Thursday, January 01, 2015

2015: WIll you stand behind your Prime Minister?

"These are the worst of times, these are the best of times." - Anonymous, near the end of 2014 yesterday.
I am positive that things will be looking up, especially for the average Jo. I am confident that this government and this Prime Minister will not let things fall apart, that we as a nation will prevail." 
Kuala Lumpur, Jan 1: If my Facebook greetings for 2015 had sounded too optimistic, I think that's because some of us are being overly pessimistic of prospects during the New Year. Yes, 2014 was one of the most trying years for this young nation but it's how we learn from these lessons in life that will determine where we go from here. Make no mistake: 2015 will be a very tough year. When the going gets tough, you don't break up -- you unite. Let's not stand behind Najib Razak because it's the convenient thing and politically expedient to do; let's stand behind him because we know he needs our support to deal with the massive challenges that will come our way and that will determine the very future of this nation.

I have not always been a supporter of the government of the day, as my online record since 2006 would speak for itself, but in all honesty, given these extremely challenging times, I don't see anyone else who's more able to carry Malaysia through Dr Mahathir Mohamad's Vision 2020 other than Najib Razak. I think you'd agree with me that he'd dealt with the biggest crises we faced in 2014 extremely well, the worst-floods-in-a-decade included. My wish for 2015 is that he wastes no more time and just fix some of the more urgent housekeeping issues that have been letting him down lately. If some of his aides and Ministers have to go so that his Administration can move faster, let them go. As one of Najib's own officers is fond of saying, "Some things are beyond good manners". I wish, too, that the PM would stop being nice to everybody. You don't win wars wish niceness, Sir.

But what do I know, right?

p.s. I know that we should all share the PM's hopes for 2015. May he - and we - have the strength to succeed ...

2015: Najib Hopes To Build Safer, More Prosperous And More Equal Society

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak
KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 31 (Bernama) -- Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak hopes to build a safer, more prosperous, and more equal society next year, by focusing on the lives and needs of the rakyat.

Prime Minister in his End of Year Message on his blog, www.najibrazak.com Wednesday said in the months and years ahead, his focus was on the rakyat.

"Although Malaysia's economic performance has been exceptional, I know that people do not always feel they are getting their piece of our national success.

"So alongside our efforts to strengthen our economy by raising incomes, reducing spending, and boosting productivity, we will also work to reduce inequality by narrowing the gap between the rich and poor," he said.

Najib said he was confident that Malaysia's economy would continue to grow, and bring more jobs and a better standard of living, because of the strong fundamentals, and clear and consistent government policy.

"Our economy is on track to grow by 5.7 per cent this year, and 4.7 per cent in 2015. Our deficit is falling, our reserves are strong; we have trusted financial institutions, low unemployment, and record levels of foreign investment.

"Malaysia's economy is well placed to weather any storms," he said.

Najib said Malaysia needed to be proactive to build a resilient economy that was prepared for any eventuality.

"With global events causing problems for many countries, I am pleased that we have already taken measures to protect our economy. Just last week, the World Bank confirmed that Malaysia remains in a strong position precisely because we acted to rationalise subsidies," he said.

He said the Goods and Services Tax (GST), which would be introduced on April 1 next year, would help strengthen the government finances so that Malaysia could continue productive expenditure on things like roads, schools and hospitals for the benefit of the people.

"And alongside the GST, we will continue the reforms to make our economy more competitive, which will bring more opportunities for our businesses and higher income for the people," he said.

Najib said that to ensure the safety and security of the Malaysian people from the increasing threats of terrorist groups, the government had introduced a new terrorism white paper and was also strengthening the country's cooperation with foreign intelligence agencies.

"My greatest responsibility as the prime minister is to ensure the safety and security of the Malaysian people. Our position is quite clear; we reject this so-called Islamic State. We reject this state defined by extremism. And we condemn the violence being committed in the name of Islam," he said.

