Thursday, August 16, 2007

Bangsa Malaysia Merdeka do

At 8.30 pm on August 25th, at the Blog House, bloggers will get together to sing the Negaraku and celebrate the coming of August 31. Earlier in the day, there will be a brief forum on Bangsa Malaysia to initiate a movement that aims to unite us, Malaysians, as a people, regardless of race and religion.

Join us. There will be no charge.

Event : Bangsa Malaysia Merdeka Get-together
Date : 25th August, 2007
Time : 8.30pm
Venue : Blog House ( home of Malaysian All Blogs ) No.66, Lorong Setiabistari, Damansara Heights, KL.

For more info, visit the blogs of Haris Ibrahim and Tony Yew.

7 comments:

1. dear rocky,

i will be there in spirit.
    La Libertad Siempre!

2. Hi Rocky,

Thank you for posing with me the other day in LPF. I think the Bangsa Malaysia Merdeka Get-together is a great idea. I will not be able to attend as I will be travelling on that day.

In future hopefully there will be more bloggers get-together meet to exchange ideas. I am not a full blown blogger yet. You, RPK and others have inspired me to start blogging.

Thank you and keep on writing...

3. Anonymous5:39 pm

Bangsa Malaysia? what next -> Agama Malaysia?

4. Anonymous10:27 pm

Hi Rocky, Met you at the tobacco counter in Bangsar and was tongue tied! Meant to say that you and people like Farish Noor et al are my lifeline to sanity. After living abroad most of my life coming home has been difficult but full of hope.
    Maybe I should start blogging too in between my art projects.
    May we meet again on 25th aug. Insyaallah.

5. Tongkat Warrant speak of Bangsa Malaya from the perspective of humanity, compassion and patriotism.

Will All Blog Merdeka forum be talking from the heart like Tongkat Warrant?

From Harris blog it seems, the impression from the requirement is that one must express ones opinion first to be allowed attendance.

Not sure, what for. Is it to weed out special branch or only birds of same feathers allowed?

But out of 6 speakers, three are from the legal profession and of same genre of thought.

What hope are we to talk of the way forward if it looks likely to discuss the way forward on society, economics, politics, education, culture and history skewed from the legal perspective.

Naturally, lawyers have a tendency to talk of the law and nothign but the law. Even their perspective of other aspect of Malaysian life will be a court cross examination style analysis.

You'd probably have a tough time achieving anything substantial and practical.

The makan and social session sounds like a better preposition ...

6. why cant we just meet online in a chat room....those who have the time to go can go ..others should be given the chance to attend from the comfort of their desktops......

A couple of projector for a live chat room would make the event more lively....how much for a fast typist to type every single thing being discussed on site into a discussion room.......

7. MALAYSIA ..
    TERAMAT INDAH INDAH BUMI MU
    AQIDAH ISLAM WAJIB BAGI BANGSA KU
    50 TAHUN USIA MU
    LAHIR MU BUKAN KERANA
    MALAYU CINA INDIA DAN LAIN NYA
    MENJADI ANAK ANAK MU..
    ADA KALA MEREKA LUPA BAHAWA KAU MALAYSIA
    TELAH TERAMAT BANYAK BEJASA KEPADA MEREKA..
    AMAN DAMAI.. HIDUP DI BUMI MU..
    AKU BAHAGIA MENJADI ANAK MU.. MALAYSIA
    KAN KU PASTI ..ANAK ANAK KU BERSEDIA ..
    UNTUK MENJADI ANAK ANAK YANG BERGUNA
    UNTUK MU MALAYSIA..
    MALAYSIA KU SEJAHTERA..
    "sesungguh hanya ALLAH yang maha mengetahui"