Friday, February 01, 2008

Ah, Datuk KK and Datuk Dr Vincent!

updated 1/2/08, 11am - Bernama's list here. Read also why the Agong's happy.

Original posting

Federal Territory Day awards. My, my. They are getting younger and younger, aren't they? Datuk Kamal Khalid, the head of the 4th Floor and whose calls the mainstream editors just dread, and Vincent Lim, KJ's Oxford buddy, haven't served the PM for even a term yet. But the sun is shining and you know what they say of what to do while the sun shines. Or maybe they do deserve their datukships, eh?

This is the first time FT Day comes with awards and medals.

44 comments:

1. Anonymous1:50 am

Welcome to the land of NO quality, when we compete in the international stage, we are huge losers.

Back here, tons of self proclaim positions when you know the right people or married the right man's daughter. SHAME+SAD.

2. Anonymous2:15 am

if i am not mistaken,
    there is even, one guy, whom job title is a Kerani or Penolong Pegawai Tadbir or something, at the 4th Floor,
    that is a also Datuk

3. Anonymous3:14 am

sekarang mereka sendiri-sendiri dah buleh bagi-bagi datuk kepada kawan-kawan yang mereka suka...

jadinya... siapa perlukan sultan sekarang?? [itu je kepentingan adanya sultan buat mereka tuh...]

4. Anonymous8:13 am

Is it the FT minister that recommends the awards ?
    Whatever. Seems like another money-making stream. Is there a discount for this inaugural awards?

Am i being too cynical?

5. Ah ... another one of those with long names.

6. And what is FT day about, eh? Celebrating more money making options by FT ministers for their cronies?

Apa dia sudah buat selama ni? Why does the FT ministry need to organise a "retreat" to discuss traffic woes soultions? Tak cukup lagi ka office space? Pakai je la Pusat Khidmat Parlimen kat Setiawangsa tu yang glamor bukan main. Kedai mamak NZ yang besar sebelah tu pun ada closed off air con area. Why the hell do they need to "retreat" into luxury no less and who the hell is paying for it? I haven't heard of Zulhasan doing anything but coming out in the society pages for attending some Sarawak wealthy scion's wedding, or holding Raya open houses, or sucking up to Najib, huge banners of their faces terpampang kat area Setiawangsa ni. What is important is just sitting down and getting the job done AS IS WHERE IS...all this wasting time and funds is a BLOODY DISEASE...get the buggers out this election. I'm so disappointed to hear of many friends and fellow Malaysians, some of whom are high ranking professionals and successful people who just aren't going to bother to vote this year as the years before...just lost in their la-la land of good pay, perks, clubs and trappings..tak sedar yang when the bubble bursts...all we will have is hot air...

7. Anonymous10:04 am

Brew, saw these young yellows with SIL at a cigar bar in JBB having fine cigars and finer vino. Kalli getting drunk at the corner bar in Bangsar. Islam hadhari, you see. Do they serve vine at Seri Perdana?

Drunkard

8. What is this award?
    It doesn’t come with genuinely helping the destitute
    It comes from enriching one’s personal glory
    By betting on which horse you want to ride

The country has too many awards
    It has become another parade
    Of the titled people
    Running around the country

Why don’t the other rulers follow Sultan of Selangor?
    Give to those really deserving the awards
    It shouldn’t be given to those working for the government
    Or those supporting the ruling elite
    They must be helping the society
    Without race or religion or color

Yet I read year in year out
    So many people receiving many awards
    Not once many times too
    Not that they help in charitable work
    Nay….it is just the way it is

I know something about it
    My cousin got his Datukship few years ago
    He is a businessman he doesn’t do charity work
    He is so proud about it

I never congratulate him
    I felt he shouldn’t deserve it

I only respect those awardees
    Helping the society putting in their efforts
    Without thinking of awards
    Just they want to help others
    Living it better then before
    And they are color blind of the people

It is time awards must be properly vetted
    No serving government officials should be given
    No businessman should be bestowed titled too
    And politicians too must not be given awards

I know I am wishing
    It will not happen
    I will read it every year

9. fine. go ahead and enjoy the shitty datukship whoever hell these KK and vincent fellas are. but seriously tell me, what have they done to the country to deserve such title, or any title for that matter?

