. Anonymous1:47 pm

Rocky......

More ammo here for us to strengthen Dato Najib's position

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/96957

Wanita UMNO says women voters shunned UMNO because they didn't like the BN candidate

I think we can use this cleverly to spin and show that Najib has no relation at all to the loss in Kuala Terengganu

23. Anonymous1:58 pm

You jumped into the numbers too quickly. Consider this, if Malaysia has about 15 million labour force (out of the 25~27 million population), the said 500k job loss equates to an extra 3.3% jobless rate. That by itself is stunning, however swift or long it takes to lose this many jobs in this down turn.

It is even more stunning in the other numbher you cited: another potential 500k job losses of malaysians working in Singapore. S'pore has about 3 million labour force out of its 4.5 million population. Even if that country does lose 0.5 million jobs out of 3 million in this down turn, that would be 16.7% additional jobless rate. Wait a minute, you're saying the whole job loss would come from Malaysians in Singapore only. The first scenario of having 16.7% extra jobless rate in Singapore is highly unlikely. Then, to have the entire job loss out of a single group (Malaysia workers) is doubly unliikely.

That's my two cents.

Walla

24. Anonymous3:25 pm

Maybe this is worth a try -
    Decisions to close multi nationals are never taken locally, they are always made at corporate HQ in New York etc.
    The gov't can be more proactive in addressing potential closures - too late now for the likes of INTEL and Western Digital, by meeting the big wigs in Corporate HQ, finding out what their problems are, and working out a solution.
    Example - give them a two year tax break to cover losses in return for keeping their operations running. The tax break will be a small dent in the gov't coffers but will save thousands of Malaysian jobs.

This is a time for creativity, innovation and pro-activeness instead of reactive measures.

Saudara Rocky - maybe you can forward this to the Finance/MITI minister through your channels.

Regards,
    MIMI

25. Anonymous5:40 pm

Work and work harder. There is no short cut. If hand outs are given to the work capable persons, the money will be spent in no time. Hand outs encourage laziness and that is bad news.

The other near impossible option is to bring prices down, not pushing it up. Theoratically, it means to re-adjust salaries downwards and create a new level of pricing for goods.

A new paradigm, so to speak but on the downward trend. Just imagine bringing prices back to, say 1970.

It was affordable in those days to pay RM 3.50++ for a teh tarik at a leading hotel back then, but why not now? The recipe and workmanship is still the same today but our salaries are way too high for the same job back then.

Now take a look at the micro and macro aspects and see if it makes sense to bring down prices and salaries in tandem.

This is only a theory but it can be turned to reality.

26. Anonymous6:26 pm

I don't think Najib (de facto PM) have any inkling to solve the present unemplyment problem. As Anon 1.30 pm have said any training or retraining contracts will goes to the pockets of those completely corrupted UMNO leaders. Just look at the inflated prices of every contract for the present Program Latihan Khidmat Negara (PLKN) project ... Wali Kota

27. First of all thank you bro Rocky for the post....

if i may address walla..(how u doin bro?)

yes the numbers does look "improbable" but do we know the bottom ?

America whole banking system is near a systematic melt down with total market wide capital around 1.4 trillion, expected consolidated losses may reach 3 trillion....so where do we go from there....Europe the same, more and more systematic collapses may emerge...

Governments no longer poses the capital to affect markets..this can be seen from the respective reserves Vs total financial stocks outstanding and the FX daily turnover....

How will financial agents help fund the required growth if they're so busy sorting out their books?

Thank god, (i hope) our banks are not overly exposed to the exposure

Does it really matter if it is 1M or 300K going to lose their job?....

Fiscal incentives may not do much either if you've just drop a couple of notches from your previous tax brackets...funding will be squezzed further even tho BNM have lowered the Policy rate and Statutory Reserve...will there be a target loan growth into specific sectors? i don't know the last time they did a blanket 8% was also a failure...Policy action without enforcement is a toothless policy...what exactly can they do if bankers don't want to lend? (besides borrowing back the money and paying interest cost on a something that was Zero cost to them)

As I'm writing this comment,
    announcement are being made by companies locally and
    authorities are already freezing new foreign inflows

I don't know how true the situation is on the ground but authorities must come out quick with official numbers that can be monitored according to sectors..which would then feed into their "retraining" plan designed to the respective workers...One Size fits all may not work anymore...key is transparency so that companies themselves can plan...

take care folks

28. Anonymous12:37 am

Bro, Off topic

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/news_lite.php?id=385519

Appearing in the last paragraphs of this news.

