Friday, April 19, 2013

Handling a self-inflicted crisis, DAP style

The new DAP logo, if Guan Eng gets his way

I wish I'd published this article earlier. It was in the mail last night but I did not get to read it as I was on the road to Pekan, where Najib Razak will submit his nomination papers tomorrow morning, as will all candidates who are hoping to contest in the May 5th general election, including our sulking friends from the DAP. I see the Rocket's flags and buntings still flying here in Kuantan. At the rate they were going I thought they would have taken all of them down by now. - Bru, eve of nominations day, 8.52pm

UMNO and DAP: the mature and the immature
 By Steve Roads

Recent political events bring into sharp focus the fundamental differences in crisis management between DAP and Umno.

When DAP faced a slight predicament, it resorted to shedding tears and being emotional.
When UMNO faced a major upheaval, it just went ahead and re-invented itself.

Therein lies the difference between political immaturity and political maturity.

The DAP drama began to unfold recently when the Registrar of Societies announced the non-recognition of the party elections held in December last year for positions in its Central Executive Committee due to some discrepancies.

Incensed, Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng told the media yesterday: The DAP CEC in its meeting tonight decided that RoS must revoke its letter not recognising the office-bearers in the CEC by 3pm tomorrow on Friday.

(That is already a contradiction. How can an unrecognised committee meet? Surely such a meeting is illegal, and therefore its demand cannot have legitimacy or clout).

DAP stalwart and Lim's father, Lim Kit Siang, was also there when Guan Eng spoke to the press. Kit Siang told the media: I want to confess I shed tears.

The younger Lim further confessed:Many of our members shed tears. How do you explain to your voters? DAP Chairman Karpal Singh also admitted to being emotional over the incident.

Compare DAP's crisis response to UMNO's crisis response.  UMNO faced a major challenge in 1987. In that year, the courts ruled that UMNO was an illegal organisation due to the existence of several unregistered branches. That was an offence under the Societies Act of 1966.

But UMNO leaders did not rave and rant about the court ruling. It did not hold a press conference and condemn the judge nor demand that the law be amended. They did bnot take to the streets.  Instead, under Tun Mahathir, a new party called UMNO BARU was registered. Over time, the BARU was dropped, and UMNO became whole again.

Apart from the differences in the approach of UMNO and DAP to challenges, let's look at the DAP 'grouse' more closely. Guan Eng said that in issuing the letter dated April 17, 2013, just two days before nomination day, the ROS intended to kill off DAPs electoral prospects" in the general election.

He added:"..This is completely disgraceful, (DAP supporters will ) show their anger at the ballot box. We want BN to feel the anger of not just our supporters, but also right-thinking Malaysians, he said

Slow down, Guan Eng, not so fast. What did you say about right-thinking Malaysians? Perhaps you were referring to non-thinking Malaysians. 

Because all right-thinking Malaysians know that nobody is above the law. And that if the law is breached, the violator must either pay the penalty.

All right-thinking Malaysians know it is wrong to place one's own infractions before the feet of UMNO.

All right-thinking Malaysians know it is wrong to shoot from the hip. The complaints of wrongdoing did not come from outside but they all came from party members.  Are you saying, Guan Eng, that some party members are more equal than others? That ROS should ignore the complaints from some members and listen only to those who are close and dear to you?

It is clear Guan Eng, you are blinded by rage and arrogance. You have shown that you have little respect for the law of the land, even less respect for your party constitution and no respect at all for your ordinary members.

Surely they will show their anger at the ballot box--at your expense.

60 comments:

1. Anonymous9:11 pm

Some NGOs have brought the complaint that UMNo is haram due to some branches in Kelantan Care to write an article on it?
    Oh I forgot ROS only goes after opposition parties
    Do you have any idea how much people hate umno now Except for the rich umnoputras like you Nobody has anything good to say about umno Mana you orang mahu dapat votes? Very deep in rural heartland? Yang tak ada Internet Those people have children who know better

1. Anon 911 is one of the example of non-thinking malaysians mentioned in bru's article.

2. Anonymous10:16 pm

The fault lies in the blame culture of the Pakatan Riot themselves.

DAP created their own hara kiri by deliberately 'fixing' their own party elections. In fact they copied their big brother PKR, which also rigged their earlier party elections.

Then they go around correcting the perceived mistakes of others such as the Elections Commission, Police, Army, King, PWD, JKR etc. etc.