On recent floods suffered in several states, Najib said the government s priority was to get help to people who need it now, with the supplies and assistance for those who were stranded or displaced, and financial support, so that people can get their lives back together.

Next year, he said, the government's priority was to rebuild the infrastructure, businesses and homes that were damaged in an environmentally friendly way so that future floods would not be more likely or more damaging.

Najib said Malaysia would play a much bigger role in the region and world affairs in the year to come.

"Next year, we will chair Asean, as we prepare to launch the Asean Community. "In 2015, under Malaysia's chairmanship, we will lay the foundations for deeper regional integration. For the people of Asean, this will mean more opportunities with more jobs, and easier ways to do business.

"In 2015, we will also hold a non-permanent seat on the United Nations (UN) Security Council. Far from just a diplomatic badge of pride, this is a chance for Malaysia to state our support for key objectives, including a dignified and secure future for the Palestinian people and make a real contribution to global security problems," he said.

Najib described 2014 as the most challenging year of his career and one of the most difficult years in Malaysia's history with the disappearance of Malaysia Airlines (MAS) flight MH370 and the destruction of MH17.

"2014 did bring prosperity for Malaysia, but it was also the year we were united in grief. I believe we will come out of these twin tragedies stronger and more determined.

"In mosques, churches and temples, in shopping malls and online, Malaysians responded to these tragedies as one. We have been tested by disaster, but the spirit of the nation remains strong," he said.

MH370, enroute from Kuala Lumpur to Beijing, disappeared on March 8 while MH17, during its journey from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur, was shot down in eastern Ukraine on July 17.

On the AirAsia Indonesia flight QZ8501 tragedy, the prime minister said: "Our thoughts are with our brothers and sisters in Indonesia."

Amidst the tragedies, there were high points in 2014, including the country's 40th anniversary of diplomatic relations with China and United States President Barack Obama's visit to Malaysia.

-- BERNAMA

39 comments:

1. Anonymous2:47 pm

Maybe our PM is not the "perfect man". He is not The Insanul Kamil. Maybe he is just an ordinary man like you and me. But I'll still support him simply because the candidate promoted to replace him....such as DSAI, or other PR leaders.... are such a jerk.... and cannot be trusted... At least PM Najib has show something that he is worth for... But what has been shown by DSAI, LKS, Hadi Awang... or even Nik Aziz?

1. Anonymous7:19 am

Setuju. Mereka itu pandai mengutuk saja kerja tak pandai. Tetapi pandai memperbiyolkan species yg suka d biyolkan.
      Budak2 main air banjir pon nak salahkan pm adoiii. Jaga la anak2 kau. Kanak2 slalunya mmg suka,main air. Air banjir itu bknnya bersih pon.

2. Anonymous5:50 pm

We stand behind FLOM.....for her contributions to Malaysia

2. I love my country and I fully support UMNO and the BN government BUT our Prime Minister has been weak, very, very weak. UMNO needs a shake-up too. We are victims of the age-old Malay problem of not willing to embrace change, especially in the context of leadership. There is also that assumption that age brings wisdom whereas young people are not old enough to hold the senior positions.

I will support the Prime Minister if he will stand up to the chauvinistic Chinese in Malaysia. They are the prime cause of the racial tension in Malaysia.

3. Salam 2015. Yes indeed he is the best person to lead this great nation at least until he is challenge. Many support him as a lot more don't. If Tun Dr Mahathir cry fouls then its time to buck up. Sadly he doesn't.

4. I will stand behind him if...
    He did the right things. He can show proves if anyone accused him. He listen to to TDM more than he listen to consultants. And lastly... he think about our future instead of his election. Tq

5. Mazlan6:09 pm

Its not about standing behind the Prime Minister - the Prime Minister and elected politicians are elected by the people for the people. They serve at the pleasure of the Malaysian people. Therefore they should stand behind us.
    One thing that has shown many is that the public has shown more unity and common sense in getting things done than the PM and the politicians of all colours have shown.
    The PM - and those in the opposition have failed to show leadership or more importantly statesmanship.
    The flooding situation has shown complete failure in organisation - but volunteers and the common citizen have come together to help those in need.
    Seabees the Malaysian public - and shame on the PM and all those useless politicians. They forget they are public servants and not our bosses....