".....Meanwhile in Kuantan, the Pahang MACC recorded statement from Federal Territory Umno Youth chief Datuk Mohamad Norza Zakaria, believed to be to help in investigations related to money politics.

Sources said that Mohamad Norza was at the MACC branch office in Temerloh for eight hours from 9.30am.

Pahang MACC director Sutinah Sutan, when contacted, declined to comment, saying instead that the Pahang MACC had called up 35 individuals to facilitate investigations into the case....."

Full News from Bernama

General

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    January 22, 2009 20:58 PM

Two Contractors And A Teacher Charged With Corruption

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 22 (Bernama) -- Two contractors and a teacher were charged in court today with offering bribes during the party's divisional elections last year.

This is the first three cases brought to the court since the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) started its operation on Jan 1.

Those charged were contractor Azman Noh, 42, who is Beruas Umno vice-chief; contractor Johari Ibrahim, 46, from Kampung Panchor, Melaka; and a senior assistant of a primary school in Raub, Pahang, Junaidi Abdul Hamid, 46.

The three -- who were charged at the Ipoh, Melaka and Kuala Lumpur Sessions Court respectively -- pleaded not guilty to the charges under Section 10(b)(aa) of the Anti-Corruption Act 1997 (Act 575), which is punishable under Section 16 of the same Act.

They each face a jail sentence of up to 20 years and a fine of not less than five times the amount of bribe or RM10,000, whichever is higher, if convicted.

Azman was charged with offering a bribe of RM300 to one Davad @ Daud Parman as an inducement to vote for him (Azman) for the post of division vice-chief, as well as for Abdul Manaf Hashim for the post of Umno division chief and Azhar Ahmad for the post of Umno deputy division chief during the division's delegates' meeting on Oct 12.

Azman, who is represented by Khairil Azwa, is charged with committing the offence at midnight on Oct 11 at a house at No 10A, Kampung Sungai Ramai, Air Tawar.

Judge Azhaniz Teh Azman Teh fixed bail at RM6,000 with one surety and hearing of the case for three days from June 1.

Prosecution is by Deputy Public Prosecutor How May Ling.

At the Melaka Sessions Court, Johari pleaded not guilty to a charge of giving a RM200 bribe to Nadiah Roslan as an inducement to vote for Datuk Abdul Kadir Daud for the post of division chief during the Alor Gajah Umno divisional election on Nov 1.

He is alleged to have committed the offence at about 12 noon at the compound of the Industrial Traning Institute hall in Selandar.

Judge Ahmad Kamar Jamaludin set a four-day hearing from May 8 and fixed bail at RM5,000 with one surety.

Johari, a former publicity officer of Perbadanan Ayer Melaka, is represented by Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin while the prosecution is carried out by Deputy Public Prosecutor, Wong Poi Yoke.

In Kuala Lumpur, Junaidi pleaded not guilty to two counts of bribery during the Raub divisional election.

He is charged with giving RM200 each to two Umno members, Noranizah Abd Hamid and Adnan Samad, as an inducement to vote Datuk Mustafar Kamal Abdul Hamid for the post of Raub Umno division chief and Datuk Abdullah Bakar as the division's deputy chief.

He is alleged to have committed both the offences at the coffee house on the first floor of Grand Seasons Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, at 8pm on Sept 13.

Judge Rosbiahanin Arifin fixed bail at RM10,000 and set March 23 for the mention.

The court also ordered Junaidi to surrender his passport.

Counsel Mohd Harris Abdullah appeared for Junaidi while Deputy Public Prosecutor Josendra Abu Senin prosecuted. A colleague posted bail for Junaidi.

Meanwhile in Kuantan, the Pahang MACC recorded statement from Federal Territory Umno Youth chief Datuk Mohamad Norza Zakaria, believed to be to help in investigations related to money politics.

Sources said that Mohamad Norza was at the MACC branch office in Temerloh for eight hours from 9.30am.

