Wednesday, November 05, 2008

The first black President of the USA

Barrack Obama wins. The US wakes up tomorrow to a new - and its first black - President. But will it change anything for the rest of the world? Will he be able to turn around the US economy? Will he close down Guantanamo Bay? Will he stop America's holy War againstTerror?
I have my doubts.
But who cares, uh? They say anyone after Bush would/should make a better US President, at least to the rest of the miserable world.

Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?

p.s. Dr M will appear on Aljazeera English channel @ 4.30pm today under the programme "The World Watches" to discuss the US election.

Barack Obama elected President - The Star
Obama wins historic US elections - BBC News

188 comments:

1. Anonymous1:40 pm

I decry racial delineations ( http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=16237 ), but given the oppression that African American endured in the past, Barack Obama's win is significant.

As John McCain said, it marks a new history for America. Obama himself opened his speech with references to the historic "race" win. I don't think he's against the reference; in fact he's probably proud of it.

Congratulations, Obama.

2. BN or PR : From the people ... Yes, By the people ... Yes, For the people ... Not sure!

The voice of the Malaysians : Yes we can! Yes we can! Yes we can too! We could.. We should... We would...

The spirit of the people for Malaysians - Voice as one against whoever that will deny us!

3. Barrack Hussein Obama !

Obama Bin Laden...?

4. Anonymous1:50 pm

Re: Aljezeera program with Dr M
    I am being disrespectful and ask why do we waste our time with this old man's opinion.

Re: Obama's colour.
    Of course he is black just as his father is black. In Malaysia if your father is bumi ,you are bumi too.So why cant Obama be the 1st black American president!

Motheroffuturenon-bumi PM

5. I actually rooted for Hillary Clinton or Ron Paul...

6. Anonymous1:55 pm

(heha): this NEW us boss better be
    ISAed in malaysia for his safety = his LIFE is tentu under threat one !!

7. Anonymous1:56 pm

I hope that he will be better than Bush. I was all for him until I heard his speech for Israel relevancy to the US. Anyway, as long as he does order an attact to other Muslim countries.

Rocky, thank you for your information on Tun's appearance in Al Jazeera.I'm in London for the last 3 years and I profoundly miss the great man. Never mind his perpertrators... he has made Malaysian here proud just by mentioning his name to educated muslim community here.

Ikhwan

8. Anonymous2:17 pm

Obama's triumph must be in perspective. US of A, is bout 90 years behind russia@ussr. The first president of soviet was a mix too, with brownish skin colour. Spore had an Indian president. India rulling party head is an Italian. So whats the big deal? It proves got only one racist race in world, thats the CHINESE.

9. Anonymous2:26 pm

i don't think war on terror should be stopped.

call it something else if you think it's not a war against terror.

fyi, strapping bombs to a girl and detonate her in public markets, beach resorts or train stations ARE ALSO acts of terror.

holy or not, that's not for you or me to judge.

as a journalist, i hope you put your perspective right.

10. Anonymous2:26 pm

Bully for you Rocky, for making exactly the same points I've been thinking about. Obama is half black or half white depending on how you want to look at it. He is NOT BLACK.In this country anyone of mixed local and Caucasian stock is technically a Eurasian, like Mr PKR. If PKR becomes The PM of Malaysia, how will he classify himself?? He is certainly not Malay. But what's in the race, it's the content and the principles of the man/woman that matter.

But more crucial, the half-white new President will not be able to preside over the dismantling of Guantamo, stop the savagery in Iraq and Afghanistan, create a genuine peace in Palestine because he has tied himself to the apron strings of the Israeli lobby groups in US : that is assuming he really wants to do justice to all, not just Americans and their foreign and corporate allies.

Cynical Catwoman

11. Anonymous2:27 pm

technically US will wake to a different tomorrow but Obama takes office only on Jan 20th 2009.. Until then, there wont be any unexpected chg of events under Bush..

12. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

13. Anonymous2:30 pm

soldier of fortune, i might get u wrong but u are saying chinese is the racist race?

if they are racist do u think ur statement of singapore hving an indian president holds any substance?

14. Americans are easily swayed by mere rhetorics and impressive promises just as Malysians were/are by the PR honcho.

They are willing to swallow anything, even Yogi Bear promising them what Obama has.

15. Anonymous2:38 pm

You're right rocky .."Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president ?".. Syed Hamid is of Yemeni "descent" and Ahmad Ismail is of Chakali Tamil decent... so why is it that they are refered to as Malays ?

16. The Audacity of Hope - is ALIVE!

It transcends race, religion, colour, thats the testimony of this American election.

We should not view it otherwise, cause that will only point to our own bigotry. India paved the way many years ago when the people had voted a Muslim as a President and a Sikh as their Prime Minister... not forgetting a Roman Catholic who heads Congress..... its now Americas turn to showcase true democracy minus bigotry.

I do believe, Malaysian will rise to the occassion, sooner than the pundits would have it. Remember its the will of the people that wanted and turned it around -especially the younger generation -they determine the future of any nation.

So, to all Malaysian, we can become a powerful beacon too, once we all throw out the Bushes and the Ku Klux Klan mentality within our society and politics.

THERE'S HOPE - SHALOM

17. Anonymous2:55 pm

Bro

Aku ingat Obama nie pakai pengundi hantu laa.

18. Anonymous2:57 pm

Mahathir has indian blood in him. Why call him a Malay Prime Minister?

19. Anonymous3:03 pm

can't wait the day msia have a non-Malay PM.

really.

*bumiauto

20. "Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

I fully agree.

But would Rocky also ask his great hero otherwise known as Mahathir Mohammad why the latter is regarded as Malay - and the old man has all along been portraying himself as more Malay than the Malays - despite his partial Indian origin?

21. salam bro rocky,

actually, i have not log in to ur blog for a while, this is due to the hectic task and assignments week that i have to go through. hmm i agree with ur point there, i doubt that obama could make a great change for the world, the war against terror and more sins that the US has made through the world, especially the islamic world. so, we could just move on and see what he can do...

salam,

Hidayat Rashid

www.kisahsebuahbangsa.blogspot.com

22. An African-American is entrusted to be the next President of America. American vote upon credibility and capability regardless of race.Back home, a Chinese lady is not good enough to be the GM of PKNS. A lot of people wasting time in protesting upon the decision of Penang state government to put up multilingual road signs.

23. Can he walk the talk, eg he will be more open for discussion with US's sworn enemies etc and Islam.

All the spins and rhetorics did the job twice for Bush,it may well be the same for Obama if he doesn't walk the talk.

I did not see anything new from either Obama or MCcain. Only that Obama appears to be able to say things in layman terms which may have endeared him to the public ala TDM.

Americans, however have the same Malaysian problem, mudah lupa, hence relected Bush the last time.

Hope they do not make the same mistake this time.

http://balankumarpremakumaran.blogspot.com/

24. Anonymous3:20 pm

malaysian tigress,

not the bright are you?

neocon = neo conservative
    conservative = republican

Malaysians are not easily swayed by rethorics. Just like the Americans we had to make the choice for the lesser of two evils.

If you live in America you would have seen how Obama was the better choice. But if you love politics of bigotry than republican and I guess BN will be your choice. The Fox News ppl would love to have ppl like you with them.

25. Anonymous3:26 pm

1:56 PM
    soldier of fortune said...

Obama's triumph must be in perspective. US of A, is bout 90 years behind russia@ussr. The first president of soviet was a mix too, with brownish skin colour. Spore had an Indian president. India rulling party head is an Italian. So whats the big deal? It proves got only one racist race in world, thats the CHINESE.

----------------------------

Before you soldier of (mis)fortune or rather a typical UMNO member or supporter attaches racism to any race, LOOK NO FURTHER THAN YOUR UMNO WHICH CAN BE CONSIDERED THE BIGGEST RACISTS IN THE WORLD AFTER THE DEMISE OF APARTHEID IN SOUTH AFRICA!

Tell me if ketuanan Melayu is not pure and crass racism, what is? Oh maybe in your jargon, anyone who considers himself Malaysian is also a racist right? Only UMNOputras like you are not racist, right? Get lost political dinosaur. You are out of date in the 21st century, and rightly should be OUT OF SIGHT.

borderless

26. mahathir father is an indian, so he should be indian and not malay......race basicly determine by the father blood

same as syed etc

but stupid umno guys really believe mahathir is malay.... mahathir should join KIMMA party

obama is black because of his father is black

27. Anonymous3:27 pm

Mixed just like the Mamaks - Malay + Indian (keralite/Tamils/north indians. They call themselves Malays and bumis.

Obama is a mixed and his wife is Black. But does it matter? Not to the Americans.

I have not particularly been fond of Americans but today, I am proud of them. They have transcended racial barriers. Something that will never happen in Malaysia even in a century.

Hope to be wrong here, though.

Democrat

28. Anonymous3:33 pm

Koolgeek yang bengap,

These people become human bombs because they have no other alternative. Bukan macam Tuhan USA ko sembah tu...depa ada fighter planes and warships to blast other humans and jahanamkan muka bumi with huge bombs and warheads from a safe distance, you stupidgeek.

These "human" bombs are merely bringing war right into the Israeli population just like the the satanic Jews and American warmongers are bringing it into the Palestinian/Iraqi/Muslim neighborhoods by their cowardly fire from helicopter gunships.

ADA FAHAM KE GEEKBODOH???? USA MEDIA KASI TELAN AIR KENCING PUN YOU MINUM. BODOH. MEDIA MALAYSIA KO TAK CAYA, MEDIA BONTOT PUTIH KO TELAN BULAT2.

menang ko ni GEEK.

