Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Under Gaza's red sky

Updated, Thurs Jan 15, on Concert for Gaza by Ahmad Talib, here.

Original article:
Rock legend to take part in Let Gaza Live nite. Sweet Charity lead singer Ramli Sarip, 57, is to lend his voice to an initiative by Malaysians against Israel's atrocities in Gaza. This could take place early Feb.

I was at Chawan in Bangsar last night in my personal capacity on the invitation of Pahit Manis [who was part of the Barisan Bertindak Bosnia movement when he was an NST editor in the 90s] but I think All-Blogs would want to be part of this initiative. I have been a fan of the Papa Rock for decades and Sweet Charity celebrates its 40th year in 2009.

More pics courtesy of Zakhir h e r e.

86 comments:

1. Anonymous12:21 pm

wow!

both of you look alike la, bro... except that ramli seems to be much younger than you are...

let's do it!

cheers!

2. Anonymous12:27 pm

Bro
    now I know where your 'image' comes from.

The similarity of both your outlook is uncanny. I would have thought both of you are twins. hehe

i support the move. Cheers.

3. Anonymous12:27 pm

dear rocky,kamu dan ramli kembar seiras ya

4. Anonymous12:33 pm

errr...which one is ramli sarip?

5. Anonymous12:34 pm

ROCK!!! (wow like siblings lah!)

6. Bro, macam adik-beradik laaa...

7. Anonymous12:51 pm

adik beradik ker nie?

8. Anonymous1:03 pm

Are you not related? You guys look like brothers (in-arms?)

9. Anonymous1:13 pm

first glance, its kinda hard to spot whos the blog king and whos the rock king.

i hope this event will be more than just increasing awareness level practice. or if there is somekind of fund raising, i hope this event will be more than that.

money cant solve everything, totally agree on that. but money can solve something.

10. nampak macam kembar.. dua dua orang ni saya sokong dan minat.. hehe. tahniah.

11. opdate us once u got the detail ,please!

12. Anonymous1:24 pm

rocky..
    u & papa rock mcm twin la..
    :)

13. Twin power... but different power...

14. Anonymous1:35 pm

bro,

Malaysian Parliament should send

1. Anwar to US
    2. KJ to Singapore or UK

because both of them are close to their master and who knows their master will consider to Anwar and KJ's appeal on behalf on Malaysian and speak to Israel.

BTW, which is which n the photo. sejibik la bro

15. Anonymous1:54 pm

Its looks like justice only for muslims...what a double standard Malaysian...the WAR in Sri Lanka is 100 more worst then Palastine.(only thnik there no publicity) Whats is the diffrence between Hamas and LTTE.....who cares end of the day is all about race n religion and not humans....

16. Isnt it strange that in the face of the atrocities, artists that write songs about injustice, protests and opressions are unusually silent. People like Bono, Zack delarocha have become hypocrites protecting their own royalty checks from their illuminati masters and carreer interest. Dylan can be excused, after all he's a jew. Why would he care about the masters of war.

17. Brader..

konfius la..

mana satu ramli, mana satu rocky..huhu

18. Anonymous2:26 pm

rocky bru and ramli sarip looks like brothers...hehehe

19. Anonymous2:28 pm

I thought it was you seating next to a mirror!!

Have to look at it twice......

20. Anonymous2:42 pm

Wo Bro,

Same vibe ...
    Appearence-wise ...
    R-o-c-k da hair

21. Anonymous2:48 pm

both of you look-alike... hehe.

22. Anonymous3:01 pm

Why so much hoo hah over the attack on Gaza when not even a single protest is mentioned on the attack by the Sri Lankan forces on innocent lives in Sri Lanka. Why? Is it because they are not Muslims???

-Concerned Malaysian-

23. Yay, Rocky, u look hensome.
    Ehhh or is that Ramli Sirap, aka Ramli Sarip?
    Sama aje muka dua braders ni.
    Anyway, in Singapore we all love him. Ramli, I mean.
    He represents the old Deep Purple generation who makes reflective songs in Malay, perfect for people of my age.

