Tuesday, September 05, 2006

JOHOR CASINO

First time. Dr M has named P. Gunasegaram as an "(new) Umno boy and spin doctor". [see Screenshots for context]

Brendan Pereira, the ex-Singapore Straits Times operative, has been mentioned before but for Guna, yesterday was a first.

Interestingly, in his latest weekly column Question Time in the Edge ["We Need Another Casino", pg 57], Guna argued about the merits of setting up a casino in Danga Bay, a tourist attraction in the heart of Johor Baru, the capital of Johor, the birthplace of Umno.

Guna supports a new casino to compete with Singapore's two casinos which should come on stream in the next few years. Yes, the call for a new casino "may be strange one to make in a Malaysia which is increasingly assimilating Islamic values," he writes, "but there are compelling economic arguments for it."

"And really, there will not be a compromise with religion because Muslims can still be kept out of it. It's a business and economic decision - that's all."

Guna is a veteran and knows the sensitivity of the casino he's promoting. You'll find .. mention of Islam and Muslims in the story, though not once was AAB-sponsored Islam Hadhari mentioned, to assure Umno and the government that there shouldn't he a backlash.

Examples:

"Of course, the Muslims would be barred from the casino as is currently the practice at Genting."
"Remember, while our casinos will restrict Muslims, it won't restrict non-Muslim Malaysians."
"Muslims too will find the projects attractive because of its promenades and walkways, its food courts, its theme parks and other attractions."
"The only difference is we will not be handicapped by excluding some activities which may be considered to be less inviting for Muslims."
"All we need to do is to ensure that Muslims do not take part in these activities and to control all unsavoury aspects so that they
(the activities) do not get our of hand."

Now, what will Umno Johor say to a Johor Casino?

39 comments:

1. Anonymous12:32 pm

Add if i may add to Gunasegaran suggestion,we should built one at north border with Thailand too as South Thailand is in turmoil and we can get the biz from there.

Of course i would suggest Guna paymaster to be given the license to operate the casino.

Basically MrGuna know which side his bread buttered and trying to look like decent economic adviser and expect us to believe his economic advise lock stock and barrel.

2. Anonymous12:34 pm

Like always...
    "Titah patik kami junjung"

3. Anonymous12:59 pm

I am a JB Resident for all of my 45 years. JB is the capital of Johor and the Majority are Malay Muslims. Gunasegaram's latest "tak guna" punya proposal is located right infront of Istana Bukit Serene, the official residence of HRH Sultan of Johor. Gunasegaram dishonor us JB folks by his stupid proposal.

Gunasegaram you better shoot us JB folks first, as the casino will only be built over our dead bodies literally speaking.

4. Anonymous1:13 pm

I think another casino is not unhadhari. At least that's my understanding of Islam Hadhari. It's supposed to be modern, tolerant and development-oriented. In any case, the Hadhari Government is already allowing more gaming draws, collecting more revenue of other haram sources like liquor and gaming. I think Guna as one of the key spokesmen of the government and Umno has every right to make that proposal. I am sure the Prime Minister and Umno are open to such openess.

5. Anonymous1:16 pm

I think another casino is not unhadhari. At least that's my understanding of Islam Hadhari. It's supposed to be modern, tolerant and development-oriented. In any case, the Hadhari Government is already allowing more gaming draws, collecting more revenue of other haram sources like liquor and gaming. I think Guna as one of the key spokesmen of the government and Umno has every right to make that proposal. I am sure the Prime Minister and Umno are open to such openess.

6. Anonymous1:27 pm

His next advice would be to Islamised gambling. Why do they let him speak?
    Let the singaporean open their casino..why compete? Dont we have other lucrative projects beside opening a gambling den? What's your cut in it eh?

7. Anonymous1:40 pm

Casino for the non muslims and theme park for the muslims eh???
    I am scared for our country.

8. What a ridiculous, preposterous and outrageous suggestion !

Doesn't this bugger knows that gambling especially casino are the causes of so many social ills and tragedies.