Pahang MACC director Sutinah Sutan, when contacted, declined to comment, saying instead that the Pahang MACC had called up 35 individuals to facilitate investigations into the case.

-- BERNAMA

29. Anonymous3:43 am

As we tighten our belts to face the uncertain recession pinches, just hope that there are others not scrupulously try to take advantage of the situation.

Had been very cautious using water, maximum RM40 per month. Suddenly, I had to pay RM1K?

Had the plumbers check for leaks, NOTHING, not a drop external or internal pipings. Still, had them change the whole piping system, another RM1K. As precaution, sent the meters (another RM27) for tests.

I still need to settle the RM1K bill, reason being, the meter indicated so??? Anyone else facing same problems? Consumers are left quite helpless on issues as this.

JUST HOPE noone is actually trying to make money out of the situation. Creating "hidden jobs"?

feelcheated

30. Anonymous8:04 am

Wahai 9.09am
    BREAKING NEWS! KHAIRY LOYALIST TO BE MADE NST GROUP EDITOR SOON
    - PUTRAJAYA -

Apo ko bondo eh ekau ni, macam2namo yang den dongar...namo ekau Rocky, Mat Talib, Johan Jaapar, Kadir Jasin, Asraf Abdullah, Zainul Ripin, Kamarul Idreh la. Yang mano satu ni orghang Khairy ekau kato ni.
    Kamarul Idreh semuo di NSTP tahu dio anjing Kali, Zainul lak penasihat dan kawan baik Mat Rasid yang kerjo dgn Khairy. Yang lain tu orghang kampong den dah tahu!
    Kalau ganti group editor, maknonyo eh Syed Nazri kono campak mano pulak. Baguh la tu, Syed Nazri ni hampeh kato orghang NSTP.
    Untung la penyokong Khairy dapek jadi grup editor NST. Tambah kuat la menantu Dollah Hadari ado orghang dio di NSTP bilo Najib naik. Hidup Khairy!
    Sebelum den lupo, Cino Hindu rayo sakan la sobab Khairy loyalist jadi grup editor. Nampaknyo eh ado orghang kono koncing la nanti.
    - Den Kawan Meenachi -

31. eventhough, the opposition worshiper may say that this is the most stupid and silly idea.

Buy I must say that,

"PLEASE BRING THE OLD MAN (AYAHANDA TUN) BACK WHEN HE STILL ALIVE".

Anwar worshipper will say this man his father of corrupter, the man who destroy the country, bla2...

But this guys have a great track record that recove us from the great M'sia recession during 1988 and 1997.

I dont think najib is intelligent, Pak dol my nenek is better than him, fourth floor - money grabber, UMNO/BN - corrupt party, DAP- chingkies supremacy, PKR - no idea , bla222...

USA to recover - beyond imagination..USD 7 trillion NPL...ok..

32. Anonymous10:53 am

What good to re-train our work force when there is no job left? Pouring millions into the 're-training' program is a short term solution and will again only benefit certain quarters that has been ledging on to Ministry of HR for all these years. Wonder if such culture ever change?

The Goverment should take this oppurtunity to reduce the foreign workforce and create real jobs for The Malaysian. Instead of only sitting in their air-con offices and kept on issuing cheques and enjoying their perks.HR MInistry will have to roll up their sleeves and get their hands dirty to explore / create any possible oppurtunities for the re-trenched. Has the Ministry step up their efforts to brace the onslaughter of malaysian jobs? Has they come up with a blue print to register the retrenched workers, talk to corporates, factories and etc........there are so many thing that the Ministry can do to cushion such hard times.

PLease dont give the excuse that Malaysian are a choosy lot. Looking at the current economic situations, they will have no choice but to take on any jobs that is available! Otherwise, no food on the table, no more crutches and end of honeymoon period!

Yes, it is easier said than done but hasn't our fathers had gone through this during the 60s & 70s?

Kunta Kinte

33. Anonymous11:26 am

To Sinatra Z..

Toyota is just another Japanese brand..guess who assembled it in Malaysia? UMW..guess who are the majority engineers & workers? Malays! Come visit the Shah Alam plant..last time Shah Alam was a Proton city..now its a Toyota city..

The same with Honda - DRB Hicom..

