Saturday, August 10, 2013

A joint taskforce to gun down the gunmen

“Gang 18 is made up mostly of Chinese and Indians, while 36, once active in Malay-majority areas such as Ampangan and Senawang is now dominated by Indians," he said. - Most shootings tied to gangland turf war, The Star 10 Aug 2013  
Bringing on Poca. I don't need to do a racial profiling because the facts are: the gangs are Chinese and Indians, predominantly. And guess what? The police are predominantly Malays. That's not good, but those are the facts. I think we need an NEP-like fix here: get more Malays to become gangsters and recruit more Cinas ad Indians into PDRM. Call it the restructuring of our secret societies. 
Jokes aside, I hear the Attorney-General, the Inspector-General of Police and several other important individuals tasked with the safety of the people and their property are to meet soon on the idea of setting up a joint task force. This still-nameless taskforce aspires to: 
1. put an end to the turf war by throwing the gangsters behind bars under Poca (Prevention of Crime Act 1959), the much-touted and more humane substitute for the Emergency Ordinance 1969; and if possible ... 
2. eradicate that "turf" altogether.  
For we forget that without a turf, there won't be a turf war. "There's a turf war because there is a turf to protect, you see or not?" a former taikor reminded me after wishing Selamat Hari Raya the other day. 
And whose job is it to ensure that those gangsters don't establish their turfs in the first place? The police, of course. And with the benefit of a little hindsight, we all know now that the gangs were expanding their turfs even when the EO was in operations. Otherwise, how do you explain the reported spate of shootings as soon as the 2000+ EO detainees were released back to the public following the repeal of the Ordinance? (Eight shootings in as many days, The Star 4 Aug 2013)  

33 Shootings Since April 2013.

1. Saturday, Aug 3 -  Kajang: Balamurali Balakrishnan died at the scene.

2. Friday, Aug 2 -  Pandan Indah: Gold dealer Wong Foo Yui was shot at traffic light 

3. Wednesday, July 31 - Parit Buntar: Former EO detainee N. Jeevandran, 26, shot dead 

4. Tuesday, July 30 - Mentakab: Several shots were fired into the house of a businessman 

5. Monday, July 29 - Bkt Mertajam: G. Santhanasamy, 30, injured in the legs 

6. Kuala Lumpur: Banker Hussain Ahmad Najadi, 75, was shot dead 

7. Sunday, July 28 - Ipoh: Jasrafveenderjeet Singh, 25, died due to a gunshot wound 

8. Saturday, July 27 - Jempol: MyWatch, Sri Sanjeevan Ramakrishan, was shot in Bahau. 

9. July 26: Temerloh: A lorry driver from (PPK) Temerloh was shot 
10. July 18: Kulim: A gunman fired nine bullets, killing a 45-year-old teacher 

11. July 15: Kampar: A 51-year-old man and his son were shot 

12. July 12: George Town: A four-year-old boy was injured when a gunman opened fire 

13. July 8: Bachok: Student affairs senior assistant Hashim Mat Zain, 43 was killed

14. July 5: Pasir Mas: Teacher Mat Zaki Hashim, 35, serious injuries after being shot 

15. June 15: Putrajaya: Customs deputy DG Datuk Shaharuddin Ibrahim shot dead 

16. June 14: Kuala Kurau: businessman, Lim Kong Hai, seriously injured after shot 

17. June 6: Muar: Tan Chai Heng, 51, died of gunshot wounds on his face 

18. June 4: Taiping: Govindaraju @ Murthy, 36 died while  Manivannan injured 

19. May 29: Kuala Lumpur: A businessman survived despite being shot at seven times 

20. May 12: Butterworth: S. Kannan and G.Suresh killed while two others injured 

21. May 11: Seremban: Chalidass and G.Surentharan died and two friends shot 

22. May 12: Cheras: N.Saravanan and Tamil Selvam both shot 

23. May 11: Lunas: Thangaraja, 31, was found dead with 10 gunshot wounds 

24. May 9: Alor Setar: M. Nagenthiran, died from three gunshots 

25 May 8: Tangkak: Muthu Pillai, was found dead with three gunshot wounds 

26. April 30: Taiping: 26-year-old victim and called out his name before firing.

27. April 25: Seremban: N. Ragunathan, was shot dead in his car 

28. April 26: Cheras: R. Karikaalan, died after hit by two of 10 shots 

29. April 25: Tampin: N. Ragunathan was shot dead in his car 

30. April 16: Taiping: K Muthazagen, was killed when bullets penetrated his head. 

31. April 14: Seremban: Tan Kok Soon, 56, was shot at close range 

32. April 12: Seremban: James John, 45, was shot dead in his car at traffic lights 

33. August 3 KOTA KINABALU: 44-year-old businessman killed in a drive-by shooting 

The list (courtesy of OutSyed The Box h e r e) has grown to include a car bombing and the latest Aidilfitry shootings - Raya ke tidak Raya, berbunuh berterusan. 
The authorities have got to get cracking. The joint taskforce can't wait. But please, don't let PEMANDU drive it la. Get the AG or/and the IGP to head the task force. 

