Monday, October 22, 2012

Malaysia Discriminated

And we thought Canada was different! Here's something our vociferous advocates for everything free and fair could take up for the future of our country.

Or do they speak up only if it's against their own Government?

Full story h e r e

The Slate has a commentary, A Protectionist Country blocks two more deals
"This protectionist instinct has crept with French-like stealth into sectors hardly in the realm of national economic security, like the home improvement business ... Canada, it appears, is no longer quite so open for business."
Talk about things French, what has Suaram has been a little quiet since the French government prosecutor told Malaysia's official news agency Bernama that there was no Scorpene trial as reported by the Opposition-backed media in Malaysia.

35 comments:

1. Anonymous3:24 pm

So What,,!!!!

Petronas tak dapat CONTRACT tu BOLE Bankcrupt ke!!!

Mana PERKOSA,,tak MELALAK ke,,Manusia yang BADAN macam KATAK tapi LIDAH Biawak,,!!!

PERKOSA tak suka di SOAL oleh Malaysiakini,,,,!!!!

Kalu dia cakap pon TALK COCK!!!!

-LAGIBODO-

-BODO-

2. Giler ke aper mamat Anon 3:24?

3. Anonymous4:43 pm

You have ovelooked what Sarawak has done to Brand Malaysia.

4. booyah5:12 pm

anon 3.24..

Apa yg kau tulis ni SETAN!!!!

5. Anonymous5:50 pm

Malaysia should act like how UAE reacted

http://www.thenational.ae/business/economy/canadas-conflict-with-uae-simmering-for-months

6. Anonymous6:25 pm

that's the problem with you Rocky ...
    go and read and watch Malaysiakini/TV about Suaram thingy!!

7. IT.Sheiss6:39 pm

As an anti neo-liberal, I support this move by Canada to protect its industries and Malaysia should follow suit and protect especially our key industries and resources from globalist domination, and tell the World Trade Organisation to go stuff it.

Canada did not deregulate its banking and financial indsutry in the same way which the U.S. did, so avoided the kind of economic problems the U.S. and Europe face.

Canada is quite a protectionist country, which prevents even imports of products, between its provinces.

I can remember in the early 1990s when beers brewed in Ontario could not be sold cross-province in British Columbia and vice-versa.

Despite that, Canadians can afford to gloat and look down upon the United States, even though the likes of its Progressive Conservative prime minister Stephen Harper is known to pander to the US.

Neo-liberals can whine and moan all they want but I say this move by Canada is a step in the beginning of the end of the von Hayekist, von Misesist, Chicago School, Thatcherite, Reaganite, Ayn Rand-sit, ideology which has dominated the world for the past 30 years, and which especially dominates the Internet culture.

After all, is it "free and fair" - a "level playing field" for a heavyweight boxer to fight a flyweight in professional or amateur boxing?

Many of these "free and fair" advocates are purely opportunistic and will grab onto any straw which they can find to criticise Malaysia, irrespective of whether it's justified or not.

I believe, the world, now mired in economic problems due to globalisation, free markets and open borders will revert to a more protectionist environment, whatever the World Trade Organisation globalists demand.

8. I am totally disappointed with the deal...

9. IT.Sheiss6:47 pm

"Talk about things French, what has Suaram has been a little quiet since the French government prosecutor told Malaysia's official news agency Bernama that there was no Scorpene trial as reported by the Opposition-backed media in Malaysia."

Oh yeah! SUARAM, Lawyers for Liberty, opposition politicians and the "alternative" online portals have so far been surprisingly quiet about those two Indonesia guys sentenced to hang for defending their lives and limb.

10. Anonymous6:50 pm

Natuna alpha lagi bagus ,serumpun,jiran kita...punyai simpanan gas yg besar,pengangkutan murah...petronas tolak tawaran indonesia....pergi bid kat canada bersebelahan america...dah tentu kena block...project canada tu asset TALISMAN tempat EVP wee yiaw hin jadi country rep dulu sebelum masuk petronas...da tentu ini cadangan mereka suruh Petronas beli.....dan krn takut dgn evp ini...board yg beladigol ini,bersetuju beli walupun jauh hujung dunia...semuanya gunakan duit negara kita hanya nak menkaya kan org asing....rakyat sendiri mati tak makan ...

11. There should be no issue here.

The USA has blocked China and Arab countries from acquiring key stakes in strategic industries such as ports, energy, arms manufacturing etc. European countries having acted similarly in the past.

Malaysia does the same. How many times have our-powers-that-be, prevented foreign parties from investing in Proton or forced them in other contracts, such as infrastructure works, to take on 30% Ali Baba partners? Our government did a massive u-turn on MAS, even where the investing party was 100% local!!

Should say, Warren Buffet or Bill Gates bid for a stake in Petronas or Boustead (submarines/arms), and their boards of directors agree, you think our government will stand by idly and approve it?

WTO and the free market notwithstanding, every country in the world practices protectionism to a lesser or greater degree, including Malaysia. That's not to say it's totally bad; but we should not point the finger when we are all in the same boat!

Dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

12. Anonymous7:08 pm

Canadian government is more intelligent than Malaysian government.

Bl

13. Anonymous7:08 pm

Natuna alpha lagi bagus ,serumpun,jiran kita...punyai simpanan gas yg besar,pengangkutan murah...petronas tolak tawaran indonesia....pergi bid kat canada bersebelahan america...dah tentu kena block...project canada tu asset TALISMAN tempat EVP wee yiaw hin jadi country rep dulu sebelum masuk petronas...da tentu ini cadangan mereka suruh Petronas beli.....dan krn takut dgn evp ini...board yg beladigol ini,bersetuju beli walupun jauh hujung dunia...semuanya gunakan duit negara kita hanya nak menkaya kan org asing....rakyat sendiri mati tak makan ...

