Monday, December 24, 2007

Merry Xmas!

Malaysia's tallest Christmas tree, in Kuching, donated by a telco. Click here or here to know more, and for more pics.
So Merry Xmas, you young ones and old farts, blackwhiteyellow and red, rich or poor. No fear. I'll let Lennon sing you my favourite all-year-round Xmas number ....
So this is Christmas
And what have you done
Another year over
And a new one just begun

And so this is Christmas
I hope you have fun
The near and the dear one
The old and the young

A very merry Christmas
And a happy New Year
Let's hope it's a good one
Without any fear

And so this is Christmas
For weak and for strong
For rich and the poor ones
The world is so wrong

And so happy Christmas
For black and for white
For yellow and red ones
Let's stop all the fight

A very merry Christmas
And a happy New Year
Without any fear

And so this is Christmas
And what have we done
Another year over
And a new one just begun

And so this is Christmas
I hope you have fun
The near and the dear one
The old and the young

A very merry Christmas
And a happy New Year
Without any fear
War is over over
If you want it
War is over
Now...

16 comments:

1. Merry X'Mas Rock .May the good SPIRITS flow abudantly to all. Peace on Earth and Goodwill to ALL MEN !

2. Anonymous1:14 pm

biskut mary, buah kismis.
    Merry Krismas

3. Anonymous2:15 pm

So this is "Christmas"?

I thought Christmas was about the birth of Jesus Christ, the saviour to Christians.

There don't seem to be any mention of him anywhere.

By the way, what about Celcom sponsoring a massive Christmas tree at say KLCC to rival twin towers?

Would the public's reaction be the same?

Anyway, best wishes of the season to all.

4. Anonymous3:53 pm

Bro Rocky,
    Like I said before Sarawak and Sabah have high racial and reigious tolerance.Come to Kuching la if you have time. You be surprised with the diverse people you will meet.
    Bob From Kuching

5. Anonymous4:08 pm

Hi Rocky, thanks for the link... No wonder I have a surge in traffic and I'm was wondering where it came from hahaha... Merry Christmas and Happy 2008!

6. It’s Christmas
    Believing that Jesus born this day
    It is said he was born somewhere in January
    It could be in summer
    Remember the shepherds saw the sign
    And the 3 wise men came to visit him

Yet the Christian’s World
    Merry wishes on this day
    Because it brings cheers
    Smiling faces and good feeling
    Something gives
    Oh on the Christmas season

The wishes of many
    The good flow in peoples’ minds
    For Christmas they wish
    People can unite
    No religion to interfere
    No color to bridge
    We are just one people one nation

Oh it is Christmas!
    Bring the good cheers
    Peace and harmony in one’s mind
    Let’s there be sweet melody
    Singing all the times
    In our lives

7. Anonymous5:00 pm

And so, this is Christmas. A time of merriment, joyful song, and styrofoam snowflake (at least in the tropical areas).

Lennon's Christmas anthem mean many things to many people and it is a catchy song even for me, just a toddler when it was first played, and growing old amidst another war, a war of terror. It never seems to end, the terror around us, the war, the lying, the cheating, the power hungry, the proud and arrogant heart, the killing, the perjury, the false oath, the using of God's name in vain, the trampling of the poor and the downtrodden, etcetra, etcetra, etcetra...

But then again since when has such things ever stop? Certainly not at the first Christmas, certainly not now...

Nevertheless, the divine peace has been extended to humanity and for us to embrace it, men and women of goodwill.

And so this is Christmas...
    Glory to God in the highest,
    and peace on earth to men of
    goodwill

8. Anonymous5:04 pm

Rocky, when we have UMNO politicians wanting to take down the cross in school, I will not be surprised when one day the same UMNO politicians will want to stop us from celebrating X'mas.

They will soon stopping you, who is a Malay, from publishing such things. So beware my brother, ISA will be used against people like you, Ruhanie Ahamd and Raja Petra and the like.

But don't worry we are all with you all. The people will defend you all. You will see our support during the general elections.

9. Anonymous5:17 pm

hey,
    where are Gigantic posters of our esteem and beloved and unforgetful leaders?
    Somebody gonna get it...

10. Anonymous7:22 pm

In my childhood days in Kuching, my hometown, the feeling of Christmas was not about the Christmas trees, the shoppers rushing for their gifts, the competition of which shopping complex decorates the most lavish beautiful Christmas decorations. We didn't have shopping malls like here in KL then.

The feeling then was religious, rejoicing in the celebrations. We would see churches having mass at night, on Christmas morning. The bell tolled in the mornings. My father's house is very near the town. We could hear the bells ringing from St Thomas Catheral.

We live in a kampung environment. None of these religious ceremonies bothered us.

On Christmas day, it would be just like any other festival celebration...we would go to our friends' houses, rejoiced in their celebrations, even receiving token gifts from their parents, uncles, aunts. No open house concept like here in West Malaysia. Noone needed to be invited on a special day or weekend. You just go to the houses of whoever your long lost friends, your close friends, your office mates, etc etc.

A blessed Christmas to all fellow Christians brothers and sisters. Peace to all.

11. Anonymous8:24 pm

Thank you Rocky!
    You are one of the few malay muslims that dare and care to wish
    others Merry Xmas .
    Many of my muslim colleagues and
    friens has stop wishing me since
    a few years ago - because Ustaz say cannot ?? very sad thing!!

12. Anonymous8:28 am

Have a good Merry Christmas.

Do not drink and drive. If caught, don't complain and demand for royal commision on the police.

13. Anonymous12:47 am

So this is Christmas.... and Churches are demolished, not in some luar negri Communist or Middle East regime State, but right here in "multicultural, "beautiful" Malaysia, truly Asia". Don't shoot the one who brings you this truth today, or arrest bloggers who have the testicles to report the objective truth. Don't hold your breath to find a pip squeek of it in the Barisan-controlled emasculated media.

Check out the "Real Religous Malaysia" story here: *Demolition of Orang Asli community of Kampung Jias in the district of Gua Musang, Kelantan - click here for details:
    http://www.bobjots.org/2007/06/orang_asli_church_demolishment.php

Click here for You Tube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhIXBRdjzoA

*Demolition of Kuala Masai Orang Laut Church in Johor. Check out details here: http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/printthread.php?t=10694

November 7, 2001 report* Churches torched by Islamic extremists in Malaysia in reaction against war in Afghanistan. Check out details here:

http://www.cswusa.com/Reports%20Pages/Reports-Malaysia.htm#Churches%20torched%20by%20Islamic%20extremists%20in%20Malaysia%20in%20reaction%20against%20war%20in%20Afghanistan

Just when you thought you could say that freedom of worhip exists in Malaysia with a straight face, the reality stinks worse than a skunk run over by a town council garbage truck on a wet Friday night in Kelantan.

Over the past two decades Religous freedom in Malaysia is much like the Malaysian wheather, highly unpredictable! Today it is Malaysian Hindu temples and Christian Churches, what do you envision it to be tomorrow if you choose to remain silent?

14. happy boxing day and happy new 'ear!

15. Anonymous6:47 pm

A day to remember the story of a man that was sold for 30 pieces of silver. Merry christmas.

16. sitiawanman , Guess what ... if he was not sold for the 30 pieces of silver ! would the Christians have a Christ Mass today ? The Lord works in mysterious ways my friend.