Thursday, October 31, 2013

Proof of private sector discrimination against Melayu candidates

Job ads from the Republic of Malaysia. That was the title of the email containing job ad samples above sent to me by a fellow journo-blogger after the recent editorial exchanges between Shamsul Akmar and a Michael Lim Mah Hui, the "Bumi-no-quality" analyst. Lim has denied having made those racist remarks attributed to him by the Malaysian Insider. Dr Awang Hitam, a columnist with NST (and lately with The Mole) says he'd take that denial in good faith but stresses that unfortunately, the notion that Bumiputeras are unsuitable material for the private sector IS pervasive ...
"... there is empirical evidence on discrimination in the private sector against Malay candidates. 

The study by University Malaya senior lecturer in development studies department Dr. Lee Hwok Aun and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia research fellow Dr. Muhammed Abdul Khalid finds that the private sector favours Chinese over Malay candidates, despite both having the same qualifications. 

They concluded that race, much more than résumé quality, affects prospects of getting an interview, with Chinese significantly more likely to be called for interviews than Malays. In other words, while qualification matter, race matters more. Interestingly, their study also finds that even crucial skills such as proficiency in Chinese dialects only marginally increase the chances of Malay applicants in securing a job interview. These inconvenient facts, must not only be acknowledged, but speedily dealt with."
Read Ethnicity and Quality by Dr Awang Hitam, courtesy of the Mole.

98 comments:

1. Anonymous5:24 pm

Stop talking nonsense and spewing racial discord. "Despite both having the same qualifications" the Chinese is preferred ?? You mean if a Malay is fully conversant in Mandarin, just like a China man, he will not be eligible to apply as per these ads ??

Go lah learn Mandarin. Send your kids to Chinese schools. Understand that businesses will increasingly look to China for growth. Goreng pisang won't work anymore.

Let me tell you this Latuk. If the qualifications of Malay and Chinese candidates are really EQUAL, then I will hire the prettiest. Unfortunately you goons are telling me that I should hire an UiTM graduate rather than an LSE graduate "because both have first class honours and are therefore equal". Please keep the definition of equality to the goreng pisang business.

Zheng Ho Abdullah

1. Anonymous12:37 pm

Haiyaaa..

No need to put Abdullah la in ur name red bean army

2. Anonymous5:25 pm

What about Malay 1st apartheid system used by UMNO to f&^%k everybody? Simple anti-racism law can prevent this discrimination against anyone based on race. Would UMNO Nazis dare to do it?

3. Anonymous5:38 pm

That's fair. Public sector favor Malay and private sector favors non Malay. Semua ada kerja.

4. Anonymous6:10 pm

Do something good to the country. The GE is over! Don't divide us further!

bl

5. Anonymous6:31 pm

What about in the govt sector,GLC and bumi companies,are not these almost 100% are malays?
    So it is fair the Chinese companies employ Chinese bcos they know they can work better than the malays.Moreover in business,it is the survival of the fittest and the Chinese companies do not get much help from the govt,so they have to hire the best to be competitive.

6. yummy6:34 pm

You never cease to amaze me, Bru. And not in a good way.

That IBM job ad specifically said the job is to handle their Asia Pacific clientele or offices.

I started to explain why the job was worded so, but I stopped.

It is not a racial issue. It is a skill issue. I'm a Chinese and I don't speak Chinese. So, can I should and scream that I'm being discriminated against.

You seem to relish these kinds of instigation, hor?

7. It's say chinese speaking candidates not chinese reading candidates and that a hell lots different in definition. I'm pretty sure GAAP, Accounting framework and statistical jargons are all written in chinese, so that explain why they prefer a candidates that posses the ability to speak that language. Again, chinese speaking! Who they're kidding with? Not sure what they're thinking, maybe they're deluding themselves that Malaysia is part of Hongkong territory.

Do you even get it? Now there is somebody here does have a short memory. It's because the dapster that brought up the issue of public sector in the first place, they're the one who fired the first salvo. It's backfired, isnt it?

I guess the government now should also put up an ads that candidates must be able to converse BM fluently for all the gomen post or should I say, all government contracts should be awarded to BM speaking directors only. We can do the interviews but i bet that there're a lot like kit siangs in Malaysia than Prof Khoo Khay Kim or Lim Lam Thye type. Typical kiasu.

8. Anonymous7:37 pm

Well the Chinese are not apologetic about it. Only Malay is busy trying to make themselves to look non-racial

9. Anonymous8:54 pm

Rocky should goes back to kindergarten to learn the basic of reading and writing. Kononnya an influential blogger, ni ke standard, buat malu saje.

