Thursday, August 16, 2007

Govt rejects Negaraku-ku student's apology

A rap for a rap. The government had no trouble accepting the apology that wasn't an apology from Lee Kuan Yew last year. Not only that, the goverment even offered the Iskandar Development Region to Singapore as a way of saying, "No hard feelings".
But Wee Meng Chong ain't the Minister Mentor of Singapore. The 24-year old student in a Taiwanese U, who created a storm in our teacups with his radical rap using the national anthem, will not be forgiven or rewarded.
Wee Meng apologised for his clip but, according to the Star's sms news forwarded to me just now:
"(The) govt will not accept student Wee Meng Chee's apology for his Negaraku rap video clip on You Tube, the law will take its course, says Nazri Aziz."
Zam the Information Minister must be kicking himself in the back for saying Malaysians must accept Wee's apology.

71 comments:

1. Anonymous5:38 pm

ABANG ATTAN...

"LUKA SUDAH SEMBUH... TAPI PARUT MASIH ADA..."

ABANG JANGAN LUPA SYAABAN SUDAH MULA TINGGALKAN KITA.. DAN RAMADHAN KIAN MENHAMPIRI..KITA

SELAMAT BERPUASA

2. Bro...

What do you expect? You have a ding-dong PM, plus a bunch of goombas cabinet members, the above news is not something unusual nowadays.

HESMEL FAZNEE FAISAL..

3. Rocky!

I am open minded yes, but never a bleeding heart liberal and I hate these type of people!
    I am open mind over many race related issues experienced by this country but when it comes to certain issue I will not have any good manners to show!
    Case in point is when a national anthem is "desecrated" or made fun out of, those responsible must answer and no amount of apology can remedy the damage done.
    Every country including the US and the UK have strong laws against citizen who shows disrespect to the country's sacred symbol and national anthem is one of them!
    When comedienne Rosanne Barr grab her crutch when singing the last stanza Star Spangled Banner at the opening of a football game she was booed. Not only that she was out of job for the longest time when the system got to her for being disrespectful, later she apologised but no club or motion pictures companies dare to take her for a stint.
    Years ago a British citizen was sentenced to jail for stitching the Union Jack on his bottom.
    Well, Wee Meng Chong will have to face the music if he indeed desecrate Negaraku! I have not heard it myself but it must be pretty insulting to too many people for them to react the way they did!

4. Anonymous6:31 pm

American James Baldwin once said, "I love America more than any other country in this world, and, exactly for this reason, insist on the right to criticze her perpetually."

But this is not America.

And the definition of patriotism is not wedded with wisdom. So there is some truth to George Bernard Shaw when he insisted that, "You will never have a quiet world until you knock the patriotism out of the human race."

MCA tried hard to steal the "thunder" out of this case for publicity sake in view of the coming general elections but unknowingly hit by lightning so soon. Its role makes no difference to the young man.

5. So the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing.

While the head is still gallivanting round the country, building castles in the sky.

UMNO MPs can 'apologise' for making derogatory remarks on the fairer sex and 'semua ok'.

An unknown chinese student, not on any government scholarship, studying abroad, making a rap video (abroad) with the national anthem as the background theme, gets the LAW slapped on himself AFTER making an apology. So, MCA's effort to find an amicable solution was in vain? Will You-Tube get hauled up too?

Wahlauweh, NA? Trying to score some 'brownie points' or what? UMNO rules, yes, no? And ZM gets to look stupid, as usual.

Meanwhile, RM4.6 billion of taxpayers' monies will bail out a failed BN project without an apology in sight.

Another splendid reason to kick out BN.

6. Anonymous6:53 pm

Narzi also wanted

action to be taken against video-sharing portal YouTube and other bloggers who have allowed sensitive material to be published that went against the law of our country.

7. I don't like this NegaraKu being doctored. Our symbol like National Anthem should not be made fun off or used/midified for creative or any purpose.

There 200 million materials to be used but why the NegaraKu. He can do his rap withotu desecratign teh NegaraKu.

I saw Marvin Gaye sang the Star Strangled Banner in his own stylised manner. Jimi Hendrix made his classic Woodstock war protest version of the Star Sprangled Banner. Americans didn't like it and explicitly expressed it.

WHy are we not angry? Especially when a major version of the verse made disparaging remark at other religion to that of his. He questioned a person rights to use headgear, was that mean for Muslim men or Punjabi men in serban, or Muslim women, nun, and other women putting own head coverPunjabi men in their.

To refuse apology and apply sedition law? Pleaseeeee lah! What chaos and unrest can this song cause? WHat revolution can the song bring out in the population? Grow up lah NAzri!

8. Ali G has always said "Keep It Real"

Our friend Mr Wee, kept it extremely real. To a point where people can't take.

You know, in the US, even if you insulted the president, making a fake doctored pornographed photos wouldn't get into trouble. People there treat it like a joke.

In Malaysia, tolerance level are extremely low.
    Too much ethnic distances we need to pursue.

Anyway, Wee's song can be sensitive. But, it's real. It's so real. IT'S FUCKING REAL.

So, yeah, KEEP IT REAL.

9. Anonymous8:40 pm

Absolute tosh - there is no law in the UK about insulting the national anthem.

