Friday, August 01, 2008

Mr Not-So-Nice Guy

Abdullah Badawi's popularity has dipped to its lowest since becoming Prime Minister in 2003, according to a Merdeka Centre quarterly survey.

Once popularly known as Mr Nice Guy and Mr Clean, Abdullah's popular ratings slumped to 28 per cent from a score of 68 just before the General Elections in March.

His economic policies, especially the 41-63% fuel price increases, were blamed for his new-found unpopularity.

The ratings sure won't help as Abdullah leads the BN to the Mother of By-Elections within two months in Permatang Pauh, the stage for Anwar Ibrahim's comeback bid to Parliament.

I'm not clear if the sodomy charge against Anwar is also a reason for Abdullah's unpopularity.

It's interesting to note, though, that the same survey found that 55% of the respondents DID NOT believe Anwar committed sodomy.

The rest of the respondents were mostly unsure, but 11% were convinced that Anwar did it.

Check the survey out at www.merdeka.org

79 comments:

1. Yeah AAB not popular we know that..

Anwar got 55% vote? hmmm...

I think he and RPK make an impact in this case

2. Anonymous3:28 pm

pak lah is obviously not a visionary person which makes him a poor leader. We need a good leader, not an administrator to establish clear direction for malaysians.

We certainly cannot allow a gardener to draw up a building plan. Let's get a real architect.

3. Anonymous3:32 pm

Kampung Malay said...

I BELIEVED he did it again. Paklah should resign and fight Anwar at Permatang Pauh and if he win he deserved the PM seat again otherwise better for him to get lost.

4. seriously i once liked him a lot, but not anymore.... i really thought he was so mister nice guy, guess i was gullible....

5. Anonymous3:38 pm

popular?

popular doesnt mean anything.

but what about good?.they should do rating on "good" not "popular".

to be a decent leader you dont have to be popular.

thank you.

6. Anonymous3:41 pm

11% convinced he did it.

Is that the UMNO supporters ?
    Or they watched him live ?

That 11% should go gay pubs instead of staying in Malaysia.

No more chinese malaysian

Call me Malaysian understand or not you 11% gay man ?

7. Anonymous3:43 pm

The fact is, its not cool to be pro-establishment on the net these days, the net especially in Malaysia is anti-establishment land. So if you ask if it is braver to be like RPK or someone who is pro-establishment like KJ, I would say it is definitely more difficult to be KJ than RPK on the net.

Having been anti-establishment during these days, I know how cool it can be with lots of supporters cheering you on, and the best part is you can practically say anything you want as long as you condemn the government, you will have your following.

So to those commentators who say that I should be more like RPK and be more brave, I SAY ITS BRAVER AND MORE DIFFICULT TO SUPPORT THE GOVERNMENT IN THE PRESENT TIMES. On the net the government is the underdog. And that is FACT which can't be deny.

8. Anonymous3:50 pm

the survey was supported by a German NGO called Friedrich Naumann Stiftung.

a survey that got support all the way from German?

hmmm....any trick in there?

9. Anonymous3:57 pm

a question from the survey.

Q8. How satisfied or dissatisfied are you with the way Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is
    performing his job as the prime minister?

answer:41% says they somewhat approve and 12% says strongly approve

so,think again about being popular is better :)

10. Anonymous4:04 pm

Singapore's Minister Mentor, Lee Kuan Yew, who was Singapore's founding father, has always been very direct in his comments. This was the man who outsmarted the communists in Singapore (with the innocent help of Malaya then and the willing help of the British) and who later outwitted the British and outpaced Malaysia in all spheres.

Singapore practices corrupt-free meritocracy and Malaysia affirmative action. The former attracted all the best brains and the latter chased out all the brains. The Singapore cabinet consists of dedicated and intelligent technocrats whereas Malaysia has one the most unwieldy cabinets. Not only that, brain wise it was below par not even good for the kampung.

With that kind of composition, one that is very brainy, naturally Singapore , with no natural resources could outstrip Malaysia in every aspect of development.

Malaysia, on the other hand, was too much preoccupied with its Malayness and the illusory "Ketuanan Melayu" and was also more interested in useless mega iconic development rather than real social and economic development.

Whenever Kuan Yew utters anything that deemed to be a slight on Malaysia , voices were raised admonishing him. Malaysia would never dare to face reality. That Singapore had shown that it could survive was a slap on those who believed that Singapore would fold up once it left Malaysia.

Therefore it was natural that these doomsayers would try to rationalise their utterances to be in their favour to combat on whatever Kuan Yew commented. It is political jealousy.

Singapore achieved its development status without any fanfare. But here in Malaysia , a development that was deceptive was proclaimed as having achieved development status. It was trumpeted as an achievement that befits first world status. This was self delusion.

Malaysians are led to believe into a make believe world, a dream world. The leaders who themselves tend to believe in their own fabricated world did not realise the people were not taken in by this kind of illusion.

Lee Kuan Yew believed in calling a spade a spade. I was there in Singapore when the People's Action Party won the elections in 1959. He was forthright in his briefing to party members as to what was expected of them and what Singapore would face in the future.

Ideologically, I did not agree with him. We in the University of Malaya Socialist Club had a different interpretation of socialist reconstruction. But he was a pragmatist and wanted to bring development and welfare to the Singaporeans. Well! He succeeded.

