Friday, December 11, 2009

Early show of leniency by Malaysian court in big graft case

RM350,000 only bail for alleged RM254 million CBT. The AG Chambers and the two enforcement agencies - PDRM and MACC - must be thoroughly disappointed with the judge in the case of OC Phang who was charged yesterday with two others for criminal breach of trust amounting to RM254 million. Bail was initially set at RM2 million!

The Court has also kindly allowed her to travel to the US on family matters. OC Phang can hold on to her passport until Jan 12.

I don't know about you but I think the Court is being very lenient. Maybe unnecessarily too lenient.

p.s. I would like ot thank those of you who highlighted the role played by Allahyarham Ancient Mariner - al-Fatihah - in making Malaysians aware of the PKFZ issue. The Malay Mail spoke to Imran, the late Captain's son, h e r e. On his last day on earth, Capt Yusof was in Port Klang, probably talking to his sources. Read his last posting (July 12) on PKFZ headlined PKFZ: Who will take the rap?

35 comments:

1. Anonymous8:37 pm

Giving them a chance to do an RPK?

2. bro, ni ada video Anwar Ibrahim berucap di kursus btn semasa jadi anggota kabinet sebagai Timbalan Perdana Menteri..

klik sini http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6V7EGbbrtk

harap sebarkan..

tq

3. Anonymous11:27 pm

Bukan ke PAC pernah kata tiada kes dalam hal PKFZ dulu ?

Kalau benar, SPRM patut soal-siasat semua anggota PAC jugak !!!

Mungkin saya silap.

Nani Cheras

4. Anwar Ibrahim too bro!

No remand, RM20k Bond(no need to pay), still hold his passport.

Section 377, mandatory remand.

Still injustice?

5. Anonymous12:26 am

As bad as so call "Communist" country such as China. They executed executive who stole & embezzle millions. Also tainted milk scandal, those executives involve, salesman and anyone who's fault in direct involve in the decision to sell the tainted milk, are also executed.

Only in democratic country, where millions embezzles like Wall Street bankers in financial crisis is given more bonus for good job, Thailand Thaksin can welcome & stay in Cambodia, Taiwan Chen Sui Bian the worst is jail. For Malaysia, we just charge them, drag long court case until everybody forget then close case.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/china-executes-trader-who-hid-millions/article1392429/

6. Anonymous1:07 am

ini hakim yang tak kena transfer. hakim bebas semua dah kena transfer.

jadi apalah kau rocky nak hairan. kerajaan kau memang buat kerja macam ini.

7. Human Right!
    Even if you need to postpone 1 case for 2-3 years.

Bro, add twitter into MM lah...

8. Anonymous5:19 am

It'd be good if you can link us to reports on the court decision itself - details on why the Judge was so lenient. Also some background on the Judge - whether new to the business, etc.

It's certainly is extraordinarily lenient, not commensurate with the gravity of the offence, the amount alleged embezzeled.

Can't say more until knowing more.

Interested.

9. wandererAUS10:34 am

...WITH THAT SORT OF MONEY STOLEN FROM THE TAXPAYERS..WHICH DEVELOPING COUNTRY WILL NOT GLADLY OFFERS THEM CITIZENSHIP....!
    BUT, WHERE WILL THE CORRUPTED MALAYS GO?
    OR, ALL THE CORRUPTED UNTOUCHABLES LIVE IN THE "YELLOW SUBMARINE"

THE ENEMIES ARE THE TRUTH SEEKERS....BUT SADLY, THEY ARE ALL CAGED

10. Anonymous10:58 am

What if OC Phang doesnt return. Can we try the JUDGE instead? I'ev never heard of a suspected criminal being allowed to travle abroad, and then come and surrender the passport. Let me guess, OC Phang got terminal illness, thats why the court has granted her permission to travle to the US. And latter the doctor's will say that she cant travle back.

11. Anonymous11:58 am

jgn2 kapal terbang hempas dan ocp tiba2 aje hilang. kes tutup!

niaseng

RM350k bail i also can afford. what more for some one who has embezzled millions! TNS! The court has set a precedent for other criminals to lower bail.

12. My gut instinct tells me Ancient Marienr4 was killed to keep his "mouth-blogsite" shut! I cannot think otherwise, like times has tome for Allah to take his life crap, he was healthy the last time we saw him at Mee Rebus on Tuesday! May he rest in peace!

13. Assalamualikum Bro,

Ex uni students who didn't pay up their loans pun kena bar dari travel abroad .... mangkuk hayun yang mungkin makan duit juta-juta boleh travel pulak, let us know this judge name and maybe all defaulter of PTPTN, MARA etc can ask him be the judge ....