12 comments:

1. Anonymous12:49 pm

'their property ' refers to Menteris, Politician, Loyars, all rich man properties. And now they are worried. Eo/ISA elek.Go ask Ah Gid Gor who we pray will be kick out from Presiden post and let Ali Rustam take over as he can concentrate on Malay unity while Muhiyydina s PM. First thing when new PM take over is to bring back ISA and EO. Chinese tsunami and Apa Cina MAu is simple. They want what the malays want. Safety, free crime, free of bribes and no kow tim to ridiculous demand from anyone or society including Dong zhong and DAP even PAS. They want a respectful and effective government not tranformasi but improvement in in the legacy.

2. Datuk,

Perasan tak...

Apasal yg kono tembak ni koling yo....?

Mano poie loya loya hak asasi manusio cam N Surendran & Latheefa Koya dlm kes cam ni Haa? Apasal tak buek tuduhan melulu kek samseng samseng sesamo koling ni?

3. Anonymous3:49 pm

No need POCA. No need ISA or EO. Let the thugs out. This is what Najib wants. The worst PM since '57.

4. Anonymous3:57 pm

Better still get the cops to form an 'encounter' team as they call it in India. Shoot the buggers and close the case. I'm an Indian and I hate these gangsters and gangster wanna bees. the Indian community is now made up of only three layers- the Amanda krishnans , the professionals/managers and lastly the gangsters. And the third layer is making their living harassing the other two.
    By the way, I don't buy this theory of poverty driving them to gangsterism. Work hard, study well and you can live a healthy life style.

PDRM should troll the countless FB profile of teenagers flaunting their gang number and pay a visit to their parents.

PS : not a fan of Bru but this topic touched a raw nerve of mine.

5. Anonymous4:15 pm

article yg bagus, tapi kita sebenarnya mungkin dah terlupa cerita pasal azeez rahim, dia tak layak terajui tabung haji. soal degree beli tu bukan isu besar sgt ,masalahnya kita tak mau orang kaki sakau lead tabung haji, azeez tolong letak sendiri jawatan dlm tabung haji sebelum ko diterajang rakyat. buat macam2 program masyarakat, ekspedisi bantuan itu dan ini , rupanya ada udang di sebalik batu, peruntukkan berapa? berapa banyak lagi yg azeez sapu??? pasal kegiatan x senonoh lain tu... takkanlah nak tunggu sampai org campak gambar??

6. Anonymous4:25 pm

And you still think that the average Singaporean's view of the crime wave here is wrong ? That we are not a lawless society ?

7. Anonymous4:56 pm

Like one of the post I've read, just doing it Singapore style. There were swath of gangs and triads once not too long ago in Singapore and now there are none. We should learn how they made those group of people disappeared without a trace.
    As a side note, I've heard Lee Lam Thye and co are going to conduct a forum on this pertinent issue before coming up with a memorandum to be submitted to KDN. It looks everyone, no matter which side they come from have come up with initiatives to stem the tide of this worrying trend.

8. Anonymous5:12 pm

You surely know to eradicate notorious gangsters and organise crime you need not only committed officers of the law but importantly the officers must be more ruthless than the gangsters themselves.

Senang cakaplah Rocky ikut saja Singapore Style. Tembak dulu question later! The law in this instances can take a back seat. Shut the fuck off Bar Council. That stupid council is nothing but a duri dalam daging.

Pak Lah dah kasi muka dengan BC dan Najib pun terikut sama. Kat Singapore no Bar council dare to take on the government of Singapore....cos' ISA is still untouchable. Najib don't have the balls to do anything right. It is sad that UMNO has a leader that they cannot be proud of.

9. Anonymous12:22 am

DAP behind it.

10. Anonymous11:14 am

bro,

mampos kita
    mampuih kita

usabukata

11. Anonymous11:25 am

the echo of the need of the abolished Internal Security Act hovers over some of us and guess who's making fuss and taking verbal advantage at all avenues, but insyaallah, it'll be solved, one way or the other. Salam Eid Mubarak, Rocky.......:)

12. Anonymous3:05 pm

gangsters with datuk seri,datuk etc title..put it this way, we are acknowledging their present in out societies..
    instead of eradicating the street thugs.. chop off the head..and work your way down..
    come on..The Authorities surely knows whos who in the underworld.
    some are corporate giants and in the business world.
    but for political and economical reasons, we close our eyes..
    why? bcos some of us to benefit from these so called thugs.
    When is the last time u have heard.." dont worry..i have a kaki?"

-camshial-