Friday, January 23, 2009

Malaysian Blogger in Gaza

Ahmad A. Talib of Pahit Manis crossed into Gaza an hour or so ago, perhaps the first Malaysian blogger to do so. He is part of a humanitarian mission, led by Yayasan Salam in which he is a member, to help in the rebuilding of Gaza. The mission includes a journalist from NST. The Star journalist Shahanaz Habib has been there since last week. Ahmad led a group of journalists into Iraq during the US invasion; Shahanaz, of course, was our first journalist that got into Baghdad then.

Ahmad A. Talib conveys salams to my readers and sent me these pictures minutes ago.

31 comments:

1. It's great to see malaysians actually doing something about it. Good luck to the team and all the best in your mission. I really envy these guys. Do all we can and lend whatever support. Continue the boycot and walk the walk.

2. Anonymous10:22 pm

why not sudan?

3. Hey, that kinda reminds me...

...any of 'em went to Rwanda or Chechnya during those lazy, hazy, crazy days of slaughter and murder?

4. Anonymous12:07 am

why not sudan?

One at a time la! Haiyaa!!!

5. Anonymous12:41 am

Kami doakan Dato Ahmad Talib serta rombongan dapat menjalankan tugas jihad di bumi Palestin ini dengan penuh ketabahan dan kesabaran dibawah lindungan Rabbul'alamin, InsyaAllah

AMIN

6. Great brave Malaysian humanitarians.

7. Anonymous2:25 am

Bubar pasukan, ganti pemain

Oleh MOHD. RAFIE AZIMI
    pengarang@utusan.com.my

KUALA LUMPUR 22 Jan. – Bubar dan gantikan dengan pemain muda! Itu gesaan para pemimpin dan tokoh sukan selepas menyaksikan skuad bola sepak kebangsaan diganyang oleh pasukan Emiriah Arab Bersatu (UAE) 5-0 pada perlawanan kelayakan Piala Asia 2011 di sini kelmarin.

Rata-rata berpendapat pemain veteran perlu diketepikan selepas terbukti gagal meningkatkan mutu bola sepak negara.

8. syabas kpd journo-blogger ahmad a. talib dan journo shahanaz habis!

9. Anonymous5:27 am

Ahmad Talib should spend his time and efforts helping our country during these tough economic conditions instead of trying to be a hero in GAza. We have more than 1 million jobless at the moment, and it could rise to 2 million at the end of the year. Shouldnt we be helping ourselves, Ahmad? There is nothing we can do to save Gaza, because the Israelis have bombed the place into the stone age. By the way, I sympathise with the Palestinians. Not that I love Palestine less, but I love Malaysia more.

10. Because sudan isnt in Gaza la...

11. Our backyards
    It needs clean up and help
    Where are our people?
    Running to other countries

Back home we have our internal conflicts
    Jobs disappeared helping is no where
    Priority should be at our country
    It is seeking recognition
    Home country can’t possibly get

No doubt we admire their charity
    Helping others in time of need
    Don’t they get their priority right?
    Back home the poor need help

Then again it is my view
    These people may have their own
    I believe we should do charity work back home
    It is here we pay our gratitude

12. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

13. Anonymous11:31 am

What have these penyibuks done to help the victims of oppression in Malaysia?

I will be alerting the IDF to their presence and hopefully they will be captured and made an example of for all other Malaysian penyibuks.

-CM

14. Anonymous12:48 pm

Do we not notice how Rocky has been steering clear of anti-BN and anti-UMNO issues? Why bother talking about Gaza & the plight of Palestinians, or Sime Darby when we have so many dreadful incidents in our own backyard? The murder of Kugan is outrageous and justice must be served. And here our dear Rocky has yet again chosen to stay clear from any issues that matters the livelihood of all Malaysians. Well done Rocky. You have certainly been paid off handsomely by the UMNO goons, particularly by Mahathir.

Seig Hiel

15. Anonymous1:48 pm

Seig Hiel,

Kugan was murdered by Umno goons? What if the police officers involved are Pakatan members? Bodo bebeno.

Seigal

16. Anonymous1:52 pm

Aiya NST man, I know u very well brader. You are one of the motherfcukers who's very unhappy with Ahmad Talib since those days. If you are so anti-Malay and Islam, i suggest you stay away from commenting on any blog brader. Take my advice seriously NST man!

KAWAN

17. Continue all the boycot of zionist supporting companies an lend what you can to rebuild palestine and palestinian hopes. Just ignore these zionist sympathizers who are out to sabotage our efforts. Theyre jealous that we're walking the walk while they just talk cork about things. They complain about cleaning backyards but do nothing also and yet they want others whos actually doing something about other issues to do the cleaning for them?

