Thursday, September 30, 2010

Taikor business blog

The guys at Taikors and Taikuns, a new business blog, are really on the roll. Their latest scoops are being aired by Business FM, everybody's favorite station, and I've been asked quite a few times if I knew the person/people behind www.tnt.net.my. An inquirer asked if the site was run by people linked to the tycoon Syed Mokhtar al-Bukhary!

I've been following the blog for a while (it's been on my blogroll and I've made an earlier posting here). The latest "scoop", which will be published by a business daily tomorrow quoting the website, is on a said proposal by Syed Mokhtar's MMC to buy the entire stake in UEM for RM15.6 billion.

The site has also reported a couple of weeks ago that the Prime Minister will launch the RM15 billion Matrade project to be undertaken by Naza-TTDI on November 11. Yes, they were specific on the date and so far, as far as I know, this hasn't been denied.

29 comments:

1. Anonymous9:04 am

Oh my god- TS mokhtar bulkhary AGAIN. Do you that this guy is greedy- last time Bernas, then PLUS and now UEM? How much is his personal loan. Then he transfer his loan to company loan! At the end of the day, all of his companies carried a huge DEBTS. Please no more

Zamri, ppbss

2. Another chinaman Taikor who is muscling his way is Datuk Desmond Lim. He is buying up land everywhere and pissing off civil servants read http://perkara153.blogspot.com/2010/09/desmond-lim-new-chinaman-kingpin-of.html

3. Salam Datuk, I drop by to thank you! Your blog is really a great resource. After I put in a comment to invite you and your readers to take a break and visit my blog

http://www.fruitofmylabour.blogspot.com

I noticed an increase in readership, and I actually get people who told me they came over to my site after reading that comment in Rockybru - now how cool is that!

You have 'enabled' me, Datuk, so to speak. I really appreciate that.

4. Anonymous1:15 pm

Mana ade dlm biznes daily pasal TNT. Buat kecoh aje lah ROCKY, nak promote TNT. Dahhlah stori TNT pasal Proton-DRB kena deny sampei ke lubok usus. Rasanya, Rocky lah dalang di belakang TNT.

5. AA!
    Anyone who can come up with such a name is really being tounge in cheek dont you think?

This is what I have been saying , AA, we as a nation are evolving - satire, comic relief, etc.

Even you do it as I have been noticing your style!

Good stuff, AA

Godspeed.

6. Anonymous11:06 pm

What Zamri mentioned was correct, loans on top of loans. Reminds us of the "pack of falling cards" story. It will bring down banks & share holders' investments incl GLCs. Then the Gomen will again come to rescue as they would not risk a national meltdown.

In the middle of all that, a small group of individuals will walk away with real money, while all others are stuck with pieces of papers.

Of course, MMC had numerous successes in participating in Gomen's special projects i.e. ports, airport & etc.

If MMC is so hot on investments that mounts to billions? Please lar, go international and bring in new money instead of still milking the same protected economy.

7. Anonymous2:59 am

UEM already deny the story, just like DRB deny the Proton story. TNT got zero credibility.

8. Anonymous8:33 am

1) SYED MOKHTAR IS AN ARAB FROM YEMEN, HE DOES NOT CALL HIMSELF A MALAY.IN OTHER WORDS HE IS PENDATANG. BUT THIS IS BESIDE THE POINT.TO ME THE MORE THE PENDATANG, THE BETTER!
    2) SYED MOKHTAR CONTROLS DRBHICOM.
    DRBHICOM MARKETS HONDA, CHEVROLET, AUDI, CITROEN, SUZUKI, VW AND A FEW OTHERS.
    3) NOW, THEY ARE GONNA GIVE HIM PROTON.
    4) YOU HAVE ONE GUY CONTROLLING CLOSE TO 50% OF THE MARKET. WITH PROTON UNDER HIS BELT , HE CAN RAISE CAR PRICES SKY HIGH....SIMPLY BY RAISING PROTON CAR PRICES. HE'LL SAY THAT WE ARE DUTIBOUND TO PROTECT THE MALAY CAR,....WHICH IS OF COURSE IN LINE WITH ARTICLE 153,EH? UMNO WILL OK THE WHOLE THING, RIGHT?
    5) SYED MOKHTAR -BIG WINNER
    YOU AND ME - BIG LOSER
    WHY? HONDA ACCORD 2.4L IS ONLY USD20,000 OR RM 62,000 IN THE US.
    IN MALAYSIA, HONDA ACCORD IS RM178,000. SUZUKI SWIFT IN INDIA IS SLIGHTLY ABOVE RM20,000. HERE? 72K.