In fact the government should even consider closing down the Genting Highland casino !!!!!!!1

9. What a ridiculous, preposterous and outrageous suggestion !

Doesn't this bugger knows that gambling especially casino are the causes of so many social ills and tragedies.

In fact the government should even consider closing down the Genting Highland casino !!!!!!!1

10. What a ridiculous, preposterous and outrageous suggestion !

11. Anonymous2:06 pm

Bru

This Guna thinks he is smart, pushing the envelope in forwarding an idea. But he is just plain stupid and insensitive.
    Of course ours is a multi-racial multi-religious country, and non-Muslims can do what they like, but only as long as it does not offend others.
    Already Genting is a sensitive issue to many Muslims, and would rather have it go away. And now smart Guna wants us all to consider another casino. He is not only stupid and insensitive, he is an idiot, too.
    Just because I eat beef, does not mean I could consider building a slaughterhouse for cattle in a Hindu enclave. Guna, presuming that he is a Hindu, would take offence even if he does not partake.
    Not only he is stupid, insentitive and an idiot, but to quote pasquale, he is also a moron.

Sheesh.

12. Anonymous2:07 pm

Bru

This Guna thinks he is smart, pushing the envelope in forwarding an idea. But he is just plain stupid and insensitive.
    Of course ours is a multi-racial multi-religious country, and non-Muslims can do what they like, but only as long as it does not offend others.
    Already Genting is a sensitive issue to many Muslims, and would rather have it go away. And now smart Guna wants us all to consider another casino. He is not only stupid and insensitive, he is an idiot, too.
    Just because I eat beef, does not mean I could consider building a slaughterhouse for cattle in a Hindu enclave. Guna, presuming that he is a Hindu, would take offence even if he does not partake.
    Not only he is stupid, insentitive and an idiot, but to quote pasquale, he is also a moron.

Sheesh.

13. Anonymous4:58 pm

Like a lot of people these days in Malaysia, Guna is confused. He's also desperate. He supported the scraping of the bridge project but is proposing a casino instead. One is not offensive to Muslims and one is. Guna decided on the latter. No wonder he's wanted dead. He was scared blue. But now he must have regained his courage. I have only one question for Guna, have you gone mad? Or is he floating the idea on behalf of his employer Vincent Tan?

14. Anonymous5:04 pm

Sdr Rocky, Johor may be a modern Malay dominated state, but its Muslims are also pious.

They have the best Islamic religious education system in the country. I think such a proposal is offensive to them.

Thank You.

15. Anonymous5:14 pm

Why make a discussion in this blog about Guna's idea. His idea is really tak guna. Furthermore his idea was published in the Sun. The Sun also not worth reading although its free. But if UMNO still find this idea worth thinking, time has come that UMNO is also Tak Guna.

16. Anonymous5:42 pm

I think gambling is everybody issue. Not just Muslims. Everyday we can see more and more people who gamble succumbed to it and in the end of the day, they drag down everybody. Building another casino, is not just bad for Muslim community, but also there are other matters to be considered. If it's true that they want to build it quite near the Bukit Serene, I don't know how the Sultan would react to it. Johor is a Malay populated stae and a strong forthold for Umno. The govt should seriously consider this idea if they do not want to anger the Malays.

17. mad max jr, thanks for your comments bro. actually, nobody wanted anybody dead. in the "shoot" incident between guna&nexnews vs blogger jeff ooi, the complaint was about the use of the word "shoot" by a poster just like yourself in Screenshots, the blog that jeff runs. i believe the poster sent an apology to guna through jeff. i also believe murder was the last thing in the poster's mind when he used the word "shoot" for guna.
    thank you.