10. Anonymous8:56 pm

Man... i really hate the Chinese, they are like cockroches. They come and infest a country and just wont go away. They're EVERYWHERE! sucking the locals dry.

Maybe one day they'll go back to China. Ahh the thought of that... hmmm.

11. Welcome to the world of the ugly Malaysian Chinese, hypocrites, racist and supremacist all in one package. What others have they want, what they have..hands off. The so called 'victims' are actually the ones doing the victimization.

12. Anonymous9:05 pm

@ Belang

"I guess the government now should also put up an ads that candidates must be able to converse BM fluently for all the gomen post or should I say, all government contracts should be awarded to BM speaking directors only."

I would not really like to get drawn into this, but can I just point out that the last part of your argument:

"...all government contracts should be awarded to BM speaking directors only"...

...is pretty much a de facto requirement. Not the language, the race. You need a Malay middleman or Malay director to meet equity requirements or to secure the contract, hence ali-baba arrangements.

Personally, I have no problems with hiring Malay staff, and some of my best (and hardest-working!) have been Malays. The biggest stumbling block has always been English proficiency. (Although it's not that the younger Chinese are much better, in some cases. This really is becoming a problem.)

My 2 sen, thanks.

13. Anonymous9:08 pm

Hmmmm, I am a Chinese who doesn't speak Mandarin - only BM and English. I am being discriminated against too. What about the Indians, Eurasians and East Malaysian Bumis - aren't they being discriminated against too?

How racist of you to say that only Melayu candidates are being affected.

14. trifling-jester9:34 pm

dei rocky - is it racist against malay or non chinese (including indians). the fact that you completely ignore the marginalisation of indians here is in itself equally racist.

first, technically they are asking for a language requirement, not a race requirement.

if indeed there is racism tersirat in these ad's - what do we really expect? we;ve been trying to fuck the chinese for what theyre worth since the 60s. now we want them to give us jobs. your bumi cousins have been given free jobs of billion dollar companies for decades - pandai pandailah build the business up and compete back. who ask them to be ali baba.

youre like the fat stupuid kid in the playground - kicking all the other small kids during recess but then crying about why theyre a million times better than you in the classroom. grow up and lose some weight fat kid

15. Anonymous9:37 pm

Rocky

Why are you divide and conquer us? We are 1Malaysia, we urge you don't turn everything into racial issue. Please support our 1Malaysia PM and quit listening to Dr. M

16. Anonymous10:27 pm

I hired 2 analysts. One a Princeton graduate, Chinese, and one a Malay from Universiti Malaya. Both were OK but the Princeton graduate did better than the Melayu. I gave better bonus to the Chinese guy and the Malay guy wasn't happy. After 5 years he left and became CFO of a GLC. You know why ? Amongst the blind, the one-eyed is king. The Princeton guy would never become CFO of a GLC. Whose fault should that be?

Think before you answer.

17. Anonymous10:28 pm

If malay want that Chnese speaking or reading job, go lah learn and write Chinese simple as that unfortunately when they see such add they say ala tak yah le apply, dia nak cina lagipun sapa nak gi China kiri kanan semua babi je...
    Did Malays really excel it heir studies and confidently prove they are capable, I knew some of them does. How many malays graduates really can speak English well especially ITM Graduates? No doubts there are discrimination but who is to be blame?. One finger pointing to somebody the other three pointing back to yourselves.

18. Anonymous10:55 pm

Rocky = Michael Lim Mah Hui. Sama-sama racist.

19. tebing tinggi10:58 pm

There is nothing new regarding such add's it's does exist since the 80's ,if it was advertise by Singapore company for a job in Singapore it will clearly stated that only Chinese and Indian will be encourage.

So Rocky ,Malay being discriminated is actually nothing new ,the only thing Malay are more tolerance to accept such discrimination ,as Tun M popular praise , Melayu mudah lupa .
    That why Melayu discrimination still never end because Melayu mudah lupa.

20. Anonymous11:21 pm

It's funny that we get so many racists making racist comments and calling other people racist. The inability to look oneself in the mirror is astonishing. Go read Chinese Dilemma please. And before you denigrate Malays for their lack of proficiency in English, please correct your own grammar. It really makes your claim laughable.

21. Anonymous11:26 pm

Nak compare Princeton grad dengan UM grad kan bodoh. At least dia Ada juga loyalty, sambung kerja lagi lima tahun walaupun jadi victim of favoritism. Ini memang sengaja Nak padang rendah pada orang melayu

22. @anon 2 sen opinion,

You have the experienced dealing with government contracts and maybe there is an element of favorable upon one race but maybe, just maybe there's isnt any, no more than a blanket perception to deceive one eyes. I personally do not see any Malays standing behind robert kuok, lim goh thong or even ting pek khing and not to mention scores of other billionaires too. Can somebody tell me how these peoples gain billions of dollar without the backing of the government of the day?

