Wednesday, May 02, 2012

More myChinese Perspectives on Bersih 3.0 as a blessing in disguise

China Press, front page, 2 May 2012
Today, even The China Press, which used to be blindly pro-Bersih, has second thoughts. On its front page this morning, the newspaper blows up the stills above (taken from a widely-distributed video footage of the moments when Anwar Ibrahim apparently gave the signal to Azmin to get a PKR thug to start the provocation that forced the police to fight back) and supposes what other Malaysians already know: that Anwar-Azmin started it all.

Also today, in their analyses, several  bloggers who had supported the original Bersih in 2007 are convinced that Bersih 3.0 was used by the usual suspects in Malaysia to effect a "regime change" by means of violent uprising the likes that the world has witnessed in the Middle East. Helen Ang, a Malaysian who is proud to be ethnically Chinese, writes: Bersih 3.0 Aiming at Regime Change.

Miss Ang, in her posting, came to the defence of The Star columnist Joceline Tan, who's been shelled by DAP Chinese for her article A Big Crowd _ And Big Problems.  

If you're wondering why I've been focusing on the Chinese "angle" to Bersih, it is because of the view that Bersih 3.0 got a lot more support from Malaysian Chinese compared with the 2.0 last year and the original one in 2007. Quoting Prof James Chin of Monash University Sunway Campus: 
“Check the international reporting that day — the key words were rioting, mob, violence. The core message of Bersih was lost."
I don't think any Malaysian Chinese liked what he saw that day. 

p.s. Talk about international reporting, check out the Montreal-based anti-war Global Research's report "The US-sponsored protest movement in Malaysia" picked up by The Mole earlier today.

Updated: And from Nuraina Samad's blog, a look at Occupy Wall Street which inspired some of our people to do the OccupyDataran. Note the similarities ..

“How can anyone take them seriously? They look like homeless people,” quipped Financial District bartender Kimberly Leo.
“I saw one woman complaining about not having a job, but she had a shirt with the word “nympho” on it,” Leo, 26, said. “These people need a change of wardrobe and a shower.”
Read more: http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/ows_bums_6HKLpTatoPDLCMZ7F5IXjI#ixzz1thfJHZZ5

31 comments:

1. Jasper Bloodstone4:57 pm

Amidst the blame games and finger pointing that is going on now post-Bersih 3.0, one tends to lose sight of the fact that existing ICT software, hardware and communications infrastructure should make it easy to maintain accurate and up-to-date electoral rolls.

And make it easy for voters to access their records and ascertain the accuracy thereof.

We are proud of our ICT expertise. Rightly so.

Yet no one seems to have been able to resolve what is, in essence, a data capture, updating and records keeping process.

I am sure that Malaysian IT companies, software houses and consulting firms could come up with solutions if tasked by the government.

And, then, all this angst could be diverted into more productive channels!

2. Anonymous5:00 pm

for intelligent men and women like you, NS, and SAA, why can't you see how one sided the stories you pick and post are....cannot comprehend!

3. Anonymous5:13 pm

You said
    "I don't think any Malaysian Chinese liked what he saw that day."

And rightly so, for a very sane reason: Pictures of young hot-blooded malay thugs, both educated and un-educated, unleashing their anger at their own people---namely the police, belies a potentially bigger hidden sinister: that is, if they can react like that towards one of their own kind, imagine the immensity of their hatred and intensity of their ire towards those who are not.

I am specifically talking about May 13th. Or the birth pangs of such havoc in days to come. For what are mere skirmishes amongst your own kin (heck some of those malay policemen were lesser-paid than the rioters themselves) are nothing and easily forgiven compared with a whole group of people whom they see have the potential to usurp their everything ---their land, their birthrights, their economic morsels (or whatever is left of it) and now ... unbeknownst to them but slowly and clearly gaining realizations... their final political powers, pushing them fast becoming another trodden ethnicity that modernization seem to forget as in the case of Singapore. Give it a miniscular change in the object of hatred and all that hidden unleashed power of hatred can be put to destructive use in lesser amount of time you can say "Bersih!".

The best that the chinese can do around these times is go ahead and disown DAP and Bersih and all that lot, come back towards the nation-building agenda that our Prime Minister has been striving for since his inception, and forget all about your greater china PAP dreams.

You hate BN because of corruption? Who doesn't? Can guarantee that the next upcoming pakatan-based team won't have any? Corruption is as much an ingrained evil in politics as prostitution is to the normal lives of clean society. Remember, nation building will also tantamount to fighting corruption. Hopefully those perpetrators have learnt their lessons well by this time.