CAR BUSINESS IN MALAYSIA IS AS GOOD AS DRUG BUSINESS IN COLOMBIA.
    FIVE GUYS, 1)SYED MOKHTAR 2)NAZA GUY 3)ASMAT(UMW AND PERODUA) 4)VINCENT TAN AND 5)SIME DARBY GUY (BMW) CAN MEET UP AND FIX UP CAR PRICES OVER BEER!

YOU NEED ANTITRUST LAWS IN MALAYSIA. I AM BEING ROBBED IN BROAD DAYLIGHT. HEY,THIS IS UP TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, "KALAU SALAH TOLONG TUNJUKKAN"...JUST LIKE THE PANTUN.
    HEY ROCKY, HOW COME YOU DON'T RAISE UP ISSUES LIKE THIS?

9. Anon 2:59, actually what UEM boss said is he was not aware. He dd not deny the story. I met Izzadin at UEM's hari raya open house yesterday and naturally we bloggers asked him about TnT and the talk about MMC buying out UEM. He said we'd have to ask the shareholders that question. Azman Mokhtar the Khazanah boss waste there or we'd have asked him.

In any case, corporate denials ni sama dengan political denials, kekadang.Remember when Anwar denied the rift between him and Mahathir? And Mahathir denied also! Hehe.

What we need is for someone to ask Syed Mokhtar himself if he is pursuing the deal and then check with the relevant authorities if such a proposal has been submitted.

10. Anonymous10:17 am

Anon 8.33 am, Syed Mokthar is not an Arab from Yemen. Get your facts correct.

11. And Anon 1.15 pm,
    You are correct x3, the business daily concerned decided not to publish the article. The said daily is the Malaysian Reserve. As you may know, I am the editorial adviser to the MR. When one of its editors called me for advice about running the story, our concern was that we did not know who the blogger/bloggers are. I have always maintained that to be credible, a blogger must unmask himself and not hide behind anonymity. I was criticized for this view back in early 2007 but i maintain it. And since we did not know (YET) who TnT is/are, the blog remains intriguing but not necessarily credible. I left it to the MR editor to decide, having given my advice. At that point of time, he said he was in favor of running the story. Sometime later in the night, I suppose he changed his mind. Good call.

12. Anonymous10:31 am

Dear Rocky but TNT wrote PNB was resisting the move, when Khazanah Nasional is the shareholder of UEM. The only person, who has been caught making a mistake between KN and PNB is Mahatir Mohamed. As for your theory denial could well mean the truth, I find that to be very disturbing. Our beloved and respected Datin Rosmah Mansor had denied involvement in the Anatuya murder. I believe her, but by your logic . . . . O M G ! ! !

13. Anonymous1:20 pm

Haven't we learned ??? BIG doesn't mean good !!! Let the Big company compete amongst themself for competitiveness and efficiency. Letting UEM be in Syed Mokhtar hands means a bug of the nation BIG companies is in the hand of one person. Doesn't it called croynism ?

14. Anonymous8:41 pm

woii skewedmoron, what will guntor sadali say to this remark from lky??

lky said, “We are largely Chinese and Indians”. The Malays??

He went on, “Well, we make them say the national pledge and sing the national anthem but suppose we have a famine, will your Malay neighbour give you the last few grains of rice or will she share it with her family or fellow Muslim or vice versa?”.

skewedmoron, don't pretend ignorance!!

15. Anonymous2:46 am

Datuk Rocky, this is off topic. Please read. Seramnye.

"KUALA LUMPUR: Ladang Gadong, yang menyimpan kisah pembunuhan jutawan kosmetik Datuk Sosilawati Lawiya dan tiga rakannya dikatakan kini dilanda gangguan suara misteri.

Beberapa anggota polis yang mengawal lokasi pembunuhan kejam di ladang di Kuala Langat, Selangor, itu mendakwa mendengar 'suara-suara' meminta tolong hampir setiap malam.