If you asked me about the malay equity in government contracts well it is for a reason. Try imagine something like Fiji or Zimbabwe of the old. Without this policy, the country could turn into chaos and in terrible state. You messed with the majority, they'll bite back. Now tell me where and which country have an opposite policy? US? UK? Australia? China? Do we really think the whites will sit idly and let the survival of fittest attitude when the minority took over their economic? Guess what, in our dream! Here we are today thinking China has became a giant economy without realizing that the US is buying cheap from China paying practically nothing. It should show us something, isnt it?

Maybe I am wrong about this but the thing is if we want to change then that change should start from ourselves first. It took 200 years for the black in America to have their equal rights and ask them now whether they knew any of the languages of their forefathers. You might just get a slap if you're lucky.

Maybe your staff just lucky to have you but it shouldnt generalise the current situations.

Anyway, this is just my 1 sen opinion.

23. Anonymous11:28 pm

Poor Rocky. He reports something truthful, backed up by research, and gets called a racist.
    Malaysiakini, Malaysian insider, FMT write racist reports and get the thumbs up.
    Shows who are racist.

24. Anon 10.28,

Speak for yourself. Your English isnt good anyway. Maybe there're not that many from ITM that have the ability to speak English better nowadays but I'm saying you this. There are plenty out there better than you in speaking French, Germany and even Arabic, let alone English. Yours is just gibberish.

25. Anonymous12:18 am

Red bean army thrive here..launching tireless attack against you bro because you speak the truth language which they don't want we Malaysian know the ugly racist behind private company

26. DiscriminatedbyUMNO1:03 am

Malay being discriminated by chinese business is hardly news. Apa yang penting kita orang melayu dah faham ini lama cuma Presiden dan Timbalan Presiden UMNO saja yang tak faham faham.
    Presiden UMNO sendiri discriminate terhadap ahli UMNO dan orang Melayu, memilih singh, deepak, pradeep kumar, ali hamsa, idris jala, kaur untuk jawatan penting dalam kerajaan Melayu UMNO. Dalam Petronas, Maybank, CIMB semua Cina dah naik tocang. Tak payah cakap kat luar. Good or Bad ini adalah negari Melayu dan orang Melayu mesti mengisi jawatan dalam syarikat kerjaan melayu,.

27. Anonymous2:51 am

FYI Latuk, this is a true story:

My friend (a UITM grad) doesn't speak Mandarin but she was offered a job in Hong Kong by an international company and not long after that she was promoted to the managerial post and got transferred to its Singapore Branch. Now she is one of the company's CEO at one of the regional office.

28. Anon 1128,

Thank you for your concern but I am quite used to the reception. It gives me a kick exposing these sorry buggers, jesters and goatfarters time and again.

1. Anonymous3:54 am

Typical Bru. Get exposed for lack of research, lack of understanding economics, poor understanding of Engrish, and he's still proud of it. Jaguh kampung likes his Proton and cheap cigars.

2. Anonymous7:23 pm

Cakap baik2 lebih lagi pasal proton ye setan. Jika mereka makin naik kau la org pertama terhegeh2 beli. Muka tak malu.
      You smoke expensive cigars? Pretty soon you gonna get aids kudis at your syaitan tongue.

29. Anonymous3:57 am

Pi belajar bahasa Cina lah. Kalau tak fasih, duduk kat kampung aje. Pon dapat BR1M.

30. Anonymous4:07 am

Serious language difficulty still crying discrimination. Dapat tongkat still crying discrimination. Jual goreng pisang sure got no discrimination.

31. charleskiwi7:58 am

How about advocating the same rules for the non Malays, when it comes to jobs in the government services ?
    Until that is applied I think you are just, as usual, trying to divide and rule. Please write without fear and favour for anyone in particular. Otherwise you are proving to the people that you are trying to propagate your kind to remain forever using the wheelchair !

32. Anonymous8:15 am

I currently work in a company where one of the critical depts has a Chinese as Head of dept. Damn lazy, narrow-minded, only wants to do what he wants to do, blame others for his failures, lack vision, lack initiative..

33. Anonymous8:32 am

Rocky you as a Journalist surprise me sometimes with your slant on writings and comments.

I am not Melayu or Chinese - how come you never highlighted discrimination against me??? - only Melayu matters to you in this concept of 1Malaysia as promoted by PM Najib ?????

