Sunday, June 22, 2008

Wah, Gwee, so daring one! Now Sultan is not happy

Sultan Iskandar ticks off no-songkok DAP man. I thought we had left behind the songkok issue (read my The DAP is anti-Songkok now? (June 8) and Jalan Sudin's OK for Johor DAP Wakil Rakyat to Wear Songkok two days later).

Well, obviously we hadn't. YB Gwee Tong Hiang attended the opening of the State Legislative Assembly in JB on Friday without his Songkok!

The Johor Sultan is not pleased.
"Two days ago someone here tried to be daring by refusing to dress accordingly. If he wants (to differ), then get out of here now."
I sent an email to Gwee a while ago for his comments.
In the meantime, read Bernama's Sultan reprimands Bentayan State Assemblyman over Attire (21/6/2008) in which Menteri Besar Ghani Othman spells out the Dress Code for official events in Johor, h e r e.

91 comments:

1. Anonymous1:56 am

He has his own style. His ambition to become "Ali G" famous stateman.
    next try your luck. in kemboja, east timor or japan. serve for people with your civillized coat.

2. well it serves him right i guess. having principle is one thing - but to do what he did was totally unprofessional and arrogant-like in my book.

3. Real stoopid assemblyman! Trying to be an idiot! Have you seen an idiot trying to become one?

4. Anonymous2:31 am

Bro
    thats the trouble with us malaysians, we got form but no substance. whats the big deal of the songkok la, wearing one is not going to make him effective, in fact most of those who wear it, arent, so whats the big deal.

5. Anonymous2:48 am

Then you come to meetings with a french cap...makes you even better.Trying to show his color i guess this DAP bloke.

6. Anonymous2:53 am

Wei Ah Geew ah...next time ar, lu try your luck with slippers and shorts la..more geng mah.

aiyah ah beng..so difficult to follow lules (rules) issit..

paiseh la lu

nang di bo ti nang, qui di bo ti qui

7. Anonymous2:55 am

Hello Mr Objective,

You said it, man! What's the great deal with wearing the songkok, right?

So why not you tell your fellow DAPman Gweean it's only the songkok. No big deal what. Just wear la!

Mr Objective, wearing the songkok may help someone like you think and argue better. No big deal what, put your thinking songkok ma.
    Hahaha!

8. Anonymous4:30 am

Ini cina bukit mana kawasan mari, itu melayu punya undi kasi ajar ini cina DAP punya boloh.

Lu pemimpin maa..ikut law maa..jangan serupa kerbau pendek maa- kluangman

9. Anonymous6:10 am

why should he chose such a stupid thing to make an issue... people don't see you as a champion for not wearing a songkok la man... it might good for a rebel... in school.. unfortunately.. you're not in one...

next time please.. think first...

-7212445-

10. What is the big deal...not wearing a songkok.....by non Muslims politicians? UMNO will try anything..to prove others are not true Malaysians.....which they themselves are the most dirty politicians....brainwashing Malays...with their ever out-dated race and religion dirty politics.
    I admire Gwee...standing by his principles of rights and freedom.
    I guess DAP is smart to play along their dirty game...and have one .to defy it. That's smart dirty politics...to play 'THE GAME" with a dirty government.
    Dressed up with formal suit and tie...is good enough.
    Besides the songkok....I wonder why UMNO politicians do not wear sarongs or baju melayu...and sandals..to be 100% Muslim Malays?
    Why do they wear European suits and ties ...with Italian designed shoes? Are they not a bunch of low class hypocrites?
    Are not such shoes non halal?
    Did they check up ..whether the shoes are made from skins....not appropriate for muslims to wear?
    Productivities seems unimportant to UMNO. Always talking nonsense...to get Malaysians ....away from the main issues...corruptions and racialists lot.
    Keep harping on non issue....to make it into an issue...is what they are good at.
    When will all Malays open their eyes ..to the real truth..that it is UMNO that divide them...for what they are.
    Are they all happy and well off?

11. Anonymous6:31 am

Mr Objective,

Waaa why are you so clever one haaa. Not wearing songkok may not make him less effective. True... then ask him to potest by walking into the Dewan naked. Does wearing songkok make him less Chinese or against his religious belief? So trivial and so unationalistic.

Zaib

12. Anonymous6:38 am

an act of direspect to sultan, there is a place to stay but not in the sultanate!

DEPA

13. Anonymous7:01 am

he should wear traditional Orang Asli headgear (woven coconut leave)

BUMI

14. Anonymous7:56 am

put the songkok on and wear the sarong like the burmese guy in the town...more matching ma....if can debate with songkok and salong on.....fuyohh.....Ang Sang Yuki sure lespect ma...

15. Anonymous8:00 am

Dont wear anything maa....much better,all eyes on you ....sure perform better....sure kena kick out.