Malaysia was so much embroiled in racial politics and due to the fear of losing political power, all actions taken by the main party in power was never targeted towards bringing wealth to all. Wealth was distributed to the chosen few only. They were the cronies and the backers of the party leadership to perpetuate their own selfish ends.

Seeing the efficiency and the progress achieved by Singapore caused the Malaysian leadership to suffer from an inferiority complex. That Malaysia should suffer from this complex was of its own making.

In a recent interview, Kuan Yew said that Malaysia could have done better if only it treated its minority Chinese and Indian population fairly. Instead they were completely marginalised and many of the best brains left the country in drove. He added that Singapore was a standing indictment to what Malaysia could have done differently. He just hit the nail right there on the head.

Malaysia recently celebrated its 50th year of independence with a bagful of uncertainties. The racial divide has become more acute. The number of Malay graduates unemployed is on the increase. And this aspect can be very explosive. But sad to see that no positive actions have been taken to address these social ills.

Various excuses were given by Malaysian leaders why Singapore had far outstripped Malaysia in all aspects of social and economic advancement. Singapore was small, they rationalised and therefore easy to manage. Singapore was not a state but merely an island.

There was one other aspect that Malaysia practises and that is to politicise all aspects of life. All government organs and machinery were 'Umno-ised'. This was to ensure that the party will remain in power. Thus there was this misconception by the instruments of government as to what national interest is and what Umno vested interest is.

Umno vested interest only benefited a few and not the whole nation. But due to the Umno-isation of the various instruments of government, the country under the present administration had equated Umno vested interest as being that of national interest. Thus development became an avenue of making money and not for the benefit of the people.

The fight against corruption took a back seat. Transparency was put on hold. And the instruments of government took it to be of national interest to cater to the vested interest of Umno. Enforcement of various enactments and laws was selective.

Thus a "palace" in Kelang, APs cronies and close-one-eye Umno MPs could exist without proper procedure. Corruption infested all govt departments, the worse is the police and lately even in the judiciary.

Singapore did not politicise its instruments of government. If ever policisation took place, it is guided by national interest. To be efficient and to be the best in the region was of paramount importance. Thus all the elements like corruption, lackadaisical attitude towards work and other black elements, which would retard such an aim, were eliminated.

Singapore naturally had placed the right priority in its pursuit to achieve what is best for its people. This is the major difference between these two independent countries.

Malaysia in its various attempts to cover up its failures embarked on several diversions. It wanted its citizens to be proud that the country had the tallest Twin-Tower in the world, although the structure was designed and built by foreigners. It is now a white-elephant wasting away. It achieved in sending a man into space at an exorbitant price.

What for purpose? These are what the Malays of old would say "menang sorak" (hollow victories).

It should be realised that administering a country can be likened to managing a corporate entity. If the management is efficient and dedicated and know what they are doing, the company will prosper. The reverse will be if the management is poor and bad. The company will go bust.

There are five countries around this region. There is Malaysia , and then Indonesia . To the east there is the Philippines and then there is that small enclave called the Sultanate of Brunei .

All these four countries have abundance of natural resources but none can lay claim to have used all these resources to benefit the people. Poverty was rampant and independence had not brought in any significant benefits to the people.

But tiny Singapore without any resources at all managed to bring development to its citizens. It had one of the best public MRT transport systems and airlines in the world and it is a very clean city state. Their universities, health care, ports are among the best in the world.

It is impossible to compare what Singapore has achieved to what all these four countries had so far achieved. It was actually poor management and corruption, and nothing more. Everything is done for the vested interest of the few.

Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines and the Sultanate of Brunei need good management teams. They would not be able to do this on their own steam. I would advise that they call on Kuan Yew to show them what good governance is. Why look East to Japan when it is just next door across the causeway.

11. Anonymous4:05 pm

The above comments which I wrote were quoted from the source (www.stephendoss.blogspot.com).

12. Anonymous4:29 pm

some people just cut and paste comments from others' speeches or writeups wthout giving credit..like ruyom

13. Anonymous4:31 pm

ruyom,
    so,you're talking about singapore.

singapore is a small country unlike Malaysia so it's easier to control.futhemore,Singapore got supports from the USA.heck,from what i know US even setup their base in Singapore (just like Japan and Phillipine).

Singapore is country where mosque are not allowed to azan loudly unlike in Malaysia because the govt there says it's disturbing.from what i know there's only one kampung melayu left there.all the others had been replaced with modern buildings.

the opposition there arent not approved to express their opinion and mind freely.i still remember an opposition leader there being surrounded by cops at youth park while doing his political talks.

cronies?singapore's current prime minister is lee kuan yew's son.isnt that the sign of crony?

why did i brought only the negative side of singapore here?because ruyom views Malaysia on the negative side as well in his comment.

14. Anonymous4:33 pm

I'm sorry for the trouble. I miss quoted the statement on the below statement:

"Having been anti-establishment during Dr. M these days, I know how cool it can be with lots of supporters cheering you on, and the best part is you can practically say anything you want as long as you condemn the government, you will have your following. "

Sorry for the inconvenience.

15. Anonymous4:40 pm

"Every leader is a SOB, but not every SOB is necessarily a leader". Which category do you think Mr Not-So-Nice Guy belongs to? Answer pretty obvious mah. As long as an idiot keeps his mouth shut, no one knows that he's an idiot. But the moment he opens his mouth....good golly he confirms beyond all doubts that he's one!!

