Sunday, May 20, 2007

RM90 m leak: Passing the buck?

PWD to explain. The DPM said yesterday the Public Works Department will be asked to explain to Cabinet this Wednesday why the Parliament's roof was not repaired when the department spent RM90 million to renovate the august House just two years ago.
"The expenditure .. should have taken into account problems like the leaking roof .. During the submission (for allocations) there was no request to repair the roof. So we are wondering how come it escaped our attention," Najib said when responding to Works Minister S. Samy Vellu.
Samy, who once even blamed God for a major catastrophe under his ministry (and got away with it), said last Thursday: "As an architect, I can tell you that the present condition is severe. We must dismantle the whole structure and build it again with the waterproofing equipment .. If the roof of the Parliament House is leaking we have no choice but to repair it because Parliament is a very important institution for the country."
Bernama has the story Najib asks PWD to explain to Cabinet on leaking Parliament roof [click here].

I am just wondering why it's the PWD and not Samy who is being asked to explain the RM90 million leak. And is no one angry and upset with him?

18 comments:

1. Anonymous2:23 pm

this is called abdication of responsibility. by the way, how many millions are needed to plug the leak? if we include the RM90 million spent, might as well rebuild a new one as it would have been cheaper.
    Pains me to see an august house in shambles. guess its a reflection of the goevrnment of the day.

2. Anonymous2:31 pm

what we can do with this guy. houdini would have been proud of him. Even Tun Mahatir cant do anything.
    So, at the end of the day, you can be angry and mad at him. He will still be there because he is the Head of MIC. Short of getting away with literal murder, he will continue, with glee, to throw the taxpayers money away with impunity( of course it will flow into somebody's else pockets).
    He is probably laughing to himself all this while ( ha2 you idiotc morons continue to moan and groan ok) coz in his mind he is the untouchable as long as he is the Head of MIC.

3. Dude, why get angry at him? This arrogant 'champion of the Indians' has been getting away with childish, ignorant and arrogant rhetoric instead of true answers whenever crap hits the fan for yonks.He respects no one and has conducted himself as if he's untouchable. I think he's part of a bigger picture as he once said that all budgets are approved by the Finance Ministry ( I could be mistaken), he just executes them. So he's a lousy contractor building our Malaysian House but he's given that job by someone else.

4. Semi Value? I am angry and sick of him. Just tell us what can we do to get rid of him.

The little that we can do for the betterment of this country.

5. Anonymous7:22 pm

He's the chief thug... hate the bugger... arrogant, snake, and thinks everybody is stupid enough to believe that he doesn't get a cut from all these jobs.

6. Anonymous8:35 pm

parlimet can stand for a millenia more says sammy tonite... - buletin utama

say sammy... this is too much man!

7. Anonymous9:43 pm

In Bolehland, everything is possible. Just imagine two "nuts" can get away by insulting women. The leak is nothing compared to that.

8. We must dismantle the whole structure and build it again with the waterproofing equipment ..

this sentance is enough to proof he's an achipek....

9. Anonymous11:21 pm

Samy said last Thursday: ".. If the roof of the Parliament House is leaking we have no choice but to repair it because Parliament is a very important institution for the country."

Important Institution..... so why did you not forsee therefore screw up the RM 90million job samy?

For failing this important job, you should resign as it has proven that you're incapable to take charge of important institution/s.

resign, call for buy election.

10. RM90m allocation for renovation/repair of parliament.
    and the roof leaks?

but, you know what -- nobody is gonna take the blame.
    i mean, nobody who should be blamed will take the blame.
    they'd get a scapegoat though -- a fall guy.

11. "Important Institution..... so why did you not forsee therefore screw up the RM 90million job samy?"

Sad to say, that is the government we have today - short term thinking. The Works minister we have today is a disgrace.

150 years guarantee? Ain't no matter, he won't be around anyway and neither will we. In the meantime, that 'guarantee' will cost the government and the rakyat huge $$$$.

12. Anonymous7:55 am

Leaks do not happen overnight. Why wait till now? Very simple. If the leak is repaired from the beginning it only costs a can of black tar. Which costs RM5.00 or less only. If we wait until the leaks become worse and it costs say RM5 million to repair. More momey lah. If tear down the building better, it will cost only say RM500million. This all only happens in the BOLEHLAND.....

13. Anonymous8:11 am

HA HA HA HA HA .
    sO THE COMEDY OF ERRORS(?) CONTINUES !!
    bAPAK BOREK, ANAK RINTEK !

hEY GUYS --COME ON !! wHAT IS rm90 MILLION HUH. wE ARE RICH WHAT. tnb THROWS AWAY rm2OO MILLION . so ? nOBODY CARES !! pLANE --ANOTHER rm200 MILLION--AHHH THATS CHICKEN FEED MAN. wHAT IS rm400M HERE, rm200M THERE .

uH WHAT WHAT !! sORRY i FELL ASLEEP LAH. tHAT ONE ? oH PEOPLE SAID THAT i WAS SLEEP WALKING--i DUNNO LAH . bUT AH LET ME TELL ---ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ NNGGOOOKKKKK......ZZZZZZZZZZ

14. "we have no choice but to repair it because Parliament is a very important institution for the country."...

It is so important, that we have members of Parliament mocking our womenfolk!
    It is so important, that we have members of Parliament condoning these very acts!

Thank you....for pointing out the obvious...Samy!!

15. Anonymous12:01 pm

Is he an architect ? I thot only a draughtman ?! Now we know why...

16. Anonymous12:39 pm

Voters in sungai siput should continue the support given to our honorable Samy just like the people in Ijok. Hidup BN.

17. Rocky, has asked the rite question as to why PWD and Not Samy himself. I think i know why.
    My take is Najib is scared of Samy.
    If we Recall what Mahathir Said abt Samy in his interview with MalaysiaKini.......
    He said, he could not sack Samy. Why ? According to him "MIC is scared stiff of Samy Vellu"
    http://donkidme.blogspot.com/2007/05/samy-velu-worse-architect-we-will-ever.html

18. Anonymous11:13 pm

RM2.0 billion to build a new parliament? that semi must be joking. but then may be not knowing his works ministry is also known as ministry of inflatables ( dolls included).
    For once, the honourable PM does the rite thing. Told the loud mouth semi to shout up and just get on with his work. Semi must be in terrible mood now but then why should he. Afterall, he now has the greenlight to get down to work which is hand out inflted contracts again. By the way, semi can you include me for the contracts?