16. Everyone is trying nowadays, quite simply because of the perception,very justified, of weakness at the top. Trying their luck, trying their Party, trying their support, even trying a trying Sultan. Unfortunately, not all trials succeed.
    This chap didn't prove anything.All the comments,including yours truly's,prove nothing.The big world out there couldn't give a hoot if this guy wears a songkok or a cap, French or otherwise. All this miserable episode tells us is that we can all get pretty excited pretty much easily.If you want everybody to "play by the books", whatever that entails, then you must do so,too. If the regulations that the Dewan Undangan Negeri had adopted says wear the songkok, then, until the Members like this fellow can make a change, please put on the bloody songkok. It won't kill you. This has no significant bearing on whatever you consider to be your principles.If you want to do as you please, then for the time being let the sufferors be the people in your home, because no one outside it will tolerate anything less than common decorum.

17. Anonymous8:24 am

I think it's like the old saying "if you are in Rome, do what the Roman do"

But we shouldn't blame the ADUN for standing for what he thinks is right. Arogance is a misplaced word - which could also be applied to the one who impose or force something on others.

18. As a republican, I take my straw hat off for the daring man. The best thing Dr M ever did during his premiership was to reduce the power of the Sultans. There are too many "privileged-by-birth" royalties in Malaysia. I'm really glad that Nepal has got rid of its monarchy. It's an archaic institution and has no place in a modern democracy.

19. Anonymous8:46 am

All the dress allowances should be abolished and the money should be used for some purposes.

ADUNs, MPs should simply waer their traditional/customary/ethnic dress on Opening of State and Federal Assemblies.

Thereafter, MPs and ADUNs should wear WHAT we Malaysian usually wear ...

there is even NO need for ties or al the rubbish ...

please remember we are NOT in London with Temperate Climate ...

we are a Tropical Climate ....

20. Anonymous8:53 am

Gwee or Kwee. If Kwee (ghost) then we all in problems. Wearing `songkok' has been in our official dress code for so long e.g, in military and police official ceremonial events.
    Kwee must be able to differentiate between `Ceremonial Dress Code' and social dress code. Usually in an invitation letter the dress code will be clearly written. I remembered a Malay minister wearing a Punjabi dress with a turban - no big deal la brother.
    Tell us your price if Teng Chang Khim can wear `songkok' after being offered as Selangor DUN Speaker. Before this Teng has been been persistent not to wear `songkok' due to principle finally also give up his principle.
    So Kwee you are in different state la, Johor will not offer you any position and i believe nobody will want to pay that price.
    Why there is still this bunch of IDIOT being elected to represent the people when they still have the racist mentality but in the upper hand they want Malaysian Malaysia

21. Just whack him upside with the songkok lah..habis cerita...

Hey..we have so many other pressing issues here, Rocky...don't waste time with this songkok issue..just buang negeri je la...who cares whether the Sultan is happy or not, after all he gets more than 3 square meals a day, unlike many of the rakyat!

we are a nation running on empty, that is the biggest problem...we have no clear cut long-term/short-term policy/plan on anything...economy, energy, transport,environment..everything...and the ministers just come out with half baked comments and statements like "we WILL look into this or that to solve this or that problem"...

If they seem to have any plan at all..well, I as a regular rakyat can't see the head or tail of it...and that makes me feel really, really insecure and worried for the not-so-distant future...they have billions in personal savings thanks to the rakyat...but what about us and our kids?

What will happen when Malaysia collapses unto itself? It will, because it is now just barely being held together by lies, empty promises and inept manipulation.

22. May I recommend to that DAP state assembly man to publicly apologize to HRH the Sultan? If he were to think of the welfare of his constituents, he would set aside his personal feelings and act for the good of the masses that he is supposed to represent.

23. This Gwee is simply too much.

He let down thousands of supporters who had elected him in last GE.

What an idiot. Even if Goat is placed competing against BN, that Goat will win representing PR.

And Gwee thinks he is Smart, when he is just Idiot.

Can someone get Gwee to read Rocky Bru blog to get pointers how to become good MP?

24. Anonymous9:34 am

These DAP goons are well...GOONS.

What is wrong with wearing the songkok, in fact, he should be proud to be wearing one. It's not a declaration of his religion, he wont have to skip eating pork because of this.

He is a Malaysian, afterall.

And Malaysians embrace each other's culture, that is what makes us special.

People like Gwee shouldn't represent the people or the country, it's a shame and to think that I supported the opposition for this jerk.

MK

25. Anonymous9:38 am

This DAP man simply has no respect on the house customs. What a big fuss about wearing a songkok??? Let take a simple anology. Should I am going to be part of a nude beach party surely I have no choice. I definetely would walk into the party wearing nothing..bare it all.Otherwise I will be kicked out and miss the whole lot of fun. This DAP man surely want to potray his big egos. One can just imagine how these type of people gonna behave should they were come into power to form part of federal govt. So disgusting you DAP man!!!!