Hey, you DAP leaders, you were given ample time to correct your deliberate technical and typo glitches. Your own party members raised the issue immediately after your coup, but you refused to even entertain any of it.

Where is the rule of law that you preach upon others?

Now, don't go around sulking like children and broken toys over your own deliberate misdeeds. It's your baby, you should rock it yourselves.

Oh yes indeed of it was one of the Barisan parties that did the same (which they did not), your Ambigas and other Pakatan Riot idiots will be burning tyres at KLCC 24/7.

Go fornicate yourself running around the tree. It may do you good.

3. Anonymous10:23 pm

What else new?blame it on BN/UMNO for all the ruckus they created themselves!Trying very hard to hoodwink the rakyat...crap party!

4. Anonymous10:52 pm

Hello... Who created the issue?
    You.. Yourself. Own misconduct party election. If not ros fiasco would never arose.
    Clearly you are incompetent leader.
    Taking things for granted... Your fault..

5. Anonymous11:27 pm

Why did you not mention the fact that the ROS'decision was timed SO CLOSE to nomination day? If it had been shortly after the DAP assembly in Jan, there would not have been this hue and cry as you put it. Many people won't agree with you that it is self-inflicted crisis, DAP style. Rather they smell a rat in that the ROS took directives from the PM to come to this decision. Already we can see the whole sandiwara or wayang kulit UMNO style unfolding, where those acting the role of good cop bad cop have already emerged. You have the bad cop ROS declaring the DAP illegal first, then the good cop Zahid Hamidi saying that DAP should be allowed to contest with its logo. There will no doubt be other bad cops and good cops saying their piece UMNO style. Finally the biggest good cop Najib will appear and say DAP can use its logo. Will Najib time his piece on nomination day tomorrow? If he does the MSM will praise him sky high and use this tactic to win votes. Then you rocky bru will come up with a blog to endorse the PM as a hero. Typical predictable UMNO style sandiwara which is already stale as the people have already woken up.

1. Anonymous8:50 am

Because DAP delayed their response to ROS to the 11th hour

6. Anonymous11:29 pm

Rocky,you are talking craps.The issue is about the timing of the action of ROS and the promise made earlier by DG of ROS to DAP.
    You are one kind of human who will simply jump into the pit whenever you saw an opportunity.Shame on you!

7. Anonymous11:30 pm

"all animals are created equal, but some animals are more equal than others"

farmer...

1. Anonymous5:24 pm

It's your own delusion. Where is the proof ? Who have money ? Malays? May be you should examine the Malaysia's richest list and see their political affiliations. And the' good ' Malay guy Anwar Ibrahim is not corrupt and almost angrelic although he failed to answer a straight forward question on his sexual orientation?
      For a 'corrupt' - UMNO helmed government to achieve a consistent economic growth and stability, l would say WOW!

8. Anonymous12:30 am

UMNO/BN = Rasuah

Vote for Change !!

9. Anonymous12:37 am

Spin whatever you like..

Ini Kali Lah..

LMAOROTF

10. Anonymous12:42 am

Dear Bru,

I've been following you since day one. Reading your material from both sides that reflect your slant then and now. I can vouch this article you wrote is first class. Keep it coming. We the right thinking Malaysia led by right minded bloggers like yourself will out number the non-thinking Malaysia led by the old and young DAP idiots of no class.

11. Anonymous1:31 am

This letter dated 19 april 2013 from ROS make clearer what was already clear in the letter dated 17 april 2013. DAP can stop the drama. If their lawyers do not understand BM, do NOT ask Google to translate ;p

Now lets focus on more substantive issues other than roket landing on the moon!

http://stopthelies.my/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/ros-Copy.png

12. Anonymous1:41 am

BRAVO BRU....

13. Anonymous2:47 am

Wahlau ROS yang lembap UMNO punya salah juga?

Tapi ROS bagi chance tanding tak puji UMNO pulak?

14. Anonymous4:01 am

It is a bit unfair for an outsider (non member of Dap), to comment on whether Dap has had a fair election or not but if we really wants to find out about it, the answer could actually be sought directly from the marginalised faction.

15. Anonymous4:49 am

BULLSHIT.

When UMNO is in trouble, they blackmailed Malaysians by threatening to burn the country down.

16. Anonymous6:06 am

You guys.. Come on...
    This is nothing to do with ros
    if election were correctly done at first place...
    If nothing was wrong.. It wont even reach to ros of this matter..
    Original issue diverted...