14. Anonymous2:11 pm

MB negri sembilan mat hassan cukup hebat. terbaca dalam suratkhabar baru ni dia kata dia tak tahu undang-undang bahawa salah pakai money changer hantar rm10juta ke london.

Tak sangka kita ada menteri besar yang bodoh-bodoh dalam malaysia ini. rupanya kita selama ini dipimpin oleh mb bodoh.

dengar cerita mat hassan pernah jadi manager maybank di london pada satu masa dulu. maka maybank nampaknya dapat mb bodoh. tak tau undang2.

najib pula entah apa dia buat. buat pekak badak saja. lama-lama umno jadi badak berendam.

15. Anonymous2:57 pm

Rocky:

You don't think that it is your political masters' gameplan to get OC Phang out of the country, and to keep postponing her trial on medical grounds ? To avoid calling Ling Liong Sik and Chan Kong Choy as witnesses, these people would also have to stay overseas for a while - of course they won't have any problems because they have properties in Australia and the UK.

Your political masters' gameplan is clear for all to see, except for one like you who has turned to the dark side of the force.....

And who will Gani charge next ? He promised that this is just the beginning, so I am waiting to see some lowly lawyer, some lowly civil servant, so lowly quantity surveyor charged as the "next wave" of arrests.

My offer to eat my hat (without ketchup or chilli sauce) still stands.

16. Anonymous3:10 pm

Salam Bro Rocky, Dari awal lagi sudah nampak mereka amat berlembut dan semacam ambil ringan saja.Tindakan yg amat mengcewakan.Harap pihak yg berkenaan menyedari dan insaf tentang keputusan yg tidak memuaskan dan yg menimbulkan pelbagai tafsiran negatif. Askartua,Kubang Kerian.

17. different sets of rules for different people ... beat the hell out of 1Malaysia concept ...

18. Anonymous3:19 pm

Cuba teka,siapa akan jadi peguambela mereka kelak!!!!
    TENTULAH KARPAL SINGH,PAKAR UNDANG-UNDANG,MAHIR MENCARI KESALAHAN DARI SEGI TEKNIKAL PENDAKWARAYA!!!BAB SALAH ATAU BETUL,BELAKANGKIRA!!!!!YANG PENTING BEBAS!!!!DISEBABKAN MASALAH TEKNIKAL PERUNDANGAN!!!!
    TAK PERCAYA!!!HANGPA TENGUKLAH NANTI!!!!
    KES ERIC CHIA DULU!BEBAS,KERANA TEKNIKAL...BUKTI DARI LUAR TAK BOLEH DITERTIMA PAKAI!!!!
    BELAJAR DARI SEJARAHJE KALAU MELIBATKAN KARPAL SINGH!!!!

-0rgkampungje!

19. Kaneeneh3:36 pm

Of course only RM350,000 mah... after all... it is all in the family see.
    In Communist China, they would have executed her with a bullet to the back of the head but in kind-hearted Malaysia, they allow her to travel to US some more and then only later confiscate passport.
    If Ah Phang is smart, don't come back loh... go to third world country with no extradition treaty with Malaysia and set up rumah urut and be a towkehsoh loh... after all why come back with good possibility of prison... got lesbian rapists in prison some more...heheheh
    This country is so totally screwed... if she escapes and Interpol cannot find her... catch the judge and send him to prison instead loh...

20. Anonymous4:40 pm

Fellas,

Sorry to disappoint all of you.

All these are wayang sahaja. The government merely doing damage control. The real crooks had been given time to erase all their tracks. The stage now is to sacrifice a few "mosquitoes" to appease the baying public. This is Bolehland - semua then OKkkkkkk.

SemuaOK

21. Anonymous4:41 pm

Fellas,

Sorry to disappoint all of you.

All these are wayang sahaja. The government merely doing damage control. The real crooks had been given time to erase all their tracks. The stage now is to sacrifice a few "mosquitoes" to appease the baying public. This is Bolehland - semua then OKkkkkkk.

22. Shahidan Roslan5:45 pm

Rocky cukuplah dengan sandiwara nak ucapkan terima kasih kepada arwah tuan Ancient Mariner. Tolonglah jangan usik nama baik arwah Ancient Mariner.

Jelas ini satu 'cover up' di mana ikan-ikan bilis di tangkap dan ikan-ikan jerung yang benar-benar bertanggungjawab bebas, iaitu golongan dari kabinet kerajaan dan ahli-ahli parlimen tertentu.

