Tuesday, February 24, 2015

The "scariest man in Malaysia" joins anti-graft Commission

IN: Citizen Nades

Have guts will travel. The appointment of journalist R. Nadeswaran to one of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) main panels may be a cause for some to object, but I see it as the continuation of a fine - and brave - tradition by Tan Sri Abu Kassim, the MACC chief, to include the strongest critics to provide it with ideas and feedback on how to get the bad guys and improve the MACC operations and procedures. You can read why Citizen Nades is feared by so many in the authority h e r e.

OUT: Syed Akbar Ali
Syed Akbar Ali, whose blog Outside the Box has become probably the Top 3 baddest critics of the Prime Minister Najib Razak,  bows out from the MACC yesterday after two full terms as a Commissioner.

p.s. The MACC, formerly knowan as the Anti-Corruption Agency, (ACA), is the goverment agency that investigates and prosecutes corruption in public and provate sectors. The PM appoints the Commissioners for the following three panels (two other panels are appointed by the King):

Ahli Panel Penilaian Operasi

Tan Sri Datuk Amar Hamid Bugo, Mantan Setiausaha Kerajaan Negeri Sarawak (baru)
Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Mohamed Jawhar Hassan, Pengerusi New Straits Times Press (M) Berhad (baru)
Datuk Zamani Abdul Ghani – Pengerusi Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad (baru)
Datuk Azizah Arshad, Mantan Timbalan Ketua Audit Negara (baru)
Dato’ Wan Abdul Wahab Abdullah, Mantan Ketua Pengarah Biro Pengaduan Awam
Profesor Dr. Normah Omar, Pengarah Institut Penyelidikan Perakaunan (UiTM)  (baru)
Dr. Sundramoorthy M. Pathmanathan, Profesor Madya Fakulti Kriminologi, Universiti Sains Malaysia (baru)
Lim Chee Wee, Mantan Presiden Majlis Peguam Malaysia (baru)

Ahli Panel Perundingan dan Pencegahan Rasuah

Tan Sri Johan Jaaffar, Pengerusi Media Prima Bhd
Tan Sri Lim Kok Wing, Presiden Universiti Limkokwing
Datuk Dr. Marimuthu Nadason, Presiden Gabungan Persatuan Pengguna-Pengguna Malaysia
Dato’ Hussamuddin Haji Yaacub, Pengerusi dan Pengarah Urusan  Kumpulan Media Karangkraf (baru) 
Dato’ Profesor Dr. Engr. Chin Yew Sin, Timbalan Setiausaha Agong Kehormat Gabungan Pertubuhan Cina Malaysia (Huazong)
Dato' Zuraidah Atan, Peguam bela & Peguam cara 
Dato’ Wan Mohamad Sheikh Abdul Aziz, Mantan Ketua Pengarah JAKIM (baru)
Dato’ Khalid Ibrahim, Mantan Ketua Pengarah Biro Pengaduan Awam (baru)
Dato’ Sharifah Mohd Ismail, Presiden Institutei of Marketing Malaysia (baru)
Dato’ Dr. Anwar Fazal, Mantan Pengarah Kolej Right Livelihood, Universiti Sains Malaysia (baru) 
Profesor Dr. Syed Noh Syed Ahmad, Pensyarah Fakulti Perakaunan, UiTM (baru) 
Profesor Madya Dr Ismail Sualman, Pensyarah Komunikasi dan Pengajian Media, UiTM (baru)
Walter Sandosam, Mantan Presiden Institut Audit Dalaman Malaysia (baru)
R. Nadeswaran, Pengarang, The Sun Daily (baru)

Ahli Jawatankuasa Aduan

Tan Sri Datuk Amar Wilson Baya Dandot, Mantan Setiausaha Kerajaan Negeri Sarawak
Datuk Muhammad Hatta Abd. Aziz, Mantan Setiausaha Persekutuan Sabah (baru) 
Dato' Ahmad Said, Mantan Timbalan Ketua Pengarah Perkhidmatan Awam (baru)
Hajah Rohani Abdul Kadir, Mantan Pengarah Pengurusan Sumber Manusia & Perkhidmatan Am (baru)

13 comments:

1. Anonymous11:40 am

As a sarawakian and many others from my home state, the appointment of hamid bugo and wilson dandot is a blatant insult to most sarawakians be they civil servants, those in the private sector and the general public.

We know who they are as they were abettors/proxies to ex cm taib. Whislt most sarawakians know that taib is in macc list of bad guys, not many are aware that thera are files on hamid bugo and wilson dandot. Local staff of macc used to confide in us that their file are not moving either failure to get them to get access to their records or instructions from top to lie low.

2. Anonymous11:46 am

To the chivalrous among our public officers:
    Please enlist the participation of Mr. Syed Akbar Ali in any official function for the public good.

3. charleskiwi12:46 pm

Vow, everyone of them is either a Tan Sri or a Dauk ! At the rate these Tuns, Tan Sris and Datuks are appointed annually by the 11 Sutans and the 4 Governors. it wouldn't take long before it would be hard to find some one especially one from Umno and the civil services who is not one of them !

4. I maybe to shut him up.

5. Anonymous2:00 pm

Latuk,

For once in your life, you got it right by welcoming R. Nadeswaran.

Fight without fear or favour, Nades. Whether gomen or oppo, give 'em hell on our behalf.

PS: As usual, Latuk, your proofreading & spelling are atrocious - it's "Outsyed", as in "Syed", see?

It's only your sheer hensumness that keeps me coming back, you know.

6. Anonymous2:21 pm

come on lah...don't be stupid...

let them start working and perform...

don't be sceptical....

They are not working alone....they are in group whete they can discuss, arguing and give suggestion....

7. Anonymous5:12 pm

I just hope Nades can last long. With the way the MACC is doing things I dont think a righteous person will last long if he stays true to his principle of without fear or favor.

8. Anonymous5:31 pm

You have read the lines well. Please also read between the lines- Journalist&Advocates.

9. Anonymous5:36 pm

bunch of DUMBNO toadies ....btw what did the last bunch actually achieve.Nothing , nada, ......just like this bunch....

10. Anonymous10:45 pm

The bad guy in bribery involves two partys.Givers and takers.In this part of the world the takers are the bad guy while the givers are considered smart and intelligent especially in dealing/doing haram bisness.If Nades can hunt and reveal this people which I consider the root cause of the problem and the real cultprit.Salute you Mr Nades!

11. Anonymous10:35 pm

HA ha Ha Ha Ha ha ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ah ah no more comments!!!!!

12. Anonymous2:25 pm

Melayu kalau ada ijazah...speaking english...sure dapat datuk

13. Anonymous3:33 pm

Saya Pilih Malaysia http://www.apanama.my/2015/02/what-do-you-think.html