Marking Bagpie

1. Jasper Bloodstone7:25 pm

Ah, yes - the hoary chestnut of the Singapore Malays.

It's interesting to note that, by and large, the Singapore Malays are choosing to stay put in the "little red dot" instead of upping and voting with their feet.

I am reminded of the fact that the Singapore LionsXII football team that competes in the Malaysian Super League competition is almost entirely made up of Singaporean Malays. And that they fight tooth-and-nail, no.quarter asked, against other Malaysian MSL teams, the ethnic compositions of which are well-known.

There's also the fact that a large number of supporters at the Lions' home matches in Singapore are Singaporean Malays (ranging from kids to teenagers to young adults to Makciks and Pakciks) who take pride in cheering on their team, dressed in the national colours of red and white.

No sense of angst here.

So, what are you trying to imply? Spell it out and let's see where you are coming from.

4. "If you're wondering why I've been focusing on the Chinese "angle" to Bersih, it is because of the view that Bersih 3.0 got a lot more support from Malaysian Chinese compared with the 2.0 last year and the original one in 2007."

It is clear that at least 50% of those who participated at the Bersih 3.0 rally were M'sian Malays as was the case also with Bersih 2.0.

There was support aross the board.

Dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

5. Anonymous5:39 pm

So much spinning by the MSM and pro govt bloggers blaming the opposition for the chaos..Think deeply...Those people are not trying to loot or rob or kill anyone...They just wanna sit on that patch of grass at Dataran..Why on earth is the government and police wanna stop them at all cost to do that.Nothing happen at other places in Malaysia and the world over where the Bersih demo is held. Why only KL?.. Spin as much as you like Rocky but at the end of the day it still shows that the people are still united for a good cause.

6. Anon 539pm:

There is really no need to spin. This time the social media and citizen journalists stood witness to what happened. The Internet, the Opposition's previous weapon of choice, was used against them at Bersih 3.0. Nowhere to hide, nowhere to run.

And DPP,

You mean the Malay turnout has dwindled to 50 per cent for Bersih 3? That's serious. Shows that the Malays are staying away.

7. Anonymous6:08 pm

I can only say (sincerely) that the Chinese at Bersih showed discipline. Do what it is that they gotta do, then go home.
    Saya melayu,
    rasa malu
    tengok berok2 dancing on patrol car.

8. Anonymous6:18 pm

LOCKY BRU

LAUGHABLE, YOU AND COHORTS ARE LIKE THE THE LAST VISAGES OF A HITLER'S MEDIA TEAM. DESPRATE GOONS CLUTCHING ON STRAWS TO "BANG OUT " SO CALLED REPORTS FROM BLOGS AND MEDIA OUTLETS.

WHAT REPUTATION HAS THE STAR LEFT.. LOOK WHAT MS. MARINA MAHATHIR HAS TO SAY ABOUT HER ARTICLES NOT MAKING THE PAGES IN THE STAR BECAUSE ITS NOT WRITTEN IN FAVOUR OF THE BN, THEN THERES YOU, THE PERCEPTION THAT YOU ARE TURNCOAT, BOUGHT FOR A FEW DOLLARS, LATUKSHIP AND SOME OVERSEAS TRIPS? IS THIS THE TRUTH? BOTHER TO REBUT THIS PERCEPTION LATUK??

READ THE ARTICLE BY MS. RENEE TALALLA HER ACCOUNT AND A BLOODY GOOD PICTURE THAT SHOWS NOT A 25,000 CROWD AS INDICATED BY YOU, BUT IN THE HUNDRED THOUSANDS

YOUR LITTLE TRICKERY OF DISTORTING, SIDESTEPPING THE MAIN ISSUES, MAGNIFYING SO CALLED " TRUTH " AS REPORTED BY THE LIKES OF BIASED BN MEDIA LACKEYS DOES NOT WASH WITH THE MALAYSIANS, WHO FAR MORE INTELLIGENT THEN YOU. YOU HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING WORTHY, APART FROM SUCKING UP AND RECEIVING CRUMBS FROM YOUR MASTERS. GOOD ON YOU.

9. Anonymous6:25 pm

Rocky

you are trying very hard to paint BERSIH = RIOT...
    keep on trying...

and don't forget among other campaigns:
    dap = anti malays
    dap = communism
    etc etc

e

10. So many videos online. Let the rakyat be the judge.

I didn't even have to watch TV3 to conclude that Anwar & Azmin started the riot.

You know what i watched? Anwar's press conference explaining the incident throught Malaysiakini's youtube channel. Didn't buy it. There were so many holes to their story, i was cringing on behalf of Anwar.