Are you a Malaysian Journalist only for Melayus ??

34. Anonymous9:33 am

Latuk,

If you are nice to me and ask me to give a chance to a less qualified Malay, I might seriously consider it. But for you tell me your less qualified Malay's UITM degree is on par with another candidate's Melbourne university degree, then I think you are as dumb as they come.

If I advertise for a despatch boy and I give priority to Chinese proficiency, then you can condemn me for discrimination.

Like I said earlier, don't sow discord just because you don't understand business.

35. Anonymous9:47 am

hei batu, your pea size brain still don't get it - despite all the logic reason given.

kepala batu betul la kau ni

36. What do we expect from this race ? They will never change unless we teach them to change !

Even PM Najib failed to do so.

37. Anonymous10:35 am

chinese will always be chinese..

38. Anonymous10:48 am

If my audit clients have subsidiaries in China, which also require interaction with the auditors in China, do I hire an audit manager here that doesn't speak Mandarin ? Should I hire a Melayu and also hire a translator for him at the same time ?

What you really want is entitlement, isn't it ? You feel you must be entitled to a job whatever your miserable qualifications. Anything less than offering you a job with your inferior qualifications is termed as "discrimination".

The public sector will offer you a job, don't worry. The gomen needs your vote. Just hang around, and hang around, and you might get to superscale at age 50 with the gomen.

39. Anonymous10:48 am

trifling-jester, Love your comments! You have a fan here already..

40. Anonymous10:50 am

"New Semi-Detached Houses Launched Soon - 7% Discount For Bumiputeras"

"Bumiputera Director Needed"

"Hanya Syarikat Milik Melayu Layak Sahaja"

"Lot Bumiputera Sahaja"

Government funding for Muslim places of worship

Government bureaus for Malays

Matriculation for Malays

UiTM: No non Malays need apply

...etc...

41. Anonymous10:54 am

Scum journalists like Rocky can only survive in Malaysia where they are protected by big brother UMNO. Anywhere else outside Malaysia, he has no chance judging by the garbage he is spewing.

42. Anonymous10:57 am

Latuk Locky:

Boleh ke Latuk bagi tahu saya adakah GLC yang di ketuai oleh orang Cina atau orang India. Adakah GLC yang ada CFO keturunan Cina atau India ?

Kes Maybank IB sangat terang terhadap sistem apartheid di negara ini. Tengku Zafrul telah letak jawatan. Budak kedua di Maybank IB ialah orang Cina yang telah kerja 25 tahun dengan Maybank. Sekarang dia jadi "Acting Chief Executive" sebab PNB mahu Maybank lantik orang Melayu sebagai CEO. Ini bukan discrimination ? Tak ade orang Cina atau India yang berlayak ?

Kita tahu siapa yang betul2 buat discrimination. We are not stupid. Kita cuma diam saje.

43. Anonymous10:58 am

Making a mountain out of a molehill. The spin master at work again.

44. tebing tinggi11:00 am

re, If I advertise for a dispatch boy and I gave priority to Chinese proficiency ,than you can condemn me for discrimination .

wrote ,Anonymous 9;33 am.

Thus that conform and explain everything of the truth.
    Malay only fits to be dispatch boy that no Chinese would want.

45. Anonymous11:13 am

"Nak compare Princeton grad dengan UM grad kan bodoh. At least dia Ada juga loyalty, sambung kerja lagi lima tahun walaupun jadi victim of favoritism. Ini memang sengaja Nak padang rendah pada orang melayu"

11:26

Another stupid reader. If another person performs better, and gets a better bonus, that proves favouritism ? That proves that I pandang rendah pada orang Melayu ? Let me tell you this - the Malay guy who worked for me got a better paying job as CFO of a GLC, and he attributed his success to working in my company and in my competitive environment for 5 years. He learnt so much in 5 years. He is on his way to getting rid of his wheelchair.

Seems like some of you still want the wheelchair by giving all sorts of stupid reasons.

46. Anonymous11:32 am

Rocky Sir,

1. Whether you like it or not, Mandarin or Chinese speaking is an added advantage. They did not specified any race. If an Indian or Malay or other non-Chinese can speak Mandarin, more power to him or her. And I am sure they would be consider for the position.

2. You forgotten NOT ALL Chinese in Malaysia can speak Mandarin/Chinese dialects. Do you see them crying about discrimination? I, myself cannot read Chinese (I am half Malay, half Chinese) And when I come across job ads that requires a Chinese speaking/writting person, I just move on. And I admit on my weakness.