RIMAUPISSED

29. Anonymous3:37 pm

shame on u malaysia....stil a racist ctry...

30. The tribe has spoken.

31. Anonymous3:51 pm

regret u made tat statement bout Obama not a black man. if like this Pak Lah also not malay lah, his father hainanese muslim - pure chinese n mum malay - now make sense or not ? or mahathir's father was a mamak indian but how come they were identified as malay...so upset with u..

32. Anonymous3:56 pm

Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?

He's considered black because of the 'one-drop rule', which states that one drop of black blood makes a person black. It was created and used by racist whites to exclude blacks and people of mixed parentage from 'white' society and therefore to discourage miscegenation altogether. In what could perhaps be considered a major case of blowback (I prefer to simply call it irony), African-Americans have become quite comfortable with the one-drop rule; in fact, the identification of anyone with even a bit of African ancestry as Black significantly increases the size (and therefore the influence) of the African-American population in the US.

33. Anonymous3:56 pm

"So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

For the same reason Tun M is a Malay?

Personally, as far as mixed-race people go (& being the father of one), I have no problem with them identifying with whatever race they are more comfortable - better than the Malaysian police station when I went to register the birth saying "MUST follow the father!". Of course Malaysia has it's own special 'rules'.

34. Anonymous4:01 pm

To SB (inc)

who said... "Syed Hamid is of Yemeni "descent" and Ahmad Ismail is of Chakali Tamil decent... so why is it that they are refered to as Malays ?"

It's obvious is it not? They are fully assimilated into the majority peribumi / bumiputera.

35. Thanks Jordan for the "one-drop rule" lecture. Looks like we have learnt well from the White supremacists!

36. If American sins against the Muslims, what about the Muslim Malay leaders towards the rakyat?

37. Anonymous4:26 pm

rocky bru

whats the difference between white supremacist and Ketuanan Melayu?

Bangsa Malaysia

38. The US Presidential election campaign has opened a new chapter for US imperialism. The overwhelming opposition to the policies of the Bush regime and the onset of a deep and serious recession has seen a mass demand for ‘change’. Massive enthusiasm and high expectations have been aroused, especially among young people and Afro-Americans in the Democratic candidate, Barak Obama. The enthusiasm and hopes of what his presidency will mean goes beyond the USA. In poll after poll in Europe, Latin America, Asia and Africa, Obama is by far the favoured candidate. While the outcome of the election to the Congress and scale of the Democrat majority, especially in the House of Representatives, will be important factors in determining what Obama actually does in some spheres of US intervention, one thing is clear: Obama is coming to power in an entirely different world situation than when Bush and the neo-cons took power in 2000. The question of US foreign policy in the post-Bush era is being posed sharply.

THE ‘US EMPIRE’ AFTER BUSH—> http://asocialistmalaysia.blogspot.com/2008/10/world-relation-us-empire-after-bush.html

39. Anonymous4:32 pm

We have no right to ask the US to close down Guantanamo Bay when Kamunting is still open, do we, rocky?

At least Guantanamo houses mainly alleged terrorists, unlike Kamunting where all of the detainees are political dissidents.

mizu

40. HALLELUJAH!

Obama is THE MAN,bro!

41. Anonymous4:42 pm

First: Obama himself acknolwedged himself as black! So what is your problem trying to change what Obama believes he is? Biasanya people acknowledge their roots ikut bapak. So Obama tu terima dia itu black, ikut keturunan bapak.

Kedua: look at your hero Dr. Mahathir! His father is Indian and his mother is Malay. Kalau ikut hujah kau, why is he calling himself Malay and not mixed?

Ada paham Rocky?

42. Anonymous4:54 pm

Based on Malaysia's version "keturunan follows the father", Malaysia was once ruled by a Thai PM, Turkish PM, Indian PM (22 years) & Chinese PM (shortest period ~6 years). Agree?

43. Anonymous4:57 pm

Aiyah.. have faith a bit la. If Obama can win against all odds, why is it that he cannot do what he say he will do? Ya la, it wont be tomorrow or next month or next year but some how it will be done if everyone cooperate la.

His speech after winning is so power and I must say John McCain's speech after losing was equally gracious and dynamic. Like that la I call leaders!!!!! Not like those we have here! A disgrace!

By the way, he is black because his dad is black.. Just like if your dad is Japanese, you will be known as Japanese irrespective whether you have those signature eyes or not or that your mother is a Malaysian! Get it!?

Another thing, all previous presidents are pure white mah.. no campuran and definitely didnt look colored lor! Haiyoooo....

44. Anonymous4:57 pm

Was watching Larry King interviewing Dan Rather (+2 other penalist) yesterday. Larry King asked if "Race" is or is not an issue in this election.

ALL the penalist say then (irrecpective weather Obama wins or not) "Race" is still an issue. It just that under the current financial turmoil, the economic factor took precedence.

Anyway it took 200 plus years for US of A to get a "Mixed" blood president. So I hope malaysia could wait 200 years also.

BTW, would thay now still call a White house of "Black" house? :D

MRSM Kalae Chepo 66/73

45. I hope all our BN's politician will be "Obamanized" to learn that politic thrived on color and race shall surely be rejected.

Kudos to real democracy

46. Rocky, I dont know if there is going to be any change with Obama, but I do know that when people are in dire straits, HOPE is all the have and need. We are still hoping.

47. hey aeroguy,

Why is it about bigotry when i see Obama as just another tool of the Israeli Lobby? Did I mention color here? I think it was more about, yeah, bigotry on my part...but those Zionists aren't religious, meh!

Yes, I know the dif between a neocon, a wardog, a republican and a democrat. (They are all the same bunch of murderers propogating "democrappy".)

Black, white, purple, 'em Americans still clueless.

Btw...tell Fox News to call me. Would love an interview for my 5 minutes of fame. THANKS! (for sure some clueless will hentam me for this remark also...wat to do)

48. Anonymous5:01 pm

if Mahathir is of an Indian descendent and PakLah is of hainanese Chinese descendent why the cina and indian still complaining of Malaysia never having PM other than Malays?

you need not be white to be seen as malays or cina, neither you need to be black to be seen as indian.

colour DOES NOT matter!

Obama was born to a black father and a white mother but his soul is from the same source as ours.

-colorBlind

49. Anonymous5:03 pm

Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?
    Rocky you are a MORON to ask such Q when your idol is indian/malay.

50. Anonymous5:06 pm

Would you prefer to categorize him as "Brown" then?

MR

51. Anonymous5:07 pm

Rocky!
    And what are you learning from Malay supremacy?

52. Anonymous5:11 pm

balan,

after u wrote so long, in the end u also need to touch the islam religion.. why ah??

can u leave the religion out ah? if today malays were of buddhism or hinduism, would u write the same?

u think US voted obama because he was islam or christian or black or white? come on la.. have a broader mindset can we??

maybe US voted him because john mccain was blacker than obama..hence they couldnt see him... (it is meant to be a sarcastic remark here)

53. Anonymous5:12 pm

Barack Obama is called the first African American president of the US eventhough he is mixed is because his father is African American originally from Kenya. And in the world culture, you follow your father's name, race, etc...its the more prominent one.

54. Anonymous5:15 pm

The difference between USA and Msia. They have already accepted a non-white President but over here, we cannot even accept a non-Malay head of PKNS. Yet we still dare to criticise them. No wonder USA is called a land of opportunity while Msia, a land of hypocrisy!!!

55. Anonymous5:19 pm

ITS BECAUSE, in some US states, anyone with 1/16 black blood were considered black. Hope that answers your question Rocky. If all those mixed blacks had to suffer back in the olden days why is it that now Obama is president we want to say hes not black? And why the f*ing hell would race make a difference?

56. Anonymous5:30 pm

I agree with Tom Dalyell. It's the assimilation process that made what Dr M and Syed Hamid's families are considered as Malays. It's by constitutional definition.

If you're not satisfy and still want to call them Malay-Indian or Malay-Arab. Then, my God, we have lots of Malay-Javanese, Malay-Bugis, Malay-Minangs, Malay-Siamese, Malay-Filipinos and the list goes on...

Be that if your father is A, or his ancestry is A. But he married your mum, B. and you had been raised socially, religiously n ect with B culture. Would you consider urself A or B?

I think what some of you guys are squabbling about is the rule practiced in Malaysia, where, if there's a mix marriage, if one of them is Malay/Bumiputra, whether it's the husband or the wife, their children would automatically be considered as Malay/Bumiputra.

Malaysia is racist because it still has Malay PM till now? Then I guess Indonesia is racist too be because they also only had/have Javanese as their presidents till now.

Btw, I congratulate Obama. Come on. in the future there'll be a PM from Non Bumis. might be 100 yrs later, yeah. but that's still future. it'll come eventually. you'll probably have died. but your grand-children would see that historical moment.

FMMZ

57. Anonymous5:32 pm

America has accepted a black as its president. In Malaysia, PKN, a puppet state body, refuses to accept a Chinese as its boss. Ini Malaysia Boleh kah?

58. Anonymous5:32 pm

Ppl only look whichever benefited them. They want Malaysia to emulate US.. but how about UK? In UK, Asian british or African-british can only dream to be UK's PM. No way britons will let any asian or black be their PM.

Same goes to Malaysia. NO way malaysia will get a non-malay PM. not in a million years. Majority of Malay wont allow it.

So, say bye bye to your dream babe...esp anon 1:50pm..

59. Anonymous5:34 pm

Rocky ...do seek to see a post/position of responsiblity not in the black,white,coloured,..etc
    Seek instead to see that he is an American..With this i seek you to see all your fellow Malaysian as such..
    Do use your writing skill to promote this concept at all TIMES..
    Promote one Malaysian ..