14. Anonymous7:11 pm

I've been getting updates from Suaram, didn't you read Malaysiakini?

Bl

15. Anonymous7:13 pm

Can all those who are just doing their job to support AES, read this ...

http://www.drjacobgeorge.com/myweblog/?p=3285

Bl

16. Anonymous7:16 pm

Apa la bodonya org atas ni...

17. Anonymous7:17 pm

The West always preach globalization and the world without border when it comes to trade. The truth is, there will be no boundaries if the free flow of goods and products coming from the West to Asia but not the other way around. Especially if those coming from a giant and well-established company like Petronas. It happened before to China with its cheap goods and now Japanese cars. Next time around it might be Korea's Samsung.
    In the future, if the West preach new doctrines, we shouldn't be too quick to grab them. Have a closer look and study them. Not straight away jump into it without fully understood its implication especially in the long term.
    In retrospect, it might actually a clash of civilizations. That Huntington book is still relevant to this day. A good read to understand the nature of relations and contacts between different breed of people.

18. Anonymous7:56 pm

Anon: 3:24pm,

Pergi jumpa pakar jiwa cepat sebelum penyakit "DAPigs Syndrome" awak melarat. LOL. ;-)

19. hello rocky,
    - I do not believe that there is something discriminating about the blocked deals
    - been in canada some years ago, i noticed that their public demanded the government to take strong action against selling of Canadian's icon to foreign investor; having lost quite a number of them already such as Tim Horton, Zellers, the Bay, etc
    - but i guess this just shows that there is actually no FREE TRADING that is really free
    - all nations should be allowed to regulate something for the beneficial of their own people

20. White Anglo Saxons think brown natives only know how to drill arse holes..not gas

21. Anonymous10:01 pm

BODO 3.24pm

nk komen tp bodoh punya komen... patut la BODO...bkn setakat bodoh...bangsat lg

22. commentator 3.24 pm . . . are u insane? seriously? What are u rambling about, only God knows!

23. Anonymous11:06 pm

No wonder stigma on malaysian companies with all the corruption, cronyism, shoddy workmanship, "u tolong gua, gua tolong u" mentality that has been allowed to fester under the BN leadership.

24. Anonymous2:47 am

Rocky, how educated are you? Spm ? Srp?

25. Anonymous7:44 am

So when will Ambiga and the Suaram goons hold a demonstration over this?

26. Bro, my blog "Eyes On NST".

27. Mujesh Jay2:49 pm

rock brew, this is about natural resources......don't compare it with shooting your own innocent people and imprisoning people without any reason just because they disagree with you....

28. Anonymous6:23 am

When Qatar Airways was denied landing rights into Toronto as they would compete with Air Canada, the Qataris closed down the Canadian military transit center in Doha. When Singapore Airlines was denied additional landing rights into Vancouver, Singapore close down their diplomatic office and stopped SIA services into Canada.

Canada only welcome foreign investment from Asia into their oil sands and natural gas industry when they faced problems getting fresh funds from American or European investors due to the sub prime crisis in the States and BP oil leak crisis in the Gulf of Mexico.

When Canada faced dwindling job creation due to the credit crunch a few years ago, they banned entry of contract workers from Mexico.

Amir Hafizi

29. As I read it via the Canadian online news the key issue is Canada is open to publicly listed foreign ventures investing in Canada. The Industry Minister's objection was on the basis that Petronas is a state owned enterprise with limited public access to its accounts and thus has no public or parliamentary oversight.

30. Anonymous8:22 pm

Excuses. They just look down on stupid Asians

31. Purple Haze1:02 pm

To further expound on what Nik commented, even Malaysians don't have access to Petronas accounts and financials. macam mana pulak foreigners ?

The Canadian Industry Minister has a valid point. If Canada's natural resources are going to be owned by an entity which does not have transparent accounts, the Canadian people could be screwed worse than Bernie Madoff's clients.

32. Jasper Bloodstone5:47 pm

Well, Canada ranks 17th in the latest World Bank "Ease of doing business" report, whilst Malaysia ranks 12th.

I suppose that a resource-rich country like Canada, with a strong domestic economy and a shared border with the US, can pretty much set it's own rules with regard to foreign investments and "protectionist" agendas.

Malaysia is too small and too vulnerable to be able to afford such "luxuries".

And national oil companies like Petronas have to go where the resources - oil and natural gas - are. Unlike, say, Petrobras, Saudi Aramco or Rosneft, all of whom can capitalise on massive domestic reserves of oil and gas.

The pressure is more so on Petronas, seeing as how it contributes a fairly significant percentage of federal government revenues.

Hence, much as it would like to, it can't simply walk away from these deals.

Unless, of course, there's a political resolution of the South China Sea disputes which would open the way for accessing the undersea oil and gas reserves - reportedly massive.

33. Anonymous11:06 pm

No worries mr wee yiaw hin bole buat magic...dia yg propose...krn dia lebih bijak dr org lama dlm Petronas sehingga sesiap yg menentang dasarnya...di minta berhenti atas nama pengkhianat negara...

34. Anonymous11:56 am

hmmm...abis peluang scheme -*tambah kaya lagi*- si polan dan kroni2 nya. karam is certain!