24. Anonymous3:28 pm

you and papa rock really look like brothers...
    do whatever it takes, Israel must stop all this! It's like a modern day holocaust, this time the US ain't doin SHIT to stop it

rakyat biasa

25. Anonymous3:30 pm

So which one is you bro ?

mus

26. Anonymous3:40 pm

how to donate to israel, I belive we can end the war faster if israel win!

27. Anonymous3:48 pm

bro r u related? :)

28. Rocky & Ramly look like brothers seeing you both side by side.

:D

29. Anonymous3:53 pm

wajah seiras

30. Anonymous3:56 pm

get all artist involved,do the right thing for once! artist are people idols,i'm sure lot of corporate people would sponsor.during the event do ad-hoc collection to contribute to the people of Gaza.Get it done brother Rocky.

brother vgv

31. Anonymous3:59 pm

Rock,

Mula-mula gua tengok gambar, macam Ramli Sarip duduk sebelah cermin.Ramli Sarip boleh jadi you punya double,jika ada 'peperangan' sama spt Saddam Hussein yang mempunyai ramai double.Itu pun jika lu jadi PM.

32. You two look like brothers you know...

33. Anonymous4:20 pm

kenapa ramli sarip nampak lagi muda dari lu...

panggil YUNA suruh dia perform sekali...damn good young talent this budak perempuan Melayu.

You'll be surprise bro bila tengok dia perform. check her song here

http://www.myspace.com/yunaroomrecords

34. This Charity is gonna be Sweet...Maybe we can use the Labu Airport Site as the Venue ...Rock on Papa Rock ...

35. Bro, Ramli and you are TWIN !

36. Anonymous4:52 pm

Oh my goat you guys look alike!!!!

37. Anonymous4:55 pm

Look like twins la bro.. I think if Ramli Sarip couldn't perform, u r the best person to replace him.. Dont worry about the voice, there's this technique called Mime.. =) Anyway, on the Gaza issue, fuck all the Israelis and those who supports them.. Bck home, we can start bashing this one bastard/hypocrite (ANWAR IBRAHIM) whom i think is the ONLY or FIRST EVER MALAYSIAN who OFFICIALLY RECOGNIZE THE ISRAEL OF ISRAEL.. refer to The Washington Note on Annapolis Summit 2007..

Adios Rocky Sarip.. =P

38. Bro Rocky,

Both of you look alike la bro, Papa Rock memang ku minati dari zaman aku sekolah menengah lagi....Way to go bro....

http://parpukari.blogspot.com/

39. YUP TWINS WITOUT A DOUBT.BETTER KNOWN S ENFANT TERRIBLES.HA HA JUST JOKING ROCKY.HEY BRO THERE R ALSO OTHER RACES WHO WERE CAPTIVATED BY HIS MUSIC N ALSO THAT OF BLUES GANG,BLACK DOG BONE,N SO ON.THOSE WERE THE DAYS WHEN MUSICIANS PEN THEIR OWN MUSIC N LYRICS.N MEANINGFUL ONES TOO.NOT THE SHIT THAT THEY DISH OUT NOWADAYS.GUA RINDU LU,LU CINTA GUA,N ALL THE OTHER CRAP THE RECOWDUNG COS.(PUN INTENDED)R SPITTING OUT NOWDAYS.THOSE GOOD OLD DAYS R GONE GONE GONE.ITS THE MOMEMTS THAT V REMEMBER WHEN CERTAIN SONGS OF DAYS GONE BY R PLAYED ON AIR.LISTEN TO C.C.RS. HEARD IT THRU THE GRAPEVINE.IT WILL BLOW U AWAY 4 A GOOD TEN MINUTES .THATS AFTER U HAD A FEW.AHEM AHEM.TAKE CARE BRO.CHAT SOMEOTHER TIME.

40. Anonymous5:17 pm

BRO...SAME JE

41. bro u guys look like brothers :D

42. Anonymous5:45 pm

now i know where i have seen you bro..
    you are spitting image of the rock legend ramli sarip!!

43. I'm seeing double. :)

44. Anonymous5:47 pm

Look like twins in a twinning programme.