60. Some people claim status as a Malay too, even though one of their parents may be Chinese/Indian/ European or whatever the case may be, which as you seem to imply is not strictly accurate. Furthermore, sometimes they go on to sound as though they disown their heritage.

61. ok..so Obama is not black? then what? a Malay?
    oh.... some guys from UMNO are going to find out... his dad is actually a Malay who somehow migrated to Kenya..that makes Obama a Malay....
    Malay Supremacy in the US.
    How pathetic.

62. wish we could all take it lightly like amir!

63. Anonymous5:54 pm

It was very wierd that all these immigrant came to Tanah Melayu, some assimilate and called themselves Melayu while some refuse to assimilate and called themselves Chinese and Indian.

The real Melayu welcome everybody with open hand regardless you like to be Melayu or Not. When Merdeka we change the name of this country called Malaya and later change it to be Malaysia as Sabah & Sarawak joined us.

After 50 years, you people are more volatile and robust than the original Melayu and screw up this country. Don't you realised that the Melayu had willingly accepted Indian decent Prime Minister in Mahathir and Chinese decent Prime Minister in Dolah Badawi except we can't allowed any non Muslim from being a Prime Minister. As simple as that.

So now we shall has a Melayu decent as our next Prime Minister and everybody cried racist?

Think about it and look in the mirror, there you sees a real racist.

64. Anonymous5:55 pm

its good that you asked this question "Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

and it is amusing to see comments from the so called 'malaysian' or anak bangsa malaysia or whatever, equating obama being black with TDM or syed hamid or ahmad ismail as non-malays. If they regard them as such, why is it that they always complaining that malays and umno in particular being racist, when for more than 22 years umno has been supporting a non-malay (TDM) to be the PM of the country? After all, it just shows that umno doesn't even bother whether that person is really a malay, or half malay or just has tiny drops of malay blood, before he/she can qualify to become their leader.

As a matter of fact, the non-malays can proudly declare that we have beaten the americans for more than 20yrs in having somebody from minority race(non-malay as in TDM) to lead the country.

Sometime i just wonder... what is it that these people really want...?

65. Anonymous5:57 pm

Jordan,

maybe he can go a white blood transfusion to please the supremacists?

anonrocker

66. Anonymous6:03 pm

Well, Dr M's father is Indian, his mother is Malay, so why was he a Malay PM of Malysia???

Why are you so racist, Rocky???.

A Malaysian

67. Anonymous6:03 pm

koolgeek said...
    Mahathir has indian blood in him. Why call him a Malay Prime Minister?

------------

dear koolgeek,

you can call him Indian Prime Minister for all i care, if that makes you happy.

As for me, he was never a MALAY Prime Minister, but a MALAYSIAN Prime Minister

68. Anonymous6:07 pm

All this fuss about the race of the future PMs of Malaysia!
    What about the colour of the top billionaires of Malaysia?
    All this hype about how wonderful that the US has a black/white President.
    I shall really cheer The US of A when the First People (The Indians of America) has a chance of becoming the President and their people are not corralled in the Reservations.
    So you ungrateful Malays, thank your lucky stars that your grandparents intervened against the British and the Malayan Union of 1946. And as for the non-Malays, you did not have to apply for Green Cards, take a language and cultural test (like they now do in that Land of Equality and Freedom that is the UK ). Just stop griping and get on with your jobs. Otherwise protest with your feet and get out. Like I did !!!

Fed-up Catwoman

69. Anonymous6:11 pm

I am jealous of USA...we still far far away from this change. Must work hard.

Zeon

70. Anonymous6:23 pm

Jadi,

TDM (asal usul India) = non-malay
    Pak Lah (asal usul China) = non-malay

Masih fikir orang Melayu racist ke? Kita ada 2 PM yang bukan tulen Melayu (kalau semua orang dah nyatakan begitu), tapi orang bukan Melayu masih fikir orang Melayu racist. Pelik juga. Fikir-fikir balik, Tunku Abdul Rahman pun bukan asal usul Melayu... Tun Hussein Onn juga bukan asal usul Melayu.

APA MASALAH masih nak tuduh orang melayu Racist?

71. Usa took 350 yrs after independent to have Obama a mixed president . Malaysia always have mixed prime minister since PM no 1 . siamese , Turkish, Pakistani and Chinese .

USA speak same language , same church, same food ,same school, same university , celebrate same chrismas ,same haloween ,same new year and the list on same go on and on ...

Malaysia is really multi in many things...so be proud we have many diverse yet peaceful.

China ,Korea ,Japan,etc will never understand us .

72. Anonymous6:44 pm

the americans must be too dumb by the subprime crisis impact already....

-he's 1st gen american, he's father is kenyan
    - he's "hussein"
    - he's black
    - he took drugs before
    - etc etc

wonder if washington and jefferson were still alive today they must horribly shock and distress chest beating ....

malaysia is smarter, they denied perak mentri besar to dap since most voters are dumb. see the difference of good governance.

73. Anonymous6:59 pm

"While we breathe, we hope. Where we are met with cynicism and doubt and those who tell us we can't, we will reply: Yes we can."

Soon in Malaysia

Zen

74. Anonymous7:03 pm

If you noticed, the last 7 -8 years, lots of hollywood movie and tv series use black american acting as US president ie 24 series and many others.

It was a projection or promotion given to US citizen and the world a long way before the actual black president happen.

to me as long as the master remain the same - it won't change the world and don't put high hope.

Only the master knows what's the agenda.

To Obama, congrat, but you rise so fast out of nobody.

75. Anonymous7:05 pm

From USA

'Erick Dillard in Virginia, United States says: My family came here as slaves in 1703. For the first time in my life I feel like an American. No longer a black American, just an American. This is a toast to America, may we be truly one nation and one nationality.'

Soon in Malaysia. Change

Dan

76. to kool(no)geek(yes) 2:26pm

killing children who throw stones does not justify a whole army's retaliation

was this ever termed as acts of terror and the perpetrators as "terrorists"

their war on terror WAS selective, that is why it has to be stopped

weapons of mass destruction was the justification for the invasion of Iraq

when it was proven that WMD was ono-existent, was Bush ever termed as a world terror

was the Iraq invasion ever termed as acts of terror - millions of civilian Iraqis died

and they call it collateral damage???

in this day and age, in Tun Dr M's words "war should be criminalised"

"coldnerd", please read extensively before you self-righteously condemn Rocky right here in his blog

p.s. as a guest - have more manners, criticise constructively

sshheeeshh ....

77. Anonymous7:32 pm

mizu commented, and i quote:-

We have no right to ask the US to close down Guantanamo Bay when Kamunting is still open, do we, rocky?

At least Guantanamo houses mainly alleged terrorists, unlike Kamunting where all of the detainees are political dissidents.

mizu

(unquote)

mizu, mizu, you great american apologist. follow your logic and the we must accept that Kamunting will always be there. stupid fool! don't you see the point?? if mr obama shuts down guantanomo, the we have more reason to tell the government of malaysia to shut down the Kamunting la ...

hiya, mizu ...

78. bro,

you ask btw why is he called black...do not look far, just look at or country. same thing la!! and in our country our leaders are using racial politics to keep them in power. so please ask the right questions. Obama black or not is an Amercian and he can get where he is now based on hard work and intelligence..can it be done in Malaysia? :P btw here if you say Malaysian, some like Najib say Malaysian is just a metaphor bla blaUMNO GA 2006)...can you ask why is that???

well done Obama. He'll be a good President..even a great one. America has shown the world it is not all rhetoric.

79. Oh please! Anyone can tell that he is not the first black American president!

80. Anonymous8:01 pm

0bama memang...

Saribu mongolian pun boleh menag!

Mongolian as Msia PM! That's for a change!

tengok najib & razak apamacam?

81. Anonymous8:07 pm

In layman's terms "when your house is on fire, you don't care much regarding the color of the fireman/truck"
    If only Malaysians can see this and pick the best person for each job (not the best Malay, non-Muslim, Indian, Chinese, man, woman"...do Malaysians need to be on Fire before we wake up??!!

All those who profess their proud patriotism loving Malaysia but love their race more - please see how this is destroying our beloved country. UMNO ultras - you may win Malaysia for the Malays but what price when Malaysia has lost its edge: all have passed us (Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand -and now signs that Indonesia, Vietnam is doing so - take 100% of Malaysia when we are several places behind Myanmar??!!)

Have a read :
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/05/us/politics/05race.html
    “In difficult economic times, people find the price of prejudice is just a little bit too high,” said Gov. Michael F. Easley of North Carolina, a white Democrat. “They’re saying, ‘We don’t care what your race is. If you can make things better, we’re for you.’ ”

NoYawns

82. Anonymous8:52 pm

you have started something, and people are just having a field day bashing malays.

now your blog is beginning tp look like Malaysia Today with all these comments.

shuk

83. Anonymous8:57 pm

if Mahathir is of an Indian descendent and PakLah is of hainanese Chinese descendent why the cina and indian still complaining of Malaysia never having PM other than Malays?

you need not be white to be seen as malays or cina, neither you need to be black to be seen as indian.

colour DOES NOT matter!

Obama was born to a black father and a white mother but his soul is from the same source as ours.

-colorBlind

84. Anonymous8:58 pm

Obama's father is a black, then he is a black.

Mahathir's father is an Indian and he become a Malay. Funny is it?????

85. Anonymous9:54 pm

Congratulations to Barack Obama the first dark skin president with black and white genes.Well white can be any race, but for the fairer skin only.
    Hmmmm, I wonder he is categorise under what race ? A white man would have be an advantage but than his dark skin wouldn't have allowed him to pass of as a white. I don't think any of the racist americans, would have voted him in even if his mother was white. What do you think ?