We're big enough to take those sort of knocks. Say what you lik - we don't care.

10. Anonymous9:17 pm

Does anyone where Nazri stay? Where is his home? Got any address or not? How about house phone, mobile phone? Please, post here. Just publish it and let the Internet swallow him.

11. Anonymous9:38 pm

anonymous 8.40 pm

Maybe so. There is no law...AND why should you need it. It should come naturally that you ALWAYS respect your flag and your national anthem. People who respect the nation's flag would not even let it touch the ground.

Its like saying that its ok to insult your parents - but then , who knows ? maybe ........

12. Anonymous9:59 pm

Nazri is "offended" because he says "Ku Ku" means "Penis". I thought it was "Kuku Chiow" or something like that in a Chinese dialect, that means penis.

Kuku in Bahasa Melayu, sori Malaysia, means "nail or claws". so it is our (Out)Law Minister that is making mischievious intepretations to suit his own agenda and waste public funds, time and involving many people. He's just out for blood no matter what.....against a small fry. When no one is offended, he is the sensitive one. Brave only against small flies but not against someone his size.

Malaysians must stand up and support Wee against this tyrannical administration.

White elephants in front of him with all their wrong doings he can't see but a fly far away, he can.

MCA has once again shown its ineffectiveness and continues once again to be belitted by UMNO. Let the Chinese vote go against these bastards (sori, Bru bro).

In today's The Star, page N22, Datuk Ahmad Merican (retired RTM) recounts how he helped the Tunku create the NegaraKu from an Indonesian love song "Terang Bulan" which probably was written based on the Hawaiian love song "Mamula Moon". Imagine, our National Anthem based on a love song.

13. Anonymous10:09 pm

Well, what really strucked & saddened me is not about the song but more on those comments posted on youtube and certain brainless pro-racist site. I once read someone comment that M'sia is the most racist country he had ever experienced. Everything is categorized racially, citizenship, wealth, education, application, politically...etc. The current scenario holds truth to the comments, undeniably. We are now ever divided by a dumb stupid issue rather than concentrate on more serious issue for our future sake. The more vision we created (2020 to 2057) the more illusion we become. If this shows the true portrayal of the M'sian then it's really hopeless to celebrate 50th merdeka this year. Instead of celebrating it, we should just mourn for it. Our once beloved peaceful country is in the brink of detsroying itself in no time. The bomb is ever tickling every now & then whenever our politicians open their blardy mouth. Sad! Sad! Sad!...

14. Anonymous10:15 pm

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

15. Anonymous10:17 pm

HIs name is Wee Meng Chee(Chong).

I hope Meng Hcee will tell this Nazri shit head to fly kite. HE wants apology, fly to Taiwan and get it.

Sue youtube la Nazri egghead. Sue me la, I am calling u an egghead. Youtube will tell u to fly Wau.

Youtube will make sure they put up more silly antics of you shouting racists remarks and make u their no.1 ranked celebrity.

Nazri, you dont hv balls. You only dare to bully little rat like Meng Chee. Dont hide behind UMNO. Your taxi permits case settled ah? Or are your balls being held by someone else that is why you hv no choice but to bark the loudest now?

Patriotic? Are you? By being the loudest dog and the maddest? Dont make me puke la u hypocrite!

16. Anonymous10:25 pm

I think the negara ku thingy is just an excuse. Other stuff in the lyrics are so true and govt is embarrased by them.

The incident also showed how we still operate on a racial basis: mca to the rescue because he is a chinese. I bet mic would go if he were an indian. So much for bangsa malaysia.

Zam tried to score a point but got a slap in the face. So did mca - reflect very well how govt think and operate

17. Oh, I thought "Negarakuku" means, dalam bahasa inggeris, "My Negaraku".

Those who haven't watched the vidoe clip, pls go watch it.

The guy sings the anthem very well.

I like the way he pronounces "kurni--a-kan" in the line "Tuhan kurniakan, Raja kita, selamat bertahta."

18. Anonymous11:39 pm

"NegaraKuKu" means "My Negaraku"? Yes of course you are right too, bro.

Nazri interpreted it as "Penis Country" and is livid, is "offended" and is now looking for Wee's blood.

Others (Nazri again included) interpreted it as "Coocoo Country".

See how our imagination run wild? We will all intepret it to suit our agenda. Just what specifically are we offened at, I wonder?

The half past six PM and his cabinet wants the AG to waste his time to determine.

19. Anonymous11:45 pm

To Pasquale (6.24pm):

Common-lah, you watch the video first before making comments and jumping into any conclusion. Meng Chee did not, emphasize did not, desecrate the National Anthem. In fact he sang it with such fervour that we could feel his love for the country, even though it showed in the video that he was a disenchanted citizen in a country where prejudices against the non-malays have run so deep.

20. Anonymous11:45 pm

21. Anonymous11:46 pm

22. In Malaysia, we need to begin accepting the fact that we need each other to grow into a prosperous nation. No one creed can claim they were the initiators and defender of Merdeka and Malaysia. It was done and achieve through mutual respect and harmony with a common goal, Merdeka.

While we cannot allow the less fortunate rakyat regardless of race to languish in the corners of our prosperity, we should motivate the rakyat as a whole to know that they have an equal opportunity to build their dreams without interference and intimidation. One of the ideas mooted for this to happen was the establishing of Bangsa Malaysia.

