Saturday, October 10, 2009

OTK, Chua punished by delegates

HEADNOTE: Article 35 of the MCA Constitution states that an EGM needs the votes of two-thirds of the delegates to oust the President.

Now, consider the outcome of the voting on Resolution 1: That the members of the general assembly have no confidence in the leadership of president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat.

There were 1155 delegates who voted FOR this resolution, against 1141 delegates who voted AGAINST it.
The margin, therefore, is 14.

That is clearly NOT a two-thirds margin!
Original Article:
Extraordinary, indeed. Yes, it is. The MCA members decided at the Extraordinary General Meeting today to pass a vote of no-confidence against their president, Ong Tee Keat, and to close the door on Chua Soi Lek's hope to be reinstated as the deputy president.

It looks like the members were fed up and decided to punish both men. Someone said it reflects the maturity of the MCA delegates.

The party is now without a president and a deputy president, but somehow many think this is the best outcome possible and that the next step for the party will be a step up.

[NST says it' s "Losers All"; it's "Dramatic Decisions" over at the Star. But Bernama decides to show us its sense of humor by asking Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for his opinion here].

Footnotes: The Malay Mail's online take, 2 Losers, 3rd Force Victors

29 comments:

1. I think both Ong and Chua must now do the honourable thing and bow out. Fresh MCA elections should be called to choose new leaders...a President and a Deputy President who can actually work together.

2. Anonymous8:16 pm

I supposed that this is a sign to our politicians to stop too much politicking and do their work?

C'mon politicians, rakyat are waiting "patiently" for your service!! Stop play acting!!

~ OnDaStreet

3. The chinese are truly pragmatic...for this is the second time that the chinese community punish their leaders.

The first time this happened was in 2000 General Election when they punish LKS and Karpal for too much politicking and hampering the revival of economic measures by TDM

Today , history is repatad by a pragmatic community.

I wish this pragmatism is trancended through out Malaysia ethnic communities especially the Malays.

Will the educated middle class Malay punish their politicking leaders? We shall see in PRU13

www.anakbukitgantang.blogspot.com

4. keng tiong hai8:24 pm

ong tee keat make use of The Star newspaper as his personal propaganda papers to destroy chua soi lek and his opponents.

The star paper have lost it's credibility among many of it;s readers.
    MCA central delegates have done a good job by not supporting Ong Tee Keat as he seem arrogant and disrespectful to many MCA elders.

5. Anonymous8:29 pm

Yes Sir, I must congratulate the MCA delegates for making a much needed 'shot in the arm' for MCA. I have new respect for the party members for making such a bold decision. NO-we have no confidence in OTK. NO-we do not want CSL.
    Now, they must another candidate that can bring much needed leadership in MCA that as Tun M says must be CLEAN.........
    Happy hunting MCA.

Now should UMNO and MIC do the same thing? Errr, I guess MIC has decided to be IRRELEVANT by still choosing SV. Throw MIC out the window.......

Now, lets see what UMNO under DSN will do? It does not look good for now. But something must be done pretty soon cos come GE13, bye bye BN enter PR(both choices are hopeless anyway).

Maybe I'll migrate to UGANDA, ha ha.

Cheers!

The Observer

6. Ha ha ha, Bernama finally got it right and identified the source of our misery as a society now. Presenting it with humor ... hats off bro!

7. Anonymous8:43 pm

I agree with you. NST has a sense of humor by asking Pak Lah for his view. And "Abdullah said those affected should accept the decision and stop fighting because the credibility of the leadership was at stake."

Duh!. Where was he? The credibility of the leadership was at stake. That was an EGM to decide on the leadership.

8. probably this would had happened if UMNO had the EGM when paklah was asked to step down too... and scenario would be different for BN..

Sad, that MIC did not do the same thing.. get rid of Samy Vellu..

9. Could they ask Tun Mahathir to be acting president to help sort things out as Tun Ghaffar had been asked in yesteryear?

10. Anonymous9:44 pm

"Abdullah said those affected should accept the decision and stop fighting because the credibility of the leadership was at stake."

Dia ni bodoh banggang mai kut mana? They agreed to put it to a vote of the party. The party did just that. OTK is out and CSL is not in. Both their credibility has already been destroyed. Both are out. Which part of this does Badawi not understand? Even both OTK and CSL have accepted this. The MCA will now have to find new leaders. And then start building their credibility again.

11. Ong should not be punished..stupid delegates..he is doing his work to clean this dirty x actor to strengthen the party, dirty means dirty..delegates that make him win last time im wondering whom chinese that was not supporting the bn and traitors that supporting the dapies at pru12, it was a unseen sabotaged to bn and destroy umno's power slowly if you can see it through ur mind..im telling you MCA it was so kind of ya'll to threat your own president like that..old malay said 'meludah ke langit terkena muka sendiri'. Now the story will continue for who will be next for the top seat..crisis after crisis..until Pru13. Umno you watchout..Ong i hope you'll get another 'ong' next time. X actor you are good damm troublemaker. Paklah shhhh not to speak..sleep sleep.

12. Anonymous10:38 pm

Wrong, OTK and Chua were not punished by the delegates. It was Najis and UMNO. They created the third force so that both will get booted and someone friendly will soon take over to sweep the Port Klang scandal under the carpet. And the corruptible UMNO & MCA of the Port Klang scandals will get scot free

Steven Yang

13. The happiest person now must be Tiong of PKFZ fame.

14. Anonymous11:27 pm

I personally feel the Chinese community should really find themselves a GOOD LEADER to lead them. I feel sad for the bitter aimless DAP chinese having such a bitter old man leading them..