Ekoran itu, polis dikatakan menambah bilangan anggota yang berkawal daripada dua kepada lima hingga enam orang mengikut syif setiap hari.

'Pada mulanya hanya dua anggota bertugas. Namun bilangannya terpaksa ditambah kerana ada mengalami gangguan ketika bertugas.

'Mereka diganggu suara-suara itu yang sayup- sayup kedengaran meminta tolong,' kata sumber, yang menambah salah seorang suspek kes itu juga mendakwa didatangi ' lembaga'.

'Suara-suara' itu biasanya muncul dari dalam ladang kelapa sawit itu pada tengah malam semasa anggota polis sedang berehat di pondok kecil yang dibina mereka tidak jauh dari tali air.

Menurut sumber itu, mereka tidak dapat memastikan dari mana 'suara-suara' itu datang kerana ia sayup-sayup dan keadaan amat gelap.

Bagi langkah berjaga- jaga, anggota polis tidak melakukan rondaan seorang diri, sebaliknya secara berkawan.

Sebatang tali air di ladang itu dipercayai dijadikan suspek-suspek pembunuhan itu sebagai tempat membuang tulang-tulang mangsa.

Menurut sumber itu lagi, bagi mengumpul bahan-bahan bukti, sebuah jengkaut digunakan untuk membuat dua tambak di kiri dan kanan tali air itu.

'Sebuah jentera Bomba dan Penyelamat pula ditugaskan menyedut air dalam tali air itu. Setelah kering, barulah forensik menjalankan kerja-kerja mengumpul bukti, seperti tulang.

'Ia mengambil masa kerana tulang-tulang yang bercampur dengan selut itu terpaksa dibersih satu persatu,' ujarnya.

Cabaran lain yang dihadapi anggota bertugas ialah bilagan lalat sangat banyak di situ, dipercayai ekoran kematian ternakan seperti kambing dan anjing peliharaan.

'Bila duduk sebentar saja lalat akan memenuhi muka. Haiwan-haiwan itu mati kerana kini tidak lagi diberi makan sejak tuannya ditahan polis,' ujar sumber itu.

Datuk Sosilawati, 47 tahun, bersama pemandu peribadinya, Encik Kamarudin Shamsudin, 44 tahun; peguam peribadinya, Encik Ahmad Kamil Abdul Karim, 32 tahun; dan pegawai Bank CIMB, Encik Noorhisham Mohammad, 38 tahun, dieoprcayai dibunuh diladang itu Ogos lalu.

Bulan lalu polis menahan lapan suspek, termasuk dua adik-beradik, bagi membantu siasatan.

Mereka disyaki terlibat juga dalam pembunuhan lain. - Utusan Malaysia."

=====

What do you think of it? I think there should be some kind of prayers for the murdered people. Depending on their religion and beliefs, they should be "cleansed" and "treated" well....if not, that estate will be haunted forever. I pity those policemen who have to camp at the place. I would run real fast and never come back .....Really so scary. Aiyoh, sure cannot sleep one.

16. Master Den8:22 pm

Anon 8:41 PM

In the interest of accuracy and clarity, when exactly did LKY make these remarks, where did he make them and in what context?

Doesn't seem to have affected Singapore's relationships with Brunei and Indonesia any. Nor prevented Maybank and CIMB from making relatively substantial profits in the citystate.

Of course, Indonesia doesn't have the equivalent of Perkasa!

17. Anonymous11:26 pm

Just to share some sickening report about Khazanah trying to cover up major corruption in Johor. WTF!

Audit probe on IIB Investment
    Speculation rife that Arlida Ariff will be replaced as president and CEO
    By Terence Fernandez
    PUTRAJAYA: Was an investigation into its operations the catalyst for a change at the helm of Iskandar Investment Bhd (IIB)? This is the question posed by government and industry sources alike for some time now.

Speculation had been rife for over a month that Arlida Ariff will be replaced as president and CEO by DRB-Hicom group director (properties and infrastructure) Datuk Syed Mohamed Syed Ibrahim.

Syed Mohamed was initially expected to come on board today although Arlida’s contract expires only on Dec 31.

Bewildered corporate communications staff said Arlida is still performing the duties of president and CEO and has scheduled several meetings and functions well into the middle of this month.