86. rocky, anyone with mixed parentage with black is considered black....they even used to have the 1 drop rule :)

87. Anonymous10:30 pm

Americans only wanted change. They change the party origin of the president. We want change in Malaysia, but we get change only in the person, not the party. So what changes can we expect? Corruption, nepotism, cronyism, out-source services for jobs which government should do, negotiated contracts to pay government money to private pockets and other creative money transfer from public to private pockets will stay. Because party positions are so lucrative, tendering has been rampant.

Ku Li said that people demanded money to nominate him. They made a mistake in killing goose at the wrong time. They should have nominated more than one person for any post so that they can milk at the time of election. There are only 40 divisions yet to nominate and they can still split the nominations for the deputy president so that there would be a three-way contest. A three way contest gives three changes to collect payment. Vote the highest bidder, to be fair to the face of Agong on the ringgit bill. They have lost the chance for the position of President. At least they could have gotten the richer candidate to pay had the timing been right.

88. Anonymous10:47 pm

The fact that rocky brought up Obama's parentage issue shows that he's got an agenda in mind - to get some mileage for his own "mission". But this also shows him up as a baiter. His question was unnecessary in the first place when there are other more relevant issues to talk about regarding Obama's historic victory. Shameful journo.

Miguel Lobo

89. Anonymous10:48 pm

We're all humans for god's sake.
    Why the fuss?

Allah to determine races? and penalise those necessarities?

Don't be so concern on who he's but think about if he's the choosen one.

90. Anonymous11:00 pm

Mr Barrack Obama,

When you won the presidential election, like Titanic movie my heart sink and start to cry full of happiness , more so when McCain send his congratulation message to you.

Well it took 500 year for the people of US to realized that coloured does not matter, we malaysian should be proud with the US because indeed they show the way, in other word we should not take another 450 year to matured (macha, ah kow next general election can or not?)

Mr Obama,on this joyful day i wish to share my `vision of equality’ and here some suggestion you could do for your country :

a.US citizen of Chinese and Indian origin should have their own school.

b.The school should be or at least partially funded and recognized by the US government.

c.To attract tourism etc. road sign in the United State should have at least 20 difference language , I believe Miss Kok ,Mr. Lim Guan Eng could advise you on this matter.

d.There should be no racist of hatred from the white, hispanic, or blacks hurled toward this people.

If the chinese or Indian become the next Malaysia Prime Minister with open arm I accept provided :

a.Lim Kit Siang should convert to islam and change his name to Abdullah Kit (son willing to convert you know) vice versa David Arumugam change to Ali Arumugam as only Muslim were allowed to become the prime minister in malaysia just as Christian were the US president.

b.A Guarantee from the chinese and indian that they should be honest, first to themselves and then the bumiputera of this country.

Last but not least ;

c.If Singapore come and try to invade this country, you – the chinese of this country- should come forward, if possible make human chain or do something like Tian Chua did and defend this country.(by the way Lee Kuan Yew; when you pass away got land to burried ahhh?)

Thank You Mr Obama, if you reading this letter.

91. Anonymous11:03 pm

UMNO who claim to be the biggest party can't even produce an average PM so isn't high time we search from the whole population of 26 millions to lead us forward?

92. Anonymous11:04 pm

LOL Amir.

Actually, wasn't Bill Clinton the first black president?

93. Kalau kita asyik sebut hitam putih seseorang itu, cuba tengok diri sendiri, dimana putihnya kita dan dimana hitamnya kita?

94. Anonymous11:44 pm

emzee

thanks for your clarification but i wonder who thinks TDM is not a malay. i think its best for me to stop here. it took 50 years for America to cross the racial divide but after 50 years, we are regressing. who cares about the colour of the cat as long as it is good in catching mices?

Bangsa Malaysia

95. Anonymous11:45 pm

Now lets hope that Obama don't start the nonsense of;

1. changing all USA road signs to include SWAHILI!!

2. to include in his coming budgets the setting up of SJK(Kenya)in the US?

Taman siPuteh

96. Anonymous11:49 pm

Bro Rocky,

If a non-muslim marries a muslim in Msia, what do you call him/her ?

97. Anonymous11:52 pm

I am against war. That includes those of US, Israel, Hamas, Al-Qaeda, Taliban and Soviets.

Just because you are oppressed doesn't mean you can justify sending women suicide bombers to kill.

98. People,
    In the state of California there is this entrenched policy called the "one drop" policy in reference to if a person has a "drop" of Black or African blood in him or her they are considered as black, even of they appear to the naked eye as white.
    This is why many "whites" hide the fact they are black, like Mariah Carey who had a nervous breakdown when she found out she is classified as black not white. To many Americans this has create a lot of psychological problem, so very sad don't you think!
    In the US there are many American of arab descent considered them as white like Pamela Anderson, yes her! And many prominent actors too are of Arab descent but anglisized their names such as Dana Bash of CNN. Racist Amercans called these camouflaged Arabs as "sand nigger"!
    Obama may have a white mom bu he is black according to the archaic and racist legislation of the USA!
    But then we dont care after all we are all human and Obama so happened to be a very bright "person of coloiur" I am for him anytime! Any take on this Moron!

99. Anonymous12:02 am

hey everyone,...colour does not matter lah! We will ALL be united when we are being attacked by aliens... think about that!

Elvis lives

100. Anonymous12:17 am

NST got the first black, an Indian but a Muslim in 2003 as GEIC when Pak Lah became the PM bro

101. Anonymous12:17 am

I can hardly wait for Kalimullah Maseerul Hassan and Brenden Pereira to be charged with espionage and put away for good.

Espionage is an offence punishable with life imprisonment.

Brenden, through his own admission briefs Lee Kuan Yew every month.

Its only a matter of time, it's only a matter of time...

J.S

102. Hello, when America wakes up, they will still have as their President, one, George W. Bush. They will only get their first Black PResident on the 20th Januray 2009. Until then Obama remains a President elect with no allowances and probably the only benefit being the secret service!

103. Anonymous12:19 am

This will tell that f*cking umno that minority will rule a nation too!!!!

104. Yeah right, UMNO is not racist when it comes to its president and with it the PMship of the country.

Just make sure you have the word Melayu (lie if you have to) on your IC when you actually apply for membership. You wouldn't want to go against the UMNO constitution now !

These UMNO apologists really crack me up !

105. Funny when some suggest that UMNO is not racist when looking at the mixed blood characteristics of its presidents. But this overlooks the fact that you have to be "Malay" (lie if you have to or disown your heritage) for you to be able to get in the front door ie become an UMNO member. How dumb can anyone get?

So much for intellectual content of these UMNO apologists.

106. Terrorists WIN!

Eat shit, Republicans!

107. Anonymous2:23 am

I do not envy you oh President Obama. I guest "the age of camelot" during your tenure as the first coloured USA President will be dictated by our own equivalent to JPM 4th Floor, "the unseen hands".
    -Ahmad Chavez

108. Anonymous2:47 am

Obama's win is nothing more than white Liberal guilt and African-Americans voting based on race.
    The Americans were not interested in his policies, they voted him based on his good looks, big ears and he's so cool! He is the Idol of American politics! The Messiah with a message of "Change we can believe in."
    His policies are based on Socialism which will be detrimental to the current economic crisis and this will likely affect the rest of the world. For Rocky to say, we don't care. You better. Obama can put the US into a deep recession and higher inflation which will affect the rest of the world.
    And the American media were in the bag for him. They never once vetted him or investigated his far-left associations. They gave him a free-out-of-jail-card.
    But, his victory is a strong message to African-Americans that they now cannot scream racism & victimisation. They can now achieve the highest office in their country.

109. Anonymous3:31 am

After reading all the post here, I can conclude that UMNO is not racist since they they have Siam,Turkish Indian and Chinese as President and Malay can accept non Malay as PM. When can we have a Malay to lead DAP, MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP. Who are the real racist? Lu sendiri jawablah.

110. Anonymous6:59 am

Are Malaysians (in particular) the Malays ready for non-malay PM in Malaysia?

My predictions - not possible as long as UMNO in power. Not even PR allow that to happen

111. Anonymous7:13 am

US of A dah merdeka lebih kurang 200 tahun lebih awal pada Malaysia.
    When they are 50, they are lebih teruk pada Malaysia!

We are not as teruk as you people thing.

112. Anonymous7:52 am

yes he is the first black president. if this scenario which the father is a non bumi but marry a bumi happen in malaysia, is he be considered as the first non bumi prime minister? think about it

113. He won because McCain got a KJ as his running mate, that diva Sarah Palin. Not unlike what happened to the BN, them Republicans voted a Democrat in droves.

Black, white, yellow or purple matters little, even in them southern states. Maybe after a few centuries, them white supremacists finally had enough of their ketuanan. We could too, say in 2208.

114. Black? Come on, he's either Kenyan American, or American Kenyan.
    He's not even black he's half black ( if there ever was such a term ).

Are we not showing our true colors when we call him black?

115. Anonymous8:47 am

Badawi said a minority in Malaysia can also become the next PM. Was he high on drugs yesterday or was it April's fool?

Omama

116. Anonymous8:50 am

umno is just a big party with bird brain! It's time for a change too in Malaysia for the betterment of all races!

Minority Report

117. So is this something to celebrate about?

If so then can we have a non-Malay General Manager for PKNS?

Before assigning platitudes to Barack's victory, can I suggest that we look at Barack's presidency through the UMNO led BN's perspective of what is allowed and what is not.

Just stop being a hypocrite!

You can read what I have written about why I think of Barack's victory in "BARACK OBAMA - Malaysia's Enemy No 1." in my blog!