This is a quote from 28/02/91
    MALAYSIAN BUSINESS COUNCIL - THE WAY FORWARD (WORKING PAPER)

"The first of these is the challenges of establishing a united Malaysian nation with a sense of common and shared destiny. This must be a nation at peace with itself, territorially and ethnically integrated, living in harmony and full and fair partnership, made up of one 'Bangsa Malaysia' with political loyalty and dedication to the nation."

Come for the Bangsa Malaysia Merdeka Get Together on the 25th August 2007, and rediscover the uniqueness and wisdom of this spirit.

23. 1st of all, Nazri... His racist remarks before was worse as a minister of a country. This is RAP. That's y Negaraku-ku not Negara-saya. Which one flow?

As a chinese, it is sometimes quite ironic how we show our patriotism to our beloved country. We keep complain abt the equality because we do care, and we do want to contribute for the country.

Until one stops to complain, that would mean one has give up and renounce as Malaysian.

Like Wee Meng, my hiking group always flies the jalur gemilang proudly when we reach at each peak. Y? Need no guess. Because we feel ourselves as a Malaysian.

On and off, racist remarks and unfair policy (Explicitly NEP la) which only benefit 1 small pool of people often stir up the anger and put our patriotism for test. As long as we still complain, that means we still care.

I hope I wont stop complaining... Partly, I think that's how Wee Meng feels at Taiwan.

24. when i first read the title of the re-make, i thought it was rude of him to cock-up our national anthem. but after watching the whole video, i thought it was a similar case of that footballer guy, djimi traore- great skill, wrong end.

thank you abg attan.

kahkahh...

25. Anonymous1:37 am

Check the malay translation in the COMMENT section http://colour-blind.org/?p=785

26. Anonymous1:55 am

haiya..see. now people start believing that ahmad merican help create ou national anthem. what a load of bullshit! I said earlier, this a.merican didnot have anything to do with the song. if he did it was only because he was working in RTM when the first recording was made. other than that he had nothing to do with the 'creation' of the national anthem that was lifted from terang bulan and most properly borrowed from mamula moon.
    anyway, shouldn't the word kuku in the rap mean 'stupid or crazy'? as in coocoo?

cp

27. Anonymous1:56 am

haiya..see. now people start believing that ahmad merican help create ou national anthem. what a load of bullshit! I said earlier, this a.merican didnot have anything to do with the song. if he did it was only because he was working in RTM when the first recording was made. other than that he had nothing to do with the 'creation' of the national anthem that was lifted from terang bulan and most properly borrowed from mamula moon.
    anyway, shouldn't the word kuku in the rap mean 'stupid or crazy'? as in coocoo?

cp

28. Anonymous2:04 am

To all those who believe in freedom of expression within limits,

Don't give me all those claptraps as if you know what it means!

Define your limits and I shall give you my versions. Get my drift?

That's why all you immatures should not practise freedom of expressions as expounded by the govt. You want freedom of expression? Then, at least have the descency to use your intelligence to articulate your points of views instead of making threats of seditions and all those cocks and bulls!

29. Like our Crown Prince of Perak said, rely on the Constitution, all your rights as Malaysians are enshrined therein.

Defend it, promote it and most important believe in it. It is the guarantee given to all Bangsa Malaysia, whatever your skin colour.

Malaysians take courage to declare this.... http://www.cijmalaysia.org/display_story.asp?ID=529

30. I think our current government is insulting Malaysia and the song Negaraku as well!

Lets analyse the lyrics:

Negaraku // yes this is ok so far

Tanah tumpahnya darahku //ok but need to check if some minister's have foreign PR or not

Rakyat hidup // ok

Bersatu dan maju // NOPE!! Government is doing a POOR job at this, therefore disrespecting our song and beliefs.

Rahmat bahagia // ok
    Tuhan kurniakan // ok
    Raja kita // ok
    Selamat bertahta // Sometimes the government interferes with royalty therefore how to selamat bertahta?

Rahmat Bahagia
    Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita
    Selamat bertahta...

31. This is what Nazri said:

“We cannot be like the West where you can have the underwear with the design of the Union Jack. In Britain, you can insult the Queen or the flag, I don’t care, but in this country we have laws and we cannot create a precedent where you commit an offence, apologise and get away with it,” he said

See.....we have baffoon ministers who dont know how to talk in public....dont fxxking attack other countries when its not necessary. Where is ur diplomacy bodoh!

32. Anonymous6:06 am

My little daughter loves singing Negaraku and waving the national flag proudly. I as a father feel deeply ashamed because in the future I will have to tell her that although she considers this as her country, she is still treated as a pendatang. 4 generations living and sacrificing in this country? only now my eyes are opened.It may be too late for me, but perhaps it is not too late to protect my little daughter from the disappointment of legalised racism in this country.

33. Anonymous7:01 am

Based on the name of the first Prime Minister, Rahman.

The Nazri guy thinks he is one of the possible candidates for the next PM.

So make a lot of fuss so that the Umnoputras can notice him.

Just one of is tricks.