So please don't talk about him being a visionary leader or not when in the first place he belongs to the 2nd category. So clearly it's the case of a square peg in a round hole. What's worse is that this square peg is such a deadwood it cannot be reshaped to be round to fit the round hole, and there ain't any square hole to fit him in except lots of them in you-know-where.

He will be a very well known PM years down the road but for all the wrong, bad, hated and shameful reasons. Guess what, the irony of it all is that he doesn't think so. On the contrary he thinks otherwise for he looks at the mirror and sees the most beautiful creature on earth. How sad!

16. Anonymous4:56 pm

Bro, I think it is not correct to use the word "charge". Anwar has not been charged, and until now nobody has actually seen the report against him

fairplay

17. Heck, he was never popular to me anyway. All that "work with me, not for me" B***S*** never did work with me or for me.

18. MAlaysia adalah Negara kaya tapi sebab pemimpin korup kita semua terjebak masuk longkang...

bayangkan kalau anda tinggal di Alor Setar Kedah, sepanjang jalan ke Perlis sawah padi kiri kanan anda tapi beras sekampit berapa harga? saya pernah cuba makan beras subsidi...punyalah rendah kualiti...ini ker yang hendak dibagi makan pada rakyat berpendapatan rendah...? kau orang cubalah rasa sendiri...pesawah bukan kaya pun walaupun harga beras naik melambung...

Minyak masak pun tak logik naik harga sebab kita ada kelapa sawit...semua bahan bahan mentah kita ada tapi kenapa kita sengsara...? sebabnya kita kerja untuk kerajaan bukan kerajaan yang kita undi bekerja untuk kita...jadi sebab itulah kita sengsara.....Korupsi di Malaysia dah sampai tahap "berulat" dan memalukan....

19. Anonymous5:07 pm

Dear Bro Rocky Bru,

I am not surprised by this ratings,

PM Abdullah Badawi is the "worst" PM Malaysia has.

He made lots of promises, and yet 3/4 of it yet to be fulfilled.

Again on the Mercs Controvesy, he could have acted firmly, but he said.....Selling those cars now will be a lost for the government and I had advise to use for VVIPs.

The Terengganu government paid RM3.14 million for 14 E200K's, which comes to something like RM224K per E200K. Actually for government purchases, there is no Sales Tax and Custom Duties, so in this case the purchase price was actually cheap then the market price of a E200K . The current market price for E200K is around RM353K for private use.
    Hence the PM could have easily stood firm and ordered this cars to be auction, and the government could even made a profit, even say..if u sell those cars at RM250K per piece, I am very sure, in one day all the 14cars would have been sold.

Even this matter, the PM cannot solve, so how do you expect him to offer firm and good leadership in this country. Our country seriously lack a definite clear leadership direction, sometimes I really wonder how these mainstream media's and the electronic media can support this PM.

20. Anonymous5:15 pm

I've seen the survey,
    one can't certainly take the survey as the voice of Malaysia since only a handful of Malaysian answered it.

21. Pak Lah say popularity is like share market and Anwar is like that.How stupid can that be. a politician needs to be popular and it may not be all the time but most of the time. In his case he is not popular since 2006 and it is getting worse. he should be worried cos politicians needs to be popular and have above average support. Pak Lah is a liar..no IPCMC and others he promised and seen weak.

Anwar - 11% believe but 89% do not believe it for sure. and ppl I speak to, 100% do not believe the govt. Govt credibility is low!!! Hope the BN wake up cos people have very little faith in them and Anwar charges are making it worse for them. But BN is out of touch so do not expect anything from them. The IPCMS, ACA ad judiciary changes are lip service and they are not willing to do the right things cos they are worried about the truh and justice.

22. Being popular or not may not be crystal clear indication of your worth /capability to sit in public office but it can be a huge sign of the people's feelings whether or not they approve/disapprove of a certain person in a position of power.

I just wonder until when these undelying signs of contempt should continue until that person be man enough and step down.

23. C'mon...28%....ONLY ? It ought to be -28% by now

24. Anonymous5:47 pm

Many Malaysian believe that the one who is going to be the next PM must have the letter N as his innitial.Najib at the moment seem contented that it is his innitial all along.

Much like 'A' was innitially thought to be for Anwar ,as it turn out ,it was Pak Lah who claimed it.The letter 'N' has a contender too!!

Something real significant going to happen to political landscape of Malaysia..as you can see , the planet 'Uranus' has cast dark shadow on our country (again !!),the soothsayer in me read this as a very significant omen.
    As you can recalled the last time 'Uranus ' cast a shadow on us ,approximately 10 years ago,it was a time of turmoil.

As our nation fate is closely associated with this Planet ,this planetry cycle has been closely observed by me , a parttime soothsayer.

With present situation notwithstanding, DSAI might end up disqualified fr contesting for some silly technical reason or another (eg the form was signed 0.2 mm below dotted line )or being jail again.

This would result in massive outpouring of grieve and disillusionment with the present goverment by PAKATAN supporters and the rest of apolitical Malaysian like myself.

This might end up with snap election after a vote of no confidence or massive 'lompat' that has not been seen before.
    Of course the BN goverment is going to be replaced with PAKATAN goverment.