18. Rocky!

All of you Morons are missing the point, all of you are missng the forest for the trees, as Guna is definitely being used as an instrument of anti-Muslim (read Malays)grouping who practised institutionalised racism and discrimination as a mean to downgrade one group for the benefit of the others. By writing an article that appears to be professional and businesslike we the Morons cannot tell the difference anymore when we the Muslims (read Malays)are being denigrated slowly but surely into a second class citizen by our enemies, yes our enemies. If you care to scrutinise and study the NST carefully you will find that the instruction to ridicule the Malays and the Muslims are being done so subtlely that it it now working so well. Someone or some group is slowly painting the Malays and Muslims as a "gook" as American called the Vietnamese so killing them is like killing vermin, or the hooked nose blood sucking Shylock of a German Jews so when they were gassed no German batted an eyelash for they were what they were according to the Germans then so who cares if they are killed in the millions, so twenty years down the road if there were some kind of an ethnic cleansing to be conducted on the Malays, God forbid it will never happened, no one will do anything as the Malays were portrayed as a disenfranchise, child rapist and on the economic periphery type of group that really is of no consequence and a bother to the rest. Umno take note, NST has been doing it for a long time now and if you are really concern do something. Guna knows that no second casino can ever be built in Malaysia, but the point he has made was so clear that is to mock the Malays by subtlely saying "you will not be allowed to get involved in serious economic activity, but only use the theme park", indicating Malays are not to be allowed to engage in activities such as gambling, there is no provision in the constitution stating that I cannot go to a casino if I want to. Guna is just making the suggestion just to thumb his nose to Umno and Malay-Muslims as a whole that he can write anything he likes on any proposterous subjuect as building a casino infront of a Sultan Palace as he wants, and there is not a chance that we "idiotic Muslims-Malays running this country can do anything about it"
    well just as well that maybe this country is being run by idiotic people, for us to alow preposterous article to allowed to be written in the first place. The point, is all the sacred norms and mores that make this country have been broken, why! because the leadership of this country allows it to happens! I am appaled. If we allow that sacred societal moral, and social fabrics to be torn to shred than we are opening that proverbial Malaysian Pandora's Box of social strife! Guna you are playing with fire here, and you are not thinking right my man! If you hate the Malays, I sense that you do, find other means to show it bujt not like this.

19. Anonymous7:48 pm

Sorry, maybe my English is not very good. But I thought Guna was scared. If he is a brave man, he would not complain. I think if you are yellow, you should not write about sensitive things. Sorry Bru if I bring you trouble.

20. Anonymous9:51 pm

whatever integrity, ethics left in guna is gone gone gone.
    you can see and feel the venom he has for Tun Dr Mahathir. The fact that he was "whipping" Tun who is no longer in power speaks a lot for guna, not just as a journalist, but as a person. let's not say that Tun deserves it. When it happens to Pak Lah, which I am certain will, let us also not say that he deserves it.
    Guna is just a writer. not a journalist. And his take on the building of a casino in danga bay is -- as low as he can go.

21. Anonymous10:29 pm

What's the definition of gambling? If you really try to distill the meaning of gaming and betting, you will find that the definition applies equally to the activies of the stock exchange, derivatives house (futures/options), certain competitions and even insurance activities and venture capital investments. Perhaps some Muslim scholar would proffer an opinion whether all these are haram also.

22. Anonymous11:04 pm

Be creative to compete with Singapore.Good idea but Guna got the place wrong.Have a casino on a reclaimed island off Johore but close to Singapore.Since it is a man made island, with no local population this should take care of sensitivites.Gamblers go to the casino from a jetty and we can excercise control on who goes there. If we execute the "casino island " concept well, the casino bidding process in Singapore will get screwed up. And that to me will be great.

23. Anonymous11:13 pm

Bru,
    Johor Casono rhymes with Casino Umno! Guna is just basing his argument on commercial reasons. He may have skipped, rather conveniently I think, mentioning Islam Hadhari is his article but that is easily understood. If he includes Islam Hadhari in his article, then he may have problems in arguing his call for a second casino. Guna has never had this much attention ever, and the controversy his article brings would be good for the newspaper he represents. The NST would have championed the casino too, but it just doesn't want to be seen to be the first to float or promote the idea.

What about Hishamuddin Aun, the GEIC? What about him, you may ask> Would he be taking Guna to task for suggesting that a second casino be built in the very heart of Umno? Heheheh! You must be day dreaming! You think Hisham will dare write and offend Kali-Brendan-Kay Tat? No way Jose!! Hisham will do what he does best - write about football or some family gathering over Merdeka or something.