17. Anonymous6:10 am

What is there to spin... Lol... Just straight forward... Gosh.. Issue is party misconduct election..

18. Anonymous7:15 am

Hi Rocky

Read again:

Guan Eng said that in issuing the letter dated April 17, 2013, just two days before nomination day, the ROS intended to “kill off DAP’s electoral prospects" in the general election.

The question is - why now, just two days before the nominations day?

You have the answer, but you will not! Thats your special brew - always.

Its easy as that.

19. Anonymous8:17 am

This mistake by DAP was indeed self inflicted, then the ROS made a bigger mistake by sending that letter to say they don't recognize DAP"s CEC. Then PAS and PKR responded to help DAP by allowing them their respective party logos. This act may surely convince the fence sitters that Pakatan are indeed united. I think the ROS may just have cost BN this election.

20. Anonymous9:02 am

Trademark of these PR supporters in these blog either change topic or always in the state of denial.Admit mistake had been done and rectified ASP.DAP can stand in the election and use its Rocket.Avoid creating minor cock stand and carry on with the elections.

21. charleskiwi9:07 am

We all know very well whatever is happening to DAP is inflicted on them b the lackeys of Umno !
    If that and many other 'unfortunate incidents' had not taken place, the thugs in Umno cannot be called that and are not doing their jobs !

22. Anonymous9:23 am

BN/UMNO CANNOT win without cheating. From sex videos, thugs disrupting ceramahs, one-sided/false media coverages, double-standard implementation of local council laws etc. etc. The list is too long... Shameful, winning without any integrity. Grow some balls lah, fight fair!

23. 1. dap sendiri yg bagi 'blank cheque' (senjata), jadi terpulang kat ros bila nak bertindak. btw, agensi kerajaan mana yg benar2 'merdeka'?

2. kes umno - what happened to salleh abas & the gang? care to elaborate? ku li tried to use umno name but rejected - ada story?

3. 1 penyamun & 1 lagi perompak. aku nak tengok sapa yg kurang samun atau kurang rompak harta rakyat.

24. Anonymous10:37 am

Anon 9:11,

Why can't you accept the fact that your Tokong who has made the blunder. Another thing, you are wrong by saying that BN/UMNO has lost support from the rakyat. Open your eyes wide. The majority Malays and Indians will vote for BN/UMNO in GE 13. Eventhough the majority Chinese will vote for PR, they only make up 24% of the total population. Votes from the Malays and Indians will give BN/UMNO a landslide victory.

25. Anonymous10:38 am

12:30

What change? In umno all reps can vote. In dap only those close to the tokong can vote. You change first before asking others to change.

26. Anonymous10:39 am

Anon 9:11,

Why can't you accept the fact that your Tokong who has made the blunder. Another thing, you are wrong by saying that BN/UMNO has lost support from the rakyat. Open your eyes wide. The majority Malays and Indians will vote for BN/UMNO in GE 13. Eventhough the majority Chinese will vote for PR, they only make up 24% of the total population. Votes from the Malays and Indians will give BN/UMNO a landslide victory.

27. Anonymous10:46 am

anon 11:27

your mentality is just like the dap rocket. cannot go higher than the coconut tree.

28. Anonymous10:46 am

Blame it on your chief dajal, anwar. Parti kedajalan rakyat with its one-eye symbol is a manifestation of the dajjal itself. Beware you fools. Long live BN

29. Anonymous10:48 am

9:11

read some history. dont be so stupid and ignorant.

30. Anonymous11:23 am

It is sad indeed!!! If the chinese still want this family to represent them,then let them be the brainless Malaysian. Not all chinese are brainless anyway.Pls remember that last PRU is just a sign of protest to slumberjack.Now it is different.These Lims are just good at spinning politics. There are lots of things gained from MCA until this date and lets continue it that way.
    Ah Chong.

31. Anonymous12:05 pm

param param you are such a pitiful pathetic fler - so easily conned by the daddy anak party

please engage your brain (whatever is left after DAP brainwash) before reading these FACTS not drama mama

http://avran.blogspot.sg/2013/04/registrar-of-societies-big-loser-in-ge13.html

32. Anonymous12:10 pm

9:11 pm
    11:27 pm
    11:29 pm
    12:30 am
    12:37 am
    12:42 am
    4:49 am
    7:15 am

these are samples of the pakatoon's intellectuals

hahahahahahahaha

33. Anonymous12:12 pm

Shit..
    There goes my chance of pangkahing the moon..
    The ROS so hardworking till late nite to pass letter to DAP..
    Hmmm..another plan backfired and need to flipflop again..
    Guess they realise it's more suicidal to let DAP use the PAS logo..
    Oh well..back to pangkahing the rocket..
    Ini kali lah..