34. Anonymous7:54 am

You can fly a million flags and sing a thousand negara ku, but if at the same time you plunder her wealth and cheat her people you are the traitor.

35. Anonymous8:09 am

(At the bottom part of this comment, I'm including a little bit of info that has to do with KJ.)

Although I condemn some parts of Wee's lyrics that were insensitive towards Islamic practices, I do think that the other social commentaries in his song ARE relevant for us to ponder upon. In that way, he succeeded in getting the attention he wants.

I am a staff of UM and I feel sad that UM was portrayed in the video clip. I'm not saying Wee was wrong. In fact, I feel sad because I understand exactly what Wee means, and although I'm Malay, it bothers me as well when UM is seen as unfair in its intake.

I am a Malay who had very good results in school and was admitted as a student in UM. However, perhaps due to certain policies, there is a kind of prejudice among many non-Malays to think that "ALL Malay students are here not based on merits" - which is unfair too. I don't blame them, but it's really annoying.

Now about KJ.

Last year, somebody in the bloggers community wanted people to disclose all of KJ's cronies. Many foreign-educated people were listed. Then somebody asked "what about from UM?". Nobody had the answer.

After much thought, and due to all the silly politicking worsening in campus, I now want to share the answer. I pray that this info-sharing won't affect my children's livelihood.

There is this Master of a college in UM (let's call him "WK") who claims to many people in campus that he is very closely-linked with KJ and the PM.

WK is quite well-known by the UM community as someone who abuses student activity funds and college funds. WK has been investigated by the ACA a few times already but they left him alone after each investigation (I'm not surprised if this is due to the backing of his friends in politics).

I think the only reason why KJ would defend or back WK is the fact that WK is a good con-man. Why do I say W is a good con-man? Well, some students tell me that WK meets politicians and claims that he is the one responsible for "developing student leaders in UM". This is false, because in actual fact, the few students who are close to WK are just obvious opportunists like himself, while many many student leaders and student pawns (as well as MANY MANY staff) despise WK and his abuse of connections.

WK is actually a liability for KJ, because the more the students and staff despise WK, the more they despise KJ. Sometimes I feel sorry for KJ but then KJ's the stupid one for believing in WK.

By being close with KJ, WK gets many things done his way. Even the Vice Chancellor (VC) is afraid of WK, they say. Why wouldn't she.. this WK even has Tok Pa the Minister of Higher Education bowing to his demands (after all, even Tok Pa wants KJ to say good things about himself to the PM, so Tok Pa must be nice to KJ's friend lah).

WK is daring and dangerous. He started off as a post-graduate student in UM but failed to obtain his PhD after many many years. He became a college Master only because he was close to the previous VC, Dato' Hashim (ever since Dato' Hashim was still a Deputy VC). During the 3 years Dato' Hashim was VC, WK's PhD supervisor was harrassed for not acting favourably for WK!

WK is still on the loose. Until today, he commands authority on college finances, student activities, etc. He's not even a lecturer in UM, yet he's probably more influential than the Sultan of Selangor (the UM Chancellor) or the Raja Muda Dr Nazrin (the UM Pro-Chancellor) when it comes to the power-play and money-games in UM.

As long as KJ foolishly allows WK to use his name, an end to this "WK problem in UM" doesn't seem likely at all...

36. Anonymous9:16 am

A sad situation to celebrate 50th Merdeka in 2 weeks time.

As usual, election is coming, politicians ensure they score as much as possibble, racial issues, top flavour.

37. Anonymous9:17 am

Many wrongs in the past do not automatically allow another wrong now, no matter how trivial.

38. Anonymous9:42 am

An application for political asylum looms ahead........

I think that the govt will land up with egg on its face for over-reacting.

Imagine the anger and gnashing of teeth amongst certain quarters in Msia if this guy does succeed in getting political asylum in a 3rd country. Will these people then demonstrate in front of that country's embassy in KL or burn its flag?

It seems to me that these quarters don't understand what a borderless world is all about, and that the Internet makes national borders and censorship somewhat relevant.

And I'd love for the Msian govt to sue YouTube! That will get every political commentator in the US digging out dirt on Msian politicians! If you wanna dish it out to others, you've got to be prepared to take it on the chin when they react.

39. Rapper Wee got his share
    Of things he said in his raps
    Using his skills he makes his song
    Letting the world know how Malaysia belong

A young man sees
    His country divides with lopsided policies
    The country runs base on race and race
    Lips services by the ruling elite
    Saying come walk with me
    Get slap on the face

Corruption abounds in every way
    Small and big what's the difference
    The sleeping beauty can't even know
    Snoring away into the dreams of gold

Waste public money no law to say
    The gravy train stops every where
    Laying tracks short and long
    Nobody can make noise
    Else one is thrown into cell

When the streams flow with dimly dark water
    Every official and minister smile along
    Every cry in the falling stream
    It is like a musical tone in the ears

Then when they hear rapper Wee sings
    The truth of the matter they dont agree
    Put him under the Sedition Act
    When they are more important issues at stake

The government elected by the people for the people
    Turned the tables on the very people who voted them in
    Like the fence eating the grass or the dog which bites the master
    This is a sad journey Malaysia My Country bleeds

Put the issue in proper perspective
    It isnt about the National Anthem
    It is about self served interest
    On a very narrow minded scary view

When the truth reveals, it hurts the ears
    The people's government should take out the box view
    It can't be living under the colorful umbrella
    Thinking everything is cozy and true

Apology should be accepted
    The young man had so tendered
    But the Cabinet didnt agree
    He has to make a scapegoat for all to see

The sleeping beauty knows nothing
    About song in a rapper's view
    Listening to advice entangle in his own web
    He doesnt know what he speaks............