Casino oh casino,
    Umno oh Umno...

24. Anonymous11:38 pm

I can't agree any further than what has been mentioned by pasquale! I call this movement as "systematic neutralisation of the ketuanan melayu"! They are so systematic, so subtlely that even Malays themselves are unconsiously taking part in the movement.

I personally attended one discussion held somewhere at Level 32,KLCC. The participants were 98% Malays, mostly young, overseas educated and I would presumed, directly benefitted from the NEP. What really sadden me was that these Malay boys and girls were rejecting NEP after they themselves have benefitted from it. They were making unwarranted remarks about their own race just to please the "Malaysian estate-born who migrated to Australia" speaker!

I just feel like I want to piss off right onto these ungrateful Malays!

On the casino thingy.. well, maybe it's part of the Islam hadhari. Who knows! Let's listen from UMNO Johor!

Hantu Gigi Jarang

25. Anonymous11:55 pm

Mr. Guna "the tak guna" is a typical morons like many others who dare let themselves being used and are opportunists.

My greatest worry is what is going to happen to our future generation? You guys have kids dont you? Well, though, I dont, but I do have my cute little niece whom is yet to understand "APA ITU MERDEKA?". Economy is going from bad to worst and yet the Govt. are in denial. Most of us Malaysians are aware of what is happening in the country now. And most of us are also aware that we have the weakest Premier ever in the history. But how many of us dare to join Tun M fights for 'our own rights'? Are we so complacent at where we are today? Arent we worried about our future generation? What will happen to them? Why must we allow 'those pengkhianat negara' destroy our very own country? I dont want to imagine should our future generation suffer like our friends in the Philipines. It can happen if we are still leaving in our own complacent world, selfish and opportunists.

Wassalam,

26. Why is everyone getting so worked-up ?On any given 'race' day(which is at least 3 times a week)just go to any gaming out-lets or KTM(short for Kuda, Toto, Magnum)whether it is in Chow Kit or in Puchong and or in any other part of the gambling country and see the patrons 'investing' their sorry ringgit for a "chance to a wind-fall"!
    Common man, surely the govt. or even the authorities are not blind to the going-ons ? Why are we pretending ? The govt. takes a huge cut from gaming-tax, every time there is a draw, and we think only the non-muslims love gambling, bro ?
    First cease/cancell all gaming lisence issued. Then see how poor the govt. becomes and who will be even poorer- yes man ...WE...US the stupid tax-paying citizens,bro!

With the taxes from Genting alone , I shudder to think how many govt. departments are being run !
    Maybe the very salary the govt. staff collect could be 'haram' ringgits ! Just a frightening thought ,bro !

27. Anonymous8:37 am

As much as I am convinced Guna is absolutely insincere about this suggestion, the idea of a Casino is not preposterous. Frankly economically speaking it makes more sense than trying for a theme park.

The fact of the matter is Genting has operated for decades without any real harm to Muslims. It can be done but politically speaking, its a minefield which is why it had to come from Guna. As strong as UMNO Johor is, if it can't sell sand to Singapore, it can get it done.

28. Anonymous9:32 am

all said and done --- and as with many many things--
    it is not a question whether we can build a casino that is, of course, commercially viable (wherever the location is) But whether we should. Because Johor is not wherever it is.

29. Anonymous11:56 am

Pujangga, I think you have a point. It does not surprise me a bit if Guna was floating the idea on behalf of Vincent Tan or even Tong Kooi Ong. Vincent is not doing well now with the economy being in its present state.
    The Bursa went up to a 6-year high a day after the budget and down again the next day. Vincent and Tong are creatures of the market. They are classic paper shufflers. Berjaya Group and Nexnews (publisher of Guna's paper) are not doing well. Vincent and Tong need new income stream. Vincent launched his empire on the strength of Sports Toto which was privatised to him by Mahathir. Vincent used Annuar Zaini to get security printing license and a loan of RM600 million loan from Bank Pembangunan from Abdullah Badawi. Yes Annuar Zaini Bernama Chairman who exposed Abdullah in the TV3 interview! Why don't Guna write about this rip-off? I know Guna from BT days! He wrote what he was told. In the case of casino, we are not competing with Singapore. Singapore is competing with us. Singapore stole the idea from us because too many bored Singaporeans are coming to Malaysia to gamble. Guna is only a tool in the whole Vincent-Tong ball game. Plain and simple. Forget about affront to Islam. He does not care. He was only carrying order. Remember Vincent is from Pontian.