45. Caya lah Bro,dua org Otai dlm dua dunia yang berbeza...

46. Anonymous6:30 pm

Nampak macam kembar je...

Btw ah, siapa tauke Chawan ah ???

Concerned Citizen

47. gila seyy muka sejibik

I suggest you do a duet for kamelia

48. Anonymous7:34 pm

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

49. Anonymous7:55 pm

Why is it I notice the Chinese and Indian bloggers and Malaysians generally do not care for the plight of the Palestinian in Gaza?

Its business as usual for Cina apiow and the Keling pariah at Starbuck, drinking Coke and brushing teeth with Colgate.

Are they really that selfish, kiasu and heartless?

50. Anonymous8:29 pm

Hey Bro,

Remember the year 1981; Sweet Charity live Singapore National Theater with Unwanted, Kingdom Come etc., Jurong Stadium with Heritage etc., Clementi Expo every weekend exclusive entrance S$0.50.

Glory days!

Live & let live

51. Anonymous9:03 pm

rockybru.. did you invite your twin ramli sarip to join the blogging community?...heheh

blog and share his experience.

52. Anonymous9:04 pm

Seriously both of you didn't set a good example for our next generation. If looking from behind I would mistaken from two aunties....

In Islam or any other religion, man is man, women is women and are you both telling our next generation to call you Heshe?

53. Anonymous9:08 pm

Hail! Hail !

Papa rock meets Papa blog !

We gonna rock around the blog tonight !

mus

54. auntie rose is right. It's hard to differentiate men from women these days. many of the women nowdays have facial hair and wear a beard. ha ha ha

55. Anonymous9:40 pm

What Legends are made of ...

56. Anonymous9:45 pm

ermm Hadi Awang shud join your team.. it'll be tripplet..

--camshial--

57. I knew it!... MANY people will say the same now that there's a pix of you two side by side.

I should have remarked this the first time I met you in the flesh at Bangsar Village on 19 Nov last year. Maybe I was too excited and stunned to actually be meeting you and Nuraina then. It did cross my mind, but only later ... you and Ramli Sarip are almost exact replicas for each other!

I wouldn't say Ramli "looks much younger than you are", like "bujal" said... lebih-kurang ajer (at least one of us needs to have his eyes checked Heheh!)

BTW can you sing? Erm, I mean "well enough"...

58. Anonymous10:43 pm

dear rocky
    like sam and dean in supernatural eh!

bobby.

59. Anonymous11:11 pm

(heha) : aku chinese BUT i like malay songs too , one song " ...yg dulu usah di-rindu' ( something like that ?) sung by ramli + khatijah = where can i listen again ah !?

60. Anonymous11:18 pm

Nothwithstanding the Gaza issue is generating worldwide condemnation towards the Isrealite government and zionists , in Malaysia at least the public perception SEEMS largely that mostly the Malaysian muslims are being a lot more CONCERNED towards the Palestinian plight mainly bcos of their erred presumption that the Palestinians are all muslims and that they are being victimised by the zionists and western forces ( mainly christian ).
    Yet the reality is that there are many Palestinian christians in Palestine who are now suffering the same fate as their muslim brothers evens as the blitz goes on.
    Of course many other humans in Malaysia wonder if this much concern will be given if the Palestinians were largely perceived as people of any other religion.
    However, going forward it will be spiritually gainful if all Malaysians whatever their religion, be concerned and speak out/ protest against all forms of injustice against all humans whatever their race or religion.
    Wouldnt that make us PERFECT in GOD's eyes and hence READY FOR HEAVEN.
    Peacemaker Yada.

61. Macam adik beradik..
    Sapa lagi hensem lah?

Nama dah RockyBru
    muka lak macam Papa Rock,
    memang Rockers....

Hahahahahahahaha

Gerek Seh!

62. Macam adik beradik..
    Sapa lagi hensem lah?

Nama dah RockyBru
    muka lak macam Papa Rock,
    memang Rockers....

Hahahahahahahaha

Gerek Seh!

63. rok brader, rookkkkkkk!

hey, count me in. would love to be part of the crowd. bawak lagu Teratai and i am so there mann.