- Dicko

26. Anonymous9:41 am

Anonymous,
    Mr Qwee (devil)
    You are stupid to go against the dress code, what are you bitching about, does wearing a songkok make you look like a cockhead with a condom??You stupid asshole, you should resign as state assembly if your friking religion is against wearing a songkok, how about french cap, if that is not against your religion maybe the Sultan will make exception for you to wear a french cap to the state assembly meeting. Friking ass!!!
    Just Disgusted

27. Anonymous9:42 am

tak sedar diri DAP ni.......

28. Anonymous9:52 am

Is this the same Sultan who`s fighting for Pedra Branca?

-Strut

29. Anonymous10:02 am

u ppl got no brains, dont criticize him for not wearing songkok, if you wanna respect of your own cultural attire, dont enforce that on others. If you think as a Malaysian we all are subjected to attire rules of the Maly the none of you should be wearing jeans or full jackets with tie. Go and wear that songkok and make our country proud at all functions, even for your weddings. Senseless ppl with senseless comments. I think what the MP did was his own right and no man on planet earth can question him unless hes naked. francen77

30. Anonymous10:08 am

The songkok is a Malay headgear and synonymous with Islam.
    The assemblyman is Chinese and not Muslim - he should not be forced to wear the songkok.
    No one should be coerced to do something against their moral conscience.

31. Does that mean he'll be excluded from all State functions?

Typical sombong and arrogant Chinaman lah. Epitome of DAP members.

32. What the fuss is this man...are you telling me that wearing Songkok can make someone smartest,hollier,caring and loving????Bullshit..look at people who wear songkok all the time..
    Good things came from your heart and soul.

33. This DAP guys is such an idiot, he can't tell the wheat from the shaff. What to do? Looks like The DAP guys think they can do what they want without consulting civil society. Doesn't this guy know that he too changes to what is appropriate depending on the occassion? Would he be dressed in red and toehr rainbow colours going for a funeral becaue its not DAP colours?

34. Anonymous10:54 am

Songkok is an oval shaped religious headgear worn by Muslim men to complement the traditional Malay costume, especially during prayers and other religious ceremonies. It was first introduced by traders and migrants from various Muslim countries along with the less popular headgears such as Tarbus and Kopiah. The songkok that Haja Mohidin makes is adapted from the Acheh variation since his business back then were catered primarily to the large Acehnese settlers and Haj Pilgrims in Penang.
    http://magazine.virtualmalaysia.com/content.cfm/ID/F5839374-41E4-4322-8932579624B5B292

“You know, we ustazs, we always wear songkok or kopiah and baju melayu. I tell you, when kids see us they run off. They don’t want to hear religious lectures. If I’m them, I wouldn’t either. So! I’m thinking of wearing a tee-shirt, jeans and a baseball cap, go to Pantai Batu Burok… and hang out with the boys there. Talk to them. Soft approach. But when I tell my friends this they think it’s cracked.”
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/rentakini/54556

-Tickler

35. Hi Rocky,

The sultan is 100% correct. Those who do not wish to follow the norm should leave, far away if possible. They must surrender their MYcards and the goverment must encourage them to migrate, for example, by providing them with one-way air-tickets.

Songkok is no longer an issue and those who think otherwise are racist bigots. DAP is an ultra racist party and it has no place in modern day Malaysia.

36. Anonymous11:21 am

What has gotten with these DAP idiots ?

Did he tell his voters that he would behave like this ?

How can the voters expect him to help them out if he shows such uncouth behaviour ?

He is really fishing for trouble by antagonizing the HRH.

Thousands of Malaysians of Chinese and Indian breed wore the songkok to recieve awards from various Sultans in the past.....and such acts has not made them any less Chinese or Indian.
    Why.....even DAP blokes have recieved such awards dressed full gear with songkok included !!!

Please remember your Rukun Negara and get on with the job.....the expectations of the rakyat focuses much more important issues than the songkok.

BR
    RastamanJB.

37. Anonymous11:38 am

Apologies Rocky for being out of topic.But so many of us are awaiting your post on RPK's latest SD.As you know of the DEAFENING SILENCE in the MSM in MALAYSIA AND SINGAPORE..This songkok issue can wait la bro compared to RPK's bombshell.

38. Anonymous11:45 am

Here we have the yellow banana who refuses to integrate in society, as TDM mentioned before in his blog, refusal to accept the cultures and norms of the country you live in.
    Its outright contempt of the social customs and the sultan.
    People easily label the UMNO chavunists racist, but mind you! Racists are on the both side of the fence, to Gwee clearly exemplified this notion and here he is, the problem we have in Malaysia of racial harmony and bangsa malaysia!
    Its a pipe dream, eh?

