Saturday, December 19, 2015

PAC member slams his colleagues for misleading public, defends Arul Kanda

"[What they did] is dangerous as it will cast doubts on the integrity of the PAC commitee and our current and future investigations whether on 1MDB or on other inquiries." - YB Liang Teck Meng

Thank you, YB Liang Teck Meng for having the guts to tell off his own colleagues in the PAC. It can't be easy, I'm sure, but what they did deserve a telling off. And members of the public deserve to know the truth.

Press Statement by Liang Teck Meng, member of the Parliament Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

Despite agreeing that the PAC Chairman will be the only authorised person to issue statements about PAC sessions, I note with increasing concern that two of my fellow PAC members have ignored this understanding that we collectively agreed on.

For reasons that I cannot explain, two of my fellow PAC members saw fit to make statements after the PAC session yesterday that were misleading and designed to prejudice the public on PAC proceedings.

It seems these people are more interested to politicize the proceedings rather than in finding out the actual truth of the subject of our inquiry.

As a member of the PAC committee, I am truly disappointed and upset with their behavior. It is full of lies and misleading.

I am confident that the full transcript of this session in the Hansard will confirm what I have said.

For example, it is not true that 1MDB President Mr. Arul Kanda was unable to answer questions which put to him.

Throughout the 3 hour session yesterday and the previous 5 hour session with Mr Arul Kanda, there was only one question that he chose not to fully answer because that was related to an allegation in the media a day before on matters that relates to an external party.

In my opinion, Mr Arul Kanda is not in a position to comment on that particular question as it relates to a third party and it was from a speculative unproven media article instead of the Auditor General report on 1MDB.

This selective and partial release of information by these parties does not give a true and fair picture of what transpired in the proceedings yesterday. In my opinion, such selective release of information seems designed to politicize the proceedings again, and again mislead the public and prejudice our proceedings.

And unfortunately it seems that certain media organizations - especially certain online English and Chinese media have bought into this hook, line and sinker.

This is dangerous as it will cast doubts on the integrity of the PAC commitee and our current and future investigations whether on 1MDB or on other inquiries.

If this blatant disregard for the PAC rules and continued deliberate prejudicing of the PAC proceedings should occur again, I strongly urge the speaker of the house to take appropriate action on them and even we shoud consider to refer them to the Parliament's Rights and Privileges Committee.

Liang Teck Meng,
MP for Simpang Renggam,
Member of the Parliament's Public Accounts Committee

29 comments:

1. Anonymous11:40 am

Cari makan la Bro!

2. Anonymous12:02 pm

Suruh Tony Pua pergi baca WSJ cukuplah. Kita hanya boleh percaya Utusan sahaja.

3. Anonymous12:10 pm

I think the point is that Auta Kands spent most of the 3 hours talking about 1MDB's "rationalisation plan", i.e. the desperate fire sale of assets to foreign powers.

That answers nothing about the financial malfeasance that is the heart of the issue.

Arul refused to answer any questions on what happened before January 2015, so what's the use?

A better gauge would be that BNM tried TWICE to get 1MDB prosecuted, before the 24-hour replacement A-G swept it under the carpet.

Why is 1MDB immune from action now after lying about that 1.83 billion?

There is no doubt that BNM has every right to revoke its approvals, and that it can now take action under the FSA.

Section 239 of the Financial Services Act 2013 stipulates that Bank Negara may institute civil proceedings in court seeking any order specified under Section 240(1) of the same law, regardless of whether the person accused had been charged with an offence in respect to the said contravention or breach.

Knowing this, what is Zeti waiting for? Arul Kanda's reply, "we have already spent it", is silly.

Can ah, Thamby?

Sure or not?

4. Anonymous12:25 pm

This Cinabeng was nowhere to be seen or heard when Arul Kanda was himself misleading the public repeatedly, e.g.

a) What's in the BSI account?

b) Who repaid the Maybank-RHB 2 billion loan installment?

c) Why are accounts in Switzerland being frozen?

d) Is the FBI investigating 1MDB and the "donation"?

e) What's happened to the money "repatriated" from the Caymans?

Sure, Arul's only following in the lying footsteps of his boss, but still.

Credibility....yilek.

And that now also applies to Long Tick Ming or Ah Lian Teck or whatever his name is.

You are no friend of the rakyat, Saudari Ah Lian.

5. Anonymous12:50 pm

alamak satu lagi macai cari makan

sama macam locky

asal jangan dedak oklah

6. Anonymous1:38 pm

Why have none of the BN parties come forward to demand an explanation of 1MDB and the donation?

It's your image at stake.

You think voters will love you when you endorse corruption?