6. Anonymous7:01 pm

Yes, I am an ordinary Muslimah. I grow up with my country. I am 57 years old. I support my PM. He is cool. I always pray for the blessings of Allah upon his health, his strengths in handling this complaining rakyat nation.

It is not easy up there. Never easy and not anyone can handle it. It is easy for us to type this from the comfort of our home, air-conditioned office, Starbucks but he is out there in the real field, facing all sorts of tests and tribulations, left and right and most of us are not helping in anyway.

So sad, most of us only see our PM's fault, any little flaw no matter how he tried to explain it. Not only that some of the over smart Malaysians even tried to question and trace his family whereabouts! And yet if his wife came along visiting the flood victims, they hated her! They even want his wife to the be woman of their choice if possible!

7. Anonymous10:35 pm

Belacan Melaka says,
    It's easy for you to say so.For many years since took over fr 'sleepy so' and numerous 2nd chances along the way wasted and vanish like MH370 he did a erectile dysfunction.Like playing cards you don't have a winning hand here.Sorry bro.

1. Anonymous7:24 am

Haha mh370 vanish pon salahkan pm species like this la I cannot tahan one maaahh..atas ada,kurang sikit.

8. Anonymous11:28 pm

I will support the PM if he reinstate ISA and put all of Perkasa, ISMA, and bangang bloggers in jail and throw away the keys.

9. Anonymous11:30 pm

My hope for Lim Kit Siang for the 1st Malaysian real Malaysian not Chinese to be PM for Malaysia. He has a vision to take us all to higher level. Unfortunately he still using Á Rocket which a one way trip.

10. charleskiwi8:27 am

Just remember the once greatest country in the world is now in a dire financial difficulty.
    I am not trying to saying Malaysia was ever near to be consider a great or rich country. What I am trying to say that even the once greatest country in the world can still fall to the bottom.
    Therefore Malaysia should not be too complacent about what they truly are, the shambles that Malaysia is now facing is only just the beginning of the consequences of what is to come. This is, in fact, only the beginning of the many shambles that the country will be getting. Just like a plant one will only know how healthy the tree it will and what kind of fruits it will bear all these need time and now it is time for Malaysia to confront the policies it implemented over the years under the control of Umno. I mention Umno because all the 'partners' in BN are just there to endorse whatever Umno want and desire.
    These junior partners do not have any say or come up with suggestions of the kind of policies the country should have. Just endorse and accept whatever Umno has come with, or get kick out of the cabinet and loose all the glamours that a cabinet post has to offer. These are the final results of marginalization of the professionals that do not have the preferred skin colour of Umno.
    These policies have successfully driven the professionals out of this country and also have the civil services in Malaysia occupied by the lazy and corrupt officials. Now that the time has come for the country to find out how healthy the tree is or what kind of fruits the tree will bring. There is no immediate remedy for the trees or shall I say for all the policies Umno had implemented over all the years they been in control of this country. It all started by the repugnant and avaricious Mahathir during the 22 years of his tenure as the PM.
    The only solution to the present problem Malaysia is facing is to uproot all the policies that he introduced or implemented and start planting a new crop of plants.
    I am not here to advocating for any one race to be neglected in the implementation of a new policy. But a policy that will reflect the true ratio of the people in this country. After all we are all immigrants, except the Orang Asli and the Head Hunters. Until this is done Malaysia will never ever be a prosperous and peaceful country.

1. the only remedy is that the 'tree' needs pruning.....heavy pruning not just some ordinary maintenance pruning....hehehe....