39. eh Gwee,

Bolo punya olang. lu talak pigi sekolaka...lu punya gulu talak ajat itu follow the law ka? bolo punya olang bole yadi empi ka?!!!
    haiyya...lu punya pasat di eh pi kena malah...bolo...

lu mau hilup nenggeli yohore lu misti tau law la, kalo tak mauha lu bole tulun luluk sama li kuan yu la!!! bolo satu libu kali....

40. The Sultan should BANISH him from Johore. Period.

41. Anonymous12:01 pm

Stupid Monkey!

You come to my house for a costume party without wearing a costume, I will tell you to fuck off also. Or at the very least, I will keep it in my mind cause we are friends.

But in professional situations, try coming to office lah without wearing office attire, or even a meeting with clients & the ceo, I think they all will look down on you.

Now the whole country looks down on you. Even us non muslims & DAP members. Serves you right!

Moron!

42. it is simple really. the assemblyman is just insensitive, ignorant or just not a rfind individual.

yes, he can disagree about issues, but, by not adhering to the rules of the Dewan (after all the swearing to do the job) is not appropriate to be a leader representing the rakyat.

even in high schools when we gave comment like "rambut bukan belajar, otak yang belajar" is just shallow. Its not about the hair, it's discipline.

we have dresscodes, rules and regulations for a proper sitting of an important institutions. why not obey it and put all the energy and and courage into issues which are more pertinent to the well being of the rakyat who voted for you.

just be more sensitive to history, heritage and culture because without which, we don't have identity! Without identity, we don't exist.

SHEMEQ

43. Anonymous12:21 pm

The assemblyman has his rights, and he is letting known that his right of choice should be respected !

Most of the commentators here are blinded and brainwashed all these years by the present ruling government that; do not know what is individual right as a human, what more to respect it. The Blog owner included.

He is properly attired, looks neat and clean, that is all i care. All these wastage on appearance with bunch of archaic clothing and head gear has no bearing to the proper governance of the country and serve no prupose at all.

May be it is time you guys wake up from your slumber before the events of the world sweep you off into the abyss.

Rocky, with your influence, may be you should aim your blogs at more pertinent issues in the country than trying to be racialistic and letting your ketuanan melayu instinct rear its ugly head. Harping on these songkok thingy only makes you appear shallow.If we all are not becarefull, Malaysia will be barren in the near future, and why not try to take a boat ride to the Middle Rock, Stand at the "peak" and shout all you can about Ketuanan Melayu and see how you feel after that. Once it is barren, there is no return.

Damn the nincompoops !

summerhawk

44. Anonymous1:03 pm

this man wanted to be a hero, I salute him for his bravery, he deserved Seri Pahlawan Gagah Berani medal which normally awarded posthumously.

LUCKY

45. trivial matter for trivial people

46. YB Gwee,

If you wish to make a point, pl do it for the right reason. Wearing the songkok will not cheapen you, or make you more effective. What harm can there be? after all, your other colleagues use theirs? If you wish to pick a fight, do it for when it matters.

shastrishah.blogspot.com

47. Anonymous1:14 pm

The problem with opposition is that they don't know when and what to pick fights. This is not even a small issue. It is question of wearing a songkok. It is ceremonial. What's the issue here?

What a pigheaded dumb shit. Deserved to screwed!

-Red

48. Anonymous1:39 pm

An idiot is also a man with stupid principles.

-vinh

49. Anonymous1:56 pm

SummerHawk,what the fuck are u talking about,im a student and i cant have my hair long enough to have uptodate trend and those louzy singapork school admin dont allow my cousin wear a scarf as muslim as our right.Remember we right in every country.I presume you must be another unscrouplous bastards that quetion our muslim malays right in the island of Singapork.I hope HRH get back the Pedra Banca...even we have to go to War ...who cares,sometime we malays must be kurang ajar,time has changed and we cannot be that tidak apa lah....typical of Pok Lah....See what happen...The head start to rot like a fish...Bravo HRH sometime you cannot give this chavounistic Chinaman too much face...just banish him like what Zorro comment....to hell with principles...its the character that his reputation he fell over such an issue.....Anyway your blog on this songkok issues reflects how racism is alive in Malaysia...This man is testing water only....

50. Anonymous2:28 pm

Why do u allow your blog to delve on a issue as trivial as a headgear ? To me, if this DAP chap personally doesn't want to wear a songkok, let the sultan deal with him - banish him or bantai him. He will be responsible for his own action. To me, this is not even a national or a party issue but already this post of yours has wiped up racial sentiments amongst some people here.

BTW, I also happen to observe that YAB Nik Aziz and YB Hadi Awang always wear the serban at official functions, whether at parliament or state level functions, but why nobody care two hoots to comment and to condemn ? Are they not unpatriotic, un-Malaysian or even un-Malay like soke of u here seemed to imply ? So don't display racist double standard. Hope u will devote your blog to more substantial national issues facing the country now, otherwise it may soon degenerate into a low grade blog known for its petiness and the mundane !

