Sunday, June 10, 2012

Guan Eng, China Press is upset with your holier-than-them, so how?

Updated: Guan Eng is anti-Press Freedom, blogs seasoned journalist Bujai, who used to be the Penang bureau chief for Berita Harian in the 90s

Pic courtesy of the new media, not MSM or Print media
Original posting:
China Press hentam Guan Eng dah ... The Chinese-language print media have generally been more sympathetic towards the Opposition; it has always been that way and it has become more so under Najib Razak's liberal attitude towards the Press. Lim Guan Eng, for instance, writes quite regularly for the Chinese-language newspapers despite his claim that there is no Press freedom in this country!

But the China Press seems to have had enough of the hypocrisy and the holier-than-thou attitude of Guan Eng. After the Penang Chief Minister's incessant attacks on the Print media (after a press conference where he was asked about an alleged affair with an employee in his office?), the China Press tells Lim Guan Eng to stop blaming the mainstream media. Guan Eng should just stick to his new media if he really believes that they are fairer and more truthful than the print media, it says ..

Expect Guan Eng to repent some, for he can't make enemies of the Chinese Press. Read the China Press article, translated into Bahasa Melayu, h e r e.

21 comments:

1. Anonymous1:37 am

Heh heh

Confirm dear leader is more willing and definitely less able

with all the gaffes he committed - belang dah pecah

only thing is when will he realise his shortcomings - probably never

2. Anonymous3:20 am

Some politicians are like mat rempit, samseng jalanan or road bullies.

3. Anonymous9:55 am

That's what we call The Pot Calling The kettle Black!!

You are the biggest Holier than Thou Culprit that the Blogging World have ever Seen!

Your Holier than Thou attitude is conveyed as a Representative of UMNO and to you Anything not UMNO is not holy!! Your Propaganda is no different to that espoused by Hitler's aide or Putin's Communist Party!

Joe Black

1. I dont have a perception that anything not umno is not holy. It is your own perception. I pity you very22222. You hold a view which say anything you have then other people also same like you.

4. Anonymous10:25 am

Looks like dah habis modal menulis spin yang lebih ke?

Burn't out ke?

5. Jasper Bloodstone11:35 am

The test is whether LGE can get re-elected and the PR coalition can retain power in Penang come GE13.

The mainstream media is steadily becoming more and more irrelevant (in spite of Warren Buffet's views), given the increasing inroads made by the social media and the Internet.

It's not as if MSM journalists are paragons of objectivity and expertise.

6. fyi, sin-chew has withdrawn ONE article by LGE but takut pada CSL !!

mca tow-woman SHOUTED at LGE but takut to yell at xxxx !

LGE has gone to jail bcos of ONE under-aged Malay girl !!

7. dear cin2tan,

that's what I mean: he has a space in the mainstream chinese papers. what does that say about him? and about the media?

as for guan eng going to prison for an underaged Malay girl, that is hogwash. we knew why he went to jail and that's got very little to do with any girl, Malay or underaged. Don't believe everything you read in Wiki.

cheers.

1. Jasper Bloodstone1:43 pm

Bru

Enlighten us plebians, please.

Just why was LGE detained & sent to prison?

Was it for sedition? For divulging official secrets? For being a traitor to the country? For pecuniary felonies? For refusing to kowtow to the powers-that-be?

Let's get specific here, instead of pussyfooting around.

8. Anonymous2:00 pm

LGE? time's up lorrrrrr

cant wait to sambut him when he balik kampung...mebbe tanam jagung

and bro...

no worries 'bout all the 'toilet paper' commentators

only 1 guy with several multiple id's

PUTRAJAYA will still be ours...with more seats ;)

9. trifling-jester2:06 pm

rocky, how much umno payin?

10. Anonymous3:17 pm

for bloodystone ...

The Straits Times has sometimes been criticized as being the mouthpiece of the ruling party, the People's Action Party and lacks the freedom to criticize the government.

The Newspaper and Printing Presses Act of 1974 requires all newspapers to be publicly listed into both ordinary and management shares, with management shares having 200 times the voting rights of ordinary shares and approval from the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts needed for any management share transfers.

Past chairpersons of Singapore Press Holdings have been civil servants. SPH's former executive president Tjong Yik Min served as the head of the Internal Security Department from 1986 to 1993.

Former Minister George Yeo, when he held the portfolio of Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts, stressed that the media was not to be a "fourth estate" in ruling the country; the role of the press was to aid "nation building", in view of Singapore's heterogeneous society and peculiar vulnerabilities as a small nation.