2. Anonymous8:57 pm

Orang Melayu datang ke negara ini bukan dibawa oleh British kerana INI memang negeri orang Melayu. Kaum india dan cina datang kesini dibawa oleh British sebab itu mereka patut balik ke negara asal. Apa dasar UMNO Dan bn yg merampas Hak pendatang india dan cina? Senaraikan!!! Inilah keturunan pendatang keling yg tak kenal diri dan tahu berterima kasih. Selagi vada keturunan pendatang keling seperti kamulah negara asal Hak Melayu INI tidak akan Aman. Cakap bahasa kebangsaanlah kalau kamu warga negara!!

11. Anonymous8:56 am

Najib can kiss my ass

12. Massive challenges indeed.

Good of you to recognize Vision 2020 as a worthy and proper goal.

What kind of resilience are we talking about when we just a year ago spent billions trying to bribe the electorate and lost?

13. Shariff2:55 pm

Mana Rosmah? Is she even in the country standing beside 'her man'?

14. Will you stand behind your Prime Minister?"......

......and push him into the flood waters?

15. Anonymous5:11 pm

No, I won't be standing behind him. I will stand infront of him shouting, come on. U are lagging behind.

16. Anonymous5:42 pm

Q: "2015: WIll you stand behind your Prime Minister?"

A: "Depends if I can find him."

Given that he spends 65% of the year missing, and the other 35% in Malaysia....but still "missing"

LOL...you walked straight into that one bro!

17. Anonymous9:14 pm

The top guy can't come clean with the people's 1MDB billions lost in the floodwaters of cronyism and mismanagement, now how do you stand behind that man?

18. Anonymous10:11 pm

Why should I stand behind a Man with no balls to tackle religious extremism infecting this country
    Why should I stand behind this Man who is leading Malaysia to bankruptcy through is crazy 1MDB
    Why should I stand behind this man who thing everyone can be bought for a few hundred ringgit
    Why should I stand behind this man who thinks national assets is for his personal use as and when he or his wife like.Hmm has the Jet finally landed in Malaysia??
    Why should I stand behind this man who is so detached from the suffering of the common man
    Why ...Why...Why....

19. Anonymous1:31 am

So boring lah your ass kissing article.

20. Being a regular reader and commentator of Rocky's online news network, I wish to express my thanks and gratitude to my friend Rocky for his commitment to change the negative attitude of some of our Malaysians who are deadly against DS Najib's administration.

His lead story today asking people to standby for Najib is both timely and appropriate in our attempts to share our responsibility and helping our PM in supporting and managing this country to greater height in 2015 and beyond. I am both a loyalist and diehard supporter of DS Najib Tun Razak and will stand by him until my last breathe..I am on page 72 this year and pray that I will be given few more years to be part of this country's future development under PM Najib.

Sir, DS Najib I may not be seen close to you in your tireless effort to ensure that Malaysia under your charge will only get better in all aspect of our national endeavours, but rest assured you will always have my support in my small way as long as my health permits, though I am now recovering from my nose cancer. I wish you well in this year 2015 and beyond and hope that you will be in the best of health in order to continue leading this nation to a more prosperous and equable future for all Malaysians, irrespective of our races, religions and cultures. May God bless you DS Najib and family.

21. IT.Scheiss6:35 am

These floods have most badly affected ordinary people, most of who presumably are UMNO supporters and if the implementation of the GST on 1st April 2015 results in rising costs of living for such people, I am sure that many of these people will no longer be UMNO supporters.

This I can understand why many within UMNO feel the need to dump Najib.

22. Anonymous10:35 am

"I wish, too, that the PM would stop being nice to everybody. You don't win wars wish niceness, Sir."

Now, let's please be fair to the man.

He's abused the Sedition Act to hassle close to 20 people, threatened to sue politicians over allegations that even Dr M thinks are serious questions worth raising on 1MDB, and threatened two publications with closure or lawsuits over remarks made in public interest.