30. Anonymous12:19 pm

ex-bt reporter, vincent tan from pontian wants a casino in johor? if the sultan knows he is going to put a gun on vincent"s head. no way. Over our dead bodies, as a poster said here.

where is this guna from, anyway?

31. Anonymous12:35 pm

The Singapore's casino charges Singaporean for entering into casino in a bid to reduce Singaporean'entries to gamble.

Singaporean is building the casino to bring in revenue from outsiders.

So building a casino in Johor for what? For non-muslim? duh...

I wonder does Mr.Guna read blogs frequent enough, did he ever think of the internet influence on the younger generation, office workers?

Several incidents/information provided in net has already far more than enough to potray him as insentive, selfish, inconsiderate, ass-patting "person".

If he wants to critic and have balls to critic, critic the present administration, why no voice on the present one. eh? you dumbo.

BTW, the Company he works with is owned by a gambling company. Mind you.

32. Anonymous3:48 pm

This tak ada Guna guy is getting too big for his shoes.

33. Anonymous7:14 pm

As one of the gentleman bloggers identified by Rejal Arbee, I seriously think u should tell that Zam fella to keep a tight leash on this tak Guna.
    As the de facto Ketua Penerangan Umno, Guna enjoys great liberty to ridicule Malays and he does it explicitly.
    What does Umno do? And Zam as the Minister of Penerangan yang tak terang?
    Don't pick on bloggers alone. Pick on those who put things on record in a highly regarded business rag as well. Their responsibility is greater, don't u think?
    Hisham oh Hisham, he'd rather write about Noh Omar or KJ. This proposal from Guna way too deep for him.

34. Anonymous9:33 pm

pujangga,

you and i know where guna is coming from. so, he sure aint gonna listen to your advice. Ethical journalist? I say, what does he care? As ex-BT reporter said -- he is just carrying out orders. so you see, nothing to do with ethics. And hell, it sure had nothing to do with having balls when he whacked Tun Dr M with them questions.

35. Anonymous10:57 am

jangan main-main dengan kami,orang2 johor.
    Tidak kerana kami, Umno boleh jatuh,lebur.
    johor adalah kekuatan umno.
    kami setia kepada umno..

anak johor
    anak warisan
    main kotor
    tinggal kesan.

36. Anonymous1:34 am

How many of you have actually read the article?

37. Kerajaan juga mendapat keuntungan dari tax yang di perolehi dari pengendali kasino berkenaan.
    Kemana duit tax itu pergi?
    Ianya akan ke perbendaharaan.
    So, apa nak buat dengan duit tu?
    Ianya akan digunakan untuk berbagai aspek demi pembangunan negara.
    Bantuan kepada rakyat juga ke?
    Maybe..
    Bagi rakyat makan duit haram?
    Errr... maybe...
    It's true, Muslim can avoid of joining in the Casino but the reality is, sedikit sebanyak hasil perniagaan haram tersebut akan dapat dirasai oleh semua lapisan masyarakat. Nak tahu kenapa Judi adalah haram dalam Islam? Ask Ustazah.. Islam is the true way of life..

38. Anonymous11:03 am

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Margaret

http://powerleveling.info

39. Anonymous11:05 am

Mcm prophecy pulak, 7 years on in 2014, we've seen a series of business deals between Sultan Johor and Vincent Tan (REDtone, Berjaya Time Square and today, MOL).

It's quite clear now what Vincent Tan really wants from his powerful business partner...it's a matter of time before a casino or slot machine type resort ada kat Johor ni. After all, that's where the real money is for him kan?