118. Rocky,

"Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

I hope you are not seeing ppl in colours. If you do, then you are very naive as well.

119. Anonymous10:03 am

We had a former mamak prime minister, a former Indo menteri besar, a indo Home Minister and lots of mamaks and indos in UMNO. What is the big deal about Obama???

120. Obangau obangau kenapa ikan tak mahu timbul..
    Macamana ikan nak timbul, rumput panjang sangat..
    rumput panjang sangat..
    Orumput orumput kenapa negkau panjang...

Kita sudah ada obama sejak dulu lagi..

121. The Unthinkable Happened: America Elects a Black President
    Wednesday, November 05, 2008

We ask:

Will Malaysians ever see in their life time a Chinese/Indian/Iban/ Dayak Malaysian Prime Minister or even a Deputy Prime Minister?

Unlikely, as long as we choose to continue to elect UMNO to win government.
    - Malaysian Unplug

URL - http://mybaru.blogspot.com/

122. Anonymous10:10 am

Will Obama change the White House to Black or Mix house ?

Will he survive before 20th Jan 2009 or his first term . Hope he won't be a victim like JFK or Martin Luther King

We'll never know the Zionist @ the puppet master script.

so bloggers, don't get too excited.

123. Anonymous10:17 am

Are you a pure Malay or mixed !

Rastaman Kelang

124. Anonymous10:18 am

pasquale,

ready for Obama as PM for malaysia? gosh, everybody is a moron if he/she disagrees with you. may be, you should be a God by now coz everybody is wrong and you are right.

bangsa Malaysia

125. Anonymous10:38 am

Can you imagine a Chinese becoming our PM? Can you imagine a capable Pendatang breed leading our country? Can you imagine what will happen? Can you imagine if this is possible in the first place?

Put in other language on road signage also got big hoo-haa.. got marching, wear sash, say mencabar this and that, act like want to die like that. What more about having a Chinese Prime Minister no matter how capable and well liked he might be!

No need to look far la.. the recent election saw Perak being conquered by what was known then as opposition and majority was DAP. By right it should be a Chinese as their MB but did the Sultan do the right thing then by raising above color and race? The Sultan has that absolute right to do so. NOOOO.... he did not. What hope is there when the most liberal and well schooled Sultan cannot see this fact and act beyond color and race and try to forge unity??

Can we all see how color and race is entrenched in our minds? Can we all see how such entrenchment is slowly clouding the young minds.. breeding another generation of 'YOU ARE A SON OF THIS LAND, I AM A PENDATANG' When will this stop? From the way things are going, we are going to take more than 221 years to do what America did yesterday and that is.. FORGET about the color and race, just vote base on capabilities!

126. Anonymous10:39 am

Can you imagine a Chinese becoming our PM? Can you imagine a capable Pendatang breed leading our country? Can you imagine what will happen? Can you imagine if this is possible in the first place?

Put in other language on road signage also got big hoo-haa.. got marching, wear sash, say mencabar this and that, act like want to die like that. What more about having a Chinese Prime Minister no matter how capable and well liked he might be!

No need to look far la.. the recent election saw Perak being conquered by what was known then as opposition and majority was DAP. By right it should be a Chinese as their MB but did the Sultan do the right thing then by raising above color and race? The Sultan has that absolute right to do so. NOOOO.... he did not. What hope is there when the most liberal and well schooled Sultan cannot see this fact and act beyond color and race and try to forge unity??

Can we all see how color and race is entrenched in our minds? Can we all see how such entrenchment is slowly clouding the young minds.. breeding another generation of 'YOU ARE A SON OF THIS LAND, I AM A PENDATANG' When will this stop? From the way things are going, we are going to take more than 221 years to do what America did yesterday and that is.. FORGET about the color and race, just vote base on capabilities!

127. CONGRATS OBAMA

Barack Obama won the 44Th US Presidency today. The new and 'Colourful' Black & White Obama is now President for the Red, White and Blue United States of America. The people of the so-called land of the braves have lived up to the brave tag. Braving to change.

Congratulation to the brave people who dare to vote a man who originate from both east and west cultures. Given his globalized background, surely Obama is not only a product of American Civilization Salad Bowl but is also a product of world's Melting Pot Education. What is certain now is the world is in for good chance of peace. John Lennon once wrote 'all we are saying is give peace a chance". It is now not only a saying but the world will have real chances for peace.

To Obama, live up to our expectation. You are not only president for the black or the white America, you are also President for those who are admirer of Americanism and its products , the Hollywood , the American sitcoms, TV series etc. You are also President for the American
    Citizens- wanna-be and for all the marginalized people of the world.

Though you may lean in the direction of American interest in the next 4 years of your Presidency, the people of the world will surely depend on you for the well being of the mother earth now that you are the most powerful man on earth.

128. Anonymous11:17 am

'So what' you say ... Aiya, you are too jaded for your age! The point I want to make is - it's not that he's half n half or quarter black or blue, if you look at him at face value - he's Black. And don't underestimate this significance. It is symbolically very Important. (No time for lengthy explanations - half of you guys won't even understand.) Just turn on CNN or BBC, maybe you will see why people in some parts of the world are elated.

Malaysian

129. "So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

The answe is simple. It is called "One Drop Rule". If you have one drop of black blood in your body, you are black. More or less the "rule" is no more part of constitutions the southern states of the USA.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One-drop_rule

130. Anonymous11:50 am

United we stand, divided we fall.

But looking at some of the comments posted, I think the yanks are far more matured in dealing with their racial issues. Nonetheless we cannot compare Malaysia against USA.

We were raised on the British platform, not American, thus we cannot compare an apple for an apple.

What is all these nonsense about Mahathir's forefathers? Did he have the chance to choose his parents? So what if he had Indian blood?

He gave you fellas the opportunity to hantam him by bringing computers to your side.

Obama has a long, tough journey ahead of him and hopefully it is for the better 'policing' of the world.

I sure would not want to miss TDM this evening but I don't think I will be near a TV at that hour.

Will there be a repeat telecast?

131. Anonymous11:59 am

I am not bothered at all.Obama or Mccain, they are all the same.No way, Mr Johnson is going to change his ways. He might get even worse and turn into a mad dog when his wallet goes down the drain.Then his lapdogs will know what is it like to lick his balls .. biar Johnson dengan Labu2nya, kuasanya dihujung tanduk.

More importantly, i was wondering if we can get Tun Dr M to come back as our PM. The man has still got fuel in the tank and if we can persuade him to take over the wheels once more, that would be the best gift for this country in 5 years. Maybe a petition, a signed appeal whatever ........

132. Anonymous12:01 pm

Brother Roc,

THERE IS A GOD.......

' Every Valley will bge exalted and Mountain & Hill Will be made low....."

133. Anonymous12:36 pm

if there are not enough blacks, hispanics and other coloreds, i wonder if obama would have won. he pulled just enough votes from the whites, not the majority, to top up for the win. so, did he break the racial barrier?

134. Anonymous12:51 pm

Hello Bunnies,

I wish you did read other peoples article before posting yours. If you read Pasqueal's piece on one drop rule most Malaysian will be defined as Malay. Which means those with wee bit of malay dna and profeses islam is legible to be the PM- case in point current MB of Perak!
    At least these people are not discriminated and labeled as "pendatang/ African American-slave descendent" as in California.

Show me elementry schools funded by the govt for blacks or hispanics or japenese in Hawaii????

135. Anonymous12:57 pm

"Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

It is simple isn't it?
    The father is BLACK, so the son ought to be BLACK. Being BLACK doesn't make him one jot less American.

Wouldn't it be good if such prevail in Malaysia too. But the perverse idea about Ketuanan Melayu continues to haunt, and remains a black self-inflicted curse upon this nation.

penang lad

136. Anonymous1:29 pm

Dear Bunnies 10:38

…No need to lok far la…

Can you imagine how paper sons and paper daughters wriggled their tongues desperately trying to claim as USA citizens?

….1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Paper Sons . grew up with what she calls a “currency of secrecy.” In order to get past the customs check-point at Angel Island, a "Paper Son" and “paper daughters” – immigrants who used fake identity papers to enter the U.S. received and memorized information on the boat that would need to exactly match what the "father" gave to officials. “It became a universal thread to trace immigration history that is really only a generation away, but that was never talked about,”..

Some assumed the identity of the deceased son, had to claim his wife was really his sister, and instruct his three young daughters to pretend that their mother was actually their aunt. she had to tell unabashed lies. It was a matter of survival.”

“With all the lying, you just don’t know what is real and what is not.”

….And just imagine how many landed here under same disguise and now “BERANGAN” to be the next PM of Malaysia..

…..DAP, GERAKAN, MACA… tolong buat banci IKLAS please,I heard all of you have your “secret book” of records on your ACTUAL family roots names such as “LIM”, “KOK”, “CHUA”, “CHONG, LOH”..

PAPER SON QUEK NOW LIM

137. Anonymous1:29 pm

It took America more than 200 years for an Afro American to become President...I guess the non-bumi will have to wait for more than another 100 years to see a non-bumi PM. What Pak Lah said was correct...Malaysia can expect a non-bumi PM in future. So to the non-bumi pls be patient 100 years is not a long time in history.Wait ok??

-rocksteady-

138. Anonymous1:45 pm

So can we have a non-Malay & non-Muslim as a PM & DPM ?
    Dream on.

139. Anonymous2:14 pm

While Malaysians from different sides of the political divide throw brickbats at each other, Barack Obama's US election victory as president-elect comes as a great gust of fresh air.

In his victory speech, Obama's resounding message that "change has come to America" rings out loud and clear.

