Friday, November 03, 2017

Lawyers: No ground for subjudice in Ambiga's RM90 million dubious role in UK court case

Bangsar, Nov 3: A couple of fellow lawyers are calling Ambiga S, a former Bar Council president,  a hypocrite for "invoking the doctrine of subjudice" to save her own butt in an on-going case brought against Clare Rewcastle-Brown by PAS.

Lawyer Zaki Azmi told the Mole:

“It’s odd that she (Ambiga) deemed it subjudice for her to deny or confirm Clare’s claim, given the fact that she is not bound by British laws and the ethics of the legal professions over there.  
"The way I see it, those in Malaysia are free to openly discuss the case until, if and only if, Hadi decides to transfer the case to a Malaysian court.” 

Aidil: It wasn't subjudice for
Ambiga back then
Another lawyer Aidil Khalid recalled that when she was the president of the Bar Council, Ambiga had taken the position that the rule on subjudice should not override the right to discuss matters of public importance.
“It’s her attempt in wiggling her way out from confirming or denying what Rewcastle-Brown had claimed in her statement of defence.” 

Ambiga has come under mounting pressure to own up to her role in getting Sarawak Report to write a commentary piece in August last year that accused PAS, once a partner in the Opposition Pakatan Harapan coalition, of selling out to Najib Razak and BN for RM90 million. She has refused to do so, citing subjudice and contempt of court. 
A lot of Malaysians are hoping PAS will next sue Ambiga to clear its name of the RM90 million bribe allegations.

7 comments:

1. Bernama 17/10/2016

It is subjudice to discuss matters related to the civil lawsuit against 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB) by the United State's Department of Justice (DoJ).

Stating this, Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia (pix) urged the ministers not to respond to questions or motions related to the matter in Parliament.

"I find that the matter is still unresolved in court. Thus it is subjudice. The ministers need not answer questions related to it. MPs who have submitted questions or motions related to it, I will reply in writing on my decision to satisfy you," he said today.

2. Aiit... pelik... di Parliment, boleh pula Speaker guna alasan subjudice untuk menghalang MP pembangkang dari membawa usul mengenai 1MDB, kerana DoJ Amerika sedang menguruskan dakwaan criminal terhadap Jho Low & Reza Aziz atas tuduhan mengubah WANG haram melalui 1MDB.

3. Anonymous9:01 am

Spoken like a true dumno sycophant. What are you afraid of? By the way - Singapore has started probing A bank for their complicity in 1MDB. Better start searching for an alternative master.

4. xnakdedak3:11 pm

Ahhhhh, Latuk O Latuk!

Surprised the gomen hasn't flown you First Class to Lundang & Amerika so that you can wave your own theories in the face of their detailed forensic evidence.

You know, the "it wasn't bullshit, MO1's cash came from Saudi" and "it never got transferred because the SWIFT code was wrong".

Ingat tak?

Can it be that SR has a better track record on truth than Rockybru?

Say it ain't so!

5. Latuk, please tell the same to Pandikar Amin Tak Mulia as he always blocking question related to 1MDB in parliament giving excuse that of "subjudice" when there is no hearing in Malaysia with regards to 1MDB.

6. Anonymous9:52 am

Mana punya haprak loyar buruk lu sudah quote. Carilah loyar yg ada sekolah punya.

Ini macam budak baru lepas UNI.

7. I hope that it`s very difficult case and I am very excited to know case everything . Actually ambiga said that deemed it subjudice for her to deny or confirm Clare’s claim, given the fact that she is not bound by British laws and the ethics of the legal professions over there. If you want to know case details you can follow this content. how to open a company in usa non residents