The world's leading exponent of "Run & Hide With Wet Underpants" actually had no genuine excuse for not answering to the people of Malaysia about the 2.6 billion.

He had promised to do so, after all.

Then he hid behind "sub judice".

Little problem:

The 2.6 billion is NOT sub judice.

"Former Court of Appeal judge Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof said today the matter of sub judice does not arise at all, since the issue is not before any court proceeding.

“An investigation (into an ongoing matter) is not a judicial proceeding. The rule on sub judice exists to prevent trial by media or by other external means so that judges and juries will not be influenced by external factors in coming to a judgment or decision,” Mohamad Ariff said. “When an issue has already entered into the public domain and there is keen public interest in getting to the truth of the matter, there is no issue of sub judice if no judicial proceeding on the matter is going on,” he added."

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.my/2015/12/two-former-judges-disagree-with-sub.html

If the 2.6 billion is sub judice, why has the Bugis crook been holding meetings with UMNO to "explain" the issue and 1MDB?

Has he held any meetings with Gelakan to "explain" the issues?

Or, is it not worth renting an entire venue for the use of...ummmmmm, 2 people, which is what Gelakan now has left in govt?

7. Anonymous1:55 pm

The prime minister is facing a moral and ethical dilemma and he knows this as well as many Malaysians. He is perhaps dragging this issue in the hope that Malaysians will forget. There are others creating distracting issues to deflect focus on this issue. Powerful elites have both the means and capacity to protect their skins.

No, the prime minister – as someone who has talked so much about integrity and having even established a portfolio under the prime minister’s department that looks after integrity, transparency and human rights – has to respond to the legitimate concerns of Malaysians both for the good of the nation and for himself personally. He need not be defensive if the truth is told.

We are one of the few nations – or maybe the only nation in the world – to have a minister for integrity, transparency and human rights. The way things are progressing makes a joke about the seriousness given to this task. The prime minister and his minister in charge are now both caught between the talk and the walk and the yawning gap that seems so evident.

All this remains the prime minister’s creation. When he chose to give your life to the public sphere, to be a politician and serve the public interest, it is only right for the public at large to ask and clarify concerns with him unlike the Umno general assembly held recently. This is even more so when the individual concerned is both the prime minister and finance minister of the nation.

Ideally, as many have remarked, the prime minister should have stepped aside and let the investigations proceed. He has sullied his name and image in the manner he has delayed the workings of the so-called independent task force, dismissed the sitting attorney general, appointed a new attorney general and then moved four members of the parliamentary accounts committee to become members of the executive. Every action that has been taken by him does not exemplify openness, transparency and integrity.

8. Anonymous1:58 pm

This GERAKAN MP also want to cari makan..

What else is new in this farce called "1MDB investigations"?

9. Anonymous2:00 pm

It is so simple.

Just provide answers.

Here are 20 questions that 1MDB & the govt have never answered:

http://kadirjasin.blogspot.my/2015/05/soalan-penyiasat-1mdb-wajib-tanya.html

Why should we believe Arul Kanda or the govt?

Examples of lies by 1MDB & MOF & even the lanun Bugis in Parliament:

a) Transfer of Cayman Funds to BSI (BSI then froze the account due to false reporting by 1MDB)

b) Who paid the 2 billion loan due to RHB & Maybank (4 different lies)

c) TRX land bought by TH to be sold in 2 weeks (pls remind that fat mamak, that was 7 months ago - 2 weeks pulak!)

d) Money must be kept in S'pore because BNM will not allow more than RM50 million to be transferred in and out of country (said by the lanun Bugis in Parliament)

e) "No bailout from govt funds" promise, then 3 days later RM950 million was taken to repay loan

and so on and so on.

And you want to salahkan Tun Dr M for asking?

Come on lah.

This is cheating the rakyat.

I think the 6 countries will soon uncover the truth.

Then, where will the liars hide?

1. bro anon,maybe you should become pac member.

2. Anonymous6:58 pm

Agree...

10. Anonymous4:17 pm

This US$850 million that went astray to a look-alike subsidiary of IPIC may be part of the missing US$2.4 billion that never reached IPIC, though 1MDB insisted that the money was sent to IPIC.

Mind you, this is still only the tip of the iceberg, considering the fact that of the total debt of some RM50 billion owed by 1MDB, there is hardly anything left in 1MDB to meet this mountain of debt, save its power assets which it recently sold at a loss for some RM10 billion plus the pricey landbank that it received earlier from the government virtually for free.

That means we are staring at potential loss of at least RM30 billion through this 1MDB misadventure, which will eventually be borne by the people.

