Saturday, June 30, 2012

Waterheck, Selangor?!

... and something RM1 billion and dirty. Used to be that if you live in Selangor, even in the jin-bertendang parts like Puchong, you could boast of being a citizen of the most developed state in Malaysia. Then in March 2008 you could brag that Selangor was one of the states that created the political tsunami in Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's Malaysia. The new state government came in and promoted all kinds of freedoms, including free water (though terms and conditions apply).

Today, just a little over 4 years later, the euphoria seems to have died down. The tsunami is giving way to a Looming Water Crisis, h e r e.

Tough luck, fellow Puchongites. If you like, treat this as a sacrifice we have to make for wanting change for the sake of change ...

p.s. 

YB Chua Tee Yong's tweet earlier today, retweeted by Wong Chun Wai, the Star's big editor, is also a potential bad news for Selangor. YB Teresa Kok seems not to know about what's RM1 billion and dirty in her (and my) state, though, so we'll have to wait for Chua Jr, who is also deputy Agri Minister, to give us more bad news ...

35 comments:

1. Anonymous6:51 pm

IF you were to believe SYABAS and the UMNO rent seekers then I think the cows also can fly cos this water deal in Selangor pakated by the previous government only make 1 man very rich.I live in Selangor and I will back the PR government to get us a better deal and not pay for water hikes and in any need for change there must be sacrifices and I am willing to live with some trouble without water for the better future.But right now I am getting some free water and very happy about it..

LMAOROTF

1. Anonymous12:38 pm

Nasib baik penang takde water problem

Shalelalela

2. Anonymous7:13 pm

Tee yong is a relatively good guy. I hope he remains a professional within the political system rather then a politician within a professional set up. At the very least, he should avoid shit like rocky..

3. IT.Sheiss7:55 pm

According to the Meteorological Department's long range weather forecast, July will be the driest month and if nothing is done very soon and we in the Klang Valley are without water, I wonder whether the people who the of Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley will vote for at the next GE.

These apparently small things in the minds of certain politicians are the most important things for ordinary people.

Like every Saturday in Selangor is a no plastic bag day, in reality an environmental/ecological measure of questionable impact and effectiveness but which inconveniences the public on the day when most of us replenish our stock for the following week ahead.

On the other hand, what has the Selangor State government done to encourage recycling by providing the required facilities for drop off and collection and how much as it done to encourage conservation.

Instead it wants Selangor to appear like Australia but not do like Australia.

4. Anonymous1:30 am

Woi Rocky

Hope you got my rejoinder for Mazlan Pundek.

I will write about Selangor water after 'watering' myself tonight...hahahahaha

In the meantime:

An integral factor as to why Malaysia has weathered the most recent financial storm so admirably is its application of lessons learned during the Asian financial crisis. Namely, the central government has responded with savvy policy flexibility that eliminated the rigidity that has plagued other economies. By responding effectively to macroeconomic tribulations, the Malaysian economy is thriving.

Read more: http://community.nasdaq.com/News/2012-06/the-malaysian-economy-continues-to-thrive.aspx?storyid=152355#ixzz1zIXKWc9B

the Nasdaq is as pro- BN/Najib as the Huffington Post, The Washington Post, The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, The San Francisco Chronicle, the National Enquirer ...oh...there are too many more to write but all are definitely more prominent than some obscure Canadian rag(talk about the trolls scrapping the shit-barrel for some negativity).....hahahahahahahahaha

As the sister-in-law of my friend's granpappy would say; 'truth aint beautiful for them liars and losers'.....hahahahahaha.

Here's a glass of Connemara for you with hearty Cheers!

1. Jasper Bloodstone1:31 pm

I suppose that Fitch, Moody's & Standard & Poor's are just as enamoured about Malaysia and it's government?

It's strange then that Malaysia has not secured a "triple-A" rating from these agencies when other "pipsqueak" economies have managed to do so.

There are plenty of analysts, economists and fund managers out there with any number of opinions on matters economic and political.

But the "National Enquirer"? Why not "Hello" magazine, which has a Malaysian edition that chronicles the doings of the country's glitterati?

And why is "The Wall Street Journal" omitted from your list? Is it because it is as "skewed" in it's reporting and commentaries as any of the MSM in Malaysia?

5. Anonymous12:18 pm

Whattheheck Rocky?

