Friday, March 02, 2018

Cynthia, Mejar Huan and the fight against corruption, Malaysian style

Given her reputation, one might have expected Cynthia ready-to-be-called-CIA-agent Gabriel to ask Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng to resign over his "strange"  claim of ignorance about the RM22 million undersea tunnel "payoff". 
But not even a rap on the DAP and Pakatan Harapan leader's  knuckles. Instead, the founder of the Centre to Combat Corruption and Cronyism (C4), recipient of the prestigious 2017 NED award, and fierce opponent of 1MDB and the Scorpene deal merely urged the Penang government to end its contract with Zenith over the RM22m believed to be bribes paid for Guan Eng's proposed RM6.3 billion tunnel project.
If Guan Eng doesn't end its contract with Zenith, "the public may be confused", she said.

Her words, according to The Sun, not mine. 

Is that it from Cynthia and C4, then? I hope not but I fear that's it, really. Some Malaysians fight corruption and abuses as long as they do not implicate the people or factions they are party to. To them, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, the Attorney-General and the courts are doing their job only if they go after people or factions they are not party to. That's how things work. 
But because of that, fortunately, we get to depend on other Malaysian individuals like Huan I-have-been-vidicated Cheng Guan to try and dig up the wrong-doings, corruption, and abuses of powerful people, including politicians like Guan Eng, that the likes of Cynthia Gabriel may choose to ignore, downplay or even excuse. 

The next NED award recipient, perhaps? :-)

9 comments:

1. IT.Scheiss10:03 am

I do not trust these NGOs, which claim to be standing against corruption, for human rights, for democracy and so forth, especially when I see them hob nobbing with likes of Obama, seeking his approval of their work.

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/at-meeting-with-maria-chin-ambiga-ngo-leaders-obama-says-us-backs-their-wor#oGbskWRIXKxrm9Wr.97

Or bowing before Hillary Clinton like this.

http://poobalan.com/blog/borninmalaysia/2009/03/13/saree-clad-ambiga-receives-award/

2. Cynthia can't see the corruption related to the tunnel project.
    Her nose is too big lar. You see she looks up at PH, so nose blocks everything.
    Then she looks down on current gomen so nose amplifies everything. Simple.

3. Anonymous12:47 pm

Why you did not mention Azeez Mamak Datuk ? Takut periok nasi tak berasap ka

4. xnakdedak5:12 pm

LOL...

You're hilarious lah Latuk.

Your "Major Asskisser" is hoping for a few crumbs of BN dedak to be thrown his way.

You, being a Paragon Of Journalistic Excellence, of course scorn dedak.

Sad that during "Read Quran Month" the Jo Low yacht bought with our money is seized and you remain quiet, ditto on the soft porn very un-Islamic Wolf movie made by MO1's stepson with our money too?

Triple standards huh : )

5. Anonymous5:27 pm

Rocky

Please find out on all the hanky panky going on in DBKL. Why are DBKL approving so many projects in Taman Desa and TTDI that is detrimental to the quality of life to residents in those area? It is getting out of hand. PM Najib kenalah pantau anak buah yang bagi impression dia makan rasuah. Nobody in their right mind would approve those projects especially if you have been to those areas. Berapa si Desmond, si Ken, si Gopal bagi suap sampai kepentingan developer didahulukan?

Tolonglah kami.

6. Dear Anon 5:27

Not many people are interested in corruption involving local governments these days. Not like before. Now those self-cppointed, self-proclaimed graft fighters are more interested in what they see as the "big ones", such as 1MDB, Tabung Haji, Mara, EPF. Simply because these are more likely to hurt the government of the day, in other words BN and Umno. And in many cases, Umno and BN are the real targets for these so-called graft fighters. Corruption is just an excuse. If I'm wrong, these self-appointed, self-proclaimed ones would have come down real hard on Ijok and Penang tunnel as well. In fact, Lim Guan Eng wouldn't be Chief Minister after the Khir Toyo-like bungalow scandal!

I wish the newspapers, too, could play a more combative role against the local governments. The old Malay Mal used to spend a lot of resources on such reporting. So did theSun. But it's risky and maybe it's not worth it.

Regards

-------------xxxx------------

Anonymous said...
    Rocky

Please find out on all the hanky panky going on in DBKL. Why are DBKL approving so many projects in Taman Desa and TTDI that is detrimental to the quality of life to residents in those area? It is getting out of hand. PM Najib kenalah pantau anak buah yang bagi impression dia makan rasuah. Nobody in their right mind would approve those projects especially if you have been to those areas. Berapa si Desmond, si Ken, si Gopal bagi suap sampai kepentingan developer didahulukan?

Tolonglah kami.

5:27 pm Delete

7. xnakdedak,
    Stop worrying about other people's dedak. Just continue enjoying your pigswill, mate.
    :-)

In response to
    ------ xxxx ----

xnakdedak said...
    LOL...

You're hilarious lah Latuk.

Your "Major Asskisser" is hoping for a few crumbs of BN dedak to be thrown his way.

You, being a Paragon Of Journalistic Excellence, of course scorn dedak.

Sad that during "Read Quran Month" the Jo Low yacht bought with our money is seized and you remain quiet, ditto on the soft porn very un-Islamic Wolf movie made by MO1's stepson with our money too?

Triple standards huh : )

5:12 pm Delete

8. Anon 12:47

You have heard, of course, of Zenith's apology to Azeez Rahim?
    And Azeez's threat to sue all those who tried to link him to Guan Eng's mess of a tunnel ..
    So you know now why I didn't mention Azeez?
    Good.

-----xxxxx----
    in response to:

Anonymous wrote ...

Why you did not mention Azeez Mamak Datuk ? Takut periok nasi tak berasap ka

12:47 pm Delete

9. xnakdedak2:58 pm

Latuk,

You need to give me the contact no. of the PMO Propaganda Unit, how am I supposed to get my share of the dedak???

If they can support the two "well-padded" gents (and failed bloggers) you kindly give sedekah to, surely there's enough for everyone : )

Kipidap, Latuk!