Thursday, October 31, 2013

Ruling for Mkini shows a fiercely independent Malaysian judiciary

Updated: 31/10/2013 - In Britain, the (alleged) end of 300 years of Press Freedom as the Queen gives go-ahead to Press regulations royal charter. 
Read it all h e r e.

Let them print (and be damned!). Pro-government blogger Bujai, a veteran journalist himself, is loudly and openly opposed to independent pro-Opposition news portal Malaysiakini getting a printing licence. "We don't need such a newspaper in circulation as it spews more lies than truth," he asserts in his latest posting, NO to Mkini printing permit! He has asked Home Minister Zahid Hamidi to "find a legal way to reverse the court's decision". 
Well, I'm afraid there's very little that the government can do except appeal the decision.   
Because - and we are witnesWhat we are witnessing is how fiercely independent our judiciary is. If the judiciary was in the pockets of politicians (as pro-Opposition portals often allege), the Court of Appeal would not have, unanimously, upheld the High Court ruling against the Government.  
I rest my case. 
p.s. In any case, a printing license is not a license to kill. Governments will - and must - continue to try and regulate the media, print or online, because, well, even watchdogs need to be watched. Publishers aren't angels, y'know.  Read British newspapers vs tough new watchdog.

12 comments:

1. Anonymous2:35 pm

It does not affect the status quo of BN so the judiciary will favour opposition to showcase to the world that it is fair.

2. Anonymous3:42 pm

Sandiwara of the highest order.....you think the denial of a publishing permit is going to stop Malaysiakini from operating through a foreign jurisdiction ?

3. Anonymous3:58 pm

...we are witnessing is how fiercely independent our judiciary is...

Let's first see where the judge for the appeal case be assigned to after this.

4. Anonymous4:38 pm

The Government ought to have recourse to control news portals that are funded by foreigners with a clear agenda to distabilise our country.

Some foreign funded news portals on the surface seem to report news as they are but they clearly have a slant or only give half the picture, which suits their agenda well.

They back up their manipulated reporting and news with their supporters vile and hateful comments and remarks.

If the Government is unable to put an end to the shadiness then what happens?

5. Anonymous4:50 pm

I am appalled by the logic exhibited by Anon 2:35.
    When the judiciary rules in favour of the Govt. they're obviously "biased". When they rule in favour of the opposition, they're "showcasing to the world?" I really don't know whether I should be laughing out loud or be very angry at such stupidity and bigotry. To these people, the Malaysian judiciary can do no right! I just know that I am sick to the stomach of such people and that they should just crawl back into whatever sewer they originated from!

6. Anonymous5:25 pm

Let them print, that wont make them a reputable portal. Rubbish will always be rubbish, no matter how you dress them...

7. Anonymous6:38 pm

Rocky bru,do not be a ball carrier for BN!
    The main news media like Utusan,NST,STAR and TV stations only report what is favourable to BN. We need an alternative news channel where the people can think critically and not just a yes man to the ruling regime.This is what demoncracy is about.

8. I think it's a win-win situation. everybody is gay.
    I think the Judiciary is trying to be fair. They gave a Raya Haji 'present' to the Government. Now they reciprocated in favour of MK.

Why don't enact the 'Foreign Agent Act' like the US in place. That's the best way of watching over them, without losing much sleep doing it.

9. Anonymous11:32 pm

Anon 6.38 thinks Rocky should kow tow to his royal wishes. Lol!

10. Anonymous7:59 am

Anon 6:38

Jangan lah buka mulut kalau busuk macam bangkai.!!

11. Anonymous8:00 am

Anon 6:38

Jangan lah buka mulut kalau busuk macam bangkai.!!

12. Anonymous2:25 pm

Anon 7.37

Chinese not apologetic - itu dah confirm Chinese racism. Kononlah Melayu yang racist