LMAOROTF

34. Anonymous12:41 pm

Siapa punya idea ni suruh ROS keluar Surat hampir sangat penamaan calon?

Nak jadi hero ke?

Rakyat mata terbuka Dan boleh berfikir. Tu lah masalahnya sebenarnya.

35. Anonymous1:51 pm

Datuk Rocky,

When nomination process is closed, there are multiple cornered fight for ADUN and Parlimen (max 7 corners)in many areas across the entire nation.

Again, it is proven that all of us be it Muslims, Cinese, Indians and East Malaysians still are not so ready to accept a two cornered fight which is a prerequisite for a two party system to become a reality in Bolehland!

36. Anonymous2:18 pm

F You lah Lim "Tokong"! So you say that i'm not the right thinking Malaysian for not ever voting for you and your Party? Any right thinking Malaysians will not vote for people who don't take accountability for their actions! Stop blaming others and mirror yourself 1st lah! KNN! Go fly kite la or better still, go run back crying to daddy lim you sick F! With your choice of words and statements, DAP will never get my vote!

One pissed off Malaysian!

37. Anonymous3:01 pm

I always asked my friends,'Have you ever met a stupid Chinaman ? They are all very clever, are'nt they ? My friends would nod in agreement. I continued, 'But you have met some Chinamen who are so very clever as to be stupid !' They looked bewildered and I went on to enlighten them by mentioning a few household names. My friends all nodded in agreement.

This probably explains about smart and very clever Chinamen the World over including Singapore !

38. damansaraman3:46 pm

Dear Anonymous 11.27, 11.29 and 7.15 and the likes

I do not know your education background, but you guys definitely cannot be categorized as intelligent persons

Fact 1: DAP was not deregistered, only its new CEC is not recognized by ROS due the known ongoing case.

HENCE 1: There is no question whatsoever about DAP unable to use it Rocket symbol. DAP is still a lawfully registered party

Fact 2: Again, DAP was not deregistered, only its new CEC is not recognized by ROS due the known ongoing case.

HENCE 2: DAP can still issue the Appointment Letter to all its candidates and signed by their Secretary General which happen to be (both previous and current) LGE. Only if DAP's Sec Gen was previously a different person, then DAP could get an advice from RoS on who should be allowed to sign those appointment papers

Fact 3: The original letter to DAP was sent 30 days earlier, but DAP asked for an extension, and RoS granted the 30 days extension

HENCE 3: Thus why that letter came exactly 30 days later which happened to be 2 days before the nomination date. Should DAP acted on it earlier, the issue of 'wrong timing' won't exist.

My advice to you guys is this.

I know you guys are so very fond of LGE's Chinese Opera antics, but please enjoy it as it is, which is literally as an Opera!

Do not bring it to the real world because the reality is actually so different!

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

39. Anonymous5:36 pm

Please refine your reading. You are overlooking the important aspect of our system-inconsistent application of the rule of law.

40. Anonymous6:16 pm

A few commenters questioned the timing of the ros' action, insinuating that it was malicious as it was just two days before nomination. but ros did not say it want to deregister dap, in fact it said dap was ok until the probe was over. it was lim guan eng who dramatised the whole thing, to the extent of directing all dap candidates to use pkr and pas logos. And as we all know now, dap candidates did not encounter any problem using the rocket during nomination. gua eng's tactic to gain sympathy has now backfired.

41. Anonymous7:06 pm

for all you know the ros is is a pakatan wolf in sheep skin

42. Anonymous7:50 pm

Thats se mean kapal DAP sekarang tanpa NAKHODA yg sah, semua bole ngaku dia BOSS?

Mengarut le parti ni!

hehehehe

43. Anonymous9:11 pm

Bullshit, when Pakatan position were threaten they call for rally , create anarchy and accused Barisan oppressed them! Pakatan Rakyat bullshit is rotten to the core!

44. Anonymous9:27 pm

Inilah akibat Nya apabila masyarakat china memilih primping yang memilih Penyakit denial syndrome.