18. Anonymous9:33 pm

sieg heil,

you are one malicious and evil son-of-a-bitch.

you must be one of 'em Pakatan fuckers trying so hard to run down rocky and discredit and demonize him, labelling him Mahathir's man, Najib's man blah blah blah.

takut, eh?

why and how rocky tolerates your kind, beats me.

rocky bro, if it were me, i'd bblow up these people.

heheheh.

19. Anonymous6:55 am

guys,

check your facts. ahmad and his buddies also help run two shelter homes in chow kit. and some of you may know that he and siblings and friends also contribute to about 30 orphans in his kebun kampong. and nstman, you don't remember ahmad and veera walked to raise funds for the late alex choong? be fair.

chowkids

20. Anonymous10:10 am

Hey Rocky - Why not put your journalistic skill to test by doing a piece on the nature of Telekom Malaysia's award of the HSBB project? HSBB is a critical infrastructure that will help Malaysia maintain parity with rest of the world in terms of information & technology dissemination. Is it not in your interest as well to ensure everything to do with Telekom Malaysia HSBB project is done above the board? And by the way, word in the industry is that HSBB project is a Najib project.

Using the word from one of your astute reader Demon Eater - Takut keh!!!

Seig Hiel

21. Anonymous10:19 am

Hey Rocky - Why not put your journalistic skill to test by doing a piece on the nature of Telekom Malaysia's award of the HSBB project? HSBB is a critical infrastructure that will help Malaysia maintain parity with rest of the world in terms of information & technology dissemination. Is it not in your interest as well to ensure everything to do with Telekom Malaysia HSBB project is done above the board? And by the way, word in the industry is that HSBB project is a Najib project.

Using the word from one of your astute reader Demon Eater - Takut keh!!!

Seig Hiel

22. Anonymous1:44 pm

Waaahh...teohjitkhiam, Not bad la you. Rwanda, Chechnya.. good point la. I think you also missed a lot of other hotspots... but then why not you go there first and then send some pics to Rocky. I'm sure he'll paste them on his blog too.

and NSTman, pls tell us how much YOU have done for OUR country which is going through "tough economic times", other than your usual pathethic whinings about everything of course.

MR

23. wish them all the best ...

24. Anonymous11:08 am

(fury9) : en. AMIN, r they on 'tugas
    JIHAD' kah !? really ah !! wow, the rewards are sungguh menarik lah !!

25. Anonymous8:46 am

Hi Rocky, i follow his blog. which one the the pic is him? tks.

26. Anonymous10:02 am

(fury9) : look at the foto closely, wow ! 5 of them berjihad 4 justice in hamas land HOPING 4 fat rewards in the future (?) !!
    HEY ! 5 of you, come back lah to our OWN land & berjidad 4 someone been MURDERED in polis lockup lah !!

27. Anonymous10:03 am

(fury9); btw, who pays 4 their trip !? better DUN touch my tax contribution, ok !!

28. Anonymous11:16 am

Alhamdulillah,how i wish to join him
    -homemaker-

29. Anonymous7:09 pm

Salam.

The one wearing the cap is my bro Abdul Hadi. He's with UN (he used to be with Mercy & Yayasan Salam). He's been to Iran (Bam earthquake), Afghanistan, Aceh and now Gaza.

I dont believe some of you ppl talking crap in here.

But then again, most of you are too comfy and take things for granted hence the foul mouth - its fun for you.

Helmy

30. salam perjuangan buatnya.

31. Anonymous2:03 pm

Yayasan Salam Malaysia sends their missions overseas, including those to Gaza through generous donations and support from Malaysian public, corporate bodies and government agencies.

At home front, Yayasan Salam Malaysia(Salam) send relief mission to tsunami hit Kuala Muda Kedah, flood in Johor, Pahang, Terengganu. Salam have established two shelter homes in Chow Kit. This year Salam will open a center for youth in KL. Salam, together with corporate citizen, opened up 17 ICT community centers all over Malaysia. Another 6 centers are planned for this year, incl 2 in Sarawak and 1 in Sabah.

Last year SALAM assisted in repairing 30 hardcore poor houses and distributed more than 1000 sets of school uniforms, book vouchers,etc to poor kids. Salam assisted in supply of eletricity and water to 120 orang asli houses last year and will do the same this year.

Salam organizes work camps, medical camps, student motivation camps, community base organization capacity building training, etc.

Salam initiated income generating projects in rural communities,and entrepreneurship projects for youth.
    Salam places their volunteers in orphanages, old folk homes,hospitals and communities in need.

Just to name a few and remain... Salamized