3. The job ad by IBM stated the Accounting Analyst will be covering APAC. Banyak kerja dengan China la tu. So what is wrong with that requirement?

4. As a recruiter, I also come across clients specifically requesting only bumi candidates. These requests come from our Banks and FIs. It makes my job easier. Profiling increases efficiency.

5. Going by the same argument, if a company requests for Japanese or Korean speaking talent, are they being discriminative?

6. For your information, Malay talents that can speak an additional language besides English and BM are highly sought after.

7. Going by the same 'discriminative' argument, I have Malay hiring managers that prefers Chinese grads. When asked why they say, can 'speaking' better. If not good, easier to fire. With a malay you have to jaga this, jaga that. Silap hari, the kid you hire is somebody's son/ daughter/niece/nephew/anak angkat. Bila naik lemak tak kerja you have to cover the kid some more. Later your own job and reputation on jeopardy.

Regards,
    Min

47. Anonymous11:46 am

if U are a Chinaman and planning to have a busniss in US, U have no other choice but to learn english.

If U are an English businessman planning to open up a branch in India, U have to learn Tamil in order to succeed.

If there is an Arab wishes to expand his business in tanah Melayu, the requirement is proficient in Chinese dialects? Wow!

48. Anonymous11:58 am

Some of those who have commented here just do not get the point. They keep barking that the adverts only require a language requirement and are not racists in form. The study which you have mentioned clearly states that despite a Malay being equally proficient in some Chinese dialect would still loose out to a Chinese with the same proficiency. Are these commentators so so dumb that they also have to descend to such low levels?

Leave alone the high flown applicant for some top job from some supremely prestigious university from a country that goes around the World killing, maiming and snooping - a relative of mine who is a non Chinese whilst waiting for her examination results to be out wanted to a job and so approached a supermarket for one. Our dear Chinese personnel in the supermarket said that since she wears headscarf it would not be possible for them to employ her and so she did not get the job!

What do these people that have made these fierce remarks about your posting so that truth not be told have to say?

49. Anonymous12:20 pm

This is why ive stop enlisting Chinese consultant, suppliers and contractors for my projects.. they are bloody arrogant as what we can read in bru comments. . Ya ya tuan you la sya punya boss, kasi la saya paluang.. as they would always come and beg for job.. and at the end they would always try to find a way to stab u in the back... dangerous creatures this Chinese is...

1. Anonymous8:09 pm

Betul. Mmg talam dua muka. Bila ada boss buat2 kerja konon hardworking la. Dah tu choncheng dpn kita mengata2 ..menipu sbb nak naik pangkat kaki bodek berpura2 stab people from the back. Sudah kena banyak kali. Pandai bermuka2. Dan selepas tsunami pru13 tembelang sudah pecah. Aku dah mual dgn perangai dorang. Bangsa tak guna di buat baik. Tikam dari belakang baik la mcm mana pon.

50. Anonymous12:41 pm

Itulah kehebatan orang2 cina.

51. Anonymous1:50 pm

You all is in MALAYsia so just accept it man that this is a MALAY COUNTRY.. buggers!!

52. Anonymous2:04 pm

Anon 11.32

You've just reconfirmed the racial discriminatory practices in the private sector. Besides, how many Melayu are likely to be able to speak any chinese dialect, let alone mandarin. The argument that many chinese don't speak chinese and so cannot apply for those chinese speaking only jobs doesn't hold water in a Malay majority country

53. Anonymous2:06 pm

Chinese ppl SUCKS! China so big but still want to live in somebody else's country. China is soo big, so much space, go live there, Gobi desert's so big what? Can live there also.

Dont know how to respect social contract!

Stop making any country your toilet for you to shit on the locals. Damn you China ppl!!

54. Anonymous2:21 pm

Eh Godfather, your comments wreak of stupidity and racism. You should compare UM grad with UKM grad, Harvard grad with Princeton grad. Comparing UM grad and Princeton grad and insinuating UM grad is less capable is plain idiotic. Then somehow you manage to attribute his success in a GLC to your training, and adding to it that he relied on crutches, a favorite racist description of Malays by non Malays. And then assuming I wear the same crutches. That itself is sheer stupidity, plucking lies out of thin air. This is the arrogance of non Malays. Never able to attribute any success to the Malays and continuously playing victim. Poor thing. Maybe you need crutches.

55. This blog is just plain sick.
    Why isn`t it in Malay?

1. Anonymous5:13 am

Because it's also for people like you who is sick enough to equate sick with malay

56. Anonymous2:45 pm

New Semi-Detached Houses Launched Soon - 7% Discount For Bumiputeras"

"Lot Bumiputera Sahaja"

Matriculation for Malays

UiTM: No non Malays need apply

...etc...

