Saturday, November 11, 2006

DOCTOR'S ORDERS

Dr M told not to read the papers. I think the doctors at the IJN should have been a bit more specific. Our newspapers are generally still not harmful to the health. Columnists who FABRICATE and columnists who PLAGIARIZE are the threat to our society's well-being. [read the story here]

Some0ne asked me which is worse, a journalist who lies in his writing or one who plagiarizes? Both are bad. The worst is when such people refuse to apologise and go unpunished, and even allowed to stay on in journalism and taint the profession by the day.

22 comments:

1. Signing in with a heartfelt relief:

TDM is OK ,this fight is too tough for him i guess.Its only proper for us to continue his lonely fight against corruption and mismangement of this beloved country taking cue from him that the country is going downhill.

PL is being selective in commenting on international report.Questioning the bad report and accepting whole heartedly when the report is of better kind.

"If everybody is thinking alike,somebody isnt thinking" Gen.Patton.

That is in nutshell our cabinet.Lots of free loaders and non contributors...imagine the cost when we have to appoint one minister to switch off the light in Parliment(whose job was that for the past 47 years?)TDM noticed that and it only show indecision on his appointtee part.

Mak Cik Pedah Montel is going to do her trade mark tearjerker again i suppose now that her'father figure' TDM has recoverd.The last I heard she can direct traffic too.When you know your days are numbered(those VSS banking staff as an example) you better show that you are useful and capable of multitasking.Imagine Makcik Pedah in skintight police traffic uniform...thats the day when our ministers can become tourist attraction too!! Come to thinlk of it,why dont all ministers start their Malaysia tourist promotion in Mongolia?? that would make them look at Malaysia in better light.

Get Well soon Sir....To Sir With Love

2. Anonymous12:50 pm

Brother Rocky,

Cant blame the doctors for the directive to Tun. Firstly, they are trained to cut and sew humans, and don't know much about journalism, leave alone good jouranalism.

Unlike present day journalists in our mainstream media (all the local papers included) who cut and sew their stories from the internet and bluff their way through, and not to forget plagarise their way like our Singapore imports.

Perhaps that is the type of journalism they practise on the island republic - cut and paste and bluffology...ala Lee Kuan Yew style - their father mentor.

So Tun will be well off not reading our papers - because of the level of journalism in this country today....it has certainly gone to the dogs.

If papers like the Weekend Mail can employ some rag a fit nincompoop from a cheapo semi porno magazine, that thrived on selling teen flesh, what else is left in this country and for journalism...you imagine.

Mr Singh
    Kuala Nerang

3. Anonymous3:59 pm

yep. Looks like brendan's going to get away scot free :( To my knowledge, he has never publicly admitted or denied plagiarising? Still hiding behind bosses?

What happened to the NST's damn big huff and puff about suing BBC? Scared liau ya? sigh...

4. Dear Rocky,
    My theory why TDM had Heart Attack.

SAPPAQUICKDICK A TOWN IN MONGOLIA.

In 1969 Senator Edward Kennedy was a year he would rather forget.He was famously known as the man who would be king all his life but he can never be.
    After the assasination both of his brother the President and Attorney General ,he was the only one seem capable to be the bearer of Kennedy Clan name .The name somehow would bring nostalgic feeling among American.

Everything went well for him except for his two heads ,although never seems to be able to control the inferior head,the public seemed to be able to forgive him.

So he continued his merry way of painting the town red.Alas most American of his generation were doing that anyway ,so it became acceptable nuisance.

On 18th July 1969 Mary Jo Kopechne,a campaign worker for Robert F.Kennedy was having party on Chappaquiddick Island and returned home with drunk Teddy.
    To cut the story short the car went into the water and Teddy walked home without even attempting to save that poor girl.

The brother,John ,was famously known to swim repeatedly to save his crew in 2nd WW thus earning purple heart .Compare that to Teddy deed ,his cowardice has condemmed him to be 'the man who would be a king' till the day he dies.

Now ,Sappaquickdick town in Mongolia could be our own Chappaquidickk.Dont google the name as i myself ,gave the name to a hypothetical town since many malaysian delegates who visited Mongolia must have visited the place so called Sappaquickdick.

