Tuesday, February 07, 2017

The frog turns into a prince, yet again

Now who kissed the frog into a prince?

TTDI, Feb 7: Few things politics are worth blogging about these days. Zaid Ibrahim's "weird decision" to join the DAP, a party all Umno members (even ex-members) see as racist and anti-Malay, is certainly one of them.
Not that I think the event is going to change either Zaid or the DAP. It merely reaffirms my belief that Malaysian politicians have actually proved, beyond reasonable doubts, that there are no permanent friends nor foes when it comes to their profession. Lim Kit Siang and Dr Mahathir Mohamad at the same press conference - one to receive Zaid as DAP member and the other to  congratulate him for the "weird decision" - you can't do better than that!
After kissing the frog into a prince, both Old Men could not help but poke fun at Zaid's very colourful past of hopping from one party to another: Kit Siang hoping that Zaid will be a team player and not a prima donna and Mahathir hoping that Zaid stays a little bit longer in DAP.
You can almost hear them giggling behind Zaid. I think I know how little they believe in the hopes that they have expressed!
But if Zaid lasts with the DAP until the next General Election, I would like to see him go back to Hulu Selangor and take on YB P. Kamalanathan, the BN new kid on the block who had sent him (Zaid was a PKR hotshot then) into political wilderness with his emphatic victory in the by-election of 2010.
There in Hulu Selangor, Zaid can bury the biggest ghost of his past for good.
And I rate his chances against Kamalanathan better now than 7 years ago. He's got both Mahathir and former DPM Muhyiddin Yassin on his side now, for a start. Back then, the two big men were with Umno and BN. But like Zaid, they have also "leapfrogged" out of the ruling coalition and now seek to bury their old party.

8 comments:

1. xnakdedak5:31 pm

"Few things politics are worth blogging about these days"

You're soooooo right Latuk.

Although I, personally, am just a lazy bastard.

Hee hee.

2. xnakdedak5:33 pm

"It merely reaffirms my belief that Malaysian politicians have actually proved, beyond reasonable doubts, that there are no permanent friends nor foes when it comes to their profession. Lim Kit Siang and Dr Mahathir Mohamad at the same press conference - one to receive Zaid as DAP member and the other to congratulate him for the "weird decision" - you can't do better than that!"

Errrrr........

http://s147.photobucket.com/user/malaysianunplug/media/rockybigdogmahathir.jpg.html

Stones, glass houses, you know the drill.

A bit amphibious, are we Latuk?

Well, until your next post in 3 weeks time.....

3. Anonymous7:32 pm

What do you call paid UMNO bloggers who has delusion of grandeurs? Umno toadies!!

4. Anonymous8:01 pm

Mark my word. He will leave within a year.

5. Salam Dato Rocky.

Aiit... dah hilang posting 'Kit Siang wanabe Trump'.

Tu la Dato... bukan senang nak defend the indefensible.

So... Dato sokong ditubuhkan RCI untuk korek Scandal BMF & kerugian Forex?

Dato kena ingat, tiada laporan yang di OSA ketika scandal BMF & Forex.
    Tiada WANG Rakyat, masuk akaun sesiapa.
    Semuanya... dibincang dalam kabinet dimana Najib adalah sebahagian darinya.

Cuba bandingkan dengan 1MDB-Jho Low.

Mungkin selepas diadakan RCI nanti... baru Rakyat, terutamanya anak-anak muda, tahu bahawa BBMB - Bank Bumiputra Malaysia Berhad (induk BMF - Bumiputra Malaysia Finance) telah bertukar menjadi CIMB. Maklumlah... bukan-Melayu allergic pada perkataan Bumiputra. Adik Najib amat sedar hakikat ini.

6. Beats me on why you organized Soladarity Ride around the Asean country (Astro 737) and yet on your very own shore, you're playing with race sentiments. Are you a hypocrite?

7. Hope you enjoyed the motorcycle program, Saudagar Mimpi.
    But I don't see how this posting on Zaid Ibrahim joining DAP is me "playing with race sentiments".

Dear RD,
    I checked again: the said posting [Kit Siang wannabe Trump] is still there. ;-)
    http://www.rockybru.com.my/2017/02/watch-kit-siangs-trump-wannabe-moment.html

As for RCI on forex and BMF, it's pure politics lah. Tun M taught Najib and the younger Malaysian politicians very well so he can't blame them for doing this on him. Mahathir would have done this to his political enemies - no, he'd do worse to them - earlier!

But if the RCI happens, rakyat tak rugi. At least we'll get to know what really happened back then!

8. Agreed with u Bro Rocky