The American people have decided that this African-American, whose roots go back to Kenya, will now lead the most powerful nation on earth that is a melting pot of people from different ethnic backgrounds.

Now, the question is: Will change come to Malaysia?

Will all the races be as ONE - true Malaysians - who believe in trust and respect, and freedom of choice in the way they live?

Will this manifest itself when we see CHANGE in the next elections four years from now? Or are we consigned to the present pollution of bigotry that may well continue for the next 100 years?

It's dreadful to think of the long wait for salvation from bigotry, by which time, this country will become the "sickman of Southeast Asia" or worst.

Even the loser, Republican John McCain, was graceful when he conceded defeat by saying that the Democrat president-elect has achieved a “great thing” for himself and the country with his historic victory.

Compare McCain to some of our parliamentarians who have no compunction to utter words that are downright disgraceful. I wonder how Obama, who has shown his ability as an orator, would react if he watches the antics of our elected representatives in Parliament and listen to how they articulate themselves.

And what would the 44th president of the United States of America think of some of our politicians whose words and deeds smack of racism, chauvinism and bigotry, all of which Obama, in this extract from his victory speech, sums it up in two powerful sentences:

"In this country, we rise or fall as one nation, as one people. Let’s resist the temptation to fall back on the same partisanship and pettiness and immaturity that has poisoned our politics for so long."

Drago2008

140. Anonymous2:15 pm

Actually, many of you got it wrong. Obama has the physical appearance of an African American because the black genes in him are dominant for physical features. This has nothing to do with whether his dad or mum is black. Black genes dictate darker skin color, curly hair, facial features etc.

Aside from his features, he is probably more identifiable with any smart white kit. He went to the best of law schools. He is unlike other black polical leaders, who fight first and foremost on issues related to minority equality. Rev. Al Sharpton, Rev. Jesse Jackson et al are in this group. Obama is about giving the middle class American a fair share of the American prosperity and his focus transcends racial lines.

Obama speaks and acts no different than any successful American middle to upper class member. He is the least of the typical inner city black that you'd identify with the African Americans, e.g., character, outlook, attitute, mannerism, speech, etc.

Walla

141. Anonymous2:24 pm

you are right rocky, obama is mixed ... ethnicnity wise, he is a Caucasian ... just like the mamak, the turki, the arab, in Malaysia they are all melayu ...

142. Anonymous3:03 pm

Congrats OH BAMA,

OBAMA can change the WHITE HOUSE to POKALDOT...hahahaha..BUT for how long??? ONLY ZIONIS can give us the correct answer....

In Malaysia, MAHATHIR is an Indian descendent...same like BADAWI, he is Chinese descendent...So, to those PENDATANG in TANAH MELAYU,pls do not ask or keep complaining about this stupid issue..

(Anon From Kedah)

143. Anonymous3:06 pm

January 2, 2008

DNA clues on the African origin of Chinese populations Modern man, or Homo sapiens, might have migrated from Africa into China by way of Southeast Asia between 18000 and 60000 years, researchers say.

This latter finding, the search for Chinese scientists and their international colleagues concluded that modern humans might have moved from Africa to China to replace Mono erectus (archaic of walking upright human beings) , to become the ancestors of the country \ 'modernman.

The conclusion is based on the comparison and analysis of the Y chromosome using DNA samples of 88 existing populations in East Asia, Southeast Asia and Oceania , said Li Jin, one of the Chinese researchers of the study "Chinese Human Genome Diversity Project. \ "

Li Jin is a professor of both the National Human Genome Center in Shanghai and the Institute of Genetics, Fudan University.

Haaa apa tunggu lagi. Kan Obama pun dari Africa. Vely easy lor beginning 2009 to apply for US Citizenship under him..

SERUMPUN DNA

144. Anonymous3:31 pm

Bunnies,

America's (infact its Cherokee's land, not some Italian explorer's name) is native's land. The pendatangs there is Malaysia is Malay's/Bumi's land. (Tanah melayu, Persekutuan Tanah Melayu, MALAYsia). Unless the name of the country change to ASIA, or CINAsia, this is still MALAYsia.

Kawan Jibam

145. Anonymous3:45 pm

If malaysian chinese or indian really want to be a PM or president, I think u should migrate to China or India.

Malay_sia will never be rule by non-malay, it must be malay + muslim (i dont care half malay of 1/4 malay). Got it??

But, most interesting fact is if u follow US election coverage, u must know that american more concern if Obama is a muslim. No way Obama will get president if he a muslim. he got elected not becoz american more liberal, becoz he still part of them (a christian)..

No way. no way..
    no way.. no way..

la la la la....
    in your dream non malay+muslim as malaysia PM....
    la la la la

so what if we r racist...
    la la la la..
    go migrate somewhere else if u not satisfied..
    la la la la...

by
    I love malaysia

146. Anonymous4:11 pm

how do everybody knows about pak lah and mahathir descendant.or just tibai because semua orang cakap macam tu.even betul pun.just give the prove.rather than sebab semua orang cakap macam tu

duhh

147. Anonymous4:14 pm

even tun and pak lah is not pure malay,their decsendant knows how to behave like a malay.not like other immigrants who want to stay at tanah melayu,but still practice their nenek moyang punya amalan and throw away malay's practice.

apa raa..kasi malu sikit.obama pun tak tunjuk perangai kenya dia la.memang macam perangai 'orang putih'.jangan cakap banyak

148. Anonymous4:15 pm

Assalamualaikum,

I'm as a malay muslim and do not care if chinese or indian or whoever become a PM as long as all of them are muslim...

TQ...

P/S : it's not the skin.. it's the religion.

149. Anonymous4:16 pm

Anonymous said...
    From USA

'Erick Dillard in Virginia, United States says: My family came here as slaves in 1703. For the first time in my life I feel like an American. No longer a black American, just an American. This is a toast to America, may we be truly one nation and one nationality.'

Soon in Malaysia. Change

Dan

---

ok mr dan.just wait for another 300+ years for the change's dream comes true.

150. Anonymous4:23 pm

how if about obama is having his mother's gen-white in skin.are people will call him black american or what??

151. Anonymous4:32 pm

people are actually being racist to white people as they saying black people could lead a better nation because white people failed to do so

152. Anonymous4:52 pm

If only Barack Obama was reading all the comments, he would be very amused :) Black or White (Michael Jackson) is a great song....
    Hurray....to America for taking a chance on Barack Obama, who is not fair enough to pass off as a white but fights under the ticket of a "black". So waaahlah....the first black president.....

153. Anonymous4:53 pm

Oops, Obama is the 44th President and according to Chinese belief, that is double bad luck. The number 4 in Chinese signifies death and 44 is not a favourite number either.

A GOOD MAN DOES NOTHING>

154. Anonymous5:03 pm

Let me be the first person to congratulate Lionel Morais on his promotion. Good job, lad. And don't forget to fix others when you draw up the list of transfers.

LM

155. Anonymous6:07 pm

to anon 3.45 pm,

Obama is semitism...

tq..

156. Anonymous6:53 pm

Obama's win reminds me of a Lat caricature many years ago. The scene: Old mother lying on bed, rotten house leaking, pots and pans placed in hall to collect raindrops.
    And son runs in all excited with newspaper in hand: 'Emak, harga VCD turun!," he shouts excitedly.
    The mother replies: "Adakah ini bermaksud hidup kita akan lebih bahagia sekarang."
    Ha! HA!.
    Obama monang, adakah hidup kito lobeh berbahagia? Entahlah omak...

By Minangkabau@Kobau-miang...

157. Anonymous7:19 pm

Hey.. Everyone in the world colour-blind ah! Africans are Black, no doubt, but White? White is the colour of the paper you write on lah.
    They are actually pink like pigs, the orang putih, but fool the world and you fools call them white.
    When u see next orang putih, plse call him Pinky ha....

158. Anonymous7:29 pm

In reply to sinnersaint:saintsinner

who mislead readers here about India.

He said Sikh elected a PM
    Muslim elected as President!

Excuse me,
    In India - president is not elected. It is handpicked by the PM. Then he only faces the votes in the Lok Sabha or the Parliament.

Manmohan Singh being elected as Prime Minister!!?
    Excuseme, when the elctions took place, it was for sonia Gandhi as PM. Sonia Gandhi won as PM, but voices were raised about she being Italian, and how dare india have an Italian born PM, so she stepped down and picked Manmohan singh..

Also, I am laughing at how some people wish for a non-muslim non-malay PM for malaysia.. huh..

first itegrate into a society and learn to accept culture.

They call Mahathir of all names, because of Indian blood. Who cares?

In malaysia they make it look racial, but the rality is more than racial its about differences.

Malays are a truly multiracial, mixed rojak lot - but one culture, language and religion.
    I am not even a Malay.

But here there people who insist on staying different, and so fanatically different that it makes a radical divide form the people.

159. Anonymous7:32 pm

Actually Malaysia already had non-malay PMs, Mahathir dad was Indian, just like Obama's dad Kenyan.

So we had an Indian PM already..

whats the noise about..

160. A Chinese or Indian or a minority as Prime Minister of Malaysia in the future? Wishful thinking friends, you can have hope only when one day Singapore elects a Malay Muslim Prime Minister or Indonesia elects a Chinese Buddhist President or a Pakistani or Indian Muslim becomes the Prime Minister of Great Britain or the Germans elects a Muslim Turk as their Chancellor or an Muslim Arab becomes President of France but Oklah never mind its good to dream, as it gives people hope.

In the USA Mr Obama is unique as he assimiliated well into the dominant white population, he was brought up by his white mother and later grand parents, he is also a Christian. On top of all that he has unique talent and is a great orator and also ran the best managed election campaign in American History. That is why he is now the american President elect.