TDM knew this particular town,infact he had names of those regular visitors from Malaysia .The town can be anywhere in the world but the name would still be called Sappaquickdick.
    Thats why the mere mention of the town name worry TDM so much...thus his angina.

But then its just a hypotheses in a hypothetical town.Since we are living in hypocritical time in hypocritical country its only fair for me to forward my theory for everyone critical analysis no matter how hypotruth it is.

If only we could learn from other peple mistake.....mistake of Sappaquickdick.

5. Anonymous4:34 pm

Tell us more about Nascom suing NSTP for RM1.8 billion. I'm so happy to know this. Sue them until they bleed to death!

Hantu Gigi Jarang

6. Anonymous5:15 pm

What about the management that condones and protects such bad journalists? Aren't they equally hazardous to our health? Bad newspapers permeate our society not unlike the way a bad haze does! Perhaps we should have a reading, like the air quality, and award demerit points to 'hazardous' quality journalism.

7. Anonymous9:13 pm

Permission to digress Bru,

Carl Rove "made" a not-too-bright Texas cowboy into a two-term Arab-killing US Presidents.

Carl Rove is Bush's brain. Kalli-Mullah and KJ fashioned themselves after him.

Mr Rove lied and cheated. He caused bad blood in Washington. Now the Americans had given their verdict on the Bush-Rove global domination. The Democrats recaptured the Senate and the House of Representatives. Bush is a lame duck President from now on.

Would Malaysians do the same with the Abdullah-KJ-Kalli trioka in the next general elections?

Abdullah loves to portray himself as being Bush's best friend. Is it a case of birds of a feather flock together?

8. Anonymous11:51 pm

Bro Rocky

You are absolutely right. having lied in June 11 article, Kalimulah still keeping mum as though nothing wrong. And his boss, the Mr Do Know PM took no action about the lies. So th PM was indirectly encouraging lies and Brendan took things for granted went on the plagiarising path and got caught.

I think that the doctor advised Tun not to read the papers becaue of all the lies or publishing half truth to make the PM smell like a rose. We are refering to NST all the time. Please, STAR is just slightly better - the only thing they have not done was to publish lies and plagiarise other people work without attribution.

I really am glad to know that Tun is OK. So there is still a bit of hope fo the country. Malaysia will only recover when Mr Do not Know PM out of office. As long as he is there the nation had ot put up with liar like Kalimulah and plagiarist like Brendan.

At last, our prayers have been answered and Tun is well. Sorry for Kalimulah, Brendan Plagiarist, Khariy, the God gift to Malaysian politic and also the SIL of PM and Kamaludin, the genious son of the PM.

9. Anonymous11:53 pm

Bro Rocky

You are absolutely right. having lied in June 11 article, Kalimulah still keeping mum as though nothing wrong. And his boss, the Mr Do Know PM took no action about the lies. So th PM was indirectly encouraging lies and Brendan took things for granted went on the plagiarising path and got caught.

I think that the doctor advised Tun not to read the papers becaue of all the lies or publishing half truth to make the PM smell like a rose. We are refering to NST all the time. Please, STAR is just slightly better - the only thing they have not done was to publish lies and plagiarise other people work without attribution.

I really am glad to know that Tun is OK. So there is still a bit of hope fo the country. Malaysia will only recover when Mr Do not Know PM out of office. As long as he is there the nation had ot put up with liar like Kalimulah and plagiarist like Brendan.

At last, our prayers have been answered and Tun is well. Sorry for Kalimulah, Brendan Plagiarist, Khariy, the God gift to Malaysian politic and also the SIL of PM and Kamaludin, the genious son of the PM.

10. Anonymous2:47 am

Dear Hud Hud

Kalimulah/NST will not sue BBC. Kalimulah was just trying to do a face saving exercise for his crony, Brendan, the famous plagiarist. Little did Kalimulah knew BBC calls his bluff and says sue BBC if NST dares.

Kalimulah, the liar, and Brendan, the plagiarist, let me advise both of you, defmation is a double edge sword!!