10. Anonymous11:17 am

Can someone give me nenekship?!

11. Anonymous11:17 am

i more tabik on those academic professors, phd holders, and also those MBBS people. also those Emerituses.

Datukship is not longer a previledge. It was, though and it should be.

something like 'Sir' in the UK.

but, these days, Datuks are like empty cans on the street. you see them so many, and if you like, u can sepak them.

or throw them in the bin.

12. Anonymous11:49 am

KAMAL IS HEAD OF THE PRESS OR COMMUNICATION DIVISION IN THE PM'S DEPARTMENT. HAS NOT BEEN DOING A GOOD JOB, JUDGING BY THE UNPOPULARITY OF THE PM NOW COMPARED WITH IN THE FIRST PLACE. LIKE BRU SAID, HE IS THE ONE WHO MAKES THE CALLS TO THE EDITORS AND TELL THEM THE DO'S AND DON'TS.

VINCENT IS POL SECRETARY TO DOLLAH. HE USED TO BE MAHAHTIR'S 2ND PRESS SECRETARY FOR THE CHINESE SECTION. HE WAS CREDITED WITH THE SETTING UP OF MACHAI.NET THAT WAS AIMED TO COUNTER THE ANTI-DOLLAH CAMPAIGN IN THE BLOG BY DISCREDITING SOME OF THE MAJOR PLAYERS ON THE BLOG, INCLUDING THE BRU AND HIS SIDEKICK THE OOI.
    MACHAI.NET FAILED MISERABLY AND IS NOW LYING DYING IN BLOGOSPHERE.

13. Who knows, next, Datukships and Tan Sriships would be awarded on Thaipusam, Labour Day, Wesak Day, Masulidur Rasul, Maal Hijrah and School Sports Day?

Imagine going to Kayu Nasi Kandaq and the waiter attending to you is Datuk Abdel Rehman from Bihar.

14. Anonymous11:58 am

Sounds incredibly like a mutual admiration society. Datukships are a dime a dozen these days.

Most Datuks I meet, I asked what he paid for it. U know wot? Instead of getting indignant, sound sheepish.

What an incestuous bunch. And these people are in authority.

15. Anonymous12:01 pm

Nowadays people look at Datuks differently. It is no longer a respectable title like in the 70 and 80s and even the early 90s. Money can buy one same like our Angkasawan..so just let them be. Let them beat their chest.

16. Settle Mari

Vincent Lim was never TDM's Chinese Polsec. It was Matthias Chang lah!

17. Anonymous12:10 pm

There is a saying, "Why clean the outside of the cup while the inside is filled with dead men's bones?" Why do Barisan leaders continue to promote crnoyism while the righteous men and women within us are treated with contempt?

Such blatant acts of "datukship" is a disgraceful abuse of leadership and disregard to political and moral accountability and transparency.

May the rakyat stand firm in making their voices heard against thse blatant abuse of tax-payers revenue. Continue to bycott the goverment-controlled concubine media and its agents!

And lets add another day in the week besides Tuesday to send these testicle-carrying goons to a royal flush.

18. Anonymous12:12 pm

They should just centralized the giving of titles to the Agong or Federal, and no one else, then it'll be more meaningful. Sultan Johor also has tight control of the Datukship given out I think. To be transparent as the govt claim they are, publish what is the requirements to be considered for Datukship, the achievements or qualifications. Right now, any Tom Dick Harry with connection and money can get it, cheapen the titles.

19. Anonymous12:12 pm

To anon. 10.04 am.

Ahh my friend. FIL probably told SIL that his islam hadari (note the small 'i' because to all other Muslims, there is only ONE Islam, ie ISLAM) . No sir , no islam hadari or islam bendahri or islam harihari or islam harakiri !
    Badawi's islam hadari says 'ok' to many other deeds. Aske both of them !!

20. Anonymous12:14 pm

Well , we do love our datukshits, i mean datukships, dun we ?

21. Anonymous12:16 pm

I think you have coded the link wrongly ... :)

22. That bloke who follows our national badminton team around since decades ago deserve some recognition. But no, just becos he’s a small-time trader he wont even get a lousy medal. Datukships are reserved for the rich, just as long you have tons of money, you don’t need to sweat for your country to get one of those.