When will you move to Sewerage Next??

Aren't you the Sewerage Muck Raker!!

6. Anonymous2:38 pm

Do we wish to see the 'crisis' deeepen and deepen until it really burden the rakyat? Wat ugly tots some have ...

7. Anonymous3:23 pm

this is the same strategy used a few years back for electricity... what happened now..the rakyat ended up with exorbitant bills for electricity and we can't do anything about it...the same thing will now happen to the so called water crisis "created" by the ngo, syabas and BN. i would support selangor and PKR anytime.

8. Anonymous6:26 pm

Come on Rocky....

No Comments means that you have no Modal Left...

Go Create some anonymous comments to make yourself look good! Heh Heh

9. Anonymous10:05 pm

Well, well, well. All's well. The well is empty, so what?. People of Selangor deserved what they wanted. Like the great Penang God said, not my problem, that's the problem of the previous government. So what is there to pity them!!.That's the problem of the present govt. Let them be for another 5 yrs and see what they want to be. Let it be.

10. Anonymous10:30 pm

Rating agencies can go and finger themselves in hell. They are inconsequential corrupted nincompoops only fit to bragged about by uneducated pig boys with small cocks. All those ratings list are only good for porn as their superduper ratings pre-2008 Financial crisis of the subprime derivatives are a classic example.

Anyway, they can fuckrate all they want as no one is paying any attention to their porn ratings as my mother-in-law's grandpappy's pappy would yap: "Rate my shit stink first before rate a country".

Moreover they are just shittin in the air hoping some of their droppings will stick so they can get their moolah. So rating agencies are nothing but liars and charlatans.

But one agency has been reliable, scrupulous and accurate in its investigations, ratings and rankings. They call it the US State Dept and their rankings of money-laundering jurisdictions have been spot on thus far:

http://www.state.gov/j/inl/rls/nrcrpt/2012/vol2/index.htm

1. Jasper Bloodstone5:46 pm

Aiyoh, not the Foggy Bottom rankings again!

Repeating these tired allegations ad nauseam ain't making an iota of difference to where US banks and financial institutions plant their flags, locate their key regional operations and executives.

Bernanke and his staff must be asleep at the wheel to allow Singapore-based banks continued access to the US financial system and inter-bank transactions.

After all, the Fed and Foggy Bottom continuously share intelligence reports, do they not?

Maybe they are lacking the cool maruah intellects that are unique only to Malaysia....

11. I live in Kota Kemuning. For more than a year, our taps ran dry from 12 am till about 3-4 am..... that was even when it was the rainy season.... It seems like we are made to think that with PR running Selangor, we faced a myriad of utility issues, from water, rubbish and cleaning of the streets.... I don't think it is mismanagement by the PR government but more of some kind of sabotage by certain parties due to sand being put into their rice bowls....

12. Anonymous10:58 pm

IT Sheiss 7.55pm

yes ageeed.

The no plastic days is all but a cosmetic farce. If they are really serious, they should pursue to replace plastic bag with paper bag etc.

Thats it, they are just good in dabbling in cosmetic farce thats all. That how they use it in their pied piper way.

Seelah, how they allowed for a set up of an alleged polluting factory on manufacture of solar panel http://mole.my/content/pollution-nightmare-penang

Seems that they never care for rakyat.

Willing to sacrifice our water need just to gain upper hand in seeking control of water companies,(as though the land bank which they sap up is not enough)

Pls save Malaysia

Better the devil we know

13. Paul Menon11:04 pm

Hmmm...Jasper doesn't understand sarcasm nor wit. Poor one-track mind.

How stupid one can be and can get.

1. Jasper Bloodstone5:35 pm

P M

"Sarcasm"? "Wit?

Really?

My comprehension of the English language must be inferior to yours.

The facts still matter, mind you.

Why not argue on facts instead?

14. Anonymous6:44 am

LMAOROTF@6:51 PM

"without water for the better future" hahahahaha

you mean you can have a better future without water???

typical brain-dead zombies making up pakatan supporters

15. Anonymous6:49 am

Anonymous @3:23 PM said...

"the rakyat ended up with exorbitant bills for electricity ... i would support selangor and PKR anytime."

yeah and soon you will end up with exorbitant bills for BOTH electricity and water

enjoy LGBT lifestyle .....