I am surprise why this mamak, Kalimulah, never learn after having sued Mathias Chang and the trouble Kalimulah had to endure.

Kalimulah, for God sake please try not to defend the indefensible i.e. Brendan the plagiarist. The evidence was as clear as tomorrow sun rise that Brendan had plagiarised othe author works.

Kalimulah please stop takng advantage of the PM, who is sleeping all the time. Since you are so close to the PM, you should not give him so much problems to defend you and your cronies like Brendan, Datuk Wong Chun Wai of The Star, Leslie Low of the Singapore Straight TImes and many others.

By the way, Bro Rcoky, can you please tell your reader wehther it is true that Kalimulah had aleady bought a house in Oxford so that he could run over there when the the useless PM fell!!!. When the PM fell, it will be the period of recovery for Malaysia.

11. TDM donot need to read the papers when he can still be the prime news even from the hospital bed.

Besides, why should he bother with having to go through the 'nauseating pleasantries' of attending to the upcoming UMNO GA when there's better ambience elsewhere.

To those who say that TDM is afraid to attend, I say this. "Think again coz this old fox can still show elegance from where he is compared to you know who".

Let's see who turns up at IJN and PWTC during the next few days and of course, let's see what KH/BP will get NST to print as well. If UMNO are still blind to what's going on, it's because AAB choose to remain as such.

12. Anonymous8:57 am

Sdr Rocky,

Do you know Tun also reads fictions.

Some newspapers are pretty fictitious these days. So Tun can still read them without going agaist doctors' order.

Just don't allow our friend, the newly Malacca-minted Datuk Seri Zam gets on your nerve.

I know Datuk Seri Zam spoke to you a few days ago. What was it all about?
    Zam is a nice fellow actually.

Do you know that Tun is also fascinated with the Mongols -- all those great Khans that taught the European Emperors and Kings what "Asian Barbarians" on horseback could do?

Tun loves horseback riding.

I am sure, like all of us, he is anxious to know the truth about the killing of the Mongolian model.

In my next Other Thots column in Malaysian Business, I am appealing to all great Malaysian lovers, male and female,not to blow up their troublesome partners between now and until the end of VMY 2007.

Who knows the VMY festivities will mend the broken hearts and they can go back to being passionate lovers again and, who knows, live happily ever after.

Thank You.

13. Anonymous10:12 am

doctor's orders...hhe mahathir still synical about his comments....WE HAVE TO OBEY DOCTOR'S ORDERS...meaning...kena bukak telinga dan dengarlah cakap die..hehe...so good lah Mahathir...and the funny part is today's paper tak tau nak spin statement tuh...hehe

14. Anonymous12:13 pm

Dear Bru, Tq for not letting anyone forget who Kalimullah and Brendan really are. The young journalists must be reminded about editorial scums like these two for that's what they are. With a liar and a plagiarist heading the NST, do we wonder why the paper is heading for the drain?

15. Anonymous9:59 pm

hypocrites, motherduckers, keep on praising dr m. keep it up, you hypocrites.

16. Anonymous10:59 pm

nstman said...
    hypocrites, motherduckers, keep on praising dr m. keep it up, you hypocrites.

-----------------------------------

hey nstman,

what's yr problem?

You sure u arent kali-ular or brendan?

You go f#ck yourself, idiot!

17. Anonymous1:06 am

nstman,

you have a diction problem.

hypocrites? us? hehehe!

fyi, people who praise Dr M...

because they can't help but hold in high esteem a man such as he, someone who, regardless whether he was on the wrong side of the ruling party, headed a nation, stood up to global bullies, stood up against a sizeable portion of the world or is just another concerned Malaysian citizen criticising a bloody-minded weak leadership, has always been unafraid and unwavering...

are called steadfast, true, loyal, staunch, honorable, principled, have sound moral compass, clear-eyed, not stupid, unclouded in judgement and are blessed by the Almighty to recognise self-serving idiots and sychophants when they see them.

you otoh, if your remark is in support of the bast*rd pretenders who head your organization all the way to the current administration who put them there, are the one who is a miserable hypocrite!