I do not see a problem for S'gor govt decision opting for Camry over the overtagged priced national car protected by some govt automotive tax scheme...the DVVT technologies far supersede the Perdana V6 engine in terms of fuel efficiency & performance.

Malaysian already had enough with Proton taking Malaysian for a ride..

FYI UMW Holding also own Perodua.. we are working with Japanese culture unlike our pempered local brother the Proton..and one more things..Tabung Haji is one of the main shareholder of UMW holdings..guess where those high dividen come from..

Toyota are made in Malaysia by UMW-Toyota..guess who made those original oil filter for Proton? UMW..!

(UMW employee)..

34. Anonymous11:47 am

Undoubtly that many will be out of job, guess they need retraining or opt for other profession.
    do visit:- chunkybitescakes.blogspot.com

see how professionals opt for new profession and bakes.

jajanjohorbahru

35. Hangpa nak tengok macamana gomen Singapore sayang kat rakyat dia:

http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/key_initiatives/families.html

Adakah gomen BN boleh berbuat begini?

36. /// Sinatra_Z said...

Buy Pensonic, Boh, drink Kopi Aik Cheong, High five, Beras Bernas, Petronas, fly MAS and Air Asia, ///

Sinatra_Z - you speaking from both sides of your forked tongue.

You want to boycott evil american products, and you want Malaysians to fly MAS and Air Asia. How to fly MAS and Air Asia? Many of the planes are made by Boeing. Even the Airbuses won't fly because the engines are also made by the evil Americans.

You want to buy only local products. How are you going to pay for them? Where do you get the money from? Who are you going to sell your products to?

Maybe Malaysia should follow the North Korean example of a self-contained economy. Ya, that's right. The North Koreans also hate the Americans.

37. Anonymous4:33 pm

Every time Najib talks about stimulus package and stimulate the economy, I wonder how they are going to use the money. Can anyone be more specific and explain how did they spent the first package. Was the economy stimulated . Did they buy themselves new suits like ones Najib is wearing ? Plzzz???

Miss Blur

38. Anonymous5:19 pm

Agree with the former minister suggestion. What about the freelance workers (FW) like us where jobs are few even in good time and no EPF to backup in old age. JJ and NZ were good and generous to FW when they were in MOF few years back - the only minister that really turun padang.

39. 1st of all let admitting Malaysia facing a slowdown from the worldwide economic crisis ....analyse what went wrong in the management our economic up to now THEN propose how do we go from here there is no magic formula but we have to confront and resolve the problem..

40. Insurance companies will have those small long long printed terms and conditions...to make sure they need not keep their promises legally.
    Only the educated and brave who dares to demand just and fair settlements...are they afraid of.
    How many?

41. Anonymous8:05 am

skilgannon 1066,

Kamu ni tak habis hal Singapore. Bini atau cewek dari sana ke?

Jiran aku, Singaporean, one of the dirtiest Western Food Restaurant operator.. flies, rats EVERYWHERE and even cobras lurking around their drains!! They prepare their food on RUST coated tin kitchen tables!! Cheh,!!But same like you, boasting all the time about the cleanliness of their people back home. Stop bullshiting about Sin!

Once they employed all PATI fm Thailand... also put up a BIG HALAL (tipu punya)sticker!!

CAKAP TAK SERUPA BIKIN punya auta!! You ni memang Unlucky 13 BULLSHIT..

GONG XI FATT CHOY TO YOU.

SEBAK

42. Anonymous10:06 am

(fury9) : the maha mamak has told us to quit kerja in the US shops = insurance from 'him & sons CO.' lah !!

43. Anonymous3:35 pm

sebak 8:05 am

in singapore, at least, if a problem is highlighted, prompt corrective action will be taken.

in kl? talk to people living in mont'kiara and sri hartamas about the rats running around in the backlanes of sri hartamas and the piles of uncleared rubbish.

check out the jaga kereta gangs that have staked out territories in bangsar and sri hartamas and operate openly. any jaga kereta gangs operating in singapore?

you telling me about law and order and public cleanliness in singapore? let me ask you about law and order and public cleanliness in malaysia.

i make no apologies for posting about what singapore is doing right. the international community seems to share my opinions too.

and that must no doubt be a sore point for you! where the adik has clearly overtaken the abang and opened up an almost-impossible-to-catch-up lead.