Cukuplah memperbodohkan Melayu dan rakyat Msia yang lain.

23. I agree with your term of the court being "unnecessarily too lenient" - her being allowed to leave the country AND holding the passport.

Like A GOOD MAN DOES NOTHING earlier, can't blame anyone with a suspicious mind for reasonably suspecting that "maybe the court/authorities are giving the subtle signal that she flee before Jan 12." This will, of course, jeopardise the case - who knows whether she's also the prosecution witness for bigger-yet-to-be-charged personalities. And the case is sabotaged by `certain parties' within the government. If this really happens, then the judge has a lot to answer for.

On the other hand, I'm okay with the bail amount being a lot lower than the RM2 million asked by the prosecution. To me, even RM350,000 is already too high. Never mind if it involves RM254 million - the fact is that they haven't been found guilty by any court yet.

I'm considering this aspect - people forced to spend time in remand (which means prison) while awaiting trial. This might take from a few months at the earliest to a few years. And all this because they could not put up the money/property for the bail. Sometimes, after being in remand for a significant period, they are found not guilty. Or the DPP withdraws the charges; which is an indication that it was weak in the first place.

But what about the time spent in remand? Tough luck, dude/madam - "It was decreed by the stars/fated/Takdir..." That's easy for others to say because it wasn't they who had to spend the miserable time in remand.

24. SangNila8:02 pm

bagus tu hang ucapkan terima kasih kepada arwah Captain.
    We know you were close to him and we know you placed so much value on his contribution to making the PKFZ scandal public.

So, shahidah or whatever you call yourself...nampak jahat hang.

Go, Rocky! good for you. it's people like shahidan ni yang haprak.

25. Anonymous9:07 pm

Big fish can never be caught. Look at Anwar. Still gallivanting to his heart's desire. The fact of the matter is, it's the biggest fish that have the best chances of escaping.

I mean, nobody has caught G.W. Bush for his illegal war yet!

//Popcorn

26. Anonymous11:03 pm

Aiyah, what all the fuss la? its only 250 millions la!

tell us how the last 3 pm squandered away 300 billions...

27. Anonymous11:26 pm

12.5bil scandal and all the found was a mismanagement of rm350mil?

alamak! they caught a snatch thief but the robbers got away!

niaseng son of niamah

28. Anonymous12:18 am

I am glad the court show some leniency to our fellow Chinese Malaysian.
    After all she is not yet proven guilty, and so we should not treat her as such.

However all this corruption is due to UMNO, and they are guilty no matter the court says so or not!
    In fact its all the PM's fault, the Madey fault, the police fault, the MACC fault, the Judge fault, the Hospital Fault.
    For all we know OCPhang is only fall-person only what.
    Heck may even be victim in this conspiracy.

DAPigsLogic

29. Anonymous1:04 am

Correct x 3.

In politics, leniency is always the mother of all downfall.

Mahathir may be charged soon

30. Anonymous10:33 pm

Rocky

what shall we do now? Criminals getting away left and right..court system not exactly that great! Men and women on the streets dont feel safe...corruption, endless and without any fear or shame...look around us my friend..are we really moving in the right direction??? its not about being against the government, but about being able to say the truth and expect the truth and justice to prevail. The decay the society is facing today is a result of years of abuse using the Government to perpertrate just about any crime to hasten personal gains at the expense of the people and society in general...the laws are no longer protecting the righteous and the men on the street, but are being sidelined to protect powerful people who has been raping the nation dry!!! We have a duty to right whats wrong to ensure the nation returns to the right path...

Saladin

31. Anonymous8:32 pm

I do not think OC Phang will come back. Without her, no case lah.

32. KEPOCHI10:30 pm

GUNA LE BAHASA KEBANGSAAM ..

KALAU NKO GUNA BAHASA PENJAJAH NI ..SUKA LA SI PENDATANG HARAM KAT TANAH MELAYU NI .....

33. She can take a good holiday and then stay put for good, another sandiwara, just like that former THAI PM, he was excused to go watch the opening of the Olympics in Beijing 2008 and never returned...memang another Malaysia Boleh cerita for the books of records!

well done

34. Anonymous1:17 am

"Anonymous said...

Aiyah, what all the fuss la? its only 250 millions la!

tell us how the last 3 pm squandered away 300 billions...

11:03 PM"

NO LA, SOME PEOPLE SAID 400 TO 500 BILLIONS LA.

NO NO LAH. NOT 500 BILLIONS BUT 100 TRILLIONS.

YOU WAIT LA, THIS HOT STORY WILL COME OUT SOON. PLS WAIT ......