16. Anonymous6:52 am

anon @6:26 pm must have just crawled out from under a rotting coconut shell

Rocky's hits is almost 18 million visitors

go overhaul your brain - too much dead cells

17. IT.Sheiss10:54 am

"Do we wish to see the 'crisis' deeepen and deepen until it really burden the rakyat? Wat ugly tots some have ..."

That "some" must be a very privileged some who believe they won't be affected by water cuts.

I guess that "some" never had to carry water up several floors of flats.

18. IT.Sheiss10:59 am

"this is the same strategy used a few years back for electricity... what happened now..the rakyat ended up with exorbitant bills for electricity and we can't do anything about it...the same thing will now happen to the so called water crisis "created" by the ngo, syabas and BN. i would support selangor and PKR anytime."

I live in Petaling Jaya and my meter was recently changed but I have not been receiving exorbitant bills.

As for water, in a crisis, political/commercial differences should be set aside for the sake of the rakyat.

Don't treat us like a political/commercial football.

19. SYABAS WANTS TO SUPPLY WATER AND CHARGE US MORE WHILE kHALID WANTS WATER TO BE SUPPLID WITHOUT ANY MORE CHARGES BUT REDUCED THE EXISTING CHARGE. iF THERE IS ANY HINDRANCE TO KHALID AND THE PEOPLE OF SELANGOR, IT IS SYABAS ITSELF AND THE RULING GOVERNMENT.

20. Anonymous12:38 pm

Somehow this must be UMNO's fault. Same goes to Azmin's ice cream and Ostat Bad's counseling session at 3 a.m.

-Rabbit

21. Anonymous12:43 pm

You'll be the only UMNO Blogger Left Standing Clutching and Kissing your Datukship Imagining that it's Najib's Arse you are kissing!!!

22. Ketuanan Mamak Perkasa2:45 pm

Rakyat knew Public Utilities are controlled mostly by UMNO morons...

23. Anonymous5:02 pm

@anon 6.44am..

Please read the WHOLE sentence a thousand times and maybe it will sink into your brain what I meant.If your english is not that good then I am sorry I cant help you.You are just a victim of the present education system.And if that is the case then you are as brain dead zombie as me..

LMAOROTF

24. Anonymous8:35 am

Mr Manfrommacap & IT Sheiss,

You are living under a coconut shell. Have you ever benchmarked electricity & water prices with other countries? I have lived in various oversea countries and know for sure that Malaysian costs are way subsidized. The notion that everything should be practically free is shameful and very beggarly. One can appreciate if the underprevileaged are assisted but not the general masses. "Free" or cheap stuff does not lead to the right conservation behaviour so needed now. Even the 'super clean, super efficient and super crime free' country touted down south does not give freebees to its citizens. Not to mention a GST of 7%. Thank God I am living under the 'super corrupt' BN because they have given me so much...I only hope that the subsidies will be targeted for the right groups and not everybody. It is a waste of public funds needed for development.

25. Anonymous10:17 am

anon@8:35 AM

'super clean, super efficient and super crime free' - that is just a hype, a propaganda

the truth is coming out SOON!!

26. Anonymous11:30 am

But one agency has been reliable, scrupulous and accurate in its investigations, ratings and rankings. They call it the US State Dept and their rankings of money-laundering jurisdictions have been spot on thus far:

27. Paul Menon11:34 am

"The facts still matter, mind you.
    Why not argue on facts instead?"
    @5.35pm

Who would want to argue with a madman who lives in delusional denial of reality:

"one agency has been reliable, scrupulous and accurate in its investigations, ratings and rankings. They call it the US State Dept and their rankings of money-laundering jurisdictions have been spot on thus far:

28. Anonymous11:43 am

There is no free lunch. If we want clean water we should be prepared to pay or else dig our own wells.

29. Peter Tan9:45 pm

Looks like this guy was pretty accurate about a lot of things including money-laundering in Singapore:

Oct. 5 (Bloomberg) -- Andy Xie's resignation as Morgan Stanley's chief economist in Asia last week followed an e-mail in which he characterized Singapore as an economic failure dependent on illicit money from Indonesia and China.

Xie, who worked at Morgan Stanley for nine years, sent the e-mail to his colleagues after attending the International Monetary Fund and World Bank annual meetings last month in the Southeast Asian island state. The 46-year-old Shanghai-born economist questioned why Singapore was chosen to host the conference, and said delegates ``were competing with each other to praise Singapore as the success story of globalization.''