The key word is "he has assimiliated well into the general population so much so that many whites accepted him as their own to be able to elect him as President".

No need to look further from our shores we have already had our Obama Moments long time ago notably all our Prime Ministers except maybe Tun Razak are of mixed blood so there is nothing exceptional about it.

Article 160 of the Malaysian Constitution defines who a Malay is and I think Malaysia is the only country where a race is actually legally defined as:

"Malay" means a person who professes the religion of Islam, habitually speaks the Malay language, conforms to Malay custom and -
    (a) was before Merdeka Day born in the Federation or in Singapore or born of parents one of whom was born in the Federation or in Singapore, or is on that day domiciled in the Federation or in Singapore; or
    (b) is the issue of such a person;

It all boils down to Whether one will go to that path of total assimiliation into the majority malay population and this in turn will depend on how much one really wants to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia. Anyway I for one do not have a problem with a non malay being Prime Minister so long as he is a Muslim.

161. Anonymous8:09 pm

Here is one very interesting comment by a reader on Haris Ibrahim's post :

44th US President : The son of a black Kenyan father and white mother from Kansas
    November 5, 2008

Comment:
    Blogreader Says:
    November 5, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Initially, i had my reservation in posting this comment. However, i just find myself “have to”!

Haris, this title of your blog is just sooooooo much better, just and wiser than our Rocky’s. Dont get the wrong understanding here, people, i have no intention to draw a gap between Haris and Rocky. It is just an observation i’d like to share with you:

Haris: 44th US President : The son of a black Kenyan father and white mother from Kansas

Rocky: The first black President of the USA

The worse part is Rocky proceeded on to question his own intelligence, maybe while doing so, he was thinking how intelligent and neutral he is. Quote, “Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad’s a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?”

You titled your post “..BLACK President…” and asked why?? Such a dumb ass you are Rocky! Stop slapping yourself the way those BN corrupts do!

Get back yourself while you still can, while you still have your true friends!

162. Anonymous8:14 pm

to tharieq..
    tq for trying correcting my statement. but obama indeed a christian..

take a look at this.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22767392/

163. Anonymous8:54 pm

Komen berikut saya tampal dari komen saya di blog husin lempoyang

Malaysia pun boleh PM bukan Melayu.

Memang Tunku ada darah Siam, Hussein Onn darah Turki, Dr Mahathir ada darah India Muslim, Dolah darah Kwantung.

Mereka jadi PM pasal mereka diterima Melayu sebagai Melayu.

Tak susah jadi Melayu. Tak susah untuk Melayu terima orang bukan Melayus ebagai Melayu. Lihat DJ Dave boleh jadi ahli UMNO. Kahwin Melayu dah masuk Melayu atau dimasukkan Melayu. Pelok Islam dah diterima macam Melayu. Berbudaya Melayu dah dianggap macam Melayu.

Lagi senang jadi Melayu dan kaum2 Bumiputera lain dari nak jadi Cina dan Keling.

Lim Kit Siang patut benarkan Lim Guan Omar Abd Aziz masuk Islam kalau mahu anaknya jadi PM. Kalau Teresa kahwin Melayu, masuk Islam, dan berenti dgn benda alah itu, mungkin boleh berangan jadi Menteri.

Tak susah nak jadi PM. Masuk Melayu. Diterima Melayu boleh jadi PM.

Bukan Melayu ni bangang, degil, ego dan kurang ajar.

Kalau tak mahu assimilasi atau adaptasi atau apa jadah sasi dan mahu kekal dalam budaya pendatang, susah mahu diterima majoriti rakyat dan raja2 melayu. Tak ada pelung jadi PM atau Menteri.

Tak apalah berbilang kaum kamu ... jangan komplain.

Tambahan komen

Terima hakikat. INi negeri Melayu. Di Argentine, Arab keturunan Syria dan asal usul Islam, Carlos Menem jadi President kerana dia memeluk Roman Katolik. Kalau dia Protestant pun, dia tidak berjaya.

Jangan asik dengan kejayaan Obama. Amerika perlu diterima dunia dan mereka desperate. Obama hanya mainan wayang.

Obama pun ambil sebagai CHief of Staff pun Yahudi. Selagi tidak ada perubahan, saya percaya Obama akan terus menganiaya Palestine, Iraq, dan Afghanistan.

Buktikan baru aku nak percaya.

164. Anonymous9:23 pm

Abdullah Badawi also got Chinese (Hainan) blood what, so Malaysia already HAD a Chinese PM :)

Malaysia Boleh!

165. Anonymous9:45 pm

There will come a time when Malaysians of all races on Election Day, will ignore the person's ethnicity & religion... and decide based on his/her potential to lead the nation justly.

When that day comes, the historic event of the first nonMalay nonMuslim Prime Minister will soon follow some years later.

It will happen this century. Remember the naysayers in Feb claiming BN will never lose... and right till yesterday, claiming a Black will never, ever, be US President.

May we all here live to see it.

166. Anonymous9:45 pm

"Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president ?"

Technically, his dominant Y chromosome in his DNA is a kenyan. His dad has this Y chromosome. His great great grand father has this Y chromosome. His son has the copies of the same Y chromosome. That means his entire family on the male side is BLACK. Got it?

167. Anonymous10:05 pm

Isn't it weird if Obama says: "I am white" but the color of his skin indicates otherwise.

Blink-blink

168. Anonymous11:02 pm

those of you who stated that here in Malaysia we still adopt racism just because all our PMs are Malay well you guys are dead wrong. coz if thats the case then Tun Mahathir and Pak Lah should have been ousted from staying in office coz both of them are of mix decent.

reality check...its the same case with Obama.

grown-ups sure need to 'grow up'...

-imahaterhater

169. Anonymous11:43 pm

Policy-wise, Ralph Nader -- the third candidate -- simply outshone Obama and McCain.

http://paksako.blogspot.com/2008/11/thank-you-for-running-for-president-mr.html

170. Anonymous1:00 am

Malaysian can learn two things from USA for electing Obama.

1. Race should never be an issue in holding public position.

2. Obama is a result of the contribution from White people, his father is a good-for-nothing guy who divorce his mother and run home to Kenya. Is the White family that bring Obama up. The black people are still weak and should learn from the White people. So Malaysian should learn from their countryman that has contributed greatly to the country, those who generate wealth and pay tax.

171. Anonymous1:06 am

The minority wants to be PM of Malaysia huh??sure can, why not...

But first of all, PLZ and PLZ learn BAHASA MALAYSIA, it is in fact the NATIONAL LANGUAGE!! actually, there r still a large number of the non malays who cant speak fluently in bahasa Malaysia, and there r even those cant speak at all..now u r claiming to be MALAYSIAN and wanna be next PM??geesh..how irritating..

Furthermore, Obama, like any other african american, have indeed live their life no difference then the american. they go to same school like any other american, they speak fluently of american english, they walk,eat,shit, etc like a true american.
    to summarize it, you can conclude that the african american live the american life.

SO how can we have a minority as a PM in Malaysia when they themselves do submit themselves to be a real MALAYSIAN??
    even now, they go to their own school, cant speak the national language fluently, and goes abut here and there as if they are still in their motherland..huhuh..

BTW the african american had to wait until the 44th president to have an african american president..Maybe we could do the same..so the countdown to 44 for a minority as PM starts off now..best of luck..haha..

-TRUE MALAYSIAN-

172. Anonymous1:34 am

HAHA...now the chinese wants to be PM of MALAYSIA??

SO u guys started hiding under the name 'MALAYSIAN' huh??
    please understand the term 'MALAYSIAN' first..BAHASA MALAYSIA also fail, then how can u claim to be 'MALAYSIAN' and now start dreaming to be PM??we are not CHINA k, or under any circumstances part of CHINA..haha..

MALAYSIAN are the people who assimilate themselves with the lifestyle of the locals or the MALAYsian way..

for eg.. the blacks in the US..they live their AMERICAN live..no more their origin native bullshit.. however even now, they are still not referred to as 'AMERICAN', why the need for 'AFRICAN AMERICAN' after hundred of years assimilating themselves with the AMERICAN lifestyle..

hahaha..so how about it 'CHINESE MALAYSIAN'??still wandering why you lots r not illegible to be PM?? just look at yourself la..u r living ur life no different to a chinese in the mainland of CHINa..haha..

~MALAYSIA KONON~

173. Anonymous1:50 am

Dear Bru, someone (whose nick is "Racism has not place to call ho0me") has pasted this comment published by Haris Ibrahom on your blog:--

Blogreader Says on November 5, 2008 at 2:36 pm that ...

"Haris, this title of your blog is just sooooooo much better, just and wiser than our Rocky’s. Dont get the wrong understanding here, people, i have no intention to draw a gap between Haris and Rocky. It is just an observation i’d like to share with you:

"Haris: 44th US President : The son of a black Kenyan father and white mother from Kansas

"Rocky: The first black President of the USA

"The worse part is Rocky proceeded on to question his own intelligence, maybe while doing so, he was thinking how intelligent and neutral he is. Quote, “Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad’s a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?”

===============================

Now, dear Bru if I may, I would like to draw Blogreader's attention (and the someone who pasted her own comment praising Haris on your blog to an article by Global Vision Online entitled Southeast Asia Celebrates Obama's Victory.

Now, what's so special about the Global Vision artoicle?

For first, that article picks quotes from noteworthy bloggers from Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Cambodia with regards to Obama's victory/

Guess who they quoted from Malaysia? Kah Kah. Rocky's Bru! Don't take my word for it, go to http://globalvoicesonline.org/2008/11/05/southeast-asia-celebrates-obama%E2%80%99s-victory/

Malaysian bloggers also quoted by Global Voices from Malaysia are Uncle Lim and a blogger called Maha58 (sure sounds like Mahathir).