Maksud denial syndrome itu sendiri adalah tidak jujur Dan suka menipu, menyeleweng pada diri sendiri Rakan Rakan Dan kaum nya.

45. Anonymous9:37 pm

Pakatangoon , when you introduce your manifesto keep your promise la, manifesto meaning IS NOT manipulation -Pakatan you say???

46. Anonymous10:48 pm

hahahahahaha

pakatoon got stabbed in the back by tokong joseph

biaDAP will use its toppled roket - the one that's full of hot air

47. Linosan12:20 am

Think this locky should stand for elections too. he is such a good political analyser. Sometimes you think the paymasters can do such great impact to a writers strokes, ha ha. When i hv read all the news and in search of some ridiculous writes, locky never fails. pity that he has lost a lot of credibility just like the old horse. otherwise, until today the old horse would be put high up on a pedestal as a stateman instead of the pathetic remarks about him from our rakyats. Sure hurts deep down inside. No?

48. Anonymous2:54 am

Confucius says to the politicians:

Men's natures are alike. It is their habits that divide them apart.

Hold faithfulness and sincerity as the primary principles. Then no friends would not be like yourself.

49. Anonymous6:41 am

Surprisingly a learned person like Rocky is giving his support to a corrupt and lawless regime. The Bar Council is taking action against senior lawyer Cecil Abrahim for his role in drafting the second Statutory Declaration of Bala in connection with the Alantunya murder. This fact is as clear as daylight but the great Rocky as usual always choose to highlight trivial matters allegedly committed by the Opposition. Where is the "old" Rocky which we used to admire and respect so much?

50. Anonymous9:35 am

The DAP machai cybertrooper is doing all the works for BN. Through their arrogant comment, they are forgetful of the Malay nature, we really hated arrogant people.. Their hateful boastful comments is only making the Malay hate them at the point that we start to hate all Chinese.. Keep it up and you may see anther 13 May.

Misterzizou

51. Anon 641 am writes:

Surprisingly a learned person like Rocky is giving his support to a corrupt and lawless regime. The Bar Council is taking action against senior lawyer Cecil Abrahim for his role in drafting the second Statutory Declaration of Bala in connection with the Alantunya murder. This fact is as clear as daylight but the great Rocky as usual always choose to highlight trivial matters allegedly committed by the Opposition. Where is the "old" Rocky which we used to admire and respect so much?

6:41 am

xxxx-----xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Anone,

It has been more than a month since Bar Council said it will take action. You see any action taken against Cecil Abraham?

Hehe. Wonder why they are keeping quiet about things there ...

52. Anonymous12:05 pm

talking about two party system ideal gimmick...

Can we really have a two party system when the oppo is not even simply a legally registered coalition with a common M&A and logo?

Is this comparable to a bus manned by three different steering wheels with different objectives?

53. Anonymous2:32 pm

Confucius says to the politicians:

Men's natures are alike. It is their habits that divide them apart.

Hold faithfulness and sincerity as the primary principles. Then no friends would not be like yourself.

Ha Ha Ha tell that to born again chinkies christo will you.

as muhammad ali say;

"I Ain't Got No Quarrel With The VietCong..."

thus we do respect those practice Taoism and Buddhism.

54. dergahgrill3:27 pm

Oh, oh - the Bru-man has a selectively short memory. Let me refresh it with a few salient observations.

1. Cecil Abraham. There's such a thing as "presumed innocent until found guilty". It's part of a quaint concept known as "the rule of law".

2. Ghani vs Kit Siang. Ghani has done some positive things for Johor. But why are Johoreans still crossing the Causeway daily to work and study in Singapore? Where is the Johorean pride in this aspect?

3. Guan Eng and the state of play. At the end of the day, it's the electorate that calls the shots. You are not second-guessing them now, are you?

55. Anonymous10:44 pm

kit siang should learn to save precious water - next time he sheds dinosaur ... ooops crocodile tears, put a bucket under his racist ... ooops running nose

hehe

56. Anonymous12:36 pm

Please must be reminded why DAP was under investigation in the first place by ROS. Due to fraudulent elections at the highest level. It was their own members that lodged the complaints. Not BN.

oohh yaaa.. Reminder again; DAP/PR has no legitimacy to preach free and fair elections.

57. Anonymous12:12 pm

There r 1 question pls kindly enlighten me. If they really abide the rules/law so why ROS lifted the charges in the end?