Posted by: Serious Malaysian

51. Anonymous2:39 pm

~ S T O O P I D ~

52. Anonymous2:57 pm

A dress code is a dress code. Period. It is a simple rule. If you, as an assemblyman(who people regarded/appointed to represent them, as a good role model or example) could not abide the dress code thingy as instructed by the host, might as well do not be an assemblyman, who could not understand even a simple basic rule. Even a standard 1(one) pupil could understand what 'a dress code' is all about when he/she go to school. Don't you(Gwee) go to school? There's no issue here. What is he(Gwee) trying to prove here? I don't understand. Trying to prove something at the wrong occasion is simpy 'tak sesuai'/ pointless/not smart. You're wasting your energy at the wrong place Gwee.

-dodger-

53. Anonymous3:00 pm

A dress code is a dress code. Period. It is a simple rule. If you, as an assemblyman(who people regarded/appointed to represent them, as a good role model or example) could not abide the dress code thingy as instructed by the host, might as well do not be an assemblyman, who could not understand even a simple basic rule. Even a standard 1(one) pupil could understand what 'a dress code' is all about when he/she go to school. Didn't you go to school, Gwee? There's no issue here. What is he(Gwee) trying to prove here? I don't understand. Trying to prove something at the wrong occasion is simpy 'tak sesuai'/ pointless/not smart. You're wasting your energy at the wrong place Gwee.

-dodger-

54. Anonymous3:03 pm

Budu punya orang...Tak hormat Sultan. Baca tu constitution, jangan bawa untuk bergaya shj - ReZpek

55. Anonymous4:23 pm

encouraged and cheated by somebody in 'command' to find excuse for Malay unity. perfect set up.

Pedra Hitam

56. Anonymous5:22 pm

tsk! tsk! tsk!.. here we go again...

Like I have said earlier, the songkok is associated with Muslim and its religion. It is also not right to make it mandatory for a non believer to have to wear something that is not in his culture.

To begin with, why do we have to include religion into everything we do? Dress codes, ceremonies, etc.. Why can't it be acceptable to be decently dressed? Did you all read about the Sultan's condition for non muslim women in his presence?? That is perpostereous! TUDUNG for non-muslim?? What will you people say to that?? Isnt that violation of non muslims' basic human rights? Dont come and tell me that tudung is not a big deal and it is not related to some religion! I will be damned!

As for the sultan, well, that sultan has always been wonky.. so, I wont bring myself to his wonky level to comment about him.

57. Anonymous5:30 pm

YB is a Malaysian hero, suddenly
    everybody unites against him. We need more people like him.

bravo

58. Anonymous6:14 pm

I have a great deal of respect for a man who has the courage not to be intimidated or muzzeled by religous or cultural imperialism. May we see more of such men and women in our hen-pecked political order

59. Anonymous6:31 pm

you want to be call a YB? huh, simple instruction also cannot understand.
    stupid assemblyman.

zack

60. YB Gwee, when the rakyat so kindly choose you to represent them in the Johor State Assembly, you have the initial YB put in front of your name and it that stands for Yang Berhormat NOT Yang Bebal.

Its all about following the set dress code for the Johor State Assembly where a male non Malay YB wears a tie and suit with a songkok, that's all. The songkok does not make you a malay anymore then the tie and suit could make you a Mat Sallehlah.

So please go apologise to the Sultan and just wear the songkok to the assemblylah as we the rakyat are more interested about what you have to say in the assembly then be stuck with an argument about whether to wear or not to wear the songkok. You give DAP and Malaysians in general a bad namelah.

61. YB GWEE HONG TIANG

DO U SERIOUSLY THINK YOU CAN WIN
    WITHOUT THE SUPPORT OF THE MALAYS ?

WHAT IS WRONG WITH WEARING THE SONGKOK ?
    I AM CHINESE MALAYSIAN AGED 4Os
    ATTENDED MALAY SCHOOL WEAR THE BAJU MELAYU AND SONGKOK AND ALSO JAWI CLASSES SPEAK FLUENT
    BAHASA AND I AM STILL 100% CHINESE.

YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A NARROW MINDED
    TYPICAL CHINAMEN WHO DO NOT DESERVED TO GET ELECTED IN THE FIRST PLACE. WHY DIDNT YOU TELL THE MALAY VOTERS YOU R NOT GOING
    TO WEAR THE SONGKOK BEFORE THE ELECTION. WHY MERAJUK NOW.

YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO THE MALAYSIAN CHINESE AND HV OFFENDED THE MALAYS WHO VOTED FOR YOU.

I WOULD LIKE TO TELL MY MALAY FRIENDS NOT ALL CHINESE ARE LIKE THIS
    YANG BODOH GWEE.

THE BEST THING FOR YOU TO DO IS TO RESIGN
    YOUR SEAT AND STAND FOR ELECTION
    AGAIN AND SEE WHETHER U CAN GET ELECTED AGAIN.
    I BET MY LAST DOLLAR NO ONE NOT EVEN THE CHINESE WILL VOTE FOR YOU.