However, another source said Arlida may be recalled to headquarters.

"She may be given other duties in Khazanah," the source said.

Earlier this year, holding company Khazanah Nasional Bhd initiated an audit into the financial management and operations of IIB following reports of alleged kickbacks, inflated costs and alleged questionable procurement procedures.

"The reports came as complaints from business partners as well as whistleblowers," said a source.

"The allegations were serious enough for Khazanah’s board of directors to call for an internal audit," said the source.

It is learnt that Ernst & Young had discovered "confirmation" of some of these allegations which include the awarding of infrastructure projects to relatives of senior executives of IIB.

However, it is understood that Khazanah is not keen to pursue a full-blown investigation involving the authorities.

"Khazanah’s main concern is investor confidence but if there are any allegations of irregularities, they must be nipped in the bud," said a senior government source.

However, he said the changing of the guard does not mean Arlida, who chairs tender meetings, was implicated in any of the auditors’ findings.

18. Anonymous9:29 am

Soalan cupumas..

TOWKEY tu apa?
    TAIKOR tahap atas dari TOWKEY ker?

Kenapa perkataan TOWKEY diguna pakai oleh tiap kaum PATI dalam urusan harian mereka dengan kaum APEK?

19. Anonymous2:02 pm

Koa saket kah, bruder? Minum lah horlicks!!!!!

20. Skilgannon10664:40 pm

Perwira 9:29 AM

Who, or what, is this "kaum APEK"? Is it an hitherto unknown species of homo erectus?

Anon 11:26 PM

It wasn't too long ago that Ms Arlida was giving presentations in Singapore on the Iskandar project. I thought, then, that she seemed to be knowledgeable about the subject and was comfortable dealing with hardheaded and sceptical Singaporean and expatriate businesspeople.

Is she a victim of what the Aussies call "the tall poppy syndrome" - that people get jealous of those who are more talented or capable than they are.

And I thought that Khazanah is a veritable paragon of meritocracy and transparency?

21. Anonymous7:47 pm

well, master den & skewedmoron read this ...

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/09/29/lee-kuan-yew-we-are-largely-chinese-and-indians/

22. Anonymous9:12 am

Who is the DUMB Malaysian Reserve Editor who did not use the MMC - UEM takeover story?

Read the Bursa statmenet here :
    MMC Corporation Berhad (“MMC”) had submitted a preliminary proposal to the Government for the acquisition of UEM Group Berhad and has not received any indication on our proposal as yet.

Bengali Kondek

23. Anonymous10:53 am

Ahirudin bin Attan wrote : I left it to the MR editor to decide, having given my advice. At that point of time, he said he was in favor of running the story. Sometime later in the night, I suppose he changed his mind. Good call.

Hello, what do you mean by GOOD CALL by the Reserve editor??? Why didnt the RESERVE editor try to get in touch with MMC for comments? Was he FALPPIN on his backSIDE?

As editorial advisor to the Reserve

24. Anonymous10:56 am

Malaysian Reserve editor tidoq kah? U pikir u lebeh tao dari Rocky kah? Skg tahi dah melekat ke muka . . . padan muka.

NUHSI

25. Anonymous11:21 am

As editorial advisor to the Reserve you should ask him or her for a written explaination on why the Reserve didnt do a follow up like the Edge, was second in line for the cherry, when then were actually given the first crack?
    The reserve editor, be it a she or a he, should do the rite thing and resign, because breaking this story would have brought a lot of positive feed for the reserve.
    Until now, people dont know about the Reserve coz they write CRAP stories. No wonder, they have a CRAP editor too. Who is the Reserve editor, by the way????

KARPAL.

26. Anonymous4:17 pm

windows xp software
    office professional oem
    windows oem version
    windows 7 ultimate

microsoft software

27. Anonymous2:36 pm

vista home premium
    Creative Suite 5
    microsoft office oem
    oem adobe software
    oem software downloads

microsoft discount

28. Anonymous5:28 pm

oem ms office
    windows 7 ultimate
    cheap adobe software
    windows vista oem
    cheap windows xp

autodesk downloads

29. Anonymous11:22 am

Well done This was a excellent piece of writing. Do go on as you are. I shall be eagerly waiting.

-