So no, the MSM had no influence whatsoever on what the Rakyat feels this time.

Stop playing victim and watch the vids.

Enjoy!

11. Anonymous7:04 pm

poor bershit goodoos

the whole world could see the desperation and violence you displayed

100k?? nahhhh more like a photoshopped aerial view - kesian lah silembus

ok ok 100k lah - out of 28 million is a minute %

talk so garang but kote so small, you need to wake up dudes - bershit3 super BACKFIRED

uncle sam and auntie hillary must be fuming mad at the loss of their investment dollars

and achi ambiga needs protection against a PEACEFUL sit-in???

hahahahahahaha - JOKE of the centuries!!!!!

12. Anonymous7:06 pm

haiya jasper

just redraw the constituency boundaries lah, lagi senang

and retain 90% of parliamentary representation with just 60% votes

13. Anonymous8:09 pm

and the chinese press has to point its finger at the violent malays and indians lah!

14. Anonymous8:51 pm

And so, this is the right time to call for elections and BN will win?

15. Anonymous9:12 pm

quote: rocky
    "You mean the Malay turnout has dwindled to 50 per cent for Bersih 3? That's serious. Shows that the Malays are staying away."

50% of 100000 = 50000. Thats more than the total for last year.

More multiracial this time. Hard time for BN to try and racialise it.

ZZ

16. Anonymous10:44 pm

Anonymous @ 6:08 pm said, "I can only say (sincerely) that the Chinese at Bersih showed discipline. Do what it is that they gotta do, then go home. Saya melayu,
    rasa malu tengok berok2 dancing on patrol car."

Hullo melayu the word for dancing is jogetlah penipu. You are as Melayu as anwar is a saint.

17. Anonymous10:45 pm

marina is not an icon of leadership anymore, she is so liberal she can't manage her marriage and her daughter

18. Anonymous10:48 pm

anon @ 6:18 PM

so go read lah at other blogs and leave us more space for sane, cool and intelligent comments - unlike yours - pure vitriol and toxin

19. Anonymous10:59 pm

jasper darahbatu

yeah pitiful fate lah the lions - worked so hard for recognition

and yet the pap molly coddle the china paddlers

born and bred in red dot but had to play second fiddle to instant imported chinese

they stayed in red dot simply because they are sons of the soil

and also to ensure that the racial balance in Malaysia and Singapore is not so skewed that it becomes politically volatile - imagine 5 million chinese in red dot versus 25 million in Malaysia

anyway darahbatu you have not countered the constituency boundaries being perpetually redrawn to effect a 90% seats with just 60% votes

chicken ... nama saja darahbatu

20. Anonymous11:10 pm

They talk bersih but actually kotor

talk peaceful but actually violent and destructive

talk sit-in protest but actually rampage

talk free and fair elections but actually wrest power thru force

talk about freedom of speech but actually GAG order

talk about transparency but award tenders to cronies

talk about honour but actually main kayu tiga and icecream

pening pening pening

21. Anonymous1:15 am

you are stupid whene you write without your brain,your heart and your mercy.

22. I clearly said "at least 50% of those who participated at the Bersih 3.0 rally were M'sian Malays as was the case also with Bersih 2.0."

The actual % was difficult to guage, but could have been closer to 60%.

Given that actual Malay population in M'sia is only just over 50%, that's a pretty good turnout for Bersih 3.0 by any standard.

Dpp
    we are all of 1 Racem the Human Race

23. BERSIH is the demand of the RAKYAT, and you cannot hamper the resoluteness of the RAKYAT. The only outcome from this BERSIH rally is that we the RAKYAT is more determined than ever that our demand be heeded. No more blatantly treating RAKYAT like idiots, no more sowing fear, no more misleading the RAKYAT, no more abuse by those people we put in position of responsibility and authority, and no more deliberate dividing and ruling us all FULL STOP

We want clean and fair elections to choose whoever we deemed as fit and proper to represent us at higher offices, whether Pakatan, Barisan or whoever for the matter. We want our votes to be counted and to be of equal value for each and everyone.

Any authority who has heart and compassion for the RAKYAT on this fateful day would have acted in a much more sensitive and compassionate manner in handling the situation. If a part of the Dataran Merdeka is breeched, then confine police action to that area of the breach and carry out what is necessary to regain control in that area of breech. You don't go around shooting gas canisters everywhere and provoking a response and then chasing down your own RAKYAT as criminals.It seems that is certainly a lack of sincerity on the part of the authorities.