Such cheap shit cost a bomb

23. Indeed they are getting younger and younger which make us wonder what have they contributed to the society at large?

24. mr nobody, thank you. corrected.

25. Anonymous12:38 pm

At the rate such awards are being given out, in the not too distant future there will be more Datuks and other titled people around than ordinary untitled folks.

By then perhaps 90 per cent of the population of Malaysia will be walking around with a Datuk or Dato Sri or Tun appended to their names.

26. Anonymous1:11 pm

My only complaint is that they are too frugal in dishing out the datukships.

Heck, I welcome the day when they throw out awards by the bucketfuls.

Then & only then, will we get the real value of these awards.

Remember the "banana notes" of WWII Malaya.

More, more please.

27. Anonymous2:16 pm

suaramalaysia..i think you got some kinda fetish there..the terms "concubines", "feeding at the breasts of BN/Umno", "royal breasts"..keep cropping up in your writings...better go get some first...

28. Anonymous4:36 pm

Saw the coverage on RTM this morning. What's happening? There's a LONG LONG list of Ketua Bahagian UMNO/MCA/MIC getting some kind of awards! What's the CRITERIA for getting one???

29. Anonymous4:43 pm

/Post this with ur reply,if not nvm/

rocky..i was reading thru nstp(guilty as charge)during my lunch today.. kamal's pic was there.. i tot it was kamaluddin.. related to the family on endon?

thx

30. Anonymous6:52 pm

What is the big deal in getting a Datuk title.It's so easy to get one. Have money, pay for it and get a title. Those who work hard don't get one. Those who are lazy and tukang ampu,no problem. Like Tengku Adnan recommended one for former CJ without his boss knowledge. Podah.

31. Hey,

Dato' Kamal Khalid is friend from school and I am happy he has been bestowed with the awards.

However, whether he deserve it or not, I am not too sure. What I know is that he is the youngest civil servant I know being awarded a "Datukship" and yes, he had not even completed his post for a full Parliament term.

I think he is the first guy from my school who had been bestowed with a "Datukship" (Our school history is less than 25 years old!). Congratulations, Dato' Kamal!

32. Nowadays you can throw an empty mineral water bottle(Ijok-inspired) and IT WILL HIT A DATUK amongst the crowd!

33. Anonymous11:16 pm

They didn't give one to Nor Mohammed? He's losing his touch.
    Next year maybe.

34. Anonymous2:22 am

Malaysia's datukship has become a DIME A DOZEN AWARDS.

It is no more a case of awarding titles who serve the interests of the country. It is awarding titles who are asslickers of the ruling parties of the Government, who are patriotic in playing the politics of ruling parties.

In Government departments and ministries, a Ketua Pengarah works to get his datukship and the modus operandi is to play ball and kiss the assess of Ministers in charge.

Nowadays, if you throw a stone in a gathering of senior public servants, 9 out of 10 it will land on a head of a datuk.

In the corporate sector, datuks are purchased, it is a commodity.

What we get now slimy datuks, mostly a disgrace to the nation:
    The datuks of the kind eg the Lingam type who disgrace the legal profession the Tuns of the time of Fairuz and Eusoff Chin who brought disgrace to the judiciary, the criminal datuks,

The Datuk Azeez type who is acting like a godfather to the Mat Rempits.

The Datuks in Parliament whose mouth about a woman's bocor need to be sterilised

The datuks who wield keris calling for nonMalay blood in public

The datuks who secretly marry royalties in THailand and deny it

The latest two from the fourth flour of Putrajaya, what the bloody hell did they contribute to the wellbeing besides being the son in law's sidekicks.

Nowadays, when you see a person with a datuk to his/her name, you mentally classify him/her:

a) Asslicker datuks (the Ketua Pengarah types)

b) Brainless datuks politicians who exploit the UMNO money politics to win datukship

c) Supermarket datuks especially those corporate captains where they advertise their datukship on full pages in newspapers

d) UMNO greasing datuks

It is time the Agung and the Council of Rulers set a standard and proper criteria before agreeing to the list of datuks to be conferred.OTHERWISE, it is such a joke among Malaysians.

There are friends I know who would refuse to take a datukship simply because they don't want to be in a company of known crooks and questinable and shady characters who have been giving the DATUKSHIP a bad name.