64. oh yes! Sweet Charity and Ramli Sarip..imagine they were banned by PAS influences back in the 80s..

65. Anonymous2:31 am

Ramli Sarip performed at Danny's Lounge,Wisma Indonesia,Orchard Rd Singapore in 1975 with the hottest band in town Sweet Charity.He wasn't making any records then.

A very humble and religious person.

-rocksteady-

66. Anonymous2:58 am

brother rocky sarip,

adakah kau juga menulis bukan kerana nama?

67. Anonymous6:43 am

Anon 1:54 PM

Thanks Ramli for contributing.

Should pull MAWI and Siti Norhaliza in too. If they can pull millions to sponsor their wedding, nows the time to show their true worth to ensure those sponsors willing to come up with same for the sake of the unfortunates..

HAMBA ALLAH

68. Anonymous6:50 am

Anon 1:54 PM, -Concerned Malaysian 3:01 PM

Not so correct bro. Palestinians are fighting to protect their homeland. KEDAULATAN TANAH AIR. If you are a Malay or truly claim to be a Malaysian maybe you would understand what this solidarity is all about.

I am sure it would be the same for the Japanese, they will fight all out to protect Japan. The same with the Mainland Chinese in China. The same with the Indians in India.

The same with the Vietnamese in Vietnam. The same with the North Koreans in North Korea. The same with the Portugese in Portugal.

The same with the Bosnians in Bosnia. The same with the Afghans in Afghanistan. The same with the Indonesians in Indonesia. The same with the British in Britian.

The same with the Russians in Russia. The same with the French in France. The same with the Fillipinos in the Phillipines…

The HONOURABLE AND NOBLE selfless sacrifice to fight and protect ones homeland!

In Sri Lanka, the nature of fighting is not the same. Its internal…

HAMBA ALLAH

69. Anonymous7:59 am

Bravo Bro Rocky & Papa Ramli...

Still remembered Ramli & Sweet Charity performing live in Penang back in the 80's..they performed Mistreated (my favorite) & other songs by Deep Purple..top grade rockers with class of their own...

Ramli lets rock again with new vwrsion of "Mistreated' on Palestine by United Nation....

baniADAM

70. Anonymous8:13 am

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Its looks like justice only for muslims...what a double standard Malaysian...the WAR in Sri Lanka is 100 more worst then Palastine.(only thnik there no publicity) Whats is the diffrence between Hamas and LTTE.....who cares end of the day is all about race n religion and not humans....

1:54 PM

Dear Anon 1:54,

Hindraf can help them!

-Hamas

71. Anonymous8:16 am

Anonymous said...

Why so much hoo hah over the attack on Gaza when not even a single protest is mentioned on the attack by the Sri Lankan forces on innocent lives in Sri Lanka. Why? Is it because they are not Muslims???

-Concerned Malaysian-

3:01 PM

Dear Conserned Malaysian,

Pls ask Hindraf to help them protest. Then we will help them.

-Hamas

72. Anonymous9:06 am

Rocky:

Really cool that you got to hang out with Pak Ramli. My respects to him. However, your obsession with Dr. Mahathir is a bit strange.

Eat this:

Mahathir's 22-year reign as prime minister saw the rise of Rupert Murdoch wannabes like Robert Kuok, Ananda Krishnan, Vincent Tan, Yeoh Tiong Lay, Lim Goh Tong and Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary. These card-carrying capitalists were empire-builders driven by their unstoppable ambition to be listed in Forbes Top 100. It's impossible not to tip one's hat in recognition of their vision, perseverance and sheer stamina. Yet they could never have amassed their vast fortunes without becoming intimate buddies with whosoever held the reins of political power.

Go here to read more. This is not breaking news, Rocky; old news (but true news). Yet it may help in slowly curing you of your Mahathir-mania, and so good luck Rocky!

73. why not Sri Lanka?

Gazan are fighting against the invader, the occupier. UN recognised that Israel is the occupier.

Sri Lanka govt is battling against separatist movement. Sri Lanka govt is legitimate govt, recognised by the UN.

