Sunday, July 28, 2013

Drive safe, make sure you - and others - reach kampung for Raya

On road or on rail, in Malaysia or in Spain, speed kills and it kills a lot of people. In the Spanish train crash, at least 78 people died horribly. Forensic experts had to carry out DNA tests on body parts to see who they belong to.   
The coming Hari Raya season, like other Malaysian festivals, will see more deaths on the road. 
It has become a horrifying ritual. The authorities will come up with another Ops to deter motorists from killing themselves and others on their way back to kampung for the Raya, but it won't stop the carnage. Last year, 243 people died during Ops Selamat. Between Jan and May, 2,849 people have already been killed on our roads (2,779 same period last year). 
It's time we wonder what has become of the life-saver AES. Will it become another of our road fatalities?

4 comments:

1. Anonymous8:56 pm

Omar Ong should call for a lab to discuss do we need or not AES.

If McKinsey is the faciitator, one wud expect them to ay we need it and two companies too.

That is what Omar Ong wants

2. Anonymous9:30 pm

It's time for Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan to declare over speeding, driving on the emergency lanes etc. are haram. Should not only about shisha and cigarette!
    Firman Allah swt dalam Surah al-Baqarah, ayat 195 yang bermaksud: “Dan janganlah kamu sengaja mencampakkan diri kamu ke dalam bahaya kebinasaan”.

Hantu Gigi Jarang

3. Anonymous11:30 pm

Some people are so obsessed with Omar Ong! I don't know if AES is his company or project BUT if it's going to save lives, so what?!

4. Anonymous11:14 am

Speed thrills but kills. It's the personal attitude above all that matters, not the road control system.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=T1z4f0RlnBA