Negara-ku my country
    I fight for you till I disappear
    But not for the goblok leaders
    It hurts me listening them plundering
    The wealth you keep for the future generations

40. Anonymous10:16 am

Big racist bully is bullshitting.....
    We have all the time for apology and censorships.
    But no time for corruption and cronies.

41. Oh

the BLOOD-THIRSTY HELL-BENT VINDICTIVENESS

of the

U-nplacateable
    M-alefactor
    N-ihiistic
    O-gres

led Cabinet.

What hope is there for such a tyrannical Cabinet leading the nation.

Time to burn that 'Almari' full of vermins.

42. Anonymous10:40 am

This controversy has exposed the low tolorance among the ministers themselves with each trying to outdo themselves in getting into the media spotlight and the media sensing blood, keep on playing up remarks to fire up the readers. 50 years of Merdeka and we have cabinet members, print and broadcast media playing up trivial issues, sensationalised it for what purpose? To keep the hatred going? To build the mistrust among races? To prevent a united community? Who is racist? If we are racist, do you think mamak restaurant will flourish? Will the chinese owned soya bean stall being flocked by the muslims near where I stay? Or the Chinese queeing up to buy the Malay food also near the place where I work?

Up yours Ministers!!

43. Anonymous11:06 am

time to make a change pppls ,,time to change,,,lets give opposition a chance,,let see how they do and then evaluate yourself

44. Anonymous11:19 am

I rather have thousands youngster singing negarakuku than having them taking drugs, driving ricklessly, smoking,killing etc! Come on Malaysian! We have bigger problem in hand and government love to prolong this negaraku issue to sidetrack us again! For a start what about traffic summons that no department seems to follow up. We can bribe the cop to not summon us or let them issue summon as no one coming to catch you anyway and after 5 years you are given 50% discount to pay! Wake up!

45. Anonymous12:11 pm

this foul mouth shoot in the hip minister will not dare to lift a finger against youtube. i bet my last dollar on this and afetr a while nobody remembers he said about suing youtube.
    his chest thumping style aint gonna change. get used to his antics. good for circus show anyway.

46. Anonymous12:25 pm

anon 10.17

"apa taxi lesen? I sudah being investigated by ACA and tell him me no corrupt. ACA cakap ok because I cakap says tak corrupt. tunjuk saya punya bank statement, semua in order. ini bukti saya tak corrupt. ACA, AG sudah setuju I tak corrupt"
    "apa you all lah. ini dulu being hal. why bring this up again. macam dulu sekolah time buat banyak hal2, not right to bring it up, right?"
    Scene I -An interview with TUN on Nazri.
    Scene II- Mohd Taib reply to the press on behalf of himself and Nazri ( Birds of the same feather flocked together?).

47. Anonymous12:31 pm

KL Lim

aint no surprise that Nazri wants to control all blogs. As TUN Mahatir had said, bloggers are the last bastion of hope for a freer flow of information. See, if you control the blogs, you have total control on the information highway; and you can spin and spin till thy kingdom comes.

48. Anonymous12:39 pm

Double standard!

What about those seditious threat
    and repeated bloodbath from UMNO representative and her leader, youth and all?

1) In 1987, as UMNO Youth Chief, Najib defended special Malay privileges in a speech where he vowed to bathe the keris (Malay dagger) with Chinese blood.

2) In 2005, Hishamuddin became infamous for waving the keris (traditional Malay dagger) at the UMNO Annual General Meeting. The 2006 UMNO Annual General Assembly was noted for controversial statements made by several delegates, such as Hashim Suboh, who asked Hishammuddin when he would "use" the keris; Hishammuddin had again brandished the keris at the assembly that year.

3) The seditious article displayed in our PM’s official website for 20 months

4) Umno Youth deputy Aziz Kadir who thretened to burn down the Selangor Chinese assembly Hall

5) Umno Youth website’s doctored book cover of Chin Peng's photo appeared together with other opposition leaders to link them to communism

Were the above not seditious? If they are, then why no actions are taken against them?

49. rocky,

well well well....
    whack the little guy, that's what they're doing. whack him.
    why are we so intolerant of the boy's antic?
    yeah yeah...so he made his own version of the national anthem.
    naughty boy. but listen, i don't think he did that just for fun. like A Voice said... there are so many other songs.. why the Negaraku?
    They don;t get it, do they? The boy is speaking out in the best way he can - rapping.
    No, they don;t want to listen. the damn boy is making damn fun of our national anthem. that's all that they're thinking.
    what to get him with? Sedition? ISA?
    waah! another one labeled as anti-national, and a threat to national security.