IF YANG BODOH IS SO WORRIED ABOUT BECOMING LESS CHINESE WHY THE HECK
    ARE YOU WEARING WESTERN TIE AND SUIT, DOESNT THIS MAKE YOU LESS CHINESE OR IS IT BECAUSE WESTERN
    FART ARE MORE FRAGRANCE TO YOU.

YOU SHOULD GO BACK WEARING THE TRADITIONAL CHINESE COUSTUME
    AND STAND FOR ELECTION
    IN YOUR GREAT GRANDFATHER'S VILLAGE
    IN CHINA AND BECOME THE VILLAGE CHIEF (QUALIFIED B COZ YOU R NARROW MINDED TYPICAL CHINAMAN).

YB LIM KIT SIANG
    YB LIM GUAN ENG
    YB KARPAL SINGH
    AND OTHERS
    DONT YOU ALL THINK THIS KIND OF MEMBERS ARE GIVING THE DAP A BAD NAME NOT TO MENTION THE LONG TERM DAMAGED IT WILL CAUSED.

I URGED THE DAP TOP GUN TO GET RID OF ALL THESE NARROW MINDED MORONS
    IMBECILE IF U ARE ALL SERIOUSLY
    IN PROMOTING BANGSA MALAYSIA.

62. Anonymous8:20 pm

I think it is even better if this stone head YB being enforced to wear a traditional Chinese dress with a traditional Chinese headgear.... (i.e. ala ala Laksamana Cheng Ho ketika melawat Sultan Melaka di suatu ketika dahulu...

So that the Sultan will know how beauty the dress is and hopefully public can be thought to respect others' culture in more practical way.

Karpal and his son should be enforced to wear turban and keep long hair because that is what defined modesty in Singh religion. Hopefully he will be more humble then..

-Fashionist-

63. Anonymous8:58 pm

Halo Pedra Hitam,when we are cornered to far we will be kurang ajar,who cares about principle anymore in Malaysia Boleh....to hell with them.All malaysian are racist i guess,and we should stay that way as long as we show no respect each other,What the fcuk is IDR for.I would suggest HRH just call off the project...it doest pay to develope the IDR anyway.

64. Anonymous8:59 pm

YB.. you are playing with fire. There were malays who voted for you.. and to the johoreans.. we are obliged to respect the sultan.

Just wear the damn thing.

As what one blogger wrote.. it doesn't make u more malay or any less of an ahpek.

Again.. My gut tells me that u're playing with fire..

You want to challenge the sultan?

I bet my bottom dollar that you will loose..

I have a feeling karpal or lim put you up to this..

... dun play with fire...

just wear the damn songkok and serve the rakyat...

love,

sick and tired

65. Jelas sekali wakil DAP dari bangsa Cina, baru sahaja dapat kuasa sikit sudah hendak tunjuk belang. Bayangkanlah jika mereka dapat kuasa sepenuhnya. Raja Melayu mungkin dibuangnya !!!

Apa yang hendak disimpulkan ialah DAP sebenarnya anti-orang Melayu. Cumanya tidak dapat tunjuk kuku lagi. Lihat di Perak baru-baru ini, bila Karpal Singh, MP DAP ( yang ini bukan Cina), menegur Sultan Azlan Shah kerana 'kacau' dengan perlantikan pegawai tinggi agama Islam di negeri berkenaan.

Kenapa ADUN ini mempersoalkan pemakaian songkok yang sudah bertahun menjadi amalan apabila menghadiri majlis yang melibatkan Sultan atau Yang Dipertuan Agung?

Pada beliau tidak mengapa memakai baju kot dan tali leher yang datangnya dari Barat! Tetapi apa sahaja yang datang dari Melayu dibantah. Songkok ini pula bukan songkok orang Melayu pakai waktu sembahyang. Ia hanyalah songkok istiadat seperti yang digunakan oleh polis dan tentera.

Mentang-mentanglah kerana ia berasal dari adat pakaian Melayu, maka hendak ditentangnya. Jangan lupa tanah beliau diami ini adalah Tanah Melayu!

66. One of the bloggers has a courage to suggest that this men deserves some kind of reward. Goodness me. The only thing that this bloke deserves is to be deported back to whichever country where he or she chooses to be.

67. Anonymous9:58 pm

to suaramalaysia: in a country so culturally diverse,what costume when worn as dresscode will not be miscontrued as cultural/religious imeprialism? Cheong sam? And since Msia is dominantly Malay and Muslim, something has to give.Also remember, your citizenship (if we want to be rude and drag in cultural imperialism) as a Malaysian was given based on your ancestors' contract with Malay rulers.So behave!

Bapa Merdeka

68. wear the songkok la, it is not a religious symbol or anything.Don't give BN bullets la. Now non muslim women needing to wear a tudung...that is a different story.