The Kamal Khalid and the Vincent Lim datukships are the classified as the ASS LICKERS DATUKS, and this award is reflection of the PM's poor leadership for even agreeing to submit the list to the Agung.

SHAME!!

d) Political wannabees datuks whose fame

35. Anonymous7:20 am

The second time around from the current Sultan Selangor...

February 01, 2008 22:46 PM

Selangor Revokes Amin Shah's 'Datuk' Title

SHAH ALAM, Feb 1 (Bernama) -- The Selangor government today revoked the "Datuk" title conferred on corporate figure Amin Shah Omar retrospective from Jan 31, 2008, according to a statement issued by State Secretary Datuk Ramli Mahmud.

He said the decision was taken after consultations with the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, when the Dewan Di Raja Selangor held its 124th meeting here here yesterday.

"The decision was made because of conduct on the part of Amin Shah not befitting the status of the title," Ramli said.

Amin Shah, 53, was conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Datuk Mahkota Selangor (DPMS), which carries the "Datuk" title, in 1996.

-- BERNAMA

It will be good to have this a continuing trend and practised by all the states ...

God giveth and god taketh ... through the Sultan, off course.

36. Anonymous11:48 am

Anonymous 4:43 PM said...
    /Post this with ur reply,if not nvm/
    rocky..i was reading thru nstp(guilty as charge)during my lunch today.. kamal's pic was there.. i tot it was kamaluddin.. related to the family on endon?

anon 4:43 PM, u think dis kamal fella maybe related to khalid izhar mahmood ambak, brother of the late endon, ah?

37. Anonymous12:02 pm

What the heck! I know one Burmese used car salesman who can't speak English properly and is now a Datuk.

Mind you, this guy did not even have a proper secondary school education.

Heard he got the title with the help of one of the AP King who now flies around in a heli.

WELCOME TO BOLEHLAND.

38. Anonymous3:06 pm

bro,

just look around you...
    years ago, some corporate people were awarded Tan Sriships. I puked. They bloody did not deserve to be awarded anything.

You'd be awarded a datukship, bro, if you were still at NST. But I was told you'd refuse to accept any titled awards. BRAVO!
    Speaking of which, your former colleagues......hahaha, need I say more?

The NSTP group editor posts guarantee a datukship. Is that right?
    Sheeesh.... what cock.

datukships are worthless these days. I know an event management guy who's got a datukship. WHHAAAAT?
    there you go.... hahaaahaa

39. Anonymous1:41 am

Datuk Vincent Lim - what a big joke of the century. Such faceless mercenary can be bestowed with a Datukship then datukship is not worth a cup of cold piss!

Vincent Lim, what have you done for. the nation spinning stories to make the Sleepy Head look good and yet he looks like shit!

People like Vincent Lim should be cursed for doing a diservice to the nation and he has cheated the nation by his the datukship

40. Anonymous11:26 am

There are now more Datuks than Buffalos in Malaysia, however Buffalos are more respectable and carries more value.

41. Anonymous11:38 am

Sadly the value of Datuk is not worth the shit that comes out of the Datuk's asshole. There must be close to a million Datuks by now and there are rapist, murderers,con-artist,corrupted Datuks everywhere. It is a title of shame since it has been given to so many shameless people.

42. Anonymous4:31 pm

Cleopatra,

If you know one event management guy who got a datukship, I know another who was conferred one.

Haiyaa...got no shame these people. What have they contributed to the nation?

Elek. Nothing!

43. Datukship dekat malaysia ni mana ada kualiti... bandingkan dengan Sir di England...Datuk kat Malaysia majoritinya hampeh belaka...

budak budak umur 27,28 tahun entah dari mana datangnya pun boleh dapat Datuk...apa la...Kodi...

terlampau banyak sangat Datuk dah tak ada maknanya lagi dah...belum campur datuk mindanao lagi

44. Anonymous9:22 pm

a group of kids on the playground handing out fancy names for themselves, imagining they'll all have superpowers hoping the rest of the school will ponder in awe:
    'ok, abdullah, you'll be superman'
    'zam will be the pink power ranger'
    'najib, how bout you be catwoman'
    'watch out for khairy's elastic hands...'