Monday, December 26, 2011

The Vatican's chief exorcist and Yoga the devil's work

Anak si-Hamid, who still spends some of her precious time in England, draws our attention to this Daily Mail's story quoting the Vatican's Chief Exorcist as saying that "yoga is the devil's work .. it leads you to Hinduism". Read here.

Remember, our blogger didn't say that; Father Gabriel, 85, a priest since 1954, did. But AsH does wonder, as we must all do: Why are our liberals so quiet about Father Gabriel's statement? Where is the outrage?

When they banned yoga for Muslims in Malaysia about a year ago, everybody used it as a stick to beat us with.
Read AsH's The Pot and the Kettle.

Looks to me we Muslims and the Christians may have found a new common ground in yoga .. 

33 comments:

1. Anonymous4:43 pm

Chief Exorcist? Seriously?
    Another nutter to join the endless list of nutters.
    Whilst we have to deal with child rapes, murder, poverty and the like all these idiots can worry about is Yoga?
    Goes to show some people have nothing better to do in life....

Arif

2. Bedul5:56 pm

Like you don't know,Rocky. We practised selective reasoning and hearing. Only hear what we want to hear and condemn whom we hated.
    Prime example: It's A-okay, infact laudable, for Anwar to sodomize.
    But if it's Najib who did that, ooh I dread to even think about it.

3. Anonymous6:00 pm

mana itu pundek hindraf. lu tak mau komplen sama Queen Elizabeth ka?
    Atau sudah kene beli sama ANUwar.

4. Anonymous7:09 pm

You are really sick man.. Trying to stir shit out of everything...You sir are a Grade A Asshole.

1. Anonymous1:26 am

Easy money maa, telling story only what. Who cares, as long as entreee......

5. And why aren't our newspapers carrying this story either?
    Mind you I did not find it headlining any other online news - which goes to show no one took this seriously....

6. Anonymous9:26 pm

not just with christians

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/crying-and-spat-on-plight-of-girl-7-mobilises-israelis-against-extremists-6281548.html

7. ah pong9:40 pm

one crackpot priest's pronouncement doesn't make a FATWA rocky!

8. Lovely mademoiselle!

9. Anonymous11:55 pm

Biasalah Rocky kalau dah terkena batang konek mereka masing2 terus diam membisu.Takkan tak tahu jenis ginilah yang di-panggil munafik.

-rocksteady-

10. Anonymous12:21 am

Ha..ha..can't wait to see the reaction!

Hantu Gigi jarang

11. Anonymous1:07 am

Rev Eu will claim the article from the daily mail is not true :)

12. Anonymous2:50 am

Yoga...Thank heavens for that, I thought he said yoghurt.

13. Anonymous2:52 am

Not all Christians care what the Vatican says. Also, this statement was released in Europe, while the yoga statement previously was released in Malaysia.

If your whole agenda is to highlight hypocrisy, then it's a pretty lame attempt (for seasoned journo pulak)

14. Forgive him. It's only his personal opinion that doesn't represent Christianity. But of course, it'd be a different picture for Muslims having such mindset.

15. Anonymous10:30 am

errr, you do know he is actually equating evil with hinduism?

16. Anonymous10:31 am

Dato
    Rakyat Maysia yg iman tipis n nipis n telus akan TERjeRUMUS ke hinduism. NauzubiLLAH!!!

wawa

17. 1. memang dah ramai org kristian yag masuk hindu kerana tertarik dgn yoga.

2. bila sorang priest bercakap, dia dianggap tidak mewakili kristian, tapi kalau seorang ustaz bercakap, dia dianggap mewakili Islam.

3. Yoga itu universal. Kristian pun universal. apa hindu malaysia macam katak bawah tempurung ?

18. Anonymous1:27 pm

You like to topic on Chinese vrs Malay, Christain vrs Muslim.

Christains can choose to become Muslims, Muslims can't choose to become Christains. Malays are 1st class citizens, non-Malay are 2nd class. Muslim Indians, Indonesians, Philipino can become Man-Made Malays, non-Malays are Pendatang.

BL

19. Anonymous2:19 pm

sudahlah Rocky, lepas buat kecoh kat kristian, sekarang pulak Hindus....

20. Unlike M'sia, there's no 'fatwa' from the Vatican, is there? Therein lies the difference.

Individual opinions and pronouncements, we have to tolerate in the name of free speech. But State sponsored ones? No. no, no!

dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

21. panglima tepeng4:25 pm

I am a practicing Muslim.

Anyways, what he said below is so very true, in both religious beliefs.

Yoga, Harry Potter ... hmmm no comment; tidak menahan pemimpin2 anda dari membuat perkara mungkar, itu pun kwn setan juga, IMHO. Betul tak Bru?

============

Satan is always hidden and the thing he desires more than anything is for people to believe he does not exist. He studies each and everyone of us and our tendencies towards good and evil and then he tempts us.

