Tuesday, November 05, 2013

Happy New Hijrah Year. James Joshua is a Facebook friend from Miri, Sarawak. We've never met but I hope we will, one day, insyaallah, if only to thank him personally for his Maal Hijrah message of peace and happiness on his timeline. I've always thought Sarawak is different, a model for us in Semenanjung to aspire to become. Of course, Sarawakians (and Sabahans) have their own problems regarding race and religion, too; every place and every race has them, but nothing like what we're facing in the Peninsular. Over here, all of us need a huge kick in the ass and a big Hijrah in attitude to get back to where we used to be.

Thank you, James

12 comments:

1. Anonymous6:13 pm

Kalau sudah lebih satu abad Kritisian mengamalkan agama mereka di Sarawak, orang Islam UMNO patut menghormati cara mereka dan bukan menindas mereka demi untuk mendapat sokongan politik.

1. Amalan orang kristian tak sampai seabad. Paling Awal penggunaan Allah adalah 1920/30 oleh SIB. Amalan penggunaan Allah secara eksklusif oleh orang islam sudah beratus-ratus tahun.

2. Anonymous8:25 pm

"Of course, Sarawakians (and Sabahans) have their own problems regarding race and religion, too; every place and every race has them, but nothing like what we're facing in the Peninsula. Over here, all of us need a huge kick in the ass and a big Hijrah in attitude to get back to where we used to be."

Very hard with Najib in power. I don't agree with everything Dr M did in the 22 years, but he was far more skilled than Najib at pursuing a Malay agenda while keeping other races balanced in harmony.

Najib just doesn't have the same touch, hence the country overall, and race relations in particular, are pretty screwed.

Sigh.

3. Ramayana1:57 am

Wait 'til the DAP gets over there in full strength, Bru. Even now there's already an increase in chauvinism among the Chinese in Sabah and Sarawak. It can only get worse once the DAP decides that smashing the Sabah & Sarawak vote bank is one of the things they have to do to bring down the BN. Thus far the resistance from the pribumis have been effective but mark my words: DAP will sour Sabah & Sarawak just as surely and steadily as they have done here.

4. Anonymous9:27 am

Bro Bru, I saw you did a book review on Syed Hussin' s book. Would you mind doing the same for Zam's newbie Di Depan Api, Di Belakang Duri. Among informative book I have been reading in recent years. It chronicles one of the oldest newspaper in our country, the Utusan. The book is bulky. Its gonna take sometime to finish it.

5. Anonymous10:57 am

We need more people like James to change mind sets in Malaysia.

6. Salam maal hijrah.

Semuga daoat petunjuk dan diberkati Allah segala yang anda lakukan.

A m i n .

7. Anonymous11:29 am

Pls send over those illusionists from Perkasa, ISMA & of course the angry Chinese muslim Red Tee to learn fr us how not to be so arrogant and to respect your fellow human beings who may look so different fr you. West Malaysia malay-chinese-indian-sikh may be more economically well off, better educated than us but you guys are a shame in our eyes eventho' you all live in big cities compare to our remote living.

8. Anonymous11:34 am

Bro Ramayana. Did you believe it gonna happen? If Taib Mahmud and the native parties in Sarawak could keep Umno at bay for over half a century, what makes you believe those in opposition stand a chance to make inroad there?
    They keep on harping on how corrupt the leader is. Trying their best to rundown Taib's government at every opportunity and posed themselves as saviour to save the Sarawakians. As if the people of Sarawak should trust strangers more than their own leaders.

9. Anonymous3:42 pm

"It can only get worse once the DAP decides that smashing the Sabah & Sarawak vote bank is one of the things they have to do to bring down the BN. Thus far the resistance from the pribumis have been effective but mark my words: DAP will sour Sabah & Sarawak just as surely and steadily as they have done here."

No, dun worry lah bro. As long as Taib is there, he has not one but both of Umno's testicles in his hand. One squeeze, they die. How Umno can keep raping the peninsula financially, unless Taib delivers his quota of voters?

10. Anon 11.34AM, it’s better to deal with the devil you know than the devil you don’t know. Don't be blinded by DAP sweet talk, Quranic verse/hadis quotes etc etc. You'll only know their true colors once they're in power.

Allah swt bless our James Joshua. It's very common for us in Sabah/Sarawak to have Muslim/Christian/Buddist relatives.

11. Ramayana6:03 pm

Anon 3,42:
    "No, dun worry lah bro. As long as Taib is there, he has not one but both of Umno's testicles in his hand. One squeeze, they die. How Umno can keep raping the peninsula financially, unless Taib delivers his quota of voters?"

Good to know he's doing an excellent job at it. Long may Taib Mahmud reign. These Chinese chauvinists need to be kept at bay.