You know, when somebody told me that there was this malaysian student in taiwan making fun of the Negaraku, all i said was "yezzza?".
    oh, c'mon. this boy screwed-up just a little. this is 2001. with the digital world in the palm our hand, we got to listen and view wee meng's rendition of the Negaraku.
    He apologised-lah. at least he apologised!
    maybe later, we can rap him on his palm with a rotan. that will teach him not to cause a national furore and distract our hard-working Cabinet ministers from tackling the real crooks.

Now --- why blast him, whack him pulverise him, punish him and pu the fear of God in him?
    Ayoh -- damn easy. We're a nation of bullies. We don't pick people our own size-lah!
    we pick on the little man.

that's why Rocky, they needed a huge concrete building to sue you as well!

50. rocky,
    by the way -- i think this time i do agree with Zam. the government should accept wee meng's apology.

51. I wonder why a bunch of grown-ups is giving too much attention and currency to a kid's antics?

52. rocky,
    did I say 2001? whoa.. i'm 6 years behind. i meant, of course, 2007!

53. Anonymous3:29 pm

Little boy shakes the whole cabinet, huge challenge for them. Port Klang loses billions, TAPI SEMUANYA OK!

54. Truths always hurt and the authors of untruths will be the first to condemn the author of truths.know who the guardian of untruths are.The more real the truth, the more it hurts the crooks in our midst.

55. Anonymous5:10 pm

Its not about the govt, the national anthem is about the country and not the govt of the day nor its owned by any race or religion. its our country and no one should taint or smear the flag or the anthem in anyway. only traitors do that. so no way anyone should condone or forgive this idiots antics as he not only insulted the anthem, but also the ppl of malaysia.

Hang this bastard. It doesnt matter if you are malay, chinese, indian or kelabit, you fuck the anthem you burn.

John Doe Muhamad

56. I know that God also forgives even to murderers. To those who do not wish to forgive, for what ever reason or agenda they have, are behaving bigger and mightier than God.

57. I just checked. We do not have a consulate or embassy in Taipeh, Taiwan. Just a Malaysian Friendship and Trade Centre.

But I am sure there will be Merdeka celebrations there so how about inviting Chee to join and sing the Negara-Ku the way it should be sung. As Rocky pointed out, he sings it rather well. Better than me, that's for sure !! He had the Visit Malaysia year Ad at the end of his video. We could use him to help bring in the Taiwanese tourists. That will be a good way to turn something negative into a positive. Make sure the taiwanese press are all invited to the celebrations. Malaysia and Chee will both come out smelling like roses after this.

58. Anonymous7:26 pm

Apart from god, the agong also sometimes pardon murderers and hardcore criminals. The young man already apologised.

Talking about burn, we'll need plenty of firewood, or better still incinerators to burn plunders and traitors of this country.

59. Anonymous7:44 pm

Bottom line, he made fun of MALAYSIA's National Anthem. For someone like him and at his age, and matured enough, I think, to understand his (wrong)doings, there must be that "asas" for Nationalisme that is not anchored yet.
    He may not be proud of being Malaysian, but me, I am proud of being Malaysian, despite all the KJ/PL/whatever issues going on...so, I am sad no, I am mad that he could even think about doing the rapping with our National Anthem.

60. Anonymous7:46 pm

When they are not hunting the bloggers, they are hounding Namewee, so say the Muarians.

The book of Otak Monyet 3:1

61. Chee? I meant Wee of course. He knew silly guys like me will make mistakes.He did say he is namewee.

62. Anonymous11:12 pm

My, my, poor nazri is pursuing a personal vendetta against a young guileless student. He was quick to pronounce Namewee guilty even before the AG has begun the investigation. Why does he get so feverish? You don't have to be sharp to guess it: for want of publicity ! This is a godsend opportunity for him to trust himself into the limelight and gain more political mileage. Namewee has inadvertently done nazri a big favour!

63. Anonymous11:44 pm

This moron of a minister is known to make negative comments – spinning and twisting – what was supposedly good and turn it bad. Since when has he ever make any positive comments at all – none.
    Any surprise here – none – cos this is umno’s policies.

Courtesy of the second pm, proud father of the sham dpm.

64. Namewee loves the country.
    THe translation of the song to English and BM had nailed him to the cross directly.

But if you understand chinese and listening and reading it direct, it mildly asked the chinese to love the country.

Believe me or not, He's patriotic.
    But of coz, he highlighted the sensitive issue overboard.

65. The reason of people angry of namewee's song because it really speak out the true, and just because of this, he will get caught even after make apology!

NO matter what, i will die support namewee for this! He is my hero!

66. Anonymous10:48 am

I think nearing the end of his terms when PRU coming soon, he has to sum up his performance les he be seen as a mere noisy seat warmer, ball carrier (which is a fact).

Since he 'cannot' act on any volumous submission of evidence for corrupt practices etc., he finds a simple case to act which is the controversy of disrespectful to the National Anthem. I say it is controversial because it has a lot to do with tolerence. I am not trying to be bias here but I think the UMNO guys have very little tolerence for non-malays while they expect the non-malays to be tolerent about their abuses. I don't think this is a winning formula to progress to the future. Their arogance is weighing on the shoulders of all other component parties.

When you have a government that abuses and thrive on the 'remeh-temeh', I don't think it can progress especially it is indirectly cultivating a society of intolerence to diversed culture and religion. As they rightly puts it that they are 'sensitive issues' but instead of diffusing them, they are putting more fuel on them.