57. Help Chinese Migrate3:14 pm

Get rid of the Chinese lah UMNO. I know UMNO Presidents love the Chinese because they give their sons directorships and shares in chinese companies.
    Dont hve to mention which UP got more than 300 chinese companies for sons and daugther.
    It is strange indeed that the majority want to get rid of the Chinese buts UP who persuade the Malays and now look at how poor the Malays are.
    Chinese want to migrate let them. But no UMNO must spend 80 millions to bring back these DAP voters. How stupid can UMNO get? Really stupid.Talent loss lah konon. This is Tanah Melayu, good or bad this land belong to the Malays.
    Then u ask what chinese want some more? UMNO Presidents are corrupt!

1. Anonymous5:18 am

You forgot to mention Chinese businessmen. They have the money to offer corruption

58. If all the Chinese here stop listening to Lim Kit Siang and all DAPs morons bullshit - Malaysia will be a peaceful country

59. Rocky, back in the 80s, I answered an ad by a company looking for a Chinese speaking Assistant Manager. I attended the interview which was conducted in Mandarin. Even though I am a Chinese, I could not understand what the interviewer was asking me as I am English ed. In return he was surprised that being a Chinese I could not speak Chinese. Anyway, I did not get the job and I told him the next time when he decides to advertise, please do not say "Chinese speaking" but rather "Mandarin speaking". He was kind enough to take up my suggestion. Today, many companies are recruiting Malays who are conversant in Mandarin. I know this for a fact because I am a business consultant and have come across such companies who have Malays on their payroll who speak proficient Mandarin. The Chinese companies are happy to have them as the Malays become part of the company's USP.

60. Anonymous5:04 pm

Listen,Encik Malayu,the Maxim is "If you want justice, you must come with clean hands".99% civil servants are Malays,90% in Marticulation cause are Malays because they cannot pass STPM.65% public uni. are Malays,100% Contractor class F are Malays,100% in MIT and UMIT are Malays.Malay uni.gratudes are half baked and study nothing in uni.What;s more do you want ?Apa Melayu mah ?

1. Anonymous5:01 am

Wah. So racist ah encik cina. Lu sorang saja ke cerdik? Kah kah kah

2. Anonymous5:10 am

Apa lagi yang Melayu mahu? Bukan apa Melayu mah. Tolonglah belajar bahasa kebangsaan Ya kalau banggakan negara? Kalau tidak, nanti digelar orang luar, Bukan rakyat Malaysia.

61. Anonymous5:05 pm

Low quality graduates, mati2 pun insist on their quality. Tak tahu English, mati2 insist they are good in the language. When we tell them they are not qualified, they scream "discrimination", "favouritism", "victimisation". Better still, scream of melayu rights.

Inferior product tetap inferior product, why force private sector to hire inferior product ? Let Gomen hire the inferior product lah.

1. Anonymous4:58 am

Ni tak baca research report ke. Research says equal or similar product, not one superior product against one inferior product, but still no hire. Bila kata racial discrimination, marah pulak. Mengaku je lah kalau dah racist, ingat orang lain bodoh mcm dia.

62. I must say, racists do know how to take offence! Amazing.

1. Anonymous4:53 am

Congrats Bru. You sure riled them up. They're all flocking to your blog

63. Anonymous6:31 pm

Haram-harap satu hari nanti, mungkin beberapa hari sebelum kiamat, ahli UMNO akan melantik seorang presiden yang berjiwa melayu dan berani berjuang untuk melayu dan betindak untuk kebajikan orang melayu. Amin..

64. Anonymous7:54 pm

"New Semi-Detached Houses Launched Soon - 7% Discount For Bumiputeras"

"Lot Bumiputera Sahaja"

Matriculation for Malays

UiTM: No non Malays need apply"

Yep.

The list could go on much longer than that, even. So this empty debate about “discrimination” really ends there.

I don't begrudge affirmative action for Bumis, but if someone gets to save money on a 2 million bungalow just because of that...erm, something wrong somewhere lah.

(The "intelligent" ketuanan guys have a ready-made response. Don't bother.)

I read this once: "Imagine if the UK wanted laws to protect white, Christian, middle-class people because the black & Asian immigrants were just too hard-working and successful."

Oversimplified, but still, the grain of truth is there.

For the "intelligent" ketuanan guys whose forefathers had the generosity to give non-Malays citizenships:

No, not really, kawan. We were all just "bloody natives" to the British.

And here we are 56 years later. Still asking each other to emigrate.