No, he's not nice at all.

But then, he's not competent at all, either, so that's a nice balance, I suppose.

PS: That should have been "WITH" niceness, not "WISH" niceness, Latuk. Those single malts can take a real toll on your proofreading skills, bro.

23. Anonymous12:02 pm

what kind of crap you writing rocky , even I didn't finish your long ass licking article . I won't support najib , unless najib give me what he give u then I will start write ass licking article

24. Anonymous1:06 pm

How was your hero SIMULTANEOUSLY on the govt plane on the NY-LA-Dubai-Bangkok leg of its journey, and in the east coast of Malaysia wetting his trouser legs for a photo op?

AT THE SAME TIME?

Then, he teleported himself to Bangkok without a plane?

Really?

FAIL punya cover-up, la.....LOL

25. Anonymous2:33 pm

But he is too nice and too weak. We need a strong leader. He is relying too much on his advisors and consultants. Possibly his main objective & outcome is to remain as the PM.

With the current trend of advising consultants, the outcome is essential. You can say what ever you want but as long as he remains the PM...then you bark at the mountain forever. He is a populist and with no strong inner feeling for the country & rakyat. Or maybe he has it, but unclear of what to do.

Jln Reko

26. Anonymous4:53 pm

"Will you stand behind your Prime Minister?"......

......and push him into the flood waters?

No.

He can wet his own pants legs without our help, as long as there are cameramen nearby, and people to unroll his socks for him.

Puihhhhhhh...

27. Long Tall Sally5:48 pm

Aiseh, man - you all so stupid, lah!

Actually, this Pee Em is one heck of a nice guy. Got liberal instincts and all. Got got "moderation" some more.

Only problemo is those nasty rightists and conservatives who keep on telling him that they are being threatened, sidelined and mocked, and if he doesn't kowtow to them, sure kena one.

So, this nice well-meaning Pee Em gotta give in, leh. In spite of his better instincts and "gut" feel.

A lot of insecurities floating around these days....tapi rakyat mesti cari makan.

So, what to do, ah?

28. Anonymous12:31 am

Mohon Blogger Pro Kerajaan supaya memberikan Penekanan, Pendedahan serupa 999, mengenai kemusnahan Hutan yang berlaku di Kelantan..

Blogger Pro Kerajaan dapatkan DANA drp pihak yg terbabit pergi sendiri ke kawasan tadahan hujan yg digondolkan dengan kejam oleh Regim DAP Bersaudara akibat kelulusan membabi buta oleh Pemerintah Kelantan iaitu Nik Aziz dan Husam Musa dan keseluruhan Exco terlibat perlu mengambil tanggungjawab di atas keputusan mereka.

Mohon dapatkan gambar, interview dgn penduduk kampung, organisasi kerajaan pusat dan tempatan mengenai pembalakkan Halal dan Haram.

Pembersihan Hutan yang berleluasa menyebabkan Air Menjadi Ombak Tsunami memusnahkan ratusan rumah, jalan dan jambatan..

Serang Kelantan..

Operasi Tsunami Kuning.

Blogger Pembangkang gunakan isu Jet Kerajaan untuk alih isu Banjir Tsunami apalagi nak menyentuh Pembalakkan di Kelantan??

1. Anonymous1:21 am

Go fly kite rocky bru and ur kangkung pm

2. Anonymous3:33 am

Yes i support you.....why stand behind this Kankung PM....he is worthless...

29. Anonymous1:09 pm

no mr writer and mr PM....I am not supporting you anylonger....

30. Anonymous8:10 am

Mustafa Abdullah Ong, Rocky Bru, and a few others are purely brownwn-nosers for Bijan. Take a poll, or simply check against the commentators here. How many say yes to Bijan ? I would say 70% said no.

So, brown nosers like Mustafa Ong and Rocky, will you accept the verdict of the majority ? Will you stop kissing his ass and tell him it's time to go for the betterment of our country ?