Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Old men rise again

Did you hear about Halim Saad and his lawyer Abdul Rashid Manaf teaming up to buy over a 30 per cent stake in CN Asia Bhd?  You heard right. The deal's going down next week, I was told. 
A younger Halim

If all goes as planned CN Asia will become the second national oil company with focus on overseas assets. 
Halim is on a hot streak, having helped Sumatec Resources become the first PN17 firm to have a RM1bil market capitalisation while Rashid Manaf took over Focal Aims Bhd in preparation to help Tan Sri Liew knockout the salarymen at PNB and SP Setia. 
Both Halim and Rash Manaf are veterans. Instead of taking it easy in their twilight years, these old guards have become flag carriers (again).  
Question is, where are the young guns? 
Who killed the young Malay entrepereneurs? Khazanah Nasional? PNB? Can't be the DAP ... 
To be cont'd ...

15 comments:

1. Anonymous2:19 pm

Buy CN Asia.
    I am from New Zealand married to a women whoes daddy is big in KN Kenanga

2. Anonymous3:21 pm

Anon 2.19,

You're from New Zealand? Your English sure sucks!! Who killed Malay entrepreneurs? Please ask Putrajaya, especially during that sleepyhead's administration.

3. Anonymous3:30 pm

Halim Saad deserves it. That is what doing business is all about. You keep trying till you succeed. You fall you try again. He was a feared but respected figure back in Renong days. The man is a workaholic.

I shall always remember his method of hiring staffs.

Stupid but hardworking. Keep
    Hardworking and smart. Keep
    Stupid and lazy. Chop it off. It is cancer.

So true.

4. Anonymous3:42 pm

Yes Rock, Pak Lah started the ball rolling to cut every spirit of Bumi businessman that was by handing khazanah to the armchair strategist of Amokh and the gang. Govt agencies instead of helping bumi and non-bumi business people kill ll of them by competing in the business themselves.

5. Anonymous3:43 pm

Hie Ross... did you communicate via phone with B T. Dont sell ...we kick the bast out

6. Anonymous5:52 pm

Ross of new zealand killed the Malay

7. Anonymous8:43 pm

Anon 2.19
    U r actually from felda kampung new zealand. u r married to some guy in felda kampung paris.

8. Anonymous9:25 pm

it wasnt sleepyhead all by himself. his young and ambitious SIL KJ was the culprit that destroyed UMNO and the malays. this budak beringus as Tun M says was the one behind all the liberal policies during that time. it was too late for Najib to undo what budak beringus Kj did. Plus Najib being a softie makes it worst. Now you look at that budak running around trying to gain popularity as Sports Minister and shooting his mouth off whenever he has the opportunity. S, my take is this budak memang lah si Kitul yang merosakkan bangsa!!

9. Anonymous10:04 pm

Don't just put the blame on Pak Lah alone. Keep some for Ah Jib Gor. Ah Jib Gor is the one who abolished MECD.

10. Anonymous10:07 pm

Anon 3.42 - unfortunately the successor also felt what his predecessor did was right and continued the unbundling and bungling, eh?

11. JalanStraitsview10:27 pm

So, can Halim Saad turn around MAS, where Taj Ramli and Khazanah failed?

It would be interesting to see him butt heads with the MAS unions!

As for "young Malay entrepreneurs" - in a free market capitalist system, they fail or succeed according to the strength and viability of their businesses.

And what's with "Malay entrepreneurs" only? Aren't young Malaysian Chinese, Indian and Eurasian entrepreneurs equally deserving of support, or are they to be relegated to second class status?

Just asking, Bru, so that we know exactly where you are coming from.

12. Anonymous4:01 am

Tony Pua killed the Malay biz men

13. Anonymous5:22 pm

The return of Daim boys. Stay tune folks. There's more to come...

14. Anonymous9:36 pm

I totally agree with anon 9:25 that the rot in UMNO starts during Abdullah Badawi premiership where he allows KJ and his boys to run the country. Now, Najib being too soft as he is could not undo all the problems created by KJ. This man child KJ is similar to Anwar where their ambition is to be in Putrajaya leading UMNO. So, this man child KJ needs to be remove asap.

15. Why would a malay want to be an entrepreneur when they can get big pay working in the GLC's with perks and less risks.
    In any case, the funds set up by najib is competing in fields dominated by bumiputra companies.
    You can still see some malay entrepreneur, but we dunno if they are making good. Sani united being one. you can see his express buses and hotel.He drives Ferrari so credit rating must be good.