2 big differences here

-ex-ROTU

74. Anonymous10:26 am

Errr.... Could this be Malaysia`s First Clonning assignment that went wrong and were not reported in the Science Journals...?

Yup...they are twins . Different Mama and Diffrent Papa.

Lets throw " Rocks" to the Israelis...

75. Palestinians have been murdered for over 60 years and their lands stolen. All this by the backing of the greatest power on earth, he USA. Standing up to this is like standing up to Goliath. What is srilanka compared to this? I believe our muslims brothers should continue to stand up to speak against the zionist atrocities. I dont expect the other peoples of this country to care cause they never did. Why dont the tamil apologists hold demo of their own or speak up. Dont blame others when your own communities or not united. Besides i dont see anything thats supposedly 100 times worse than Gaza reported anywhere in the main media, CNN or what not. This topic is about Gaza, join in the protest or get out of the way.

p.s. ait mat cendana, hang budak kolej ka? Mana nak beli neck tie ngan badge tu. Aku punya dah karat al lingkup la...

76. bro,
    I'm sure you wish you could sing like him and he'd wish he was as young as you, hahaha !! Invite him over bro for a sing-a-long one of these days . I'd love to meet him too, before I tell you both to go and have a hair-cut !!
    cheers man!

77. Anonymous12:57 pm

In case if you stop blogging I suggest that you work as Ramli dup. In case if he cannot be present for his concert, you can take over his place, but lip sync off course unless you are rockier than Ramli :-D

Cheers

78. Tengku Mukreez,

You blame Dr M for creating tycoons like Robert Kuok, Ananda Krishnan, Vincent Tan, Yeoh Tiong Lay, Lim Goh Tong and Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary?

In the first place, Dr M shouldn't be credited for creating them. They would have made it big, anyway. The late Lim Goh Tong, for example, was an exceptional businessman. If anything, I think they owe it to Malaysia.

The good thing about tycoons who came up during the Mahathir era, if you hadn't noticed, is that they created something tangible for the nation.

Even Halim Saad, which I don't admire, completed the North-South Highway! Syed Mokhtar was making the Singapore govt sweat with PTP, until Abdullah Badawi came along ...

79. Anonymous1:39 pm

I just wanna laugh everytime I heard people try to equate Sri Lanka & Palestine.. the last time they try the same with South Africa arpatheid (majority vs minority) struggle with Hindraf (minority vs majority)?

As the way i see it in your blog , the same people as usual always think that they are soooo far clever sky-high when compared to any living Malays or Muslims in this Malaysia..

Wow! Really amazed me when these people can still keep up a smiles when their assholes get screwed up to the brain with counter facts & truth arguments in which they cannot answer back..no shame!

In my conclusion..these people are nothing more than just a bunch of stupid bastards passengers who only know to complaint & complaint but cannot do any useful course in their own effort other than blaming others..

Fuck them all..just ignore them.

-anti hindraf & ultra chingkies-

80. Anonymous4:06 pm

both of you look alike la, bro...
    anymore like you elsewhere?
    he! he!

JbRanger

81. Anonymous6:03 pm

(fury9) : the botak minister has said, " ...pls dun interfere with our internal affairs, ok ? mind your own business & be good, ok, tq !!"

82. Anonymous10:01 pm

TO DAYS NEWS THE JEWS HAVE MOVED DEEP INTO GAZA CITY AND THE ARABS
    ARE RUNNING FOR THEIR LIVES SEVENTY
    BUILDINGS IN GAZA CITY WERE TARGETED MORE LIVES LOST HAMAS HAS LOST THE BATTLE AS FOR ISRAEAL THERE IS NO GOING BACK BUT WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS HOW COME THE OTHER MUSLIM BROTHERS ARE JUST MARCHING IN THEIR
    OWN COUNTRIES AND SPOILING THE PEACE THERE WHEN THEY SHOULD BE STANDING NEXT TO HAMAS IN GAZA
    SHALOM

83. Anonymous6:39 pm

(fury9): ' ...the ARABs are running ....!'
    what has this got to do with ARABS ah !!??

84. seyes ni...

macam adik beradik kembar lah...

now i just realize it...