Fail.

1. See and say on ur side.. none ? It had been more tan 50 yrs. Any change ? Any social tranformation ?

65. Anonymous8:28 pm

It happens when the majority race's power base is threatened. Go after the bogeyman, scream discrimination, demand affirmative employment policies so that the melayu can continue to have gaji buta.

When will all these end ? It will end when the country goes bankrupt and more and more nons take their money offshore as a hedge, which they should do. Then the melayus will turn on UMNO. Ameen.

1. Anonymous4:39 am

It will end when those of two races with the same qualifications get equal opportunity in the private sector. Read the research report above please. Otherwise Nons can take self and money abroad and not come back, rather than perpetuating discrimination in private sector hiring policies. Malays won't complain, don't worry.

2. Anonymous4:45 am

No change. The Chinese still won't hire malays, even with equal qualifications

3. Anonymous4:51 am

No, kawan. To the British, the natives are MALAYS, orange asli and native tribes of. Borneo. The rest they described as immigrants. Do read what the colonialists wrote in their books and numerous reports.

66. Anonymous10:47 pm

China men?..good in engrish?..u must be kidding me..

67. trifling-jester12:15 am

Anonymous said...
    if U are a Chinaman and planning to have a busniss in US, U have no other choice but to learn english.

If U are an English businessman planning to open up a branch in India, U have to learn Tamil in order to succeed.

If there is an Arab wishes to expand his business in tanah Melayu, the requirement is proficient in Chinese dialects? Wow!

11:46 am

================================

in the US, most businesses are owned by english speaking people. your customers mostly speak english. learn english.

In india they mostly speak hindi. if you operate in bombay and delhi you can get away with english mostly. However if u want to communicate with the locals well that make up majority of your customers, speak hindi.

In malaysia, most businesses are owned by mandarin speaking people. if the biggest customers are mandarin speaking people and you wanna do business with them, speak mandarin.

think before you complain - business is business. not a charity case for a bunch of pampered incompetent crybabies.

unless ofcourse youre in business that revolves around umno. that kinda business bends the rules of economics. for eg, in umno you can be an incompetent journalist but if you carry the balls of mahathir and najib, and bring down abdullah, and you will be rewarded with chief editorship and a datukship. and then some support to open other pro govt blogs also - while pretending your impartial journalist. credits to rocky though, short of saying he is on the take, he doesnt even bother to hide being impartial.

instead of crying foul and how harsh the realities of the market is, consider evolving and improving. work hard to get petronas to send you or your kids to harvard.

if you wanna cry foul, cry at how umno bosses has been secretly slapping your face for decades while feeding you last weeks breadcrumbs. your slobber over the breadcrumbs apparently seems to prevent you from noticing these slaps.

1. Anonymous4:33 am

Bulls#!tlah biggest customers are mandarin speaking people, unless you serve not even 26% of the population because like some Chinese on this page, many can't even speak mandarin. Asking malays to evolve and work hard implies we' re lazy and backward. Thank you for showing your true racist colors for all to see .

68. IBM runs a shared service centre in Malaysia which cover countries in Asia Pacific including China. That is the reason why they specify a chinese speaking (should be Mandarin) analyst as the person is required to communicate with their subsidiaries in China. It this being racist?

69. Anonymous2:13 am

Malaysia is Malaise....know the meaning, UMNO goons ?

70. Anonymous7:02 am

Racial discrimination is what characterized our Malaysia. Being Truly Asia is bad after all. Go through and read all comments above and prove me wrong.

71. Anonymous10:09 am

Hey, Bru - what gives?

Do you want the government to tell MNCs operating in Malaysia who they should employ and who they should promote?

Ditto for the foreign banks in the country?

I guarantee that this is one fight the government has no stomach for.

72. Anonymous4:18 pm

triffling jester, love your comments. Written like a true champion. My hats off to you.

73. Anonymous7:21 pm

The trifling jester has a couple of valid points there.

TJ's 1st point:

"in malaysia, most businesses are owned by mandarin speaking people. if the biggest customers are mandarin speaking people and you wanna do business with them, speak mandarin."

This is an exaggeration but it kind of points out the fallacy behind taking a small ad in a paper that mentions "Chinese", as conclusive evidence of racism.

You see, the little Ah Moi or Ah Beng being hired by the Cinapek boss is likely to have to deal with Cinapek customers. Said Moi/Beng can probably muster less-then-impressive BM and Engrish when required to, when he/she needs to deal with keling, banana, serani or Melayu. The Chinese requirement,
    hence, is practical, not racist.