Cherian George, a former art editor of the paper, has once described press workings in Singapore in a convention conference in 1998 at the University of California, Berkeley:
    In the Singapore model, the elected government is the expression of democracy, and it is protected from the press, which is unelected and therefore undemocratic .... "the 'freedom from the press' model does mean that newspapers must operate within much narrower perimeters than their counterparts in most parts of the world.

It must accept its subordinate role in society...The tone of stories must be respectful towards the country's leaders. They can be critical, but they cannot ridicule or lampoon.

A United States diplomatic cable leaked by WikiLeaks quotes Chua Chin Hon, the Straits Times' U.S. bureau chief, saying that the paper's "editors have all been groomed as pro-government supporters and are careful to ensure that reporting of local events adheres closely to the official line", and that "the government exerts significant pressure on ST editors to ensure that published articles follow the government's line".

11. Anonymous3:48 pm

If you belittle a person by equating him with Kim of North Korea, what will happen if others belittle Najib or Muhyiddin with Hitler or Mussolini ?

Be more responsible lah. You have evidence of LGE's communist leanings, charge him with sedition or treason. Being autocratic is not a crime, as Mamakthir would tell you.

1. Anonymous9:28 am

Aaaaah touching statement when the rule of the day for these fuckatan ppl are ends do justify the means.

12. Anonymous3:49 pm

Looks like you were not born when Lim Guan Eng went to prison for fighting against the Thamby accused of Raping an underaged girl....

Don't know what your age is but probably slightly above Infant!!

AgainstJuvenileAbuse

13. Anonymous4:30 pm

Chinese opera maa.

14. Anonymous8:49 pm

rocky - so what di guan eng go to jail for?

15. Anonymous10:02 pm

Acting aje tu..

Hantu Gigi Jarang.

16. Anonymous11:17 pm

The following passages on Lim Guan Eng's imprisonment are sourced from Wiki. They aren't definitive but does look like everything was for politics. We remember, of course, that there was a move to oust RTC within UMNO at the time. Sdr Anwar Ibrahim was said to be behind that conspiracy. LGE miscalculated his attacks, he was young and raw. If he thought the DAP was going to hail him as hero after that, he was totally misguided. He was barred from taking part in the 2004 General Elections (because of the prison sentence) and the following year could not even win the re-election to the DAP Melaka Committee. But he remained Sec-Gen of the party and we know why ...

The rest, as they say, is history.

Source Wikipedia-

JAILED UNDER SEDITION ACT
    Lim was arrested by the Malaysian police in 1994, following his criticism on the government's handling of allegations of statutory rape in one of his constituents by former Chief Minister of the state of Melaka, Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik. Consequently, while the Attorney General decided not to press charges Rahim Thamby Chik, Lim was charged under Section 4(1) (b) of the Sedition Act 1948 for causing 'disaffection with the administration of justice in Malaysia'. Lim was also charged under Section 8A (1) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act 1984 for 'maliciously printing' a pamphlet containing allegedly 'false information' because he had described the alleged rape victim as an 'imprisoned victim' because she was initially detained by Malaysian police without parental consent for 10 days. During the judicial procedure, Lim was quoted saying:

“ If I fail and have to go to jail, I have no regrets. I have no regrets of going down fighting for the principles of truth and justice. And pursuit of human rights, especially women's rights. There can be no women's rights if women rape victims are considered equally responsible, and even detained, whilst the accused remain free. ”

— Lim Guan Eng, http://home.clara.net/heureka/sunrise/lim-guan.htm

After a series of appeals, Lim was sentenced to 18 months imprisonment. He was, however, released after 12 months on August 25, 1999. Due to his incarceration, he was disallowed from standing for election to public office for a period of 5 years, and he was therefore ineligible to contest in the 2004 Malaysian General Election.

[edit]INTERNAL BICKERING

In 2005, Lim suffered a surprise defeat in his campaign for re-election to the Melaka DAP committee when he and his wife came in last and second-last (respectively). However, as Lim remained Secretary-General of the party, he was automatically included among the committee under the party constitution. Although his wife remained the chief of the state DAP women's wing, she was not included in the committee. [1] Teresa Kok, a DAP Member of Parliament, suggested there was a conspiracy behind Lim's and Chew's ouster from the committee. [1] Nevertheless, Lim garnered the second highest number of votes (620)[3] at the party's 15th National Congress on August 23, 2008.

17. 'IF' the vcdman BERANI to say : orang2 Islam diwajibkan 'POTONG' in stead of 'bersunat'.....!!

He said even IF LGE potong also tak boleh jadi PM lah !!

18. Ini sekor lagi. Baru jadi CM tiga tahun, dah jadi merak. Tak sedar diri yang awak naik dek surat khabar Cina.
    Betul bodoh sombong.Takkan tak tau pulak. Bini pernah jadi reporter Utusan.