Friday, November 01, 2013

Diwali 2013

And why a two-day holiday is not too much to ask for. Happy Deepavali to all Malaysians, especially my Hindu brothers and sisters, uncles and aunties, wherever you are ... 
MIC, the party in government representative of Malaysian Indians, will make a formal request to PM Najib Razak for Deepavali hols to be increased to TWO days instead of one.  
I wish MIC luck. I agree, absolutely. Diwali is a major holy day for our country, so I can't imagine how or why we are given only one day to celebrate it when we get TWO days to mark, say, Chinese New Year. 

19 comments:

1. Anonymous9:58 pm

Go tell those UMNO morons not to complain when Indian newspaper vendors are on Deepavali leave!

2. Anonymous10:13 pm

For a start, stop slaughtering cows in school boleh? Also dont stop Hindus from building nice temples in Klang can? After all they r using their own monies & not taxpayers monies. Then only talk about giving holidays.

3. Anonymous10:18 pm

Aiya rocky dont pretend to be so want to suck up to our Indian brothers. I remember u calling N Surendran a Keling bastard

4. Anonymous12:14 am

10:18 pm,

Suck up? Where got? Just trying to start a fight between the keling bastards and the cinababi bastards. Read the post again, more carefully lah....

5. salam brotherhood bro
    mohon tumpang pautan di blog u bro
    tq salam perjuangan
    http://pecahpalakmikir.blogspot.com

6. Anonymous2:17 am

Happy Deepavali brethren,

Siddha Khrishnamurti counsels us to find the light in ourselves ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYLNbZGpDmE

7. Anonymous5:35 am

There Rocks goes again with subtle undertones.- two days to mark Hari Raya AND Chinese New Year.

Thats balanced journalism and responsible writing.

8. Anonymous6:10 am

Aiya dont flatter yourself in thinking u can start a fight between indians & chinese lah. The Indians will never forgive those UMNO goons who tell police to shoot first. Till today no one is held accountable for the police shooting of 4 Indians two months ago

9. Anonymous10:45 am

This a good day UMNO should slaughter cattle in Hindu Temples.
    That is muhibbah.

10. Folks, please ignore Anon 1045am. Stupid is as stupid goes, even under the cover of anonymity.

11. Well, I guess Bru is right. I always read that Diwali is the biggest Hindu festival and it's 5-day celebration and couldn't believe that it has only 1 official non-working holiday. But friends, just remember that the celebration is in the hearts and thoughts. Even it is only celebrated on one day, you can celebrate diwali for the whole year 365 days a year, if it's really in your heart.

My best wishes to all on Diwali!

Yours truly,
    Anne Walker

12. Anonymous3:54 pm

We want to see more substantive improvements to the socio & economic plight of the Indians instead of cosmetic form of declaring holidays. More genuine assistance to the Indian community in equal education opportunity & respect for religious belief instead of government heavy handidness in demolishing Hindu temples, butchering of cows in front of Hindu schoolchildren, telling them they are pendatang and to go back to India. These acts are unacceptable in a modern Malaysia.

13. Anonymous4:03 pm

Anne Walker, since Diwali is celebrated 365 days a year then lets hv holiday throughout the year. Hooray! U know Malaysia doesnt have enough holidays. We need more, holidays, the more the merrier. Also please dont forget us Sikhs. We dont hv any public holidays of our own you know. We shd have at least holiday on our New Year day.

14. Anonymous4:52 pm

Bru said...

Folks, please ignore Anon 1045am. Stupid is as stupid goes, even under the cover of anonymity.

11:19 am
    Still talking about yourself all the time, I see.Katak dibawa tempurung or too much whisky?

Still on the subject of animals, here's respected UK journalist Mehdi Hasan talking about non-believers as "cattle":

"The kuffar, the disbelievers, the atheists who remain deaf and stubborn to the teachings of Islam, the rational message of the Koran; they are described in the Koran as 'a people of no intelligence', Allah describes them as not of no morality, not as people of no belief – people of 'no intelligence' – because they’re incapable of the intellectual effort it requires to shake off those blind prejudices, to shake off those easy assumptions about this world, about the existence of God. In this respect, the Koran describes the atheists as 'cattle', as cattle of those who grow the crops and do not stop and wonder about this world."

15. Anonymous9:43 pm

Oh please, please can we kick the Chinese out of this country.. after all they did breach the social contact duh... Come here make money now thinks they can own everything?? Damn fucks!! Blahla! Malays and Indians can prosper without u parasites!

16. Anonymous10:49 am

I love to eat meat and I love to slaughter cows.....even in school fields. That is my right, live with that!

17. Anonymous12:39 am

hahaha make it 360 day like i care , just my worried i live among the dumbest people in the world

18. Anon 4.03
    You're right. In fact we don't have enough days in a calendar year to accommodate all the holidays that Malaysians deserve. I'd suggest that we declare the whole year a national holiday. There's no need to work. God is all-giving.He'll take care of all our needs and wants. If foreign investors wished to leave our shores, so much the better. We don't have to share our abundance with foreigners . That includes poverty.

19. Anonymous6:18 pm

A Muslim scholar has challenged political leaders to show some gumption in standing up to those who questioned religious practices such as the slaughter of cattle in schools for Hari Raya Korban and the use of the word Allah by non-Muslims.

In a commentary titled "Mana telur kita", Ridhuan Tee Abdullah hit out at Muslim political leaders whom he alleged were not speaking out against those who questioned the rights of Muslims.

He has now called for a coalition of Muslim NGOs, the likes of Isma (Ikatan Muslimin Malaysia), Perkasa, Jati (Jalur Tiga), Muafakat (Pertubuhan Muafakat Sejahtera Masyarakat Malaysia), Macma (Persatuan Cina Muslim Malaysia) and ACCIN (Allied Coordinating Committee of Islamic NGOs), to unite and become a greater force to defend Islam.

Ridhuan in his weekly column in Sinar Harian today, also questioned the need of a "certain minority race" asking for a two-day public holiday to celebrate their festival.