Friday, June 03, 2011

Fahmi's 100 apologies

Social activist Fahmi Fadzil (you can follow him on tweeter at @fahmi_fadzil) wrote something in his tweets about a friend's pregnant wife quitting her job at Blue Inc. and how it had something to do with the HR policies of the publishing company based in Petaling Jaya, or something to that effect. There must have been a letter of demand sent by the company to Fahmi as a result of that tweet. In most instances, the company would sue for defamation but in this one the two parties settled out of court, with Fahmi agreeing to do 100 tweets apologizing for his original tweet. I thought it was a nice way out, and ultimately good for freedom and fairplay. Based on my own experience, a defamation suit would silent the writer for years, force both sides to waste a lot of money (which will cause the one with less money to suffer more), and damage rapport.

So kudos to both Fahmi and Blue Inc.

Earlier, in another sphere, a rare Lee Kuan Yew-style apology from Lim Kit Siang [read JMD's Lim Kit Siang offended the "tuan rumah". What else is new?] after being lashed kow-kow by Sabahan politicians who had invited him to address their function but ended up being ridiculed by the DAP man.

“If people think I was very harsh, that was not my intention. I apologise,” Lim  said two days after his speech at a DAP organised Kaamatan dinner gathering  held last Friday. Read more H E R E.

13 comments:

1. Anonymous1:17 pm

Still trying to link Lim Kit Siang with Lee Kuan Yew? :D

It was an apology nevertheless.

Joe

2. Anonymous2:15 pm

So glad no lawyer made any money out of this.

3. Anonymous5:35 pm

Hahahaha..Fahmi macam kena ketuk ketampi tu...
    Tak lama boss die pon sama . Cakap main lepas je macam Papa dia.

Wak

4. LINES AS FINES - 030611

Just like students writing lines
    Doing them at least 50 or 100 times
    Being punished in place of fines
    Almost like bell ringing 100 chimes

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng
    http://motivationinmotion.blogspot.com
    Fri. 3rd Jun.2011.

5. Jinjang Jill7:32 pm

Joe
    1:17 PM

Dont flatter LKS...Im sure LKY is a lot smarter

6. Anonymous12:30 am

This is not a first time ever. refer to case journal, the first person to be sued for defamation over Twitter postings in Malaysia was The Sun columnist R.Nadeswaran. He was sued by property developer Datuk Salim Fateh Din for RM15mil on March 1 over postings on the Gapurna CEO's bumiputra status.

This will tell us, we should be aware of the repercussions of our words. Twitter doesn't exist in a vacuum, laws extend to it as well.

7. Anonymous12:31 am

This is not a first time ever. refer to case journal, the first person to be sued for defamation over Twitter postings in Malaysia was The Sun columnist R.Nadeswaran. He was sued by property developer Datuk Salim Fateh Din for RM15mil on March 1 over postings on the Gapurna CEO's bumiputra status.

This will tell us, we should be aware of the repercussions of our words. Twitter doesn't exist in a vacuum, laws extend to it as well.

8. Anonymous3:32 am

That twitter-thing is mentioned on Yahoo! News beta.

Go to this: http://beta.news.yahoo.com/blogs/trending-now/trump-pizza-habits-old-school-punishment-goes-digital-170411712.html?nc

- Lan.

9. Don't you think Blu Inc is the one that lost out on its reputation with this outcome? Shows a certain immaturity and idiocy! Not the kind that I would want to deal with. But then again its just my opinion!!

10. A rare apology from Lim Kit Siang indeed, however I don't think Lim's foot in mouth moment will be easily forgotten by Sabahans, that is for sure.

11. Anonymous9:55 am

it was picked up by endgadget too....

12. Anonymous3:01 pm

Once a babi, forever a babi..
    its babitokrasi a.k.a Dictator Action Party or DAPigs..

..|.,

:D muhahahaha

13. Anonymous9:12 am

Dear Bro,

I heard the internal news that LHDN try to proposed the revised salary for their staff across the board for maximum 35%. Well as IRS for Malaysia who collect tax and have a poor services in dealing the customer especially when you want to the agreement stamping. Im not sure why they are the one who want to grab and rip the money of the tax payers first before they distribute to the government. If because due to inflation of 6% or revised salary up to 10% is make sense with the current inflation situation. But to rob people money from to lowest level up to the highest level of Director I dont know it's really make sense. I hope Malay Mail can investigate this as the ordinary people complain about the high cost of living and the government complained about the deficit. LHDN try to enrich themselves. They make profit because of they are tax collector not the investment body.

Reznor