67. Anonymous1:47 pm

whole cabinet involved in this namewee case. prosecutor, jury, judge and found him guilty as charged.
    damn, the country was scrwed big time to be exact RM4.63 billion. sleepy PM response, ask transport minister for a report. finance minister has to come out justifying bail-out which means abettment to corruption. rest of the cabinet just kept quiet.
    where's the prosecutor, jury and judge? or news from the mainstream media (except THE SUN). or the whole cabinet condones such massive corruption?
    think, what sort of government is this!
    meantime we fall to the trap of this distraction by NAZRI's foul mouth diatribe.

68. Anonymous4:54 pm

huh? still on the namewee thing... boring lah!

hei morons! get a life !

69. I think it's cool that Negarakuku can actually mean three things:

1. Negaraku KU = MY Negaraku

2. NegaraCuckoo = Crazy country

and

3. Negarakukuciao = Dick Country or country of dicks.

I think it's cool.

What the Government should come up with is a hip-hop reply to NameWee. Get RM20 million out, and hire white people to produce a hip hop music video, rapping about how rich Malaysians are - our mosques gotz 'em blings, yo! - and how we'll drive-by-shoot Singaporeans, if we ever finish the crooked bridge.

I'm right and you're wrong.

70. Anonymous9:22 pm

Racial Discrimination in Malaysia
    Human Book
    Penang, Malaysia
    March 29, 2006

Re: The Day They Took Away Our Computers
    There is a list of statistical data detailing racial discrimination in Malaysia, practiced by the government and its agencies. This list is an open secret. Its existence is best verified by government itself since it keeps the statistics.

This list is not in the order of importance; that means the first one on the list is not the most important and the last one on the list does not mean it's the least important.

This list is a common knowledge to a lot of Malaysians, especially those non-Malays (Chinese, Ibans, Kadazans, Orang Asli, Tamils, etc.) who have been racially discriminated against.

Figures in this list are merely estimates, so please take it as a guide only. The government of Malaysia has the most correct figures. Is government of Malaysia too ashamed to publish their racist acts by publishing racial statistics?

This list covers a period of about 48 years since independence (1957).

List of racial discriminations (Malaysia):

(1) Of the five major banks, only one is multi-racial, the rest are controlled by Malays.

(2) 99% of Petronas directors are Malays.

(3) 3% of Petronas employees are Chinese.

(4) 99% of 2000 Petronas gasoline stations are owned by Malays.

(5) 100% all contractors working under Petronas projects must be of Bumis status.

(6) 0% of non-Malay staff are legally required in Malay companies. But there must be 30% Malay staffs in Chinese companies.

(7) 5% of all new intake for government police, nurses, army, are non-Malays.

(8) 2% is the present Chinese staff in Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF), a drop from 40% in 1960.

(9) 2% is the percentage of non-Malay government servants in Putrajaya, but Malays make up 98%.

(10) 7% is the percentage of Chinese government servants in the entire government (in 2004); a drop from 30% in 1960.

(11) 95% of government contracts are given to Malays.

(12) 100% all business licensees are controlled by Malay government, e.g. Taxi permits, Approved permits, etc.

(13) 80% of the Chinese rice millers in Kedah had to be sold to Malay controlled Bernas in 1980s. Otherwise, life is made difficult for Chinese rice millers.

(14) 100 big companies set up, owned and managed by Chinese Malaysians were taken over by government, and later managed by Malays since 1970s, e.g. UTC, UMBC, MISC, etc.

(15) At least 10 Chinese owned bus companies (throughout Malaysia in the past 40 years) had to be sold to MARA or other Malay transport companies due to rejection by Malay authorities to Chinese applications for bus routes and rejection for their applications for new buses.

(16) Two Chinese taxi drivers were barred from driving in Johor Larkin bus station. There are about 30 taxi drivers and three were Chinese in Oct. 2004. Spoiling taxi club properties was the reason given.

(17) 0 non-Malays are allowed to get shop lots in the new Muar bus station (Nov. 2004).

(18) 8000 billion ringgit is the total amount the government channeled to Malay pockets through ASB, ASN, MARA, privatization of government agencies, Tabung Haji etc, through NEP over a 34 years period.

(19) 48 Chinese primary schools closed down from 1968 - 2000.

(20) 144 Indian primary schools closed down from 1968 - 2000.

(21) 2637 Malay primary schools built from 1968 - 2000.

(22) 2.5% is government budget for Chinese primary schools. Indian schools got only 1%, Malay schools got 96.5%.

(23) While a Chinese parent with RM1000 salary (monthly) cannot get school textbook loan, a Malay parent with RM2000 salary is eligible.

(24) All 10 public university vice chancellors are Malays.

(25) 5% of the government universities' lecturers are of non-Malay origins. This percentage has been reduced from about 70% in 1965 to only 5% in 2004.

(26) Only 5% has been given to non-Malays for government scholarships in over 40
    years.

(27) 0 Chinese or Indians were sent to Japan and Korea under the "Look East Policy."

(28) 128 STPM Chinese top students could not get into the course to which they aspired, i.e. Medicine (in 2004).

