Friday, March 02, 2007

Third blogger to be sued in Malaysia?

Flying low. Another corporate giant has threatened to take a blogger to court for creating a blogsite dedicated to discussing the decision by the company's decision to terminate the services of his wife. The blogger has been told to shut down his blog (or else ...).
Read the heart-breaking story in one of the blogs here over the weekend.

25 comments:

1. Anonymous8:33 pm

In Western Australia the Crime and Corruption Commission (The Triple C) has wide ranging powers to the extend of bugging suspected people's phones.

Last week alone three ministers/members of parliament from the ruling Labour party were sacked for having phone conversations with an ex-premier, contents of which were considered inappropriate.

These conversations were telecast verbatim on TV and the whole episode received wide coverage including interviews (read: grilling) of the current Premier Alan Carpenter.

When will Malaysia be this transparent? In the 31st century may be?

2. Anonymous10:35 pm

In Bolehland, they threaten you into silence, or everything is 'sub judice', or the evidence is 'inadmissible'. So no sh.t comes out. Ande that's why we have so many people with constipated faces.

3. Anonymous1:57 am

which blog do you mean? no name mentioned? could it be this blog?

4. Anonymous2:14 am

It's a sign where blogs are now taken seriously.

In our newpapers, our news articles are tampered with, now even the sports pages are not spared as they are told what to publish and what not to publish.

Guess blogging is a way people get their frustration heard. However, the blogging community ought to thread with care.

5. Anonymous2:16 am

Idris
    It would not happened in bolehland! Mosterball is dreaming and he think that kit siang is the answer to everythings. Kit Siang only look after his son and daugther-in-law. Monsterball didn't know that kit siang is asleep when it comes to ECM Libra and Khairy. I known I am not suppose to mention about the ULARMULA.

Why Monsterball was not questioning about Kit Siang suffering from the "I DO NOT KNOW SYNDROME" when it comes to Bodowi, Khairy and the Ularmula.

6. rocky, we must get ready...round 3!!! i know who it is!!!

7. oh, i know who who who ... i know who...

8. Anonymous12:16 pm

Is the 3rd blogger my buddy Tony from MAS b4?
    boh tong http://bohtong.blogspot.com

9. rock on, monsterball :)

10. In Tasmania 1988 about:

MP of Tasmania claimed for his hotel stay was questioned.Apparently he was staying with his own parent but claiming hotel bills.He was questioned for the bill amounting to ASD 15,000 ringgit as a false claimed.
    It brought so much shame to him as a representative of the people of Tasmania that he attempted suicide !!!

Now,back in Malaysia there is no shame in abusing public fund,the public would take explanation lock stock and barrel as the final truth except for bloggers.Millions to a single pocket is the norm.

Have they got any dignity left???

11. Anonymous5:04 pm

I think this blogger comment is really subjudice. his wife case is still pending in court for christ sake. I know that what i say might be unpopular here but I support MAS action. This blogger( alliedmaster) really show no respect for the judicial system in Malaysia. Let the court proceeding finish lah bro.
    He think his wife is the only one claiming unlawful dismissed in Malaysia. The are many people in Malaysia fighting for their right as an employee and going though the legal system to get justice. Rocky
    and Jeff Ooi respect the legal system and fighting their case though the legal system.

12. A little pip-pip flew by and told me about the meeting at the Industrial Court:

Court Chairwoman(CC: What is the bloke you are talking to?

MAS (Shame & Dealsummore): Blog, you honor..B L O G.

CC: What frog is that?Case postponed to September.

Read my latest posting on our carrier.

13. rocky,
    it is open season to sue bloggers.
    this is the industrial court?
    Oh.. I see.

14. Anonymous9:34 pm

There is a Wikipedia entry on Rocky.

Engineer

15. oh, i see.. ha ha ha

16. Anonymous8:24 am

Sdr Rocky,

Your poster Idris said:

"In Western Australia the Crime and Corruption Commission (The Triple C) has wide ranging powers to the extend of bugging suspected people's phones.

Last week alone three ministers/members of parliament from the ruling Labour party were sacked for having phone conversations with an ex-premier, contents of which were considered inappropriate.

These conversations were telecast verbatim on TV and the whole episode received wide coverage including interviews (read: grilling) of the current Premier Alan Carpenter.

When will Malaysia be this transparent? In the 31st century may be?"

I am familiar with anti-corruption law of WA. Members of the Royal Commission for the Enhancement of the Operations and Management of the Royal Malaysian Police visited WA, NSW and Queenslands Police and Anti-Corruption establishments.

What we discovered in Australia, the UK, Hong Kong and Singapore were included in the report submitted to the King and the Prime Minister two years ago.

The Government is not short of recommendations if it wishes to improve the PDRM in particular and in the fulfilment of its promise to create a transparent corruption-free administration.

The cornerstone of that report was the proposed IPMC to enable the public to make complaints against police and for the police to defend its public image.

Despite promises, there is no sign to suggest that the commission will be set up any time soon.

As for corporations and powerful individuals taking action against bloggers, it can be read in two ways.

First the blogs are telling the truth and beginning to affect public opinion.

Second that the blogs are irresponsible.

I hope the former is the case.

Corporations and powerful people are not worried about the machai-type blogs which are run by paid bloggers.

But they are worried about blogs which are moderated by professional people, including journalists.

I am sure more attempts will be made to cause scare among bloggers and their posters.

I am also surprise that older people -- senior civil servants, corporate figures, teachers and pensioners -- are reading blogs and Internet news sites.

This is healthy as these people occupy important posts and have great experience. More and more of them are sharing their views over the Internet.

PS, reading your blog at a cafe in a small town in The Middle Earth.

17. How come wikipedia didn't do a coverage rocky's healthy food at NPC? :-)

18. For heavens sake 'anonymous' please reveal youself, at least a name so when we reply,we know to whom we are refering to. There are so many anonymouses posting so much so we do not know to whom we are replying. If you want to play in our turf, play to our rules otherwise please just read and vent your disapproval at a punching bag.
    Back to alliedmaster's blog...may I ask you mr/ms anonymous, do you have a member of your family going through this same trauma? try and understand what alliedmaster and his family is going through.

19. It will be a shame if Tony my buddy is going to be sued! I was from SIA and its not so bad here.
    You guys are really united,I can see and I hope to join hands with you all to fight all these injustice.
    boh tong (ex SIA crew from S'pore)

20. Anon 5.04....must respect our judicial system....a system whereby Judges have been bribed, Lord President's dismissed, people getting away with murder? Where have you been? I normally can be calm, but drivel like yours just turns my stomach. I dedicate this mouthful of puke to you.

21. Anonymous5:22 pm

Tony Yew. He married to Audra Denise Atkinson, who got sacked because having the 3rd child while she was still serving as a stewardess. So, apparently, for MAS, it violates the collection agreement between the union and the employer. So, how bout if a man who has deceived a naive woman to enter into an agreement but eventually he absconded her money? it is fair?

22. Anonymous8:02 pm

Idris said: “When will Malaysia be this transparent? In the 31st century may be?"

Do you know what YB DS Najib said recently in London about the BBC Parliament (being transparent)? “The UK is a developed country. We can’t do that because Malaysia is developing country.” huh????

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/bbc_parliament/default.stm#

manggishitam

23. Malayasia amd S'pore suma sama punya...suma tak boleh lah!

24. Hey Rocky, I think you have left out and forgotten to put the link to the heart-breaking story... tq

25. Anonymous10:50 am

Most of the time monsterball does not know what he is talking about