To quote the pro-Haris poster, "Dont get the wrong understanding here, people, i have no intention to draw a gap between Haris and Rocky. It is just an observation i’d like to share with you"..

Kah Kah ... sudah kena lu Blogreader! My advise -- please read a lot more and don't bodek bodek too much .

174. Anonymous2:04 am

"doggie dog said...

soldier of fortune, i might get u wrong but u are saying chinese is the racist race?

if they are racist do u think ur statement of singapore hving an indian president holds any substance?"

err..since when singapore is a part of china???

175. Anonymous4:34 am

i am sick and tired when chinese said they r the biggest tax payers in malaysia..

dont they dont that Petronas is actually the biggest tax payer in this country? and petronas employees is predominantly malay..

and those malays in petronas also contributes significantly in personal income tax.

thus making malay is the biggest tax payer in the country!!

ha ha ha... plz somebody prove that i am wrong...

176. Anonymous5:35 am

Richard Pryor was WAYYYYY ahead on this:

http://www.1stnigger.com

Classic!

The HNIC

177. I hope Obama will release those detainees at Guantanamo Bay.

Say NO to ISA!
    Say NO to Detention without Trial!

If Islam has got the solution for everything, then deal in the Islamic way with RPK too....or maybe UMNO/BN has not find the solution in the Quran yet!

178. Anonymous12:32 pm

As I see it, most of the arguments in here toward the Malays & racist tagging are from a bunch of ignorant morons..

Despite living too long enough to call themselves as Malaysian, these loosers hardly understand the basics & fundamentals of a democracy & Federal Constitution..what these stupids eat is only Article 11.

1) Do these morons understand what is a democracy system in the 1st place?

2) Do they know the defination of Malay in Federal Constitution?

I guess not, otherwise these peanut brains would not post such a mentally shit worth of ideas & arguments excreted from their very think-tank ass.

Mahathir, Pak Lah, Anwar, Syed Hamid & whoevers u deemed Malays do fits the definations of Malays..

i.e born in Malaysia, a Muslim, Speaks Bahasa Melayu, practice Malay culture..

So to all u ultra chingkies & hindulens..take a mirror & try to see yourself, (give every each of your bretheren one mirror too) & use your peanut brain to figure out wether u fit the bill or not to become the next elected PM via the democracy system..

Let take test samples LKS, Karpal, Teresakok, LGE..Apply the democracy test..& try to figure out the result wether the MAJORITY will vote for them as a next PM or not..

the same-o-field rule played by Obama.. he is a Christian (not Muslim), speaks English (not Kenyan) & practice western culture (not African)..

Aha..now only u morons know why Americans can accept Obama..I don't think they will accept u ultra chingkies & hindulens either..i dare to bet.

Well Rocky..as we spend too much time in this cyberspace, u will definitely noticed how it is so highly contaminated by bunch of confused & stupid racial morons..hopeless loosers.

Simplest thing..only fucking idiots love to view & make it complicated..

-anti hindraf & ultra-chingkies-

179. Anonymous1:05 pm

"Btw, Obama is mixed, actually: dad's a black from Kenya, mom a white from Kansas. So why is he the first BLACK president of the USA?"

Does it really matter if he is black, half-black or half-white?

Maybe he identifies more with his Kenyan roots but I digress. This surely sounds like a stereotypical thinking. Everything has to boil down to the colour of one's skin now does it?

-EvilBeing-

180. Anonymous5:01 pm

ha ha..
    to anti hindraf & ultra chingkies... or warrior 231 on previous article.

lu punya ayat banyak power la.. gua salute sama lu..

boleh ke lu masuk itu citizen blog, the star; kasi belasah itu apek tak sedar diri..

gua punya ayat tak power...

181. Anonymous9:10 pm

The context here is, Obama is still recognized as a black, and he is elected by majority white Americans. In other words, there is no such thing as "Ketuanan Putih" in the US, the black is not marginalized. He/She who is able lead the country. There is not race issue, no religion issue involved. The Malay can be PM in Malaysia, so can the Indian and Chinese. Today, when a chinese lead the PKNS in selangor, they said the post must go to a Malay! What kind of restriction is this!??

I hope you can learn from your fellows Malays like RPK, Imtiaz, Zaid Ibrahim, Azly Rahman, Azmi Sharon and many2 others. There can be the true leaders.

Regards,
    Passer by.

182. Anonymous1:22 am

Hi Rocky,

Obama the first Afro American elected to become the president of USA.!News to USA & rest of the world but not in Malaysia.

In Malaysia, we have Tunku with a Siamese bloodline to become the first Prime Minister. Tun Hussein, the third prime minister with a Turkish bloodline. Tun Dr Mahathir - Indian bloodline , Pak Lah - Chinese bloodline. In fact , the opposition leader DSAI has Indian bloodline.

Rocky, One interesting observation; that the Malays are not racist at all. They can elect someone outside their race to become their leader provided that these leaders can be integrated with them; talk like the Malays and culturally behave like the Malays.

Thaksin Sinawatra an ethnic Chinese can become a prime minister of Thailand because he spoke Thai and behave like Thais. I am sure if he spoke Mandarin, he would not be able to become the Prime Minister of Thailand.

Obama, would not be elected if he insist in in speaking Swahili and any Chinese or Indian descent can never become the Prime Minister of Malaysia if he think, talk and behave like a Chineseman/Indian .

183. Anonymous1:55 am

The Americans voted according to racial line. Majority of Whites voted for MC Cain and majority of blacks and Latinos voted for Obama.

Most Americans I believed voted for Obama because they hated Bush and the Republicans.

Interestingly, Obama look like Malcolm X and he did not has any semblance at all to his Kenyan father. He spoke like Malcolm X and one of his favorite book is the Autobiagraphy of Malcom X by Alex Haley.

184. Anonymous5:35 pm

Where in the Federal Constitution does it stipulate that in order to be a Malaysian citizen, a person

- has to be fluent in the national language (aka Bahasa Melayu)?

- has to profess the faith of Islam?

- has to be of a specific race or skin colour (aka known as the art and science of "kulitification")?

Furthermore, where does it say in the Constitution that the job of Prime Minister is limited to persons of a particular race or religion?

The Constitution being the supreme law of the land, one would expect ALL Malaysians to abide by it's provisions.

One of which is full equality before the law for ALL Malaysians.

Whether or not they are fluent in Malay (a matter of choice) or profess the Islamic faith (again a matter of choice) is irrelevant.

It doesn't matter that Umno is stuck in it's own little time warp. Like the dodo, it may (will?) soon be superseded by economic realities - such as who is going to fund the glories of Ketuanan Melayu. Petronas? I think Tan Sri Hassan Marican will have a thing or two to say about that!

But, hey, no problem, lah! The country has US$120 billion+ in foreign reserves plus the holdings of EPF, Khazanah and PNB. Plenty of money there to finance stimulus packages for eons to come!

Back to topic, it may have taken the US from 1776 till now to see someone like Obama being elected to the top political job in the country. But at least, the changes that led to this were set in motion years ago, starting from Martin Luther King's "I have a dream". To the point where someone like Bobby Jindal (100% pure Indian, he) can be spotlighted as one of the emerging stars of the Republican Party.

Where is Malaysia's Martin Luther King? Or, more to the point, where is Malaysia's Bobby Jindal?

185. Anonymous11:18 pm

Sibuk beria semua pasai Obama.. Hah, cuba telek telek sikit yang dekat dan bersangkut paut... Negara tumpah darah tok moyang hampa, CHINA dan INDIA? Pi mengedum kat sini dulu suruh depa tukak, persilakan hampa balik dengan tangan terbuka, jangan tekan kehidupan anak cucu keturunan hampa, benarkan dapat sekeping tanah untuk buat pondok berteduh bla bla bla... Hah.. baru ler bernas sikit kalo nak tergila sangat komen pasai OBAMA sambil mencaci TANAH INI!!

Tak payah tengok democracy jauh nun sana.. CHINA kiri, INDIA kanan, dekat sikit. Apamacam beb.. Cuba buat REVOLUSI kat situ dulu!!

LEMAS

186. Anonymous1:39 pm

I think the main point here is for the people to choose who is the best leader regardless of race or creed. Is there a non malay NOW who is suitable to be PM of Malaysia,- I personally don't think so (don't get angry- this is just my opinion) - maybe in the future. If you think about it, about a few thousand division heads get to directly choose the PM, not all Malaysians. But why talk about PM-ship, how about something lower - like head of PKNS or any of the GLC's. Let's start with that.
    Reagrds
    "Therestoftheworldisleavingusbehind"

187. Anonymous9:53 am

well..well..

Another dickhead moron called skillgannon emerged from his think-tank asshole...a typical moron who do not understand what is democracy & yet with thick face, shamelessly smeared his shitty worth of ideas & arguments in Bru's blogspace..

and as(s) usual..they always:

Missing the forest for the trees..

I'm not surprised at all..plenty more of the same confused & moronic species from where this dickhead moron guy came from..

they are all the same.. [period]
    (the real stupids in disguise)

PKNS issues..? hey..tell u what u spongeboobs lickers...

Do you think your so-called superb corporate diva captainess can navigate the ship if the whole crews commited mutiny?
    What..? always think a one man/lady show ahh? typical of you people.. aii..yai captain!

-anti hindraf & ultra chingkies -

188. Anonymous3:27 am

Well, for those of you who are so concerned about his name, I am glad that you were able to choose your name as soon as your mother gave birth to you....

Mrs. Thomas