11. Anonymous4:20 pm

" Despite agreeing that the PAC Chairman will be the only authorised person to issue statements about PAC sessions, I note with increasing concern that two of my fellow PAC members have ignored this understanding that we collectively agreed on."

Ehhhhhh, munafik.

Isn't your statement also a statement about PAC sessions, hence you are contradicting yourself?

*krik krik krik....*

12. Anonymous7:10 pm

This new report from the WSJ is NOT recycled.

It is very specific.

So specific, they cannot dare to face it head-on:

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2015/12/17/1mdb-critics-derailing-rationalisation-process/

A non-denial "denial" from Arul Kanda and his band of hacks.

Just answer the question:

Did you transfer money to a company called “Aabar Investments PJS Ltd"?

YES or NO?

Get it?

How simple can you get?

Please don't talk about "rationalisation".

1MDB "rationalisation" is merely the abortion; but who committed the rape?

13. Anonymous7:53 pm

1MDB is a failure of transparency, with so many lies and contradictions you cannot blame the people for not believing a word of it.

The same applies to the "donation".

Upon IMMEDIATELY admitting that the money had been deposited into his personal accounts, Najib should have done was to come up with a transparent statement of account detailing the figures of expenses that was used by the BN in GE13. After that, he should have transferred the balance either into Umno’s account or to the various BN parties. After all, the donation, in Najib’s own words, was for Umno and its allies.

If only this was done, many would have been satisfied. Certainly, Umno’s grassroots in the kampungs would be happy too. And the prime minister would have been spared of the many months of agony and misery of being under suspicion for selling the interests of the party and country to some Arab donors. His credibility would not have been dragged deep into the gutters too.

Najib’s detractors have good reasons to cast aspersions on him because the PM had been very secretive about the RM2.6 billion donation which is a lot of money indeed!
    When Dr Mahathir Mohamad remarked that some Arabs must be “gila” to give Najib so much money without expecting anything in return, people did not take that as a joke.

Even a simpleton would be able to rationalise that a man would not be that generous to give you so much money without any personal interests involved. This is why Najib has been paraded as the nation’s “No 1 suspect”.

It’s unfortunate for the PM that he did not respond and react quick enough to an issue of such great magnitude.

That’s his folly and an inaction on a matter that will probably haunt him for the rest of his life.

14. Anonymous8:03 am

Chicken Pua is what Mat Sabu was in Pas . He just got to open up his mouth to distract others from penang issues .
    Billion dollars corruption on land reclamation , Malay bashing with latest so called redevelopment on malay kampong , No affordable housing project , Discrimination on areas that are muslim majority... etc

It is a huge responsibility that Chicken Pua have to carry for DAPig ..

On top of that he got to get rid of the title Chicken that was bestowed on him by the rakyat for the blunder he did on Arul Kandasamy Abdullah .

Pity that he had to be a chicken cock .

PN

1. Anonymous5:30 pm

Chai 8.03,

Lu apeeee citeeee? Topik adalah emdebeenajeeeb.

15. Good job YB Liang. Takes guts to speak out against these lying scums. I am sure there will be many brickbats against you for this but we must not bow in defeat nor be silenced by the mud thrown, for the truth will prevail.

16. Anonymous12:59 pm

Is Liang Teck Meng trying to score "brownie points" as an upholder of good governance?

Oh, really?

a) The legal cases slapped against critical media and political opponents; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

b) The sudden sacking of the former attorney-general Abdul Gani Patail to prevent someone being charged; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

c) The illegal transfer of MACC officials to the PM’s Department and then the re-transfer; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

d) The jailing of whistle-blowers by abusing security laws; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

e) The removal of Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin merely for expressing genuine public worries; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

f) The banning of local publications (causing loss of livelihood to innocent journalists), yet not a shred of evidence that the facts published are false; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

g) The sabotage, arrests and intimidation of BNM, SB, MACC and AGC personnel to disrupt investigations; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

h) The six or seven lies that have been floated to the public about the "donation", without a clear answer after 5 months; Liang Teck Meng & Gerakan said NOTHING.

That's not a good track record, is it?

Gerakan has only two MPs now, which shows just how much you are respected.

Post GE-14, it will likely be zero.

Perhaps Liang is clinging to forlorn hopes of being a Senator after his party is wiped clean off the face of the earth?

You can join other great champions of the rakyat like Paul Low.

Good luck, bro.

17. Anonymous2:47 pm

http://www.astroawani.com/berita-malaysia/ambil-tindakan-ke-atas-anggota-pac-politikkan-prosiding-siasatan-1mdb-liang-85753

Why can't Liang see the massive hypocrisy in himself?