The counter argument which is cut & paste everywhere is that the Cinababi should damn well learn BM. That is a separate argument. Or, that why can't the keling, banana & serani learn BM as well. That is a separate argument also.

(BTW, my advice to anyone thinking of getting a serious position in an international private sector company is to polish up the Engrish, actually. Also, no-one outside Malaysia / Brunei / Indonesia gives a flying fuck about "Bahasa". So Dr M was right all along about Engrish, which is in sad decline.)

TJ's 2nd point:

"if you wanna cry foul, cry at how umno bosses has been secretly slapping your face for decades while feeding you last weeks breadcrumbs. your slobber over the breadcrumbs apparently seems to prevent you from noticing these slaps."

Again, a bit OTT but the fact is that Umno hasn't done a good job of administering the task of producing quality, employable Bumi grads. A lot of ITM ones of recent pedigree are really sub-par. Again, this is not racist; it's a condemnation of the current education system. It needs overhaul.

74. Anonymous10:14 pm

Dato,
    We need to emphasize to gomen to make Mandarin a must pass subject in our national school.. ya, u read it correctly.. national school.

So, in 15 years and more, we will no longer see such advert.

75. Anonymous10:24 pm

Exactly right. The "quality" of the education institutions is also germane.

Why would a MNC want to recruit a "local" graduate, when they could hire a product of, say, one of the top 10 or 20 universities in the world?

Maybe it's not so much about discrimination as it's about quality, or the lack thereof.

But in Malaysia, this is conflated into matters with a racist twist.

76. Anonymous3:34 am

10:14,

15 years is a long time. The faster way of solving this issue is by boicotting. Yes, the non Mandarin speaking folks should only by or use their service last!

77. Anonymous3:49 am

You get a washed-up journalist who plagiarises some Perkasa material, and try to perpetuate the lies. Why should we question the private sector's employment needs ? Did anyone say that Malays cannot apply ? Can anyone prove that if qualifications are equal, the Chinese is preferred to the Malay ? Really ?

Speaking of equality, two persons with the same class of degree from the same university may never be equal. Attitudes, linguistic skills, aptitude tests....these will differentiate candidates with similar academic qualifications.

So stop playing the racial divide. Stop instigating civil servants and those who have never run businesses into believing your definition of equality.

And lastly, enrol your kids in the new Xiamen university.

78. Anonymous3:52 am

10:24,

No matter how big the MNC is, when it is in India or Japan or China or any foreign country, like it or not it has to employ the locals eventhough they were not from the top 10-20 U! The reason is that only locals knows local climate best.

79. Serund9:29 am

Anon 2:21 pm

So, by your logic, UM or UKM shouldn't aspire to compare themselves with Harvard and Princeton?

That says much for your world view and fundamental insecurity.

Why should there be a "protected" job market for UM, UKM, USM and UITM graduates?

Oh, wait - there's one already. It's called the "civil service"!

80. Anonymous2:55 pm

DUMNO organises a 100m race between the races. The Chinese won. Not happy, DUMNO decrees that for the next 100m race, the Chinese should start 20m behind the Melayu. But still the Chinese won. "This is unfair" cried Perkasa.

So for the third race, the Chinese were told to start 50m behind the Melayu. And the Melayu won ! The following day, Utusan was full of praise for the Melayu winner. The gomen gave the winner lots of goodies for his win.

Rocky proclaims that the Melayu is now as good, if not better, than the Chinese. For employment purposes, if you don't hire this Melayu but you hire the Chinese, then it's discrimination and the Melayu is being victimised.

81. Anonymous3:02 pm

Speaking Mandarin doesn't assure you USA citizenship, speaking English does. Apply this logic to our country, whose National Language is Bahasa Melayu, those who are not proficient or able to speak and understand BM should just buck up or ship yourself out of Malaysia. This discriminatory practice happened not just in private sector, and in business sector, but also in education. My cousin recalled an incident not long ago when her teacher friend (obviously Melayu ) was told by a headmaster of a Chinese vernacular school that they didn't want her there. Now the teacher was sent there by the Ministry. The sjkc official had the temerity to turn the teacher down just like that! That's kurang ajar, nothing less than that. You chinese always look down on Melayu and Indians and Banglas because our skin not as fair (yellow) as yours. It's an open secret. And you kiasus cite you achieve everything on the back of merit?? GTH la.

82. Anonymous12:55 am

I am a Malay and I say, cut this crap. The Malay keeps blaming others on their own weaknesses. I send my kids to a non-malay school simply because I do not want them to grow-up blaming others except themselves.

Grow-up guys, and smell the roses.
    http://tinyurl.com/ptpv27t

Careline