'My advice to young people would be to watch out for nightclubs because the path is always the same: alcohol, sex, drugs and Satanic sects.

22. Anonymous4:58 pm

ANON 1.07am,

Please realise that there are Catholics and there are Protestants. AND Rev. Eu is a Protestant. Enough said.

23. Anonymous5:00 pm

Bru,

Remember that your good friend and the Vatican's chief just shook hands. Respect that.

24. Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.
    NEW TESTAMENT, ST. MATTHEW

Although, a secularist/atheist/agnostic would say: what is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.

AsH

25. Anonymous10:48 pm

Datuk,

Wait till Tian Chua (chief of propaganda) come up with a super stupid imposed picture featuring najib kissing pope and spin it as if the meeting was about najib telling the pope to tell Brother Gibrael's words on yoga.

guess what!! dungus will take it raw punyer!!

adam schandler

26. Lets leave the Yoga practitioners alone in their quest for inner peace. What they believe is something between them and their God.

27. The common ground that the religions stand are hollow and based on utter naivety.

There are literally millions of people practicing Yoga that has improved their health without any ounce of religious conversion or 'evil' intent.

The abrahimic tradition need to come out of the 'katak di bawah tempurung' attitude.

gbu and happy new year

28. Charles F Moreira11:41 am

Well Rocky,

After a while, those who think independently begin to see the one-sidedness of these so-called liberals.

On the Yoga issue, I disagree with both the Islamic and Father Gabriel Amort's stands.

However, the scriptures of both Islam and Christianity regard anything related to practices of another religion as "satanic," however much one tries to rationalise it.

Basically, scripture is regarded as the word of God and nothing can supersede that.

During the first 300 years following Christ's crucifixion and resurrection and prior to the Council of Nicea convened by Roman Emperor Constantine, there were hundreds or thousands of Christian Gospels, beliefs and sects, many of which were not recognised by the Council, the Roman Catholic Church and by the many Protestant denominations which subsequently split from the Vatican in the 15th Century.

Some of these early Christian groups, such as the Essenes and Gnostics believe in repeated re-incarnations until one attains perfection and earns a place in heaven and in that regard their beliefs are closer to Hinduism.

These groups were denounced as heretics by the Vatican following the Council of Nicea and their Gospels banned and destroyed, though some, such as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Nag Hammadi texts were unearthed following the end of World War II, and they portray quite a different impression about Jesus Christ and currently accepted Catholic and Protestant doctrine.

Present day theologians and scholars have pointed out that these early Christian believes come from the Hebrew scripture, while accepted concepts of Jesus' virgin birth, death and resurrection come from the Greek and Roman scriptures.

Jesus did not have a quarrel with Judaism but rather with the Jewish clergy, which he regarded as corrupt.

Thus they regarded Jesus as a heretic and executed him, much like how the Vatican burned at the stake those they regarded as heretics for holding and preaching contrarian views. Also burned at the stake were some early Protestants.

These scholars also claim that virgin birth, death and resurrection are common among the deities and prophets of other religions across the Mediterranean and Middle-East at different times..

Taking a more macro view, each of the different tribes and nations of that region, many of them waring with each other. Each group had their own gods and beliefs which they held to be the only correct one, while those of their rivals and enemies were pagan.

While the Christian Bible includes books of the Old Testament, including those of the Jewish Torah, there are major contradictions between the Jewish and New Testament (Christian) concepts of God.

For example, the Old Testament does not speak of each person's inheritance of the original sin of Adam, the Old Testament God is one, anyone, including non-Jews can seek the forgiveness of God by praying directly to him to achieve salvation.

Christianity believes in a three-in-one God, the concept of inherited original sin is believed to have been introduced by a church father Augustine and salvation is only through the acceptance of Jesus as personal saviour.

Also, the Jewish concept of the Messiah is different from the Christian concept, and to Jews, their Messiah has yet to come.

This has led to some Jews and Christians speaking of a "Jewish God" and a "Christian God," and now also of a "Muslim God."

Those liberals nor journalists in the mainstream media won't tell you about incidents like these in Israel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IX9Tk2TMA6Q

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=endscreen&v=QqQDyMjCVqU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVV7d-DAhoA&feature=related

29. Mazlan4:52 pm

What qualifications do you need to be a Chief Exorcist?
    What are the job specs and salary?
    Does it involve being able to avoid projectiles of vomit?
    Rocky - I think this must a joke story.

30. Anonymous10:30 pm

Bloody hell.

All yoga ever did to me was some serious fart.

Maybe I did it wrong.

31. Anonymous10:39 pm

rOCKY,

Yoga is a science created long long long long before even religious institutions of age to us today...so nobody would understand it fully yet honest sincere participants will tell you that it helped.
    Surely it is not evil but lack of information or knowledge on the matter makes one an ignorant fool.

yogi

32. Anonymous11:53 am

bru, you are a great journalist... fantastic news...