``Actually, Singapore's success came mostly from being the money laundering center for corrupt Indonesian businessmen and government officials,'' Xie, who was based in Hong Kong before leaving Morgan Stanley on Sept. 29, wrote in the e-mail. ``Indonesia has no money. So Singapore isn't doing well.''

Singapore's $118 billion economy is recovering from three recessions since the 1997 Asian financial crisis, and is expecting growth of as much as 7.5 percent this year. The city- state is grappling with growing competition from China and India, two of the world's most populous nations, where labor costs are less than a quarter of those in Singapore.

Mountain Summit

Officials from the public-relations departments of the Monetary Authority of Singapore and the government's information service declined to comment on the contents of the e-mail. They also declined to be identified.

Xie declined to comment on his departure when contacted on his mobile phone on Oct. 2 and said he hasn't decided what he will do next.

``I'm not at liberty to comment on anything,'' said Xie, who holds a doctorate in economics and a master's degree in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Massachusetts. ``I'm in Guangzhou and I'm taking a break on top of a mountain. It's quite nice here.''

Xie, who said in September that the U.S. economy may fall into a recession in 2008, worked at the corporate-finance division at Macquarie Bank in Singapore before joining Morgan Stanley in 1997. He earlier spent five years as an economist with the World Bank, overseeing the bank's programs in Indonesia and other countries in the Asia-Pacific region, according to the New York-based firm's Web site.

`Corruption Money'

The Singapore government, which is ending a four-decade ban on casinos, plans to triple tourism revenue to $19 billion and double visitors to 17 million by 2015.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in September that Singapore's economy may sustain annual growth of 3 percent to 5 percent for the next 10 years to 15 years as the country expands industries ranging from information technology to tourism.

``To sustain its economy, Singapore is building casinos to attract corruption money from China,'' said Xie, who ranked No. 2 among regional economists in a 2003 Asiamoney magazine survey.

(TBC)

30. Peter Tan9:48 pm

Morgan Stanley confirmed the contents of the e-mail and said the New York-based firm doesn't elaborate on the reasons behind employee departures.

``This is an internal e-mail based on personal suppositions and aimed at stimulating internal debate amongst a small group of intended recipients,'' said Cheung Po-ling, a Hong Kong-based spokeswoman for the world's largest securities firm by market value, in a written statement. ``The e-mail expresses the views of one individual and does not in any way represent the views of the firm.

``Morgan Stanley has been a very strong supporter of Singapore and has a great deal of respect for Singapore's achievements,'' Cheung said.

Morgan Stanley Deals

In the U.S., Wall Street analysts have lost their jobs for recommending shares of companies that they privately disparaged. Citigroup Inc., Merrill Lynch & Co. and eight rival securities firms agreed in 2003 to pay $1.4 billion to settle charges that analysts published misleading stock research in a bid to win investment-banking business.

Morgan Stanley ranks sixth among merger advisers in Singapore this year, handling $1.5 billion of deals, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. It advised Temasek Holdings Pte., the Singapore government's investment company, in the purchase of a 9.9 percent stake in Mumbai-based Tata Teleservices Ltd. Morgan Stanley, the No. 3 arranger of stock sales in Asia outside Japan, hasn't underwritten a Singapore deal this year, Bloomberg data show.

`Strange Choice'

``I tried to find out why Singapore was chosen to host the conference,'' Xie wrote in the e-mail. ``Nobody knew. Some said that probably no one else wanted it. Some guessed that Singapore did a good selling job. I thought it was a strange choice because Singapore was so far from any action or the hot topic of China and India. Mumbai or Shanghai would be a lot more appropriate.''

At a dinner party hosted by Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, ``people fawned him like a prince,'' Xie wrote. ``These Western people didn't know what they were talking about,'' he wrote, describing the praise for Singapore as ``nauseating pleasantries.''

To contact the reporter on this story: Netty Ismail in Singapore at nismail3@bloomberg.net.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=newsarchive&sid=aK7UIXigIxjM

31. Anonymous7:18 pm

Dunno la. Selangor is the most dirtiest state to me right now. So much for freedom and changes. After more than four years, everything went in the drain. So much for Rakyat first, Angkat sampah also cannot do properly, how la with 1Billion water project?