(29) 10% quotas are in place for non-Bumi students for MARA science schools beginning in 2003, but only 7% are filled. Before that it was 100% Malays.

(30) 50 cases in which Chinese and Indian Malaysians are beaten up in the National Service program in 2003.

(31) 25% of the Malaysian population was Chinese in 2004, a drop from 45% in 1957.

(32) 7% of the Malaysian population is Indian (2004), a drop from 12% in 1957.

(33) 2 million Chinese Malaysians have emigrated in the past 40 years.

(34) 0.5 million Indian Malaysians have emigrated overseas.

(35) 3 millions Indonesians have migrated to Malaysia and become Malaysian citizens with Bumis status.

(36) 600,000 Chinese and Indian Malaysians with red IC were rejected repeatedly when applying for citizenship in the past 40 years. Perhaps 60% of them had already passed away due to old age. This shows racism, based on how easily Indonesians got their citizenships compared with the Chinese and Indians.

(37) 5% - 15% discount for a Malay to buy a house, regardless whether the Malay is rich or poor.

(38) 2% is what new Chinese villages get, compared with 98% - what Malay villages got for rural development budget.

(39) 50 road names (at least) had been changed from Chinese names to other names.

(40) 1 Dewan Gan Boon Leong (in Malacca) was altered to another name (e.g. Dewan Serbaguna or something like that) when it was only officially used for a few days. The government tries to shun Chinese names. This example of racism occurred around 2000.

(41) 0 temples/churches were built for each housing estate. But every housing estate got at least one mosque/surau built.

(42) 3000 mosques/surau were built in all housing estates throughout Malaysia since 1970. No temples or churches are required to be built in housing estates.

(43) 1 Catholic church in Shah Alam took 20 years to apply to have a building constructed. But they were told by Malay authority that it must look like a factory
    and not like a church. As of 2004 the application still have not been approved.

(44) 1 publishing of Bible in Iban language banned (in 2002).

(45) 0 of the government TV stations (RTM1, RTM2, TV3) are directors of non-Malay origin.

(46) 30 government produced TV dramas and films always showed that the bad guys had Chinese faces, and the good guys had Malay faces. You can check
    it out since 1970s. Recent years, this has become less of a tendency.

(47) 10 times, at least, Malays (especially Umno) had threatened to massacre the Chinese Malaysians using May 13, since 1969.

(48) 20 constituencies won by DAP would not get funds from the government to develop. These Chinese majority constituencies would be the last to be
    developed.

(49) 100 constituencies (parliaments and states) had been racially re-delineated so Chinese votes were diluted for Chinese candidates. This is one of the main reasons why DAP candidates have consistently lost in elections since the 1970s.

(50) Only 3 out of 12 human rights items are ratified by the Malaysian government since 1960.

(51) 0 - elimination of all forms of racial discrimination (UN Human Rights) has not been ratified by Malaysian government since 1960s.

(52) 20 reported cases whereby Malay ambulance attendances treated Chinese patients inhumanely, and Malay government hospital staffs purposely delayed attending to Chinese patients in 2003. Unreported cases may be 200.

(53) 50 cases each year whereby Chinese, especially Chinese youths, are being beaten up by Malay youths in public places. Police reports may be checked to verify this, provided the police took the report, otherwise there will be no record.

(54) 20 cases every year whereby Chinese drivers who accidentally knocked down Malays were seriously assaulted or killed by Malays.

(55) 12% is what ASB/ASN got per annum while banks fixed deposits are only about 3.5% per annum.

There are hundreds more examples of racial discrimination in Malaysia to add to this list of "colossal" racism. It is hoped that the victims of racism will write in to help expose this situation.

The Malaysian government should publish statistics showing how much Malays had benefited from the "special rights" of Malays and at the same time release the statistics which show how minority races are being discriminated against.

Hence, the responsibility lies in the Malaysia government itself to publish unadulterated statistics of racial discrimination.

If the Malaysia government hides the statistics above, then there must be some evil doings, immoral doings, shameful doings and sinful doings, like the Nazis, going on with the non-Malays of Malaysia.

Civilized nations, unlike the evil Nazis, must publish statistics to show its treatment of its minority races. This is what Malaysia must publish.

We are asking for the publication of the statistics showing how "implementation of special rights of Malays" had inflicted colossal racial discrimination onto non-Malays.

71. Anonymous2:11 pm

Where are the United Nations Human Rights staff? They must all be sleeping and proclaiming 'Human Rights' with their lips.
    When Dr. Mahathir became the Education Minister of Malaysia in 1973, that was the year that majority of the chinese students failed their Malay subject in the MCE exam. I was one of Mahathir'(ex PM)statistics. What a wave of shock that it created for all of us Chinese students and our teachers. Needless to say, we all finally packed our bags and leave the country for good. My family and I are one of those two million chinese that emigrated.
    And Meng Wee is right to carry on singing the "Negara Ku" song. The TRUTH surely hurts. It is corruption and discrimation! The nation should wake up and start rebelling. Racism is Racism.
    More should come out and tell their stories. And Meng Wee should immigrate and I hope Taiwan accepts him. To reject him is to deny all of us who are Chinese and you are still being treated by the Malaysian government as second and third class chinese Malaysians.
    Speak up for your rights.