I think Pua once whacked him by saying that Liang barely asked questions in PAC, something like "if you read the records it's hard to believe he was even there."

Is this merely a desperate attempt by a political no-hoper like Liang to suddenly appear "hero"? The effect is opposite of that, because you just look like a no-hoper, Liang.

If Arul spent most of the 3 hours talking about future "rationalisation", what's the point? The public don't give a s*** about party politics, kawan. Even ordinary Umno members (besides those castrated eunuch "I love PM" rent-a-crowd in PWTC) want the truth.

The PAC should be made public, like in most countries.

18. Anonymous3:47 pm

Insaflah....

19. Mr Rocky , after that stupid cari makan statement, my trust on PAC plummeted like brick

20. Anonymous4:26 pm

Why is TS Ambrin Buang late with the Auditor-General's Report?

Is he waiting for the "Justo Dodge", where a Swiss guy is paid to say:

"Oh, none of the documents were showing any wrongdoing when I had them. Guess Thingy altered them".

But then...

a) Why would anyone pay you money not to reveal them? (Look up "blackmail", bro)

b) Why didn't Thingy woman just open a fresh Microsoft Word document, and make the whole thing up from scratch?

c) Justo is not the source of accuracy; all movements of money and why they happened can be established independently.

d) The PSI deal is about 10% of the whole 1MDB mess, and even that 10% has never been explained satisfactorily.

e) Is Zeti such a moron that she issued the revocation order on purely fictional grounds?

TS Ambrin Buang,

What gives, bro?

Is someone twisting your arm?

Is the Auditor-General's Report being altered or censored?

Have you spoken to:

a) Zeti and BNM

b) the sacked auditors?

Don't let the rakyat down, Tan Sri.

That's the PM's job.

21. Anonymous8:57 pm

Tut, tut.

The fat ugly hooker in Manchester has taken to calling people "dogs".

How uncouth. How unclassy.

Look in the mirror, kawan (if you can find one wide enough, and you don't die from the sheer embarrassment of that silly beret, that is.)

"But that is life. People forget the good things you do for them. But they are quick to whack you when you no longer send them money every month. And they forget that you helped them not because it was your job to do so but out of the kindness of your heart. This is what politics is all about"....says RPK, drowning in his own self-pity. (I guess if you drive that new Beemer fast enough, the crocodile tears will dry quicker. Try it.)

He has a point, though.

"Raja Petra was represented by six lawyers – Bukit Gelugor MP Karpal Singh, K. Balaguru, PKR's Selayang MP William Leong, J. Chandra, DAP's Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng and Jeswinderjit Singh.

Raja Petra's website issued a call for donation of RM1 per person to his legal aid fund. At 6.45pm, RM24,500 had been credited to his CIMB bank account, and the fund had collected an additional US$3,283.61 through a Paypal account. It has been closed since."

Amboi. Melayu celup mudah lupa.

"And they forget that you helped them not because it was your job to do so but out of the kindness of your heart. This is what politics is all about."

Yep. So it seems.

22. Anonymous10:57 am

Dear Datuk,

I was in the meeting and I should agreed with this YB. Arul did explained well on most of the questions asked by PAC member. He even present the details on rationalization plan and also most of the transaction made by 1MDB previoulsy. The only question arul refused to answer was the one publisehd by WSJ a day before. He did give reason why he will not answer that question. But YB Tony cannot accept the reason given. During the meeting I was wondering that the info was purposely published a day before PAC for YB Tony to shoot Arul.

YB Tony is lucky that other than politician, non of the other attendees in PAC meeting can give statement (or dare giving statement to media). I would suggest PAC to be live telecast so that the rakyat can judge personally not based on statement made by 1 or 2 PAC members.

Thanks

23. Anonymous4:16 pm

Annie may not have the fanciest writing skills, but she does have lots of common sense:

http://lifeofaannie.blogspot.my/2015/12/crushing-rebelsand-everyone-else.html

Her sentiments are far more in touch with the public sentiment than Brick, who has never been the same since Tony Fernandes made him clean AirAsia's windows with his tongue a couple of years ago.

Sedihnya...

24. Anonymous5:22 pm

10:57 am

"I was in the meeting and I should agreed with this YB. Arul did explained well on most of the questions asked by PAC member."

Lu PAC member ka?

Kinaps lu punya Engrish manya bloken arrr?

Gua ingat lu tipu la.

25. Anonymous10:27 am

Terimakasih Mr Liang kerana tunjukkan betapa hipokrit dan penipunya Mr Pua.

Org Muo

26. Anonymous6:59 pm

In Shaa Allah, Najib will be proven innocent.