69. Hey, being popular seems to be the trend now... but nonetheless, showing some respect is not very hard to do, is it? Hope this won't be going too much over the line...

70. Anonymous11:26 pm

remember that face, the ANTI ANYTHING THAT IS MALAY face, didnt he remember that the MALAYS have voted him in as YB?

-Kuku-

71. Anonymous11:32 pm

Gwee Tong Hiang,

i salute you, cause you had principle,
    not hyprocite, unlike the majority chinese and indian in malaysia.

My advice to the malay, if you want economic success like the chinese and indian keyword is `cheating'.

Jangan pikir dosa dan pahala......

Orang cina dan india tak fikir macam tu!

Itu pasal dia orang suka hidup kat negara ni..........

72. Anonymous1:17 am

"Meanwhile Menteri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman said the Sultan's admonition was clear, that everybody should adhere to the dress code for every official events.

He said for events involving the Sultan, Muslim men should wear the Malay traditional attire with songkok, while the Muslim women wear "baju kurung" and head scarves.

For non-Muslim, the men should wear a coat and songkok, while the women also wear baju kurung.

If events are held at the palace and it involve the Sultan, non-Muslim women must also wear the head scarves.
    "

BERNAMA

So it has now been clarified by the MB by the above BERNAMA article.

Operative words : Malay, Muslims, traditional attire, songkok, baju kurong, headscarf (tudong).

Don't like it, get lost to Pulau Batu Puteh.

Military uniforms OK or not? What about Sikh turbans? Sari?

Can someone explain why and how a songkok is considered a FORMAL headgear? My village elders wear them all the time.

73. Anonymous3:58 am

The Johor Sultan is not pleased.

"Two days ago someone here tried to be daring by refusing to dress accordingly. If he wants (to differ), then get out of here now."

What the Sultan meant was for Gwee to come out in front and face him (the Sultan). What might have happened next no wants knows. Maybe Gwee might kena slapped in public.

But then Gwee was not present. Maybe he boycotted the launch event. Maybe the BN government did not see it necessary to invite Opposition SAs for government functions. So an unpleasant incident was averted.

Whatever it is one thing is clear. Don't have anything to do with the Johor Royal family. Avoid them. Too much hassles. Why, even the PM is afraid of them.

74. it's not surprising so many ppl throw their weight behind the same sultan that assaulted his golf caddy and in 1977, convicted for homicide (before being pardoned by his father, the sultan-then). let's not forget that sultan iskandar, whilst the presiding Agong, initiated the whole tun saleh abas judiciary scandal...

alas, Melayu (in this case, Malaysians) mudah lupa.

btw, i didn't make those up:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sultan_Iskandar

75. Wow, tell Gwee anti-Malay DAP ADUN that I'm anti-chopstick!

Probably Gwee prefer cowboy attire or superman custume - because that's make him look modern and all, I mean wearing the underwear outside.

DAP - Racist to the core

76. Anonymous7:05 am

YB

Half of J'HOR is part S'PORK. Songkok is a non issue.

GAJAHPUTIH

77. Anonymous8:40 am

Wearing the songkok is not a big deal but the way the sultan's response sounds like the state assemblymen was elected to serve him instead for rakyat. Actually what is the big deal for a assemblyman not wearing the songkok, does it means that by wearing the songkok, he/she will perform better than those didn't later ? - mac

78. Anonymous9:10 am

so, if, say, bill gates or ratan tata gets to meet the sultan of johor, they (bill or ratan) will have to wear a songkok?

or what the heck - spore ministers meet the sultan of johor every year during hari raya. lunch at the istana bukit serene, no less. i don't recall any of the spore ministers wearing songkoks at these lunches.

so, what to make of the statement by johor mb datuk abdul ghani othman that wearing a songkok with a suit (for non-malays) was an official dress code when the sultan is present (report in the nst, june 22)?

can ghani tell us if this "official dress code" applies to foreigners meeting the sultan?

of course, the same sultan did make some "off the cuff" remarks regarding pulau batu puteh (pedra branca). which must have made ghani, rais yatim and the pm very uncomfortable.

79. Anonymous9:46 am

Bodoh tak bertempat dia ni.

80. Wearing songkok is not a big deal ka? Its part of the formal attire la you bodoh. If the occasion request for jacket, then you wear jacket. If you the occasion request for batik, then you wear batik. Apa la bodoh sangat ini monsterball et al? You are trying to win a battle at the expense of losing the whole war. Bodoh punya orang. Next time, jangan undi ini DAP bodoh. Undi PAS or PKR.

81. Anonymous12:37 pm

memang bodoh..DAP ramai orang macam ni..Malaysian Malaysia konon, baru sikit punya hal dah tak boleh nak tolerate..tak reti nak hormat orang..macam mana nak duduk dalam negara yang berbilang kaum?

