Monday, September 25, 2006

JOHOR FIRST, SINGAPORE LAST

Johor Umno speaks up! We had to wait, but the Umno in Johor, the birthplace of the great party, has finally spoken up. Utusan Malaysia has the story HERE.

In a nutshell, the MEN in Johor have asked the Abdullah Administration to:

1/ cancel all projects that would benefit Singapore more than it would benefit Malaysia, especially the proposed KL-Singapore Bullet Train.

2/ stop taking into consideration Singapore's interest when implementing projects under the RM15 billion Johor South Corridor. [Abdullah has already appointed Singapore's Parkway Holdings Ltd, which runs Pantai Hospital, as consultant for the setting up of a mega medical hub in the South Corridor. see The Star Aug 12]

3/ to review overall relations with Singapore.

Lee Kuan Yew's disparaging statement about this country's "compliant" Chinese is the obvious excuse for these demands by the Johor Umno.

Slightly less obvious is the fact that Johoreans have been very unhappy with Abdullah's decision to cancel the crooked bridge because of Singapore's potential opposition and because, according to the PM, "the rakyat wanted it cancelled".

14 comments:

1. Anonymous3:21 pm

Go ahead! Just do it. Don't BACKTRACK on your calls.

We support you, LKY!!

2. Anonymous3:47 pm

Know each other as if your were brothers; negotiate deals as if you were strangers to each other.

3. Anonymous4:04 pm

Good. At least now our dear PM knows what Singapore is really all about. Tun is right, LKY not very clever. His strategy to put his island above Msia and Indon backfired! He miscalculated Malaysia and Malaysians, again.

4. 1)Reinstate the double tracking project with emphasis on linkage to PTP. Cargo freighting business will benefit KTM when the trans China link comes online.

Is somebody keeping an eye on KTM landbank in Singapore?

3)If we donot seem to be able to build the bridge, why not reclaim the vicinity of our causeway section and develop the reclaimed land to reduce congestion in JB city. After all, we have the sand, they don't.

5. 1)Reinstate the double tracking project with emphasis on linkage to PTP. Cargo freighting business will benefit KTM when the trans China link comes online.

Is somebody keeping an eye on KTM landbank in Singapore?

3)If we donot seem to be able to build the bridge, why not reclaim the vicinity of our causeway section and develop the reclaimed land to reduce congestion in JB city. After all, we have the sand, they don't.

6. Anonymous4:23 pm

The other project that will benefit Singapore more than Malaysia(even more so than the bullet train) is the freeing up of the bilateral air agreement to allow low-cost carriers to fly between the 2 countries.
    What at first glance appears to be of mutual benefit to cost-conscious travellers is in fact a covert plan to kill off Senai!

7. As echo-ed by some malaysians, there are more pressing issues at hand for the country.

a) IPCMC no story yet?
    b) polis naik gaji no story oso?
    c) BPR haven't hauled in any one of significane yet.
    d) Judicial review? establishing a truely independent judicial. Our minister says tak payah review
    e) The Proton saga, if not resolved soon will become another grand mega project that bleeds tax payers money.
    and the list goes on and on...

This should be the issues we demand our politician to resolve ASAP. If not, we vote them out!!!

8. Anonymous5:33 pm

Ultimasquare..you took the words out of my mouth.
    More pressing issues...but yet never solved. And after the elections, the same issues will be brought up again...all talk no action.
    But voting them out...i doubt it. People only know how to talk..to blog..but dun't know how to vote (heck some are not registered voters in the first place). Pelik tapi benar.

9. Anonymous6:26 pm

Apparently, LKY had done something against his own advice: dun trigger the feeling of Malaysia so dat they will do something stupid. Umno’s reaction to his words just proved dat! Is pity for them to have a neighbour like us! He is right on what he said, but he shouldn't speak it out, dat is not compliant according to Umno!

10. Anonymous8:05 pm

Sdr Rocky,

Pardon me for saying that there's no need to seek clarification or explanation from Lee Kuan Yew, unless of course we do not understand simple language.

What Lee said on Sept. 15 was plain and clear. He made the following statements:-

1. Singapore needs a government that has the gumption and skill to say 'no' to its neighbours in a very quiet and polite way that doesn't provoke them into doing something silly;

2. Singapore's neighbours (Malaysia and Indonesia) both have problems with their Chinese population. They (Malaysian and Indonesian Chinese) are successful. They are hardworking and, therefore, they are systemically marginalised;

3. Indonesia and Malaysia want the Chinese-dominated Singapore to be, like their Chinese, compliant; and

4. It is vital for the predominantly Chinese Singapore to stand up to the bigger, majority-Muslim Indonesia and Malaysia.

No explain needed. Just apologise.

11. Anonymous8:18 pm

At least and at last someone with balls dared to speak up for Umno.
    For are while I thought all Umno people have become eunachs, not the Cheng He type but the sheep that farmers castrate and will eventually be slaughtered.
    So much for friendly Singapore. How can Umno and government leaders be so amateurish in assessing Singapore?
    In a simple Malay, pemimpin kita sudah kena main. Asyik main golf dengan penyangak Singapura, mereka kena main.
    Mana Nazri Pendekar Umno? Pendekar atau kelakar?
    Diam saja. Ada apa-apa sampai takut kepada Singapura? Kita tahu kisah tuan. Daripada jual tanah pemuda Umno di Jalan TAR kepada lesen teksi dan majlis hari jadi yang meriah. Kalau tak betul sila nafi sebab kita tidak mahu Islam Hadhari dicemari.

12. Anonymous10:39 pm

Shall we call for open tenders to sharpen & polish the kriss for Hisham; KJ and of course Nazri to start their war dance!Maybe we should ask the Mat Rempit to assemble at the causeway to show those "upstart chinese" downsouth some of our tricks and bravado!With the kriss , Mat rempit tactics,and our war dance; S'pore might just apologise! My only hope is that the apology comes before the month of November! TDM looks smug like an angel in this instance! Level 4, should now organize a golf game immediately to put this hiccup right. Free Caddy service available at Jalan Riong!

13. Anonymous11:54 pm

First and Last for what?

Under the current administration it seems like:

SCREW Johor First, Singapore Last.

14. Anonymous7:07 am

Aiyah, why waste time, just close the causeway and the second link, shut of the water supply and if possible the electrical supply too. Then Johor Bahru will be the new hub of the world, with the best airport and sea port.