as for calling us "motherduckers" ... if what rocky bru and the rest of us are doing stick in the craw of the likes of you so much you are reduced to foul language, that gives many of us a good feeling, i'm sure. it sure does me. :D

18. Anonymous10:46 am

Dear nstman,
    When you down and probably out, even if it is only temporary, the praises and supports you received during this difficult time are almost all sincere and genuine. Laughter never brings people closer only happier. Sharing pain with encouragement and concern will uplift any soul. Maybe one day you would understand. If Malaysians have officially called TDM our Bapa, we should respect him and not mock him.

19. Anonymous12:50 pm

nstman,

The show of support and care shown by bloggers to Tun Dr Mahathir here are sincere & ikhlas. That much I can say compared to the anggok2 and geleng2 of the "pembesar" Umno to Pak Lelah.

20. Anonymous4:38 pm

i have told you hypocrites time and again to stop heaping praise on dr mahathir. dr mahathir doesnt need praise from sycophants like the whole bunch of you. so shut up and move on. there are many more important things to do, like helping the economy to grow and addressing the fractured relationship among the people. if you have a problem with kali and brendan, be man enough, go straight to them and tell them your feelings instead of hiding behind a cloak of anonymity.

21. Anonymous6:59 pm

nstman,
    I do not why I keep replying your postings? I become a 'TDM sycophant' simply because our government tried to reverse engineer a country legacy, doing more harm than good. Why didn't they just move on with better ideas and ideal. Someone once told me that it was impossible to dismantle TDM legacy and networking after 22 years...yet, to my utter amasement, the present government reduced it to a heap of rubbish and rubble in less than 3 years. Now, in contradiction, they move into top gear to re-implement some of what they destroyed. But many good things were utterly lost...like the fragile shards of muhibbah spirit we shared or mutual respect for authority. How can you stop the praises for TDM when you have destroyed so many good things and decencies we remember and cherish? Policies cannot survive without legacies. Everything has a price. The praises for TDM is the price for AAB. Better go get a ear plug.

22. Anonymous8:31 pm

TDM may have done some great things like the asb. On the other hand he also wasted billions of governments money.He gave away government assets/property when other nations tendered out such assets. He gave away paka to ytl .he gave away the sentul [workshop ,offices,land and facilities ] to ytl so that the railway in malaysia is not developed . he developed a car industry based on subsidy which is bound to fail under all economic condition. it is not because pak lah cannot manage it, it is simply not worth having. he gave away licences to astro when in fact he can tender for millions to big concerns. He says looking east- yet he copied margaret thatcher in privatising government assets. only differnce- tdm gave them away to his cronies whereas thatcher sold all the assets for good price.
    mahather lacked mangerial prowess getting the country into successive recessions in 1980's and the 1`998 fiasco that see our money devalued so badly. what good is there in mahathir? He gave the penang port to one incompetent jerk who could not manage the port-the contractors were not paid for years. he gave the right to sewerage to vincent tan and later bought it at billion ringgit. The list of mahathirs stupid venture is endless -mas ,port klang ang what goes on unreported makes him one of the worst spenders in history.just because there is a klcc, putrajaya ghost town ,tdm cannot claim to be a great hero. his damage far outweighs his goodness. Takke a leaf from schwarznegger all brwn , no brain. He use bwarren buffert to develop his financial policy for california succesfully. So pak lah is a bodoh. So what? if he can use a warren buffer to help run the country he can easily outdo tdm.

in fact by doing nothing, he is better than mahathir. he does not waste money. this kali fello is good for the kampung mutus. whether he is godd or brilliant dont matter lah. if pak lah closes the proton and develop public transport , it is good for the environment and national economy.look at the ringgit-we must measure the pm by the performance of the ringgit. as the ringgit is better during pak lahs time, he has achieve mopre than the puffiing and hard working tdm.
    mahathir has worked hard to destroy the economy and the environment where as pak lah stop working 'sleepoing' and not destroy the economy and the environment. so beauty sleep is better than hard destructive efforts