82. Anonymous5:00 pm

all the people who supports this YB behaviour like several commentors here clearly are racist, not disciplined and no manner. shame on u skilgannon, gwee, mr objective ( objective to chinalised malaysia, monsterball (better call smallball), and other anon.

IKE

83. Anonymous5:01 pm

Relax, Rocky, don't need to make this issue sound macam its a national treason or national crime against the rakyat. Tulis dengan font size biasa sudah cukup. Takyah la kasi font size 30 ka 40.

By the way, how come you don't post blogs with the large fonts that you used in this one for BIG news like Tan Sri Azmi (bekas hakim besar) who said about Dr. Mahathir's dictatorial tendencies?

Itu semua haram kat blog you, gerenti tak keluar punya, betul tak?

Caya sama lu, Rocky *kasi high five kat Rocky*

84. Anonymous6:49 pm

Hi,

What is this guy up to. Why can't he just follow the dressing code. Next time if you go to the CLUB or any Descent place, try to wear Slipper or Ah Pek Singlet. Bloody Fool ADUN. Try to show off

KingOfDinar

85. Anonymous7:20 pm

Ask YB to say something,people want to hear his explanation.

DIL

86. Anonymous4:01 pm

Malay is that by nature the Malay are an accommodating race that why other races is able to be the richest man, billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister, Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs etc and yet the non-malays still say they are being treated unfairly and for that the Malay has to further compromise whatever rights they have even though it is guaranteed under the constitution.

Now an idiot china man trying to be a kung fu master defying the dress code for which even the Sultan conform to it, in another word he think he is higher then the Sultan.

And yet others can say that they are marginalised and the Malay are racial. They can say so coz they are not in power. Hello! what the non-malays have now is 1000 x more than what I can say about what the Malay gets as a minority in a neighbouring country where the non-malays are in power and call them self the land of meritocracy, level playing field and equal distribution and what do they give the Malay there (they are not the richest man and there is no malays billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister [except for one in charge of enviroment for years], Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs, fighter pilots etc) when they are in power almost nothing and no body made a fuss out of it.

Maybe the Malays here should learn from the neighbouring non-malays by not being so accommodating only then the non-malays here would appreciate what they have.

from dmh1871

87. Anonymous4:01 pm

Malay is that by nature the Malay are an accommodating race that why other races is able to be the richest man, billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister, Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs etc and yet the non-malays still say they are being treated unfairly and for that the Malay has to further compromise whatever rights they have even though it is guaranteed under the constitution.

Now an idiot china man trying to be a kung fu master defying the dress code for which even the Sultan conform to it, in another word he think he is higher then the Sultan.

And yet others can say that they are marginalised and the Malay are racial. They can say so coz they are not in power. Hello! what the non-malays have now is 1000 x more than what I can say about what the Malay gets as a minority in a neighbouring country where the non-malays are in power and call them self the land of meritocracy, level playing field and equal distribution and what do they give the Malay there (they are not the richest man and there is no malays billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister [except for one in charge of enviroment for years], Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs, fighter pilots etc) when they are in power almost nothing and no body made a fuss out of it.

Maybe the Malays here should learn from the neighbouring non-malays by not being so accommodating only then the non-malays here would appreciate what they have.

from dmh1871

88. Anonymous8:54 am

ike, etc

why one rule for non-Malay Malaysians and another for foreigners when they have to meet the sultan of johor - in terms of dress code, i mean?

even ambassadors and high commissioners, when presenting their credentials to hrh the agong, wear business suits, with nary a sign of a songkok.

yet no one takes offence, least of all hrh the agong.

now, if the sultan of johor were to enforce a dress code on all who come into his august presence, regardless of nationality, then it would be fair.

not as it is now.

dmh1871

i am not sure what points you are trying to make. speaking of a "neighbouring country" (ah, those favoured umno code words), even malaysian malays, who should know better, are living and working in that country. some have even had the audacity to become citizens of that country too.

and the malays of that country are buying upmarket retirement homes in johor, and dropping big bucks in johor's shops, restaurants, supermarkets and hypermarkets.

they don't seem to be very deprived to me.

89. Anonymous1:29 pm

This just shows that the Malaysian Malaysia is still a distant dream..Those championing for a Malaysian Malaysia, underneath it all he/she is still less Malaysian Malaysia that he/she regularly advocates, Scrapped the surface and racism will rear its ugly head. If don't want to wear Songkok, why want to carry the title Dato' or Datuk? Maybe we can accord a new title, Yeyeh for a Chinese Dato' perhaps?

-EdTheRed-

90. Anonymous7:13 pm

Mr Gwee, nothing wrong without wearing songkok, as long as he dress formal unless it is very unlike that whoever has such an uneasy vanity to be offended by this minor issue this reflect on the petty person.....

http://hubpages.com/hub/Sultan_of_Johor_Death_Sentence

91. Anonymous7:17 pm

Suggest buang negeri