If anyone is SERIOUS in reporting without any hidden motives, they should report of the many people, numbering tens of thousands, from all walk of life and of various faith and race, united in one good cause peacefully demanding for a better and reformed Malaysia, where our children and grandchildren will live united, harmoniously, with honesty and loyalty. What an even more blessed land Malaysia would be then and this is the very hope of those that rallied on this fateful day. With such good intentions, this surely cannot be called crime.

Therefore, no amount of focusing on the negative aspects of the rally will detract us the RAKYAT from
    our cause. Thank goodness today we have so many different sources of news and we do not rely only on the Chinese press, UtusanMalaysia,NST, Star. We can see for ourselves the level of violence by the police, the very people who are suppose to be protecting us.

24. Anonymous7:29 am

Hahaha, spinmeister Latuk Locky. Helen Ang is nothing more than an anti-DAP cockroach. Big dog, big cat, syed ali akbar, they are all paid mercenaries like you. Some get trips, some get latukships. To write untruths when video evidence is so contrarian. Even foreign news had to be 'censored' by Astro.

25. Anonymous7:31 am

We have the cleanest electoral roll in the world and we now have the fairest and most open press in the world. Ask Rocky.

26. Anonymous9:18 am

Why do they insist on Dataran Merdeka? Why not venues other than Dataran? If the idea is to PROTEST for clean and fair elections, then does it really matter where the protest venue took place?
    Oh wait a minute, If Egyptians could use Tahrir Square to overthrow Mubarak Regime, maybe the use of Dataran could work for Malaysian government. To ensure that their demand is legitimate with a touch of prestige,let's name it Occupy Dataran (in referring to the same protest that took place in Times Square, NY)and boooked the place beforehand by staging PTPTN protest en route to the 28th April climax

27. Anonymous1:52 pm

Comptez - completely erased out

hullo never delude yourself as representatives of the RAKYAT

even if we are very generous and agree that 100,000 turned out - what percentage is that to the total population of Malaysia = 28,728,607 @ July 2011

poor desperate pakatan goondoos - forever in denial

if we put aside the pbotoshopped aerial view (evidence of deceit) we say only 25 000 chickens and lembus turned out

you've gotta minus the journos and observers - at most 20 000 yellow bellied rabble rousers

28. Apparently you're so wrong about the Malaysian chinese. Indeed more have turnout , and more have been convince. With our word of mouth on what we have seen with our eyes , more will come to light.

The more people police hit today , will strike even more realization.
    There will be people not liking this rallies , due to safety reasons , however if it's their children who got whacked by the brutality of police , you can bet there will be a wind of change.
    You should see the chinese remarks coming and you can bet we will influence the rest. Rest assured.

29. bourne identity12:10 am

Bersih is the demand of the rakyat?
    Alamak...i think i got my figures wronglah..i didnt realised that the population of Malaysia is 25,000.. i thought it was around 29 million people.
    I wonder where did this stupid fuckhead in Fuckatan Rakyat or Bershit think that these fuckheds, dickheads and monkeys that came out represented the almost 28 million Malaysians?
    Well.... macam kerbau kena ikat di hidung... Ambiga ka...Anwar Bontot ka...Lim Kit Sial ka...or that senile Kelantan Taliban spiritual leader ka.... the fuckheads, dickheads and monkeys in fuckatan rakyat and Bershit will simply follow wherever and whenever their noses are pulled.
    And some of them brought along their innocent kids too....just to make their fuckatan empire grow bigger and dumber...
    hella..wake uplah....

30. Anonymous10:52 pm

dearest tay

the chinese have always closed rank when it comes to synergised profit

PRU12 was called tsunami coz no one expected Tun Dr Mahathir's advice to vote out paklah and kj to become so effective

the pakatan strange bedfellows were also caught off guard and were unprepared to govern 5 states

paklah era is over and pr has tasted blood - unwilling to lose this newly found political power

they start questioning NEP, Azan, Jawi script, gave 999 years leasehold land to chinese, lauched a secret pact to install a chinese christian PM, mock the Raja Raja and many other sins

the latest wrong move was bershit3 - deemed revolting for the violence, destruction and rampage

to observers, bershit3 backfired big time against pakatan AND civil society leading bogus NGOs

the malaysian chinese is really putting their future on a big gamble - if they truly "win" the psy-war, they might get to rule 5 years only coz the reality on the ground is that Malaysian bumis who formed the MAJORITY will not allow a republic to exist in Malaysia.

If you think PAS and PKR Malays will forever support you, then you are sadly mistaken. The moment you change the landscape to be that of greater singapore, that's when May 13 will occur.

Have you ever taken into consideration, the numbers in the army, navy, fire depts and all security agencies?

Your best bet is to discard ambiga and anwar and go hug MCA then UMNO