Malaysian Malaysia dreams, is merely doing this to the Chinese:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20091008/od_nm/us_gaza_zebras

If you are a true proud Malaysian Chinese or Malaysian Indians.. prove to the Nation and to the World that you are true Malaysians, not donkey zebra Malaysian!

Sekadar nak have a smooth FREE ride using the word Malaysian in your international Passport, tapi lagak macam Nationals from China and India?

15. BOTH IN HOT SOUP

It was either one or both
    Now both are cooked in the broth
    When both wanted to go for broke
    Both are now treated as 'crooks'

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng - 101009
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sat. 10th Oct. 2009.

16. wishediwaswrong12:30 am

You said:
    "NST says it' s "Losers All"; it's "Dramatic Decisions" over at the Star. But Bernama decides to show us its sense of humor by asking Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for his opinion here].

You're a fantastically wily wordsmith. Although you made it look like you questioned Bernama's wisdom (itself unethical since Bernama is your journalistic reporting peer), your below-the-belt swipe at Pak Lah was too stark and couldn't be concealed by your spin.

The sad part of it is that the swipe was personal; not issue-centered. I always thought you were more mellow than macho.

17. Anonymous8:54 am

This just show's that the chinese in mca want to jaga their business so as not to offend their taiko u must not oppose,period.

ah lek

18. Anonymous11:42 am

Yo steven yang...mirror - mirror can you see that such calamity jirks, You mean Najis the old man that wearing Sarban nuuunnn over there...? Naaaa not our Najib and UMNO..You are still dreamin friend...come on can you see DAPiest among the MCA delegates?...hurgh never say thanks but keep blammin' malays...1 mindle finger to you pakatanist..jirks. - Dzul Pekida Melaka

19. Sir I think the rule says two thirds majority, not margin. It still didn't make the cut either way. A two thirds majority would mean at least 1530 votes needed to oust him.

If he keeps his position based on the rules, when more than half wants him to go, then there will be a MAJOR problem in MCA.

20. Thank you TPJ,
    that's what i meant. my mistake.

21. Anonymous1:56 pm

I think this is the best solution for the delegates to booted them out.One is behaving like an emperor and the other has an image problem so this is the best to discard them off and call for fresh elections.

22. Anonymous3:16 pm

Malay Mail was spot on in saying it was the third force that won. there was no way this siutaion would have developed if not for the unseen hand and there is speculation that former MCA presidents are all involved in this.

I had the opportunity to be at one of CSL's dinners at Federal hotel when the official EGM dinner was being held party's headuqarters.

they were celebrating information that OTK will definitely be booted out. in fact, unconfirmed as it might be, there was another centre, somewhere, that was the main operations centre in getting feedback from delegates.

on hand were, i was told, past presidents who spoke personally to delegates.

that was one heck of a operation to kill off OTK and CSL.

btw, just for your information the mood against the Star is at its lowest among the chinese community and i guess for all after their blatant falsehood of a story on the front page.

that story was about MACC investigations against OTK turning up nothing whn in fact the probe is ongoing. how could a paper tell lies like this? isnt there a council to punish the liars and the management? shouldnt there be a fine or some sort, sacking or some firm action the paper?

rocky, can a reader like me take action against any paper for publishing lies? after all i dont pay 1-1.50 ringgit to read lies?

Dr. Stephen Voon

23. AminGL3:49 pm

At the end, UMNO is the biggest winner of this MCA EGM because they will want MCA President who is "U" "M"ust "N"o "O"bject them. PKFZ scandal will be swept under carpet and no one will get punished. The biggest loser is the Raykat.

24. Anonymous4:53 pm

Bro, whether two thirds or no two thirds, neither have any credibility to even linger a second longer....Integrity and credibility must rule the day!

25. Avadh6:10 pm

//But Bernama decides to show us its sense of humor by asking Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for his opinion//

And you have a great sense of humour, Rocky.

hahaha

26. Byk2 party gua paling respek parti MCA. If you are useless better we will kick them off.

27. Anonymous11:58 am

It is frivolous to have the president resign with a small majority. If this happens, then MCA is in deep shit. It will see changes in the president like a merry round. It will become a bigger joke than what it is now.

28. Al-Sadr12:31 pm

Brother;

I lamented that once , MCA as the second largest partner in BN has demanded that the post of DPM to be given to them. But looking at the situation at the moment I don't think so , IMO the whole goverment machinery will be in total chaos... LOL

29. Anonymous11:22 am

"Wrong, OTK and Chua were not punished by the delegates. It was Najis and UMNO. They created the third force so that both will get booted and someone friendly will soon take over to sweep the Port Klang scandal under the carpet. And the corruptible UMNO & MCA of the Port Klang scandals will get scot free

-Steven Yang-

Yeah..forever blaming UMNO & to be specific Malay things to all your everything misfortunes.. so who the fuck are you calling idiot now?

So are you trying to prove to us that your so-called smartass supreme chinese race forever will be duped by the malays, erkk.. jizz..who are the real idiot anyway..?

so next time..think before you speak lah idiot..do not disgrace your stupid self & your own kind..wtf!

:D muhahaha
    -anti hindraf & ultra chingkies-