Since Azizah is no longer an MP ,public demand that Anwar clan be his replacement,in which case Azmin is not the one besides the letter 'A' has been used by then ,formerly known and largely forgotten Mr Abdullah the ex PM.

The only available person is non other than NURULIZZAH and the last letter of RAHMAN is fulfilled!!!

I think she would be an excellent choice and a breath of fresh air that the country badly needed .

She can start on a clean slate.

With all bad blood and history that the present senior leaders of PAKATAN have either by uttering hurtful words or deeds amongst themselves ,rakyat would rather hear what Izzah has to say and lead the country with new energy and virgour.

This is what happen in Lithuania after they broke off from Russia.Their old leaders with too much historical baggeges were sidelined and the nation bravely passed the baton to their younger leaders...I suppose we should do the same.

As for the present 'N' who was promised the post of UMNO president in 2010 ,his destiny would still be fulfilled come 2010,no doubt about it ,as UMNO were a big aircraftcarrier that take ages to turn the keel ....in this time of rapid decision making, they can take all the time it the world as they need while all the population just move on.

This is not far fetched possibility, we still have an 'N' as our last PM (from the word RAHMAN) and a new vibrant ,incorruptible,dynamic and fresh leadership that all of us hope for.

After all the dust settled, the loudest cry from the letter 'R' would be heard throughout the land ....Rosmah la ,who else.

If you care to remember later on ,remember that you hear it first from me ...mark my word .

Mr KALAHARI (i am hot)

25. Anonymous5:57 pm

just a response to Ruyon's comment

"Singapore practices corrupt-free meritocracy and Malaysia affirmative action."

I disagree that Singapore did not practices affirmative action. Singapore do practices affirmative policies but what leads Singapore to success is multitude of practices that includes corrupt free system.

Singapore practices ISA which is much worse than Malaysia.

justme

26. I used to be bluffed by AAB and his UMNO cronies. Now, i just think that they are racist at most.

NOw, pakatan has done a better job than the lousy UMNO. Good riddance

27. The Not-So-Nice-Guy, who is also the Not-So-Clean-Guy and the Not-So- Smart-Guy is the perfect chap to be in charge in this transitional period!We are just waiting for the dawn to take place ...and it can be in a few months or a few years.The only danger is that the damage done may become so great that it will take us a long time to recover.

28. Anonymous6:13 pm

Lu taruk ini semua, mana dia peduli brader? Dia bukan baca. Dia bukan peduli.

Khairy cakap, dia the best prime minister and father in law. NOri happy husband sayang baba dia. Kamal dapat kaut semua, dia kata best baba.

Apa kau orang marah dengan dolah. dia bawak openness ... apa itu kalimuttu kata peretroika dan glasnost?

Lu tanya semua bahalol2 dalam MT, semua kata dia bagus. Najib takut nak lawan pasal terharu. Muhyiddin cakap banyak tapi takut kalah. kenaytaan dah tak keluar di mainstream news dah.

Nanti yg menang naib presiden yg bahalol tonggong dan tak tahu cakap omputih. Ini macam yg bakal jadi pemimpin melayu? Mampus UMNO.

Nampak gaya dolah tunggu masa nak pencen. Dah boleh aksi gelaran bapa pada Dolah Badawi. Selain bapa mertua khairy, panggil dia bapa kehancuran UMNO atau bapa kehancuran melayu!

29. Under Malaysian politics, popularity rating is irrelevant. What is relevant is Umno-putra rating. As long as you are popular amoung umno-putras, the rest is irrelevant.

So now can we see why there are so many running dogs in our BN. They don't have to think about their popularity amoung the races whom they claimed they represent because they know very well that their views will not in anyway jeopardize their positions.

On the other hand, just one umno-putra dissatisfaction can destroy their future.

30. Anonymous6:49 pm

Dear posters and posers,

I think competency would lead to success, and thus success would breed popularity.

So it could be argued that there is a relationship between being competent and being popular.

Of course this is not absolute.

Anyway, to politicalanalyst, we sincerely advise him to go visit Singapore and mix around with real Singaporeans.

They should do a study to show how many Singaporeans are actually Singaporeans OR those high performers lured specifically by the government from Hong Kong and made to be Singaporeans.

We've heard of this situation happening in S'pore, whereby although the PCI is high, it is distorted by foreigners turned into nationals.

Yes,it is good to inject foreign talent, but not at the expense of your people.

That is the policy of the Spore government apparently.

Regards,
    www.suaradu.com

31. dollah is a flip flop, sleeping, corrupted and incompetent PM.

he is a shame to malaysia. he has totally no plan for our malaysia future!!! no brain, no shame and no intergity.

AWFUL!!! and the worst thing is... he is still disguise as mr. nice guy when the whole malaysia has seen his true color.

still sleeping and buat tak tau.

32. Dear Rocky and All:

To put things in perspective, even President Bush has a higher approval rating with the American people than AAB has with Malaysians!

I am glad to see that there are still a few "jantans" in UMNO. Witness Kapt. (B) Datuk Zahar Hashim Chairman of PJ UMNO filing a report to the party's disciplinary committee against unethical (that is, corrupt) practices by AAB and Najib Razak!

Syabas, Kapt. Datuk!

M. Bakri Musa

33. Anonymous7:26 pm

I like to comment on the defective research methodology:

(1) The sample size of just above 1000 people are too small to be representative of the whole country. In other word, the study power is too low statistically.

(2) More than 70% of the respondent are from the low education level: primary school leaver, secondary school leaver or has no formal education. I believe the proportion do not represent the Malaysian population

(3) 68% of the respondents earn < RM 3000.00 per month. I am not sure what's the population earning's distribution; the distribution does not appear to represent our population; particularly when ~50%
    of the respondents are more than 35 years old and you would expect that they have better earning power.

(4)66% of the respondent are either self employed, unemployed, home maker, student, retiree etc. Only 33% are employed by the government or private sectors.

34. Anonymous7:32 pm

Every sane Malaysian voter should VOTE FOR ANWAR IBRAHIM no matter what past sins he may have committed.

He is currently the only alternative wise choice we have in lieu of a BUNCH OF MONKEYS we called UMNOPUTRA politicans.

The fate and destiny of our beloved nation is seriously at stake in light of the CORRUPT GOVERNMENT, CORRUPT JUDICIARY, CORRUPT POLICE, CORRUPT AG and CORRUPT ACA.

We need to throw the bums out at the next earliest instance before they start another MAY 13, or attempt to assassinate AI or create bloody chaos in the country and impose Emergency rule to hang on to power.

They will stop at nothing and will not stoop so low as to refrain from any heinous crimes and conspiracies to hoodwink the rakyat again. That is the kind of BN and UMNO to you and me - for the past 50 wretched years!

35. Anonymous7:44 pm

In your view, how strongly do you agree or disagree that Najib Tun Razak would make a good prime minister?

Strongly agree & somewhat agree - 34%
    Strongly disagree & somewhat disagree - 47%
    Don’t know - 17%

How confident or not confident are you that the following institutions will carry out their roles in a fair and independent manner in handling Anwar’s case?

Judiciary
    Very confident & somewhat confident - 32%
    Not confident at all & somewhat not confident - 50%

Attorney General
    Very confident & somewhat confident - 29%
    Not confident at all & somewhat not confident - 53%

Police
    Very confident & somewhat confident - 31%
    Not confident at all & somewhat not confident - 55%

Tired

36. Anonymous7:51 pm

Of the 3 stooges, Pak Lah is more popular than Botak Albar and Rais Burntbridge.

37. Anonymous8:31 pm

It is reassuring to know that I am not an anomaly, or an extremist. I'm a typical Malaysian - just like most of the Merdeka survey respondents.
    aMiR

38. Anonymous8:48 pm

"I SAY ITS BRAVER AND MORE DIFFICULT TO SUPPORT THE GOVERNMENT IN THE PRESENT TIMES."...well, not really, especially when you won't get ISA or visits by SB. You won't get sued. Hell, what is a few bad or abusive reviews on your comments when you stand a chance of being noticed by L4 and rewarded with tittles and tithes. What is so brave about all that lah? whispering9

39. Bro Rocky, I refer to the long grovelling article posted by saudara Ruyom about Mr Lee Kuan Yew. The article appear to be too patronising of Mr Lee and hides a latent chauvinism that I am better more clever than you attitude of the writer.

While I grudgingly accept that Mr Lee has been instrumental in turning Singapore to a prosperous first world city state, but one must also know that when Singapore broke off from Malaysia in 1967, it wasn't exactly a poor malaria ridden island as it was painted to be at that time, actually, it has always been a very rich and prosperous trading and financial center of the British Empire in the far east endowed with a natural deep water port since way before 1900. So actually the Brits had over the years built one of the best trading and financial hub infrastructure for Singapore before its independence(They did the same for Hong Kong too!). So Mr Lee cannot take all the credit for Singapore so called success as all his own, as the Brits colonialist had a big hand in it.

I however do admire Mr Lee for his integrity and steely determination in leading Singapore to greater heights after 1967. Maybe his greatest legacy is successfully grooming and nurturing a group of talented individuals with integrity whose interest is solely for their nation to become leaders who will one day lead the city state after he fades away into the sunset.

Sadly in our Malaysia, while we had Good and Capable Prime Ministers during their respective era from Tunku, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein, Tun Mahathir. However, during Tun Mahathir's time maybe due to realpolitik a proper succession plan to nuture and develop young good leaders capable of leading the nation was not, or cannot be put in place or was scuttled by many factors outside of Tun Mahathir's control. So regretfully we Malaysian are now stuck with PM Abdullah who should not have been PM in the first place and worse, Abdullah now seemed to have lost control of what is around him. The latest Merdeka Survey only confirms what the Rakyat thinks of him and his Government now.

Also Saudara Ruyom need not rundown Singapore's neighboring countries who I believe had also contributed tremendously to Singapore's wealth as much import and export of these countries goes through Singapore as well. In fact Malysia's FDI into Singapore last year was higher than Singapore FDI into Malaysia. Every country grows at its own pace and need not follow Singapore with its own unique features. The Governing of each nation will depend on many factors such as demographics, natural resources etc. In time every country around Singapore would prosper also. Malaysia after it irons out its political leadership glitch will be moving forward faster,stronger, afterall Malaysia is the only country in Asia who are both net exporter of oil and net exporter of primary commodities like palm oil and rubber plus good FDI prospects.

Anyway, saudara Ruyom may want to have a look at THE OTHER view of Singapore at this link just to show that there are always two sides to a coin.
    http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2007/08/singapore-lee-kuan-yews-authoritarian.html

40. 68 to 28?

He must be thinking he is doing better, improve in rating closer to 1.

Hahaha ...

41. Malaysia shall not progress
    In terms of beyond boundaries
    It will be just a dream for the government
    When it pursues the race base policies

The Mister Nice Guy just can’t hack it
    He has no stomach to make it work
    When he opens his mouth to say
    It is just plain rubbish for all to hear

In his own roof he can’t see
    Blaming others he knows what to say
    Why doesn’t he stop a minute look around?
    What has he done to make his work rekindles?

Popularity contest isn’t the issue
    It is managing the country’s resources
    Has he got the brain to do it?
    He has no knowledge how to begin
    This is my perception……………
    The Mister Nice Guy isn’t the man for the job
    Malaysia has become the laughing stock

Malaysia has a black eye
    He doesn’t see it anyway
    He still sings in his Dark Castle
    Economic pursuits he has no idea

We have all the natural resources
    Yet we can’t be on the world economy
    We don’t have the brains to explore it
    We lost our best to other countries

So it is better he tends his garden
    Somewhere he can do or sleep on it
    Don’t get involved in running politics
    He can’t manage it; he doesn’t know how to begin

UMNO leaders are running scared
    The gravy train will stop in the end
    Pursuing of race base supremacy
    We will be left behind in the world economy
    And the power game for those who have the brains

What will we be in the end?
    We have to change our destiny
    It is our right not leaders of the country
    They should make it for us
    Not for them and their cronies
    Malaysia just don’t let your tears fall
    It is us who have failed you

42. To ruyom,

Singapore is ruled by a Chinese dominated. The Malays are marginalised and their role in govt sidelined by intent. LKY and the Chinese have one-way traffic.

There is only s ingle party system in Singapore until recently. They can bulldoze any agendas and programmes, minus opposition.

In Malaysia, we are more humane. The Chinese and Indians become part of the govt and they have many advantages that are denied the Malays in Singapore. Malaysiahave to carry more baggage than Singapore, so everything slows a bit.

If Malaysia is ruled by the Malays alone, as Singapore is by LKY and the Chinese alone, then things could have been different.

The Singapore Chinese will not give anything to the Malays in SDingapore. The Malaysian Chinese want everthing that the Malays here have.

Got it ?

43. Anonymous9:58 pm

Ruyom,

Check your statement.

LKY is not Singapore founding father.What I can say he is founding father of Singapore immigrant.

44. Brader,

Being popular and 55% did not believe the sodomy charge. Anwar is surely on top of the world.

He is popular because the opposite number is a lame duck.

Many do not believe he committed sodomy b'cos he is good at deflecting the issue and always one step ahead in dramatising thru the media.

Even the purported Pusrawi medical report caught the police by surprise.

He has also been able to potray every authority in the land as being conspirators to bring him down.

Even the top Islamic leaders believe in him.

How we wish this guy is a good MUSLIM.

45. Anonymous10:14 pm

The time has come for us to elect intelligent people to govern this country.

If we would not allow monkeys to run our company then why do we allow the current group of sycophants, idiots and a fake imam to run this country?

Start buying new brooms for the time will come soon for us to sweep this pile of rubbish (read BN) out. And good riddance.

*telur dua*

46. To the LEARNED ruyom

Singapore's BRAIN DRAIN is a fact known to Harry Lee himself. The Chinese are migrating at a faster rate than the other races.

Are you for real???

Chinese Singaporeans are descendants of coolies and farmers. They are having difficulties getting married, having children and suffering from heart diseases. Majority are myopic in many sense of the word.

And you call this success??

47. Based on the survey, I can safely assume that most people want PakLah to "beLah". The big question, who is the most able replacement? We know that a non-Malay can't be the PM, constitutionally and more importantly the Malays won't tolerate it ( I personally would love to have Lim Guan Eng as my PM and I'm a Malay!). Honestly I can't think of any Malay leaders, whether from BN or BR, that would be suitable.

do you mind running an article on this matter so as to elicit feedback from your readers? It's a bit of a chore reading regurgitated comments on Anwar, Pak Lah, Mahathir, Najib, Altantunya etc.etc.

Jab

48. Anonymous12:07 am

The rakyat are not stupid. We know what is happening and what those corrupted politicians are doing. We can see the injustice. The next big wave will clean up everything and together with all the dirts.

Next Wave

49. Anonymous12:41 am

YEAH.. HE IS NOT SO NICE ... JUST PLAIN GATAI...ROGUE...EMBEZZLER!!

(CAMPUR CAMPUR)

50. Anonymous12:51 am

1. it's Merdeka Center not Merdeka Review

2. popular rating - "The poll also
    found 42% of voters reported satisfaction with Dato’ Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s
    performance as prime minister."

3. "The survey reveals a large majority also indicated that they perceived the country was
    going in the wrong direction – based on only 28% who felt satisfied with the way things
    are going in the country."

Hazman

51. Rocky

Pak Benggap Lah not popular??? As expected. 99.999% of Malaysian Population 2008 wanted and/or may wish Pak Benggap Lah & UMNO elites to ROT IN HELL a.s.a.p., and not on 16 Sept 2008.

The people can not expect much from that idiot Leader of the Zoombie!

Am sure you agree with the 99.999% of the Malaysians yeah.

52. justtrying,

the sample size is widely used in many countries and has an error margin usually with it, +/- 3%. and it is the wonderful of statistics, they can co-relate with the actual happenings and in this case, most Msian will agree with the survey

anyway I meet all the criteria that you say the survey doesn't meet and so do my friends and we would have come out even stronger against Pak Lah and BN. I wish they had surveyed me

BTW justtrying how many of the UMNOPutras are truly well educated and if they have degrees is it in a good field. Oh i forgot, oldest U in USA, Preston was it? and low education doesn't mean stupid or not having the ability to think. and you should check the Msian GDP and have the answer on annual income of average Msians.;)

rocky(original)

53. Anonymous1:26 am

(stcin) : let's work it out, ok !

r-a-h-m-a-N(NAZRIN) = PM ( 2010) !

LONG LIVE YM NAZRIN & GODBLESS !

54. Anonymous1:46 am

The fact that the present PM is not a leader nor a manager is generally accepted.
    So why is he hanging on?
    Because:
    1.the special branch tells him that if he were to resign, there will be chaos in the country due to the resulting political instability.

2. His son, not so much son-in-law tells him not to resign for their own personal advantage.

So they tell the Bank Negara not to increase the interest rate so as not to stifle the economic growth, so that come December, the PM will still look good and reconfirm his position at the UMNO General Assembly.
    That is what they hope will happen.
    Meanwhile, the son, son-in-law will cream of the money from the rakyat some more...

55. Anonymous2:02 am

ruyom,

Trust me, if they give me the mandate definitely i could manage singapore better then the present leadership cause singapore just a small, tiny nation.

Haiya... very easy ma just like a ceo manage a company.

the first thing i would like to do, if they love to cheat other people, spread lies and dishonest,
    cut thier tounge......

so that everybody can live in all fairness, peace and harmony.

just imagine...dont you think its exciting!

56. Anonymous2:14 am

oh come on..... The governmen said petrol price will be decreased only on SEPTEMBER. What the f##k??? AAB said our petrol price will be adjusted according to the oil price on market. Now we got to wait? He is enjoying his cup of tea while everything is costing more. Come on, don be lazy and slow in reacting to this inflation issue. I bet by September, when the oil price per barrel gone back to $140, AAB will say there's no need to adjust as oil price has gone up.

By the way, only 6 cents will be lower not 60 cents. So don be too happy anyway

Walao

57. Hmmm.... the polls regards "Mr Clean" popularity..is no denying. i Would say, if you to sit at table of 10... i wouldn't be surprise... if nothing good about "mr clean" will be heard.

But the SODOMY case?? Anwar got 55%??
    Duh....!! My friends and me didnt even get to say our thoughts.Where do we sign up??

58. The result shows how smart and sharp Malaysians are..today.
    Our government can twist and turn...so Malaysians have to be very level headed and judge situations...on how UMNO handle daily affairs.
    Right now...Dollah and Najib are real thick skinned hypocrites.
    If we agree...then go conclude about Najib on mongo murder case..and Dollah's promise to be People's PM.
    He is now..Saiful's PM...with his usual idiotic reasons.
    By focusing to be popular in UMNO..Dollah is actually get more and more disrespected by..UMNO guys....themselves...starting from Trengganu.
    All his decisions are pointing to his selfishness....clinging to power.
    This does not mean Mahathir is right about him. It shows..Dollah is no better than Mahathir.
    UMNO is a typical ....power crazy...corrupted party.
    Like I said...let then salute to an empty padang with no spectators..watching the usual... Merdeka parade.
    Don't drive that day too!! Enjoy all free things in life...given by God.
    That will sent them shivering with great great shame.

59. Anonymous4:43 am

Abdul Rahman - Bapa Kemerdekaan
    Abdul Razak - Bapa Pembangunan
    Hussien Onn - Bapa Perpaduan
    Mahathir - Bapa Mirzan
    Abdullah - Bapa ZZZZZZ

-Lengkuas.

60. ok ok singapore is not a success. it is in fact a failure country where a man would split blood and sweat just to own a house (size of a cage) and a car... also the country is so shite that it can't even afford to have chewing gummmm..
    UK is such a failure that they can't even control knife crime
    While US is also another failure with recurrance student shootings...

Malaysia is the best !!
    our 6yr old kids can spell 'sodomy' which kids in other countries can't! cool ei...

Malaysians, feeling better now?

61. Salam to you Rocky,

www.mohdsaifulbukhari.blogspot.com

62. Anonymous6:09 am

You also Mr Nice Guy sir. Oppp friend.

63. Anonymous9:41 am

"It's interesting to note, though, that the same survey found that 55% of the respondents DID NOT believe Anwar committed sodomy."

You seem disappointed with this outcome

NotGay

64. Anonymous9:59 am

Hey commenter I Am Mine:

Jangan buat lawak lah.

You say Singapore small country easy to control compared to Malaysia???

Do you know what is Malaysia's land area and population size??

It is nothing compared to other well-managed countries in the world.

So don't talk as if Malaysia has a billion square kilometre land and a billion people living in it. We are in the safe comfortable population size of under 30 million and we should be as well-managed as anything.

65. Anonymous10:45 am

You only mentioned Abdullah.

What about Najib scores in this survey? He scores even lower percentage in the poll.

The Malaysian just simply disapprove Najib!!!!

Please publish this figure. Najib only got sub 20% vote that he is fit as PM.

66. Anonymous11:29 am

I found this new Cabinet line-up.

Any comment?

http://bp3.blogger.com/_K4s1mK3DgXI/SJJ71Epz7wI/AAAAAAAAADI/kaEWNHGth8k/s1600-h/SHADOW%20GOVT.jpg

67. Anonymous11:51 am

anon at 3.14 said.

11% convinced he did it.

Is that the UMNO supporters ?
    Or they watched him live ?

I'm no UMNO supporter but I'm with the 11%. What ever I believe does not concern you. You have no right to label someone who does not share your opinion.

Molongkolong

68. Anonymous2:23 pm

Hello again

No that I disagree with AAB plunging rating. That fact is obvious, even without Merdeka statistics.

However, I stick to my conclusion that a sample size of just about 1000 is small and the study power is too low. I don't care if you said that it's used in other countries, but anystatistician would know that the number is just to small.

The stated margin of error would not made me change my mine. The distribution of the respondent is also not representative of the Malaysian population, particularly

Rather than using the ever favorite word of randomly selected, Merdeka should reveal their exact sampling method. What they claim to be random may not be truly random.

Rocky, be a good journalist and supply me with facts (NOT WORD) to support your claim that the distribution of the respondent is truly representative of the Malaysian population.

When >70% of the respondent are from the low education level: primary school leaver, secondary school leaver or has no formal education; I have reason to question the validity and credibility of the findings. This is in not meant to look down at people with poor education, but it is a fact that people from different social and educational background differs in their outlook and thinking.

If I were the person writing the report, I would also provide a comprehensive report on demography of the Malaysian population; i.e., distribution of education, income, job, race etc. If the respondent's demographic distribution is STATISTICALLY similar with the Malaysian population, then I would be happy to say that the result of the study is representative of the Malaysian population

69. Anonymous3:20 pm

jgn la asyik nk kutuk2 ajer.. sama2 la memperbaiki apa yg kena pulihkan.. kaum lain dok keje kuat cari makan.. kita plak dok kecoh cr semua information2 ni..post kt blog.. wake up...

70. Anonymous5:56 pm

AAB can be sure of one thing....nobody will challenge him as the "worse prime minister" in the country's history. That is his legacy.

monk

71. Ruyom...you pasted someone else's analysis..I read it somewhere on someone's blog...

Saiful!!!! What's up man! You is one brave little boy to admit to the world you got buttraped...Most men won't admit meh...you is brave, brave little wolf...eh boy...sorry..tadi tengah bace buku pasal little boys crying wolf..tersasul plak

Take care of that little sorry, eh sore butt ya hear...put lotsa ice and don't sit on it...

Salam....

72. Anonymous3:21 am

ARE YOU JOKING ABOUT SINGAPORE.

Everybody can be better than LeeKY if you lead a small country.If my friend of my friend is Justice of Sgpore. I will sue everybody who want to challenge me as PM.You opposition will sure bankrupt and I will sue you even you already in grave.If you already go bankrupt, I will sue you again in Sgpore court until you get multiple bankrupt.That's the way I want to silence opposition. I will put 'eye and ear' at every citizen until everybody afraid to say bad thing about my country.

73. Under Dollah...Ezam and Saiful are headline news....whenever they speak.
    Lousy PM deserves lousy newspapers...all carrying balls of UMNO.
    Seriously...S.Times and Star CEO should be replaced with true journalists...that dare to speak like Malaysians ...and not as politicians.

74. Anonymous8:58 am

Anonymous,
    Kindly do not compare Singapore to Malaysia. Singapore has truly capable leaders and is most advance in the region. Our leaders are but a bunch of idiots. We have the likes of Syed Hamid as Home Minister and prior to this appointment Foreign Minister, that is the reason Singapore has Pulau Putih. Malaysia has criminal has DPM and sadly PM cannot hold a candle to LKY or even his not so nice son. Singapore has a world class judiciary but Malaysia has AG who is corrupt and cannot even argue a simple case at ICJ and you know the current Foreign Minister another umno idiot, don't even mention the Police, they are so damn corrupted and will set up speed traps just to collect money.
    God can't help Malaysia if people vote for umno and not so nice guy like screwup Badawi.
    Sad Lot

75. pakdol sucks ass. he's the weakest PM we've ever had. for the sake of the country, please resign much sooner.

76. I'm surprised he even got 28%. You sure it's not 2.8%...??

77. Anonymous1:15 pm

nooooo....

who says he is not a Mr. Clean anymore?He is, and indeed he always will..but the angle of cleanliness has changed, as he is good at 'cleaning' out our treasury and 'wang rakyat'.wait till the day he wiped out all the money, u'll see how clean he is.

he's good, at cleaning at least, isn't he?

joey

78. Anonymous10:36 pm

Tak popular takpa, asalkan jangan Anwar je jadi PM. Tu lagi sakit nanti, taknak orang yang macam tu jadi PM. Rosak dan punah Malaysia nanti.

79. Anonymous